Spintronics Research News
May 23, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:12am EDT

More Spintronics Research News
May 23, 2015

Apr. 10, 2015 — Chemists have reviewed the potential for graphene-organic composite materials in electronics. The researchers show how organic semiconductors can be used to better process graphene, and to tune its ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that large area graphene is able to preserve electron spin over an extended period, and communicate it over greater distances than had previously been known. This has ... read more

'Goldilocks Material' Could Change Spintronics

Mar. 24, 2015 — Attempting to develop a novel type of permanent magnet, a team of researchers has discovered a new class of magnetic materials based on Mn-Ga alloys. Described as a zero-moment half metal, the new ... read more

Quantum Computing: One Step Closer With Defect-Free Logic Gate

Mar. 19, 2015 — What does hair styling have in common with quantum computing? The braiding pattern has inspired scientists as a potential new approach to quantum calculation. But due to their tight assembly, such ... read more

Mar. 9, 2015 — At the origin of the properties of high-temperature superconductors lies a phenomenon that is too fast to be observed experimentally with conventional methods. Scientists have applied a sophisticated ... read more

Feb. 17, 2015 — A team of researchers is exploring new materials that could yield higher computational speeds and lower power consumption, even in harsh ... read more

Feb. 12, 2015 — Supercomputers used to find new class of materials that exhibit exotic matter state known as the quantum spin Hall effect. The researchers propose a new type of transistor made from these ... read more

Jan. 28, 2015 — Constructing tiny "mirrors" to trap light increases the efficiency with which photons can pick up and transmit information about electronic spin states -- which is essential for scaling up ... read more

Jan. 27, 2015 — Researchers have uncovered a promising new pathway to valleytronics, a potential quantum computing technology in which information is coded based on the wavelike motion of electrons moving through ... read more

Jan. 26, 2015 — Graphene has many desirable properties. Magnetism alas is not one of them. Magnetism can be induced in graphene by doping it with magnetic impurities, but this tends to disrupt graphene's ... read more

Jan. 21, 2015 — Scientists have revealed a superfluid phase in ultra-low temperature 2D materials, creating the potential for electronic devices which dissipate very little ... read more

Jan. 7, 2015 — Researchers have derived a new set of equations that allows for calculating electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) transition probabilities with arbitrary alignment and polarization of the exciting ... read more

Dec. 29, 2014 — Scientists taken a major step forward in effectively enhancing the fluorescent light emission of diamond nitrogen vacancy centers -- a key step to using the atom-sized defects in future quantum ... read more

Dec. 18, 2014 — Scientists have taken a significant step in our understanding of superconductivity by studying the strange quantum events in a unique superconducting ... read more

Dec. 15, 2014 — Researchers have discovered that if lead atoms are intercalated on a graphene sheet, a powerful magnetic field is generated by the interaction of the electrons' spin with their orbital movement. ... read more

Dec. 10, 2014 — Scientists have helped to uncover the properties of defects in the atomic structure of magnetite, potentially opening the way for its use in producing more powerful electronic ... read more

Nov. 13, 2014 — Researches have uncovered 'smoking-gun' evidence to confirm the workings of an emerging class of materials that could make possible 'spintronic' devices and practical quantum ... read more

Oct. 31, 2014 — Researchers studying iron-based superconductors are combining novel electronic structure algorithms with the high-performance computing power of the Titan supercomputer to predict spin dynamics, or ... read more

A Novel Platform for Future Spintronic Technologies

Oct. 12, 2014 — Spintronics is a new field of electronics, using electron spin rather than charge. Scientists have now shown that a conventional electrical insulator can be used as an optimal spintronic ... read more

Oct. 12, 2014 — Two research teams working in the same laboratories have found distinct solutions to a critical challenge that has held back the realization of super powerful quantum computers. The teams created two ... read more

Friday, April 10, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Sunday, October 12, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Friday, June 13, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Sunday, June 1, 2014
Friday, May 16, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014
Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Sunday, March 23, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Thursday, March 6, 2014
Monday, March 3, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Thursday, January 23, 2014
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Monday, January 13, 2014
Thursday, December 12, 2013
Thursday, November 28, 2013
Sunday, November 24, 2013
Thursday, November 21, 2013
Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Thursday, November 14, 2013
Friday, November 8, 2013
Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Sunday, October 27, 2013
Monday, October 21, 2013
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Friday, October 11, 2013
Wednesday, September 25, 2013
Monday, September 23, 2013
Tuesday, September 10, 2013
Tuesday, September 3, 2013
Wednesday, September 4, 2013
Wednesday, August 28, 2013
Tuesday, August 27, 2013
Wednesday, August 14, 2013
Tuesday, August 13, 2013
Tuesday, August 6, 2013
Tuesday, July 9, 2013
Friday, June 21, 2013
Tuesday, June 18, 2013
Wednesday, June 12, 2013
Tuesday, June 4, 2013
Thursday, May 23, 2013
Wednesday, May 22, 2013
Monday, May 20, 2013
Friday, May 17, 2013
Friday, May 10, 2013
Wednesday, May 8, 2013
Wednesday, May 1, 2013