Ecology News
May 22, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:18pm EDT

More Ecology News
May 22, 2015

May 18, 2015 — A new approach to the difficult tradeoffs that environmental managers face when choosing between environmental sustainability and profitability has been recommended by experts. The findings could ... read more

May 15, 2015 — A new article demonstrates how XML markup applied to texts using the GoldenGate editor can address the challenges presented by unstructured legacy data. The paper demonstrates how structured primary ... read more

Valuable Massachusetts Ecosystems Shrinking, Doing More With Less, Study Shows

May 14, 2015 — Ecologists and conservation groups single out the hardest-working ecosystems -- called "hotspots" -- for their exceptional conservation value. The number of ecosystem hotspots has increased ... read more

Research Aims to Restore Riparian Corridors and an Iconic Tree

May 11, 2015 — Beginning on May 11, Forest Service scientists will plant different combinations of tree and shrub species in four riparian areas on the Finger Lakes National Forest in New York and monitor the ... read more

May 6, 2015 — To fence or not to fence? That is the question facing conservationists concerned with barriers that keep wildlife in and people out. Researchers say that new policies must be developed before fences ... read more

Dietary Supplements Are Good for Coral Health, Study Shows

May 4, 2015 — Most people know the health benefits of taking daily supplements, but what about endangered corals? A new study has found that the critically endangered Staghorn coral may benefit from supplemental ... read more

Ocean Fronts Improve Climate and Fishery Production, Study Finds

May 1, 2015 — Ocean fronts -- separate regions of warm and cool water as well as salt and fresh water -- act to increase production in the ocean, research has found. This research showed how fronts can be ... read more

Dam Removal Study Reveals River Resiliency

Apr. 30, 2015 — More than 1,000 dams have been removed across the United States because of safety concerns, sediment buildup, inefficiency or having otherwise outlived usefulness. A paper finds that rivers are ... read more

Apr. 30, 2015 — Researchers have discovered areas with extremely low levels of oxygen in the tropical North Atlantic, several hundred kilometers off the coast of West Africa. The levels measured in these 'dead ... read more

Forest Canopies Buffer Against Climate Change

Apr. 29, 2015 — Current models of how forests will respond to climate change don't account for differences between adult and juvenile trees. Recent research of forest landscape ecology, finds that climatic ... read more

Apr. 29, 2015 — Researchers have conducted the first-ever broad-scale scientific assessment of how oil and gas development transforms landscapes across the US and ... read more

Diversity of Habitat Needed Around Spotted Owl Reserves, Study Shows

Apr. 28, 2015 — A new study shows that many bird species, including several of high conservation concern, aren't getting the habitat they need due to a focus on promoting California Spotted Owl habitat in the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — As well as being a beautiful species capable of changing its colour, shape and even gender, new research shows that parrotfish, commonly found on healthy coral reefs, can also play a pivotal role in ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — For reef-building corals, sponges do not make good neighbors. Aggressive competitors for space, sponges use toxins, mucus, shading, and smothering to kill adjacent coral colonies and then grow on ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Coral reefs, true reservoirs of biodiversity, are seriously threatened by human activities and climate change. Consequently, their extinction has often been heralded. Now, researchers are painting a ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — British stoats suffered a dramatic loss in genetic diversity in the 20th century but extinct British genes were preserved in the stoat population of New Zealand, a new study has found. The research ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — A worldwide study of the interplay between organisms and their environment bolsters the idea that greater biodiversity helps maintain more stable and productive ... read more

Poor Diet May Contribute to the Decline in British Bees

Apr. 22, 2015 — The changing British landscape could be contributing to the decline in its bee populations, according research. Analysis of 35 hives in 20 sites in North West England found that honeybees living near ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Working among venomous snakes in Australia's Jurien Dunes, researchers ask how biodiverse plants survive in some of the world's worst soils. Their discoveries may help to develop ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Fishing is having a significant impact on the make-up of fish populations of the Great Barrier Reef, new research shows. Removing predatory fish such as coral trout and snapper, through fishing, ... read more

Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015