Virtual Reality News
April 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:58am EDT

More Virtual Reality News
April 28, 2015

Apr. 15, 2015 — A method for printing memory circuits directly, e.g. onto consumer packaging, has been developed by researchers. Because the required production technology is quite simple, no major investments are ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — Through the laws of physics and application of a mathematical model of fluid mechanics, a new software calculates when an irregularity occurs on site of a gas, oil or water pipe. The software is ... read more

How to Crowdsource the World for Emergency Medicine

Apr. 2, 2015 — Two new studies illustrate the power of social media and the Internet to promote scholarly dialogue around the world and the importance of establishing criteria for what constitutes high-quality ... read more

Actual Reality Tested in Functional Assessment Post-TBI

Mar. 18, 2015 — Actual Reality has been described as a new tool for assessing performance of activities of everyday life in people with traumatic brain injury (TBI). A new article outlines the first study examining ... read more

Mar. 12, 2015 — A newly developed user interface, the “i-Mouse,” in the K-Glass 2 tracks the user’s gaze and connects the device to the Internet through blinking eyes such as winks. This low-power interface ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — Trefoil, Savoy, or simple ... how do you fashion a "molecular" knot that has one of these shapes? Or better still, what are the most suitable "building blocks" for enabling the ... read more

Virtual Patient: Avatar Shows Emotions as He Talks to Med Students

Feb. 25, 2015 — The avatars in the Virtual Patient Project give medical students life-like practice in interviewing patients, delving into health histories and narrowing possible diagnoses. These avatars were ... read more

Feb. 24, 2015 — Three Austrian men have become the first in the world to undergo a new technique called "bionic reconstruction", enabling them to use a robotic prosthetic hand controlled by their mind, ... read more

Neck Pain Can Be Changed Through Altered Visual Feedback

Feb. 19, 2015 — Using virtual reality to misrepresent how far the neck is turned can actually change pain experiences in individuals who suffer from chronic neck pain, according to ... read more

Feb. 10, 2015 — A new multiferroric film keeps its electric and magnetic properties even when highly curved, paving the way for potential uses in wearable ... read more

Feb. 9, 2015 — What if the touchscreen of your smartphone or tablet could touch you back? Researchers now report a discovery that provides insight into how the brain makes sense of data from fingers. When people ... read more

Feb. 4, 2015 — Three-dimensional (3D) movies, which require viewers to wear stereoscopic (i.e. Related to the technique of creating an impression of depth by showing two slightly offset flat images to each eye) ... read more

Feb. 2, 2015 — Production facilities and components of Industry 4.0 are linked to the Internet, networked with each other, and thus open to attack. Using an IT security laboratory, researchers offer a test ... read more

Jan. 28, 2015 — Mobile apps have proved to be valuable educational tools, but laboratory instructors thus far have been limited to using mobile devices only for virtual laboratories with simulated experiments. Now, ... read more

Bad Weather Warnings Most Effective If Probability Included, New Research Suggests

Jan. 27, 2015 — Risk researchers find that the public may respond best to severe weather warnings if they include a probability estimate, an important finding not only for the present but also for the longer-term ... read more

Jan. 26, 2015 — Oculus Rift, a gaming headset, can help teach nurses how to communicate better, researchers suggest. The Oculus Rift headset gives your body and your mind the powerful experience of being in a ... read more

Jan. 22, 2015 — Revolutionary software is making a breakthrough in reading 2,000-year old Herculaneum scrolls, computer scientists report. After working for more than 10 years on unlocking an ancient piece of ... read more

Jan. 22, 2015 — NASA and Microsoft have teamed up to develop software called OnSight, a new technology that will enable scientists to work virtually on Mars using wearable technology called Microsoft ... read more

Computer Scientists Improve Privacy of Internet Currency Bitcoin

Jan. 22, 2015 — It is traded on special stock exchanges and is accepted not only by various online shops, but also by thousands of brick-and-mortar stores across the globe: the virtual currency Bitcoin. The users ... read more

Teen Girls Report Less Sexual Victimization After Virtual Reality Assertiveness Training

Jan. 21, 2015 — Teen girls were less likely to report being sexually victimized after learning to assertively resist unwanted sexual overtures and practicing resistance in a realistic virtual environment, a new ... read more

Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Sunday, July 27, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Monday, May 19, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Wednesday, May 7, 2014
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Monday, April 21, 2014
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Monday, March 24, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Wednesday, March 19, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Friday, March 7, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Thursday, February 27, 2014
Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Monday, February 24, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Monday, February 17, 2014
Friday, February 14, 2014
Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Thursday, February 6, 2014