Ecology News
August 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:20am EDT

More Ecology News
August 2, 2015

Spawning Frequency Regulates Species Population Networks on Coral Reefs

July 8, 2015 — Releasing larvae more often is beneficial for a species' network, new research on tropical coral reef ecosystems shows. The study on reproductive strategies is critical to assess the ... read more

July 4, 2015 — A climate-induced change of male dragon lizards into females occurring in the wild has been confirmed for the first time, according to recent ... read more

July 2, 2015 — Researchers say farmland is a poor substitute for natural areas but simple improvements could make a difference to biodiversity ... read more

July 1, 2015 — Widely hailed as 'green' sources of renewable energy, hydroelectric dams have been built worldwide at an unprecedented scale. But new research reveals that these major infrastructure ... read more

Ocean Algae Will Cope Well in Varying Climates

June 30, 2015 — Tiny marine algae that play a critical role in supporting life on Earth may be better equipped to deal with future climate change than previously expected, research ... read more

Soil Water, Microbes Influence Carbon in World's Coldest Desert, Study Finds

June 29, 2015 — Soil water and microbes' respiration contribute to fluctuations of carbon dioxide in the world's coldest desert, where climate change is expected to increase underground moisture and ... read more

June 29, 2015 — Marine reserves are fundamental tools for the conservation of worldwide marine biodiversity. The analysis of both genetic and demographic structures of some habitat-forming species, for example the ... read more

Lax Rules Put Congo's Forests, Key Carbon Reserve, at Risk

June 25, 2015 — Without new conservation efforts, the Democratic Republic of Congo could lose up to 20 percent of its forests, unleashing a 60 percent increase in carbon emissions from one of the largest carbon ... read more

Past Water Patterns Drive Present Wading Bird Numbers

June 25, 2015 — Wading bird numbers in the Florida Everglades are driven by water patterns that play out over multiple years according to a new study. Previously, existing water conditions were seen as the primary ... read more

June 23, 2015 — The evolution of birds on the Galapagos Islands, the cradle of Darwin's theory of evolution, is a two-speed process. Most bird species are still diversifying, while the famous Darwin's ... read more

June 19, 2015 — Biologists have use highly conservative estimates to prove that species are disappearing faster than at any time since the dinosaurs' ... read more

Better Way to Evaluate Conservation Policies Found by Researchers

June 16, 2015 — Protected forested areas in Brazil, Costa Rica, Indonesia and Thailand have prevented the release of more than 1,000 million additional tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, an economic service ... read more

June 16, 2015 — Surprisingly few bee species are responsible for pollinating the planet's crops, a major international study finds. Only two percent of wild bee species pollinate 80 percent of bee-pollinated ... read more

June 16, 2015 — A more tailored approach to ocean management is required in the North Atlantic if the permanent loss of an increasingly valuable commercial fish stock is to be avoided, reveals new ... read more

View of 'Nature as Capital' Uses Economic Value to Help Achieve a Sustainable Future

June 15, 2015 — A series of reports outlines how governments, organizations and corporations are successfully moving away from short-term exploitation of the natural world and embracing a long-term vision of ... read more

June 12, 2015 — Animals wearing new tagging and tracking devices give a real-time look at their behavior and at the environmental health of the planet, say ... read more

June 12, 2015 — The rapidly rising levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere affect plants' absorption of nitrogen, which is the nutrient that restricts crop growth in most terrestrial ecosystems. Researchers ... read more

June 12, 2015 — Peer reviews in science, in which independent scientists who are experts on the subject assess the paper, is the current strategy for ensuring quality and control in scientific research and, ... read more

June 10, 2015 — Will some coral reefs be able to adapt to rapidly changing conditions in Earth's oceans? If so, what will these reefs look like in the future? As the ocean absorbs atmospheric carbon dioxide ... read more

June 10, 2015 — Coral colonies are more genetically diverse than it has been assumed to date, conclude researchers who have conducted comprehensive studies into the genetic variability in individual colonies of ... read more

Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015