Ancient Civilizations News
April 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:00am EDT

More Ancient Civilizations News
April 27, 2015

Apr. 16, 2015 — Analysis of ancient cadavers recovered at a famous archaeological site confirm the existence of a sophisticated culture of butchering and carving human remains, according to a team of ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — An ancient human skull and a jawbone found a few meters apart in a cave in northern Laos add to the evidence that early modern humans were physically quite diverse, researchers report. The skull has ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Bodies found in a 200 year-old Hungarian crypt have revealed the secrets of how tuberculosis (TB) took hold in 18th century Europe, according to a research team. "Microbiological analyses of ... read more

Mar. 6, 2015 — The ancient Mongols have a reputation for having been fierce warriors. A new study shows them to have been unmatched polluters. Researchers found that lead pollution in Lake Erhai peaked at 119 ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — Recent research has uncovered the remains of an ancient town and burial complex that date to the Neolithic and Bronze Age. In addition to the Neolithic 'spooning' couple that has been ... read more

Mar. 3, 2015 — The precise dating of ancient charcoal found near a skull is helping reveal a unique period in prehistory. The Manot Cave, a natural limestone formation, had been sealed for some 15,000 years. It was ... read more

Mar. 2, 2015 — Richard III is the only male to be discovered at infamous former car-park site. A mysterious lead coffin found close to the site of Richard III's hastily dug grave at the Grey Friars friary has ... read more

Feb. 27, 2015 — DNA evidence shows surprise cultural connections between Britain and Europe 8,000 years ago. Researchers found evidence for a variety of wheat at a submerged archaeological site off the south coast ... read more

Feb. 20, 2015 — Despite notable differences in appearance and governance, ancient human settlements function in much the same way as modern cities, according to new ... read more

Feb. 15, 2015 — A team of archaeologists and other researchers hope that an ancient graveyard in Italy can yield clues about the deadly bacterium that causes ... read more

Feb. 13, 2015 — Bioarchaeologists and archaeologists have been able to study the diets of 14 individuals dating back almost 2,000 years. The mummies were unearthed from one of the most famous sites in Peru: the ... read more

First-of-Its-Kind Discovery of 1,500 Year-Old Grape Seeds May Answer the Question: Why Was the Wine of the Negev So Renowned in the Byzantine Empire

Feb. 12, 2015 — For the first time, grape seeds from the Byzantine era have been found. These grapes were used to produce "the Wine of the Negev" -- one of the finest and most renowned wines in the whole ... read more

Feb. 9, 2015 — Amid war and refugee crisis, visiting Kurdish officials: We must protect our historical sites, experts say. High-ranking officials from the autonomous Kurdish province of Dohuk have signed an ... read more

Jan. 27, 2015 — Fossilized remains of four ancient snakes have been dated between 140 and 167 million years old -- nearly 70 million years older than the previous record of ancient snake fossils -- and are changing ... read more

Antiquity of Dairying on Emerald Isle Revealed

Jan. 16, 2015 — The antiquity of dairy farming in Ireland has been outlined by researchers in a new report. The research shows that dairying on the island goes back approximately 6,000 years, revealed through traces ... read more

Jan. 7, 2015 — A new study suggests that dogs may have first successfully migrated to the Americas only about 10,000 years ago, thousands of years after the first human migrants crossed a land bridge from Siberia ... read more

Jan. 5, 2015 — It's the dirt that's resulting in a new look at farming in the Dark Age, scientists report. The village of Nichoria in Messenia was located near the palace of Pylos during the Greek Bronze ... read more

Dec. 17, 2014 — Four of six major archaeological sites in Syria have been heavily looted and damaged, according to an analysis of high-resolution satellite images that documents the extent of the destruction. The ... read more

Dec. 15, 2014 — A student analyzing dental calculus from ancient teeth is helping resolve the question of what plant foods Easter Islanders relied on before European ... read more

Evidence of Viking/Norse Metalworking in Arctic Canada

Dec. 15, 2014 — A small stone container found by archaeologists a half-century ago has now been recognized as further evidence of a Viking or Medieval Norse presence in Arctic Canada during the centuries around 1000 ... read more

Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Friday, September 5, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Friday, July 4, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014
Wednesday, May 7, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Saturday, April 26, 2014
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Friday, April 18, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Wednesday, April 9, 2014