Ancient Civilizations News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:58am EST

More Ancient Civilizations News
February 7, 2016

Dec. 10, 2015 — Insights into Roman and medieval domestic life has been revealed by archaeologists whose project has taken place below a former city center bus ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — Research on ancient Moroccan snails shows clear evidence for climate-induced early human agricultural production. The work suggests that natural climate change that occurred seven to six thousand ... read more

Nov. 3, 2015 — A continuing look at a Maya village in El Salvador frozen in time by a blanket of volcanic ash 1,400 years ago shows the farming families who lived there went about their daily lives with virtually ... read more

New Test for Ancient DNA Authenticity Throws Doubt on Stone Age Wheat Trade

Nov. 3, 2015 — A new method reliably tests whether DNA shows ancient or modern patterns of biochemical change. This has recently cast doubt on the authenticity of what was thought to be evidence of a Stone Age ... read more

Invaluable Ancient Syrian Mosaic Discovered

Nov. 2, 2015 — Classical scholars are excavating one of the few sites of ancient Roman Syria in Turkey that are currently accessible as a result of the political situation in the Middle ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — Most of what we know about Mayan civilization relates to kings, queens and their elaborate temples. To understand what life was like for the 99 percent, one researcher turned to ancient animal ... read more

3D Models Provide a Credible Stimulus to Current Archaeological Thought, Practice

Oct. 28, 2015 — Archaeological concepts such as the real, virtual, and authentic are becoming increasingly unstable as a consequence of archaeological artefacts and assemblages being digitalised, reiterated, ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Archaeologists have discovered a Bronze Age warrior's tomb in southwestern Greece filled with more than 1,400 objects: jewels, weapons and armor, as well as bronze, silver and gold ... read more

Evidence of Ice Age ‘economic Migrants’ in Europe to Be Unearthed

Oct. 15, 2015 — New excavations aim to save flint artefacts from the impact of erosion. After being hidden for nearly 15,000 years, the lives of Ice Age hunter-gatherers who migrated to Europe to benefit from warmer ... read more

Oct. 8, 2015 — The first ancient human genome from Africa to be sequenced has revealed that a wave of migration back into Africa from Western Eurasia around 3,000 years ago was up to twice as significant as ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — A new discovery documents the intricate arrangement of the muscles and ligaments that controlled the main feathers of the wing of an ancient bird, supporting the notion that at least some of the most ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Researchers in Alaska have found the earliest known evidence that Ice Age humans in North America used salmon as a food source, according to a new ... read more

Sep. 17, 2015 — During their first Gernsheim dig last year, archaeologists suspected that a small Roman settlement must have also existed there in the Hessian Ried. Now they have discovered clear relics of a Roman ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — Fossils tell amazing stories and inspire them, too -- just think of this summer's 'Jurassic World' blockbuster. But because some of the processes that preserve fossils are not well ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — Rickets has been identified in a Neolithic skeleton from the Scottish island of Tiree, making it the earliest case of the disease in the United Kingdom. The nature of the grave itself - a simple ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — A surprising discovery from the genomes of eight Iberian Stone-Age farmer remains has been reported. The analyses revealed that early Iberian farmers are the closest ancestors to modern-day Basques, ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — The Stonehenge Hidden Landscapes Project team has discovered evidence for a row of up to 90 standing stones, some of which may have originally measured up to 4.5 meters in height. Many of these ... read more

Sep. 3, 2015 — 3D imaging of a mummified kestrel that died due to forced overeating provides evidence that the ancient Egyptians bred birds of prey as offerings for the gods, according to a new study. The digital ... read more

Sep. 2, 2015 — An archaeologist has 3D-printed a replica of an iron-age artifact to revive a rich musical culture in ancient Ireland, uncovering evidence that the artifact may have been a mouthpiece from an ... read more

Scientists Reveal New Zealand's Prehistoric Wildlife Sanctuaries

Sep. 1, 2015 — Prehistoric 'sanctuary' regions where New Zealand seabirds survived early human hunting have been documented by scientists. The researchers reconstructed the population histories for ... read more

Thursday, December 10, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014