Ancient Civilizations News
August 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:21am EDT

More Ancient Civilizations News
August 3, 2015

Social Media and Archaeology: A Match Not Made in Heaven

May 27, 2015 — The social web is bound up in relations of power, control, freedom, labor and exploitation, with consequences that portend real instability for the cultural sector and for social welfare overall. ... read more

May 8, 2015 — The burial of the so-called Red Lady, dating back to the Upper Palaeolithic, was discovered in El Mirón cave (Cantabria) in 2010. Unlike most Palaeolithic tombs this one is intact and has not been ... read more

May 4, 2015 — As with rivers, civilizations across the world rise and fall. Sometimes, the rise and fall of rivers has something to do with it. At Cahokia, the largest prehistoric settlement in the Americas north ... read more

May 1, 2015 — An international archaeological team is investigating an historic site devastated by conflict in Lebanon. They have demonstrated it is possible to obtain original and important information from ... read more

Ancient Clam Beaches Not So Natural, Study Shows

Apr. 29, 2015 — Ancient coastal Indigenous people were more than hunter-gatherers, new research shows. Researchers suggest that the Pacific Northwest is one of the few places in the world where it can be ... read more

DNA Suggests All Early Eskimos Migrated from Alaska's North Slope

Apr. 29, 2015 — Genetic testing of Inupiat people currently living in Alaska's North Slope is helping Northwestern University scientists fill in the blanks on questions about the migration patterns and ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Sometimes old friends give you a surprise. Russian archaeologists were conducting a routine examination of an old sabre unearthed seven years ago in Yaroslavl - when it turned out to be possibly the ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Analysis of ancient cadavers recovered at a famous archaeological site confirm the existence of a sophisticated culture of butchering and carving human remains, according to a team of ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — An ancient human skull and a jawbone found a few meters apart in a cave in northern Laos add to the evidence that early modern humans were physically quite diverse, researchers report. The skull has ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Almost 6,000 years ago, the man was placed behind the woman with his arms around her body, and their legs were intertwined. They were buried. Why they were interred in this manner is not yet ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Bodies found in a 200 year-old Hungarian crypt have revealed the secrets of how tuberculosis (TB) took hold in 18th century Europe, according to a research team. "Microbiological analyses of ... read more

Apr. 1, 2015 — Nearly 30 ancient seashell species coloration patterns were revealed using ultraviolet ... read more

Mar. 25, 2015 — New findings from an international team of archaeological researchers highlight the complexity of geopolitics in Aztec era Mesoamerica and illustrate how the relationships among ancient states ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — Analysis of a latrine in Jerusalem that dates back over 500 years finds human parasites common in northern Europe yet very rare in Middle East at the time, suggesting long-distance trade or ... read more

Pompeii Photos: Ancient Roman City Remains Unscathed by 'Selfie' Generation

Mar. 19, 2015 — Photos tourists take of Pompeii are almost identical to those taken by our ancestors. After examining 19th and early 20th century lantern slides of Pompeii and modern day photos researchers ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — A large bronze mask of the god Pan, the only of its kind, was uncovered at the excavation at Hippos-Sussita National Park. According to experts, bronze masks of this size are extremely rare and ... read more

Mar. 11, 2015 — A collection of ancient Greek and Roman coins includes an incredibly rare aureus of the Roman emperor Otho, who reigned for a mere three months. The Greek coins were struck by some of the most ... read more

Mar. 6, 2015 — The ancient Mongols have a reputation for having been fierce warriors. A new study shows them to have been unmatched polluters. Researchers found that lead pollution in Lake Erhai peaked at 119 ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — Recent research has uncovered the remains of an ancient town and burial complex that date to the Neolithic and Bronze Age. In addition to the Neolithic 'spooning' couple that has been ... read more

Mar. 3, 2015 — The precise dating of ancient charcoal found near a skull is helping reveal a unique period in prehistory. The Manot Cave, a natural limestone formation, had been sealed for some 15,000 years. It was ... read more

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Friday, September 5, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Friday, July 4, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014