Spintronics Research News
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:43am EDT

More Spintronics Research News
September 3, 2015

Apr. 23, 2015 — Scientists have created an electronic device so accurate that it can detect the charge of a single electron in less than one microsecond. It has been dubbed the 'gate sensor' and could be ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — As computers continue to shrink -- moving from desks and laps to hands and wrists -- memory has to become smaller, stable and more energy conscious. A group of researchers is trying to do just that ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — A new semiconducting material that is only three atomic layers thick exhibits electronic properties beyond traditional semiconductors. Two nano-engineered configurations of the material have shown an ... read more

Quantum Hall Effect: Quantization of 'Surface Dirac States' Could Lead to Exotic Applications

Apr. 14, 2015 — Researchers have uncovered the first evidence of an unusual quantum phenomenon -- the integer quantum Hall effect -- in a new type of film, called a 3-D topological insulator. This discovery could ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a new way of manipulating the magnetic domain walls in ultrathin magnets that could one day revolutionize the electronics industry through a technology called ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — Physicists have narrowed the theoretical limits for where the 'speed limit' lies for quantum computers. The findings, which offer a better description of how quickly information can travel ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — Scientists have encoded quantum information in silicon using simple electrical pulses for the first time, bringing the construction of affordable large-scale quantum computers one step closer to ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — Chemists have reviewed the potential for graphene-organic composite materials in electronics. The researchers show how organic semiconductors can be used to better process graphene, and to tune its ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that large area graphene is able to preserve electron spin over an extended period, and communicate it over greater distances than had previously been known. This has ... read more

'Goldilocks Material' Could Change Spintronics

Mar. 24, 2015 — Attempting to develop a novel type of permanent magnet, a team of researchers has discovered a new class of magnetic materials based on Mn-Ga alloys. Described as a zero-moment half metal, the new ... read more

Quantum Computing: One Step Closer With Defect-Free Logic Gate

Mar. 19, 2015 — What does hair styling have in common with quantum computing? The braiding pattern has inspired scientists as a potential new approach to quantum calculation. But due to their tight assembly, such ... read more

Feb. 17, 2015 — A team of researchers is exploring new materials that could yield higher computational speeds and lower power consumption, even in harsh ... read more

Feb. 12, 2015 — Supercomputers used to find new class of materials that exhibit exotic matter state known as the quantum spin Hall effect. The researchers propose a new type of transistor made from these ... read more

Jan. 28, 2015 — Constructing tiny "mirrors" to trap light increases the efficiency with which photons can pick up and transmit information about electronic spin states -- which is essential for scaling up ... read more

Jan. 27, 2015 — Researchers have uncovered a promising new pathway to valleytronics, a potential quantum computing technology in which information is coded based on the wavelike motion of electrons moving through ... read more

Jan. 26, 2015 — Graphene has many desirable properties. Magnetism alas is not one of them. Magnetism can be induced in graphene by doping it with magnetic impurities, but this tends to disrupt graphene's ... read more

Jan. 21, 2015 — Scientists have revealed a superfluid phase in ultra-low temperature 2D materials, creating the potential for electronic devices which dissipate very little ... read more

Jan. 7, 2015 — Researchers have derived a new set of equations that allows for calculating electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) transition probabilities with arbitrary alignment and polarization of the exciting ... read more

Dec. 29, 2014 — Scientists taken a major step forward in effectively enhancing the fluorescent light emission of diamond nitrogen vacancy centers -- a key step to using the atom-sized defects in future quantum ... read more

Dec. 18, 2014 — If data could be encoded without current, it would require much less energy and make things like low-power, instant-on computing a ubiquitous reality. Scientists have made a breakthrough in that ... read more

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Sunday, October 12, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Friday, June 13, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Sunday, June 1, 2014
Friday, May 16, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014
Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Sunday, March 23, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Thursday, March 6, 2014
Monday, March 3, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Thursday, January 23, 2014
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Monday, January 13, 2014
Thursday, December 12, 2013
Thursday, November 28, 2013
Sunday, November 24, 2013
Thursday, November 21, 2013
Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Thursday, November 14, 2013
Friday, November 8, 2013
Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Sunday, October 27, 2013
Monday, October 21, 2013
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Friday, October 11, 2013
Wednesday, September 25, 2013
Monday, September 23, 2013
Tuesday, September 10, 2013
Wednesday, September 4, 2013
Tuesday, September 3, 2013
Wednesday, August 28, 2013
Tuesday, August 27, 2013
Wednesday, August 14, 2013
Tuesday, August 13, 2013
Tuesday, August 6, 2013
Tuesday, July 9, 2013
Friday, June 21, 2013
Tuesday, June 18, 2013
Wednesday, June 12, 2013