Software News
September 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:42am EDT

More Software News
September 1, 2015

Imaging Software Could Speed Up Breast Cancer Diagnosis

Aug. 19, 2015 — New software could speed up breast cancer diagnosis with 90 percent accuracy without the need for a specialist, according to research. This could improve breast cancer management, particularly in ... read more

Computers: Protecting Your Cloud

Aug. 12, 2015 — A powerful new computer security tool, called XDet, can detect malicious files being uploaded to a cloud computing service. The researchers have carried out successful tests on live data on a cloud ... read more

Statistical Model Helps Police Identify Crime Series; Speeds Apprehension of Perpetrators

Aug. 11, 2015 — A statistical model -- now an easy-to-use software tool -- local police can use to identify a series of related crimes and nab a suspect has been unveiled. Crime linkage is the investigative process ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — A lightweight virtualization architecture that can be used to build cybersecurity into systems used in the so-called Internet of Things is currently being developed by a research ... read more

Company Triumphs With Technology That Tests and Mass Produces Electronic Devices

Aug. 4, 2015 — The Mexican company Testing House, designed a system to test electronics, programming of devices and microcircuits that are used in the automotive industry such as rain sensors, tire pressure, ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — A multitude of professional drivers suffer from back problems. One cause: driver seats that are inadequately adjusted to each driver‘s ergonomic needs. Researchers have engineered a driver‘s seat ... read more

July 30, 2015 — No matter if you are a specialist or not, there is one vital rule in illustrating descriptions of new plant or animal species: you have to do it! A paper published in the open-access journal ZooKeys ... read more

July 24, 2015 — Researchers explores the promise and peril of computer-based writing assessment ... read more

July 24, 2015 — A team of researchers specializes in SLAM, or simultaneous localization and mapping, the technique whereby mobile autonomous robots map their environments and determine their locations. Now these ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A new user-friendly resource to accompany the powerful gene editing tool called CRISPR/Cas9, which has been widely adopted to make precise, targeted changes in DNA, has been developed by researchers. ... read more

Troubleshooting the Gene Targeting Process

July 13, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new, straightforward software program for predicting the best RNAs to direct Cas9 to gene targets, eliminating trial-and-error ... read more

How Accurate Are Symptom Checkers?

July 8, 2015 — Online symptom checkers can often be wrong in both diagnosis and triage advice, but they still may be useful alternatives to phone triage services and Internet ... read more

IT-Based Concepts for Effective Coordination of Public Authorities, General Population

July 8, 2015 — To get a handle on crisis situations you need volunteers from the general population. A new project investigates how volunteers’ help can be incorporated into the crisis management efforts of ... read more

Detecting Eye Diseases Using a Smartphone

July 4, 2015 — Researchers have developed software that detects eye diseases such as diabetic macular edema using a smartphone. The system is aimed at general physicians who could detect the condition and refer the ... read more

July 2, 2015 — A researcher has created an easier email encryption method – one that sounds familiar to parents who try to outsmart their 8-year-old child. The new technique gets rid of the complicated, ... read more

Virtual Training Helps Vets With PTSD, Mentally Ill Get More Jobs

July 1, 2015 — Finding a job is difficult for veterans with PTSD and individuals with severe mental illness, who have high unemployment rates though many want to work. The job interview can be a major hurdle. A ... read more

June 30, 2015 — The world is built up of molecules that join together and form different building blocks. New software makes it easier to zoom right in to the individual ... read more

June 29, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new system that repairs dangerous software bugs by automatically importing functionality from other, more secure ... read more

Iris Recognition Gives Smartphone Users More Security Options, Expert Says

June 23, 2015 — A new smartphone has been developedwith iris recognition and a professor says the technology is giving people more options to protect their electronic devices and should be available in the United ... read more

Roadmap to Fight Reproducibility Crisis

June 16, 2015 — Dramatic increases in data science education coupled with robust evidence-based data analysis practices could stop the scientific research reproducibility and replication crisis before the issue ... read more

Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Saturday, December 6, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Saturday, November 1, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014