Exotic Species News
September 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:19pm EDT

More Exotic Species News
September 4, 2015

Sep. 2, 2015 — The longest and largest controlled burn experiment ever conducted in the Amazon rainforest has yielded new insight into the ways that tropical forests succumb to -- and bounce back from -- ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — A salamander found preserved in amber from the Dominican Republic is the first-ever fossil of its kind, and also shows that salamanders once lived in the Caribbean region, where they now are all ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — Researchers are developing models for predicting carbon levels in Central African forests based on measuring only 5% of all trees. In addition to being a lot more effective, their work is also ... read more

Sediment Dwelling Creatures at Risk from Nanoparticles in Common Household Products

Aug. 13, 2015 — Biologists highlight the risks posed to aquatic organisms when nanoparticles 'transform' on contact with water and as they pass from water to sediment and then into sediment dwelling ... read more

Evolution Peaks on Tropical Mountain

Aug. 12, 2015 — Tropical mountains have an exceptionally high biodiversity. This is also the case for Mount Kinabalu in Sabah, Malaysian Borneo. During an expedition, experts investigated the local fauna, flora, and ... read more

Researchers Develop Fast Test for Invasive Carp

Aug. 11, 2015 — A field test that quickly determines whether Asian grass carp, a threat to the Great Lakes, are sterile or can reproduce has been developed by scientists. Ohio and neighboring states prohibit sale of ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — After wildfire, Northern California forests are beginning to look more like those seen in Mexico and Southern ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A world-first underwater study of fish in their natural environment has shown how predicted ocean acidification from climate change will devastate temperate marine habitats and ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — New analyses of vertebrate groups performed by an evolutionary biologist suggest that land animals proliferate more rapidly than their aquatic counterparts. The findings may help explain biodiversity ... read more

High-Altitude Climate Change to Kill Cloud Forest Plants

Aug. 7, 2015 — Scientists have discovered many tropical, mountaintop plants won't survive global warming, even under the best-case climate scenario. Many of the species they studied will likely not be able to ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — The dangers of relying on climate-based projections of future crop pest distributions have been highlighted by a new paper that suggests that rapid evolution can confound model ... read more

July 30, 2015 — In a global study of drought impacts, forest trees took an average of two to four years to resume normal growth rates, a revelation indicating that Earth's forests are capable of storing less ... read more

July 27, 2015 — A logging company has agreed to begin dismantling abandoned logging roads currently being used by poachers to access prime Amur (Siberian) tiger habitat in the Russian Far ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Both prescription and illegal drugs such as morphine, cocaine and oxycodone have been found in surface waters in Canadian rivers. New research shows that wastewater discharged from wastewater ... read more

Mangroves Help Protect Against Sea Level Rise

July 23, 2015 — Mangrove forests could play a crucial role in protecting coastal areas from sea level rise caused by climate change, according to new research. Scientists did leading-edge mathematical simulations to ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Much like healthy bacteria in one's gut supports health of the human body, fungus in soil can be integral to survival of trees, according to a new ... read more

Controlled Burns Increase Invasive Grass in Hardwood Forests

July 21, 2015 — Controlled burning is widely used to maintain biodiversity and enhance regeneration of important deciduous tree species such as oak and hickory, but a recent study found that this practice also ... read more

July 20, 2015 — The first worldwide study of animals and the seeds they eat has overturned a long-held assumption -- that large animals mainly eat large seeds. The finding shows that a wider variety of plants than ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Marine species that already roam far and wide throughout our oceans are extending their territories further and faster in response to climate change, according to new research an international team ... read more

Climate Change Just One of Many Risks to Trees in the Tropical Andes

July 16, 2015 — Scientists have provided the first robust assessment of climate change impacts on extinction risk in the tropical Andes, an area of global importance for biodiversity. ... read more

Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015