Ecology News
November 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:55am EST

More Ecology News
November 26, 2015

Nov. 23, 2015 — Management of the world’s marine habitats needs to look beyond only Marine Protected Areas and put achieving ecosystem resilience at the top of the agenda, according to new ... read more

Impact of Climate Change on Nutrient Load of Pike River Watershed

Nov. 17, 2015 — Using future climate change scenarios and water quality projections, experts found that sediment and the blue-green algae producing nutrients phosphorus and nitrogen are likely to increase in the ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — An analysis by sociologists of data on land use in Mato Grosso, Brazil's third largest state, reveals that a large proportion of deforestation, as well as remaining forest cover, can be found on ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — Almost every person has an appreciation for natural environments, suggests a new article. Authors note that most people find healthy or pristine locations with high biodiversity more beautiful and ... read more

Lakes Resist the Introduction of New Fish

Nov. 9, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new method of establishing how freshwater fish can defend themselves against an invasion of a new fish species. The method takes into account that resident species in a ... read more

Taking a Molecular Approach to Conserving Freshwater Biodiversity

Nov. 6, 2015 — Molecular ecologists have a key role to play in setting priorities for the conservation of aquatic biodiversity, according to a recent review ... read more

Study Offers Model to Predict How Microbiomes May Respond to Change

Nov. 5, 2015 — Scientists studying microbiomes have created a framework for predicting how the composition of these complex microbial communities may respond to changing ... read more

Assessing Ecosystem Services: Increasing the Impact on Decision Making

Nov. 5, 2015 — Assessments of ecosystem services, aiming at informing decisions on land management, are increasing in number around the globe, but only in a few cases recommendations are then applied by ... read more

Some Like It Hot: Moth and Butterfly Species Respond Differently to Climate Change

Oct. 30, 2015 — New research led by ecologists shows that certain species of moths and butterflies are becoming more common, and others rarer, as species differ in how they respond to climate ... read more

Everglades' Alligator Numbers Drop After Dry Years

Oct. 30, 2015 — Alligators and the Everglades go hand-in-hand, and as water conditions change in the greater Everglades ecosystem, gators are one of the key species that could be ... read more

Oct. 30, 2015 — Across Africa, lion populations are threatened by continued reductions in their range and associated genetic isolation. A new study published this month in Landscape Ecology shows that strategic ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — When a river receives waste water from a treatment plant, the plant's efficiency is revealed. A new study group has observed that the waste water from treatment plants significantly influences ... read more

Oct. 28, 2015 — Natives of Amazonia had limited impact on the forests and land surrounding them, suggests new research. The findings reinforce how vulnerable Amazonian forests may be to logging and ... read more

Researchers Work on Model to Help Restoration Managers With Decision-Making

Oct. 27, 2015 — It sounds rather simple: In order to restore the original high level of biodiversity in our rivers, they should be returned to their original state. Yet, researchers have determined it really is not ... read more

Rewilding the Future

Oct. 27, 2015 — New research shows that the loss of large animals has had strong effects on ecosystem functions, and that reintroducing large animal faunas may restore biodiverse ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Paleontologists have looked at the environmental changes that occurred in North and South America after large megafauna went extinct over the past 15,000 years, and found long-lasting impacts. ... read more

Elephants Boost Tree Losses in South Africa's Largest Savanna Reserve

Oct. 26, 2015 — Protected areas, such as nature reserves and national parks, play a crucial role in sheltering wildlife, such as African elephants, from hunting and habitat destruction. But it's important that ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Intense, violent attacks by large packs of some of the world's biggest carnivores -- including extinct lions much larger than those of today, and sabertooth cats -- limited the population sizes ... read more

Extinction of Pleistocene Herbivores Induced Major Vegetation and Landscape Changes

Oct. 26, 2015 — The extinction of large herbivores such as mammoths could explain massive prehistoric changes in vegetation and landscape structure. But it has wider implications, explaining more frequent fires in ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Marine scientists have warned that the future may bring more harmful algal blooms (HABs) that threaten wildlife and the economy, and called for changes in research priorities to better forecast these ... read more

Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015