Software News
May 22, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:11pm EDT

More Software News
May 22, 2015

May 13, 2015 — Supercomputing resources at an American lab will support a new initiative designed to advance how scientists digitally reconstruct and analyze individual neurons in the human brain. Mapping the ... read more

Internet as New Frontier in Collecting Data on the Mind

Apr. 30, 2015 — With Apple's launch of new health tracking tools for the iPhone and medical researchers' forays into Facebook to recruit clinical trial volunteers, Web and mobile apps are increasingly seen ... read more

MarkerMiner 1.0: An Easy-to-Use Bioinformatics Platform for DNA Analysis in Angiosperms

Apr. 30, 2015 — Researchers have developed MarkerMiner, a new software that simplifies analysis of next-generation sequencing data in angiosperms. MarkerMiner is an automated, open-source, bioinformatics workflow ... read more

Computer-Assisted Diagnosis Tool Helps Physicians Assess Skin Conditions Without Aid from Dermatologists

Apr. 22, 2015 — In the first major study to examine the use of a computer-assisted, photo-driven differential diagnosis generator for skin conditions, researchers found physicians routinely used the tool, without an ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — Through the laws of physics and application of a mathematical model of fluid mechanics, a new software calculates when an irregularity occurs on site of a gas, oil or water pipe. The software is ... read more

Mar. 31, 2015 — To find a standard 3-D neuron reconstruction algorithm, BigNeuron will sponsor a series of international hackathons and workshops where contending algorithms will be ported onto a common software ... read more

Does Your Password Pass Muster? Password Strength Meters Not All Created Equal

Mar. 25, 2015 — New research exposes the weakness of password strength meters, and shows consumers should remain skeptical when the bar turns green in order to create strong ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — The Square Kilometer Array, a radio telescope planned for Africa and Australia, will have an unprecedented ability to deliver data -- lots of data points, with lots of details -- on the location and ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Scientists have developed various kinds of software for smartwatches that utilize speech recognition in social communication and show smart traffic data on the watch display. Now, you no longer need ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Many smartphone users know that free apps sometimes share private information with third parties, but few, if any, are aware of how frequently this occurs. An experiment shows that when people learn ... read more

Social Media Training Works Best for Student-Athletes, Study Shows

Mar. 17, 2015 — Placing less reliance on monitoring software and modifying new media training to align with student-athletes' habits and input will promote more positive and responsible usage on social ... read more

Intelligent Computers Solving the Trust Equation in Difficult Negotiations

Mar. 19, 2015 — Socially intelligent computers can turn difficult online negotiations into win?win situations through tactical information ... read more

Computer Scientists Simplify Parallel Programming

Mar. 12, 2015 — Modern software takes computational speed for granted. But modern microprocessors can only speed up by increasing the number of cores. To take full advantage of multiple cores, software developers ... read more

Guarantees for Online Anonymity?

Mar. 11, 2015 — Anonymity on the Internet is possible only up to a certain degree. Therefore, it is possible that others may see who is visiting an online advice site on sexual abuse, or who frequently looks up ... read more

Find out What Your Apps Are Really Doing

Mar. 10, 2015 — Apps, these tiny programs on Internet-connected mobile phones are increasingly becoming entryways for surveillance and fraud. Computer scientists have now developed a program that can show users ... read more

Efficiency of Multi-Core Processors Enhanced

Mar. 3, 2015 — Software development for embedded multi-core processors is considered to require a large expenditure and to be difficult. Researchers have now developed a new integrated tool chain to facilitate ... read more

Security in a Smart World

Mar. 5, 2015 — More stable power grids and quicker accident care: When used properly, digital data may be of high benefit. However, electronic processing also facilitates data abuse. For this reason, scientists ... read more

Mar. 3, 2015 — Reading a text is something that each of us does at our own individual pace. This simple fact has been exploited by computer scientists who have developed a software system that recognizes how fast a ... read more

Feb. 27, 2015 — Company networks are inflexible – they are made up of many components that require a good deal of effort to be connected together. That’s why networks of the future will be controlled by a ... read more

Feb. 12, 2015 — The compact Lab-in-a-Box suitcase contains assorted sensors and software to monitor activity in a physician's office, particularly during consultations with patients. The goal is to relieve some ... read more

Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Saturday, December 6, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Saturday, November 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Friday, August 29, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Thursday, July 17, 2014