Quantum Computers News
May 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:31am EDT

More Quantum Computers News
May 6, 2015

Apr. 9, 2015 — Temperature is a statistical concept. Very small systems, consisting of a small number of particles, are not usually described statistically. Scientists have now measured how quantum systems reach a ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — Light has been slowed down by coupling atoms to glass fibers. This technology is an important prerequisite for a future worldwide quantum ... read more

Physicists Create New Molecule With Record-Setting Dipole Moment

Apr. 3, 2015 — A proposed pathway to construct quantum computers may be the outcome of research by a physics team that has created a new molecule based on the interaction between a highly-excited type of atom known ... read more

Apr. 3, 2015 — An experiment has revealed an unlikely behavior in a class of materials called frustrated magnets, addressing a long-debated question about the nature of these discontented quantum materials. The ... read more

Next Important Step Toward Quantum Computer

Mar. 30, 2015 — Physicists have succeeded in linking two completely different quantum systems to one another. In doing so, they have taken an important step forward on the way to a quantum ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — In experiments with ultracold rubidium atoms scientists create magnetic quantum crystals made of gigantic Rydberg ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — Mathematicians have designed an encryption code capable of fending off the phenomenal hacking power of a quantum computer. Using high-level number theory and cryptography, the researchers reworked an ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — Physicists inspired by the radical shape of a Canberra building have created a new type of material which enables scientists to put a perfect bend in light. The creation of a so-called topological ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Contrary to the statistician's slogan, in the quantum world, certain kinds of correlations do imply causation. New research shows that in quantum mechanics, certain kinds of observations will ... read more

New Approach Uses 'Twisted Light' to Increase Efficiency of Quantum Cryptography Systems

Mar. 20, 2015 — Researchers have developed a way to transfer 2.05 bits per photon by using 'twisted light.' This remarkable achievement is possible because the researchers used the orbital angular momentum ... read more

Superfast Computers a Step Closer as a Silicon Chip's Quantum Capabilities Are Improved

Mar. 20, 2015 — Research has demonstrated laser control of quantum states in an ordinary silicon wafer and observation of these states via a conventional electrical ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — Since Quantum Games came online as a citizen science project to help scientists develop a quantum computer, the game has been played 400,000 times, making it possible for researchers to discover a ... read more

Quantum Computing: One Step Closer With Defect-Free Logic Gate

Mar. 19, 2015 — What does hair styling have in common with quantum computing? The braiding pattern has inspired scientists as a potential new approach to quantum calculation. But due to their tight assembly, such ... read more

Mar. 17, 2015 — Quantum computers will be able to find target items within large piles of data far faster than conventional computers though the speed of the search will likely depend on the structure of the data. ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — An international team of researchers has used infinitely short light pulses to observe ultrafast changes in the electron-level properties of superconductors, setting a new standard for temporal ... read more

Mar. 9, 2015 — The extraordinary promise of quantum information processing -- solving problems that classical computers can't, perfectly secure communication -- depends on a phenomenon called ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — When scientists develop a full quantum computer, the world of computing will undergo a revolution of sophistication, speed and energy efficiency that will make even our beefiest conventional machines ... read more

Quantum Radar to Detect Objects Which Are Invisible to Conventional Systems

Feb. 27, 2015 — A prototype quantum radar that has the potential to detect objects which are invisible to conventional systems has now been ... read more

Building a More Versatile Frequency Comb: Newly Developed Frequency Combs Can Operate at Higher Power

Feb. 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed a room temperature frequency comb with increased power based on quantum cascade lasers. Since the discovery of optical frequency combs in the 1990s, many applications in ... read more

Feb. 13, 2015 — Communication security and metrology could be enhanced through a study of the role of quantum correlations in the distinguishability of physical processes, scientists ... read more

Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Sunday, November 2, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Sunday, October 12, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Friday, August 29, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Sunday, August 17, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014