Exotic Species News
May 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:31am EDT

More Exotic Species News
May 7, 2015

Diversity of Habitat Needed Around Spotted Owl Reserves, Study Shows

Apr. 28, 2015 — A new study shows that many bird species, including several of high conservation concern, aren't getting the habitat they need due to a focus on promoting California Spotted Owl habitat in the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — The Iberian ibex was reintroduced in the Sierra de Guadarrama (Madrid) in 1989. Now, some say there are too many of them. Researchers have assessed the impact on woody plant species in order to know ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — A demographic study of two endangered plants at Point Reyes National Seashore north of San Francisco shows that they favor recently disturbed open areas over areas that have established plant cover. ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — British stoats suffered a dramatic loss in genetic diversity in the 20th century but extinct British genes were preserved in the stoat population of New Zealand, a new study has found. The research ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — A worldwide study of the interplay between organisms and their environment bolsters the idea that greater biodiversity helps maintain more stable and productive ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Many loggerhead sea turtles that nest in Dry Tortugas National Park head to rich feeding sites in the Bahamas after nesting, a discovery that may help those working to protect this threatened ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — A single fish caught with a hand spear off the Brazilian coast is making big waves across the entire southwestern Atlantic. In May 2014, a group of recreational divers spotted an adult lionfish -- ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Disease shapes plant communities and determines the outcomes of environmental change, weed invasions and agriculture and forestry management strategies. Whether or not a disease devastates a plant ... read more

Poor Diet May Contribute to the Decline in British Bees

Apr. 22, 2015 — The changing British landscape could be contributing to the decline in its bee populations, according research. Analysis of 35 hives in 20 sites in North West England found that honeybees living near ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — In their efforts to forecast the spread of an invasive worm species, researchers are bringing a new weapon to bear: statistical ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Today, invasive animals and plants spread all around the globe. Predicting the dynamics of these invasions is of great ecological and socioeconomical interest. Yet studying them is fundamentally ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — A map shows how California's state highway system is strewn with roadkill "hot spots," which are identified in a newly released report. The data could help state highway planners take ... read more

Importance of 'Self-DNA' for Maintaining Diversity Among Species

Apr. 20, 2015 — In natural plant communities, diversity is maintained by limits set on each plant by itself. This involves a detrimental effect of self-DNA -- DNA from the same species released during decomposition ... read more

Apr. 17, 2015 — Researchers have determined the impacts of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill on marine organisms such as oysters, conch, shrimp, corals as well as marine plankton (microalgae or phytoplankton, rotifers ... read more

Diversity Is Key to Stability, Grassland Study Finds

Apr. 16, 2015 — Researchers looked at 28 years' worth of data on plant growth, number of species, ecosystem stability and exposure to changes in nitrogen, carbon dioxide, fire, grazing and water collected from ... read more

Perceptions of Environmental Damage Improves Over Time, Despite Lack of Real Change

Apr. 15, 2015 — Human perception of the beetle kill problem in the Kenai Peninsula in Alaska has improved over time, despite little improvement in the environmental conditions, researchers have found. The study drew ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — The common hippopotamus can spend up to 16 hours a day immersed in rivers and lakes. Lumbering out of the water at night, these herbivores graze on tropical grasses and consume 80 to 100 pounds in ... read more

Road Salt Guidelines Need Review to Protect Food Chain in Lakes

Apr. 9, 2015 — Lake and highway authorities should consider adjusting road salt use protocols to protect aquatic life such as the water flea, by taking the nutritional status of the lakes into account, experts ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — From the time humans began discovering and conquering new continents, they also started transporting animals and plants around the world and releasing them in locations where they never occurred ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — Introduced plants make up roughly half the diet of two subspecies of endangered tortoise, field research in the Galapagos reveals. Tortoises seem to prefer non-native to native plants and the plants ... read more

Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Friday, December 19, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014