Virtual Reality News
August 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:12am EDT

More Virtual Reality News
August 2, 2015

Nursing, Medical Students Learn Teamwork With Virtual Teammates

July 21, 2015 — A virtual interprofessional education curriculum has been developed in which students were paired with a virtual team member to learn with, from, and about each other to improve collaboration and the ... read more

July 14, 2015 — With the help of new 3-D technology, you can go underwater and swim with farmed salmon. Or fly down a ski jump. Or study how brain cells work. This technology originally came out of the gaming world, ... read more

Fewer Women Than Men Are Shown Online Ads Related to High-Paying Jobs

July 7, 2015 — Significantly fewer women than men were shown online ads promising them help getting jobs paying more than $200,000, raising questions about the fairness of targeting ads online, new research ... read more

Virtual Training Helps Vets With PTSD, Mentally Ill Get More Jobs

July 1, 2015 — Finding a job is difficult for veterans with PTSD and individuals with severe mental illness, who have high unemployment rates though many want to work. The job interview can be a major hurdle. A ... read more

Lack of Control on E-Coaches

June 23, 2015 — There is no guarantee that smart, personal coaching apps can live up to claims to make our lives more healthy and more productive. Users may receive incorrect, commercially slanted, or ineffective ... read more

June 15, 2015 — A miniature version of an advanced driving simulator will participate in a clinical trial later this year to assess a patient’s driving ability after cataract surgery. The trial will help determine ... read more

Online Gambling Would Benefit from Better Regulation

June 1, 2015 — The US government's attempt to crack down on Internet gambling is widely seen as a convoluted mess. Yet, more controlled and defined regulation would likely benefit the $41 billion industry and ... read more

June 1, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new augmented reality display that allows the audience to explore 3-D augmentations of digital musical performances in order to improve their understanding of electronic ... read more

May 22, 2015 — A research team has developed a tool that allows a 3D journey in ten sites of geological and palaeontological interest in the Guadalquivir basin (Huelva, Spain). In the virtual tour, developed with ... read more

Offline TV Ads Prompt Potential Online Purchases by Multitaskers

May 15, 2015 — Many television advertisers fear that distracted viewers -- frenetic multitaskers using smartphones, laptops and tablets while viewing TV -- are less receptive to advertisers' messages. A new ... read more

May 5, 2015 — Scientists have built a low-cost centimeter-accurate GPS system that reduces location errors from the size of a large car to the size of a nickel -- a more than 100 times increase in accuracy. The ... read more

Real Stereotypes Continue to Exist in Virtual Worlds

May 4, 2015 — Stereotypes related to gender and appearance that burden women in the real world could follow them into virtual ones, according to researchers. In a study of how people interacted with avatars in an ... read more

Picture This: Graphene Brings 3-D Holograms Clearer and Closer

Apr. 24, 2015 — From mobile phones and computers to television, cinema and wearable devices, the display of full-color, wide-angle, 3-D holographic images is moving ever closer to ... read more

Industrial Virtual Factory Lowers Costs and Reduces Emissions

Apr. 23, 2015 — Scientists have developed a cloud-based, easily customized, modular software platform for improving the sustainability performance of industrial products by lowering production costs and reducing ... read more

Ten More Years of Real Money?

Apr. 21, 2015 — We will still be using "real" money for at least the next 5 to 10 years, but financial transactions carried out using mobile electronic devices, such as smart phones and tablet computers, ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Artificial intelligence, virtual worlds and interaction with video games, are the elements of a new therapy designed to help people who have had a stroke and children with cerebral palsy to recover ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Researchershave developed an inexpensive alternative to a smartphone's touchscreen -- a toolbox of physical knobs, sliders and other acoustically driven mechanisms that can be readily added to ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Falls are the leading cause of injury-related death and morbidity in older adults, especially those with a chronic eye disease such as glaucoma. To investigate this problem, a multidisciplinary group ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — A method for printing memory circuits directly, e.g. onto consumer packaging, has been developed by researchers. Because the required production technology is quite simple, no major investments are ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — Researchers can demonstrate that on some standard computer-vision tasks, short programs -- less than 50 lines long -- written in a probabilistic programming language are competitive with conventional ... read more

Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Sunday, July 27, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Monday, May 19, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Wednesday, May 7, 2014
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Monday, April 21, 2014
Wednesday, April 16, 2014