Diet and Weight Loss News
May 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:26pm EDT

More Diet and Weight Loss News
May 30, 2015

Diabetic Patients! Cactus, Chia and Soy Decrease High Glucose in Blood

May 27, 2015 — The so called functional foods such as cactus pads, chia and soybean, when included in a balanced diet, help reduce obesity and control diabetes, say Mexican ... read more

Nearly One in Seven Hispanic/Latino Adults Has Some Hearing Loss

May 28, 2015 — In the largest study to date of hearing loss among Hispanic/Latino adults in the United States, researchers have found that nearly one in seven has hearing loss, a number similar to the general ... read more

Trial Creates Six Percent Weight Loss After Breast Cancer Treatment

May 27, 2015 — Obesity is a risk factor for breast cancer. A new study shows that female breast cancer survivors are able to lose weight through modest lifestyle ... read more

Measuring Arm Circumference Is a More Reliable Indicator of Malnutrition

May 26, 2015 — The World Health Organization's current weight-based guidelines for assessing malnutrition in children with diarrhea are not as reliable as measuring the child's upper arm circumference, ... read more

May 25, 2015 — Diabetes is the fastest growing metabolic disease in the world. A new study has shown that traditional Aboriginal and Indian plant extracts could be used to manage the disease and may also have ... read more

May 21, 2015 — TV food commercials disproportionately stimulate the brains of overweight teenagers, including the regions that control pleasure, taste and -- most surprisingly -- the mouth, suggesting they mentally ... read more

May 21, 2015 — Certain proteins may slow the devastating memory loss caused by Alzheimer’s disease, according to a groundbreaking new study. The researchers found evidence that an elevated presence of a protein ... read more

Dignity in Care: Improving Nutrition in People With Dementia

May 19, 2015 — Ensuring dignity in the care and wellbeing of those with dementia is a critical issue. New research has been investigating how to improve nutrition in people with dementia. New training and ... read more

May 21, 2015 — An extract from the thunder god vine, which has a long history of use in traditional Chinese medicine, reduces food intake and causes up to a 45 percent decrease in body weight in obese mice. The ... read more

May 21, 2015 — Although eating high-protein, afternoon snacks can aid appetite control in adults, little information exists to guide parents on what types of snacks might benefit their adolescent children. Now, ... read more

Study Questions Beneficial Effects of a Nordic Diet on Cardiovascular Events

May 21, 2015 — Although individual components of a healthy so-called Nordic diet previously have been linked to beneficial effects on cardiovascular health, as well as to other health effects, there is no evidence ... read more

Obesity, Weight Loss Change Splicing Pattern of Obesity, Type 2 Diabetes Genes

May 21, 2015 — Alternative splicing of obesity and type 2 diabetes related genes may contribute to the pathophysiology of obesity, according to research. Obesity leads to changes in the splicing pattern of ... read more

May 20, 2015 — Large waistline, cholesterol disorders and other metabolic abnormalities may increase the relative risk of cardiovascular disease more among black women than among white women. Black women who were ... read more

Include Men in Osteoporosis Screening Guidelines, Experts Urge

May 20, 2015 — Osteoporosis affects more men than prostate cancer. In a large study of smokers, men were more likely than women to have osteoporosis and fractures of their vertebrae. Smoking history and chronic ... read more

UK Population Is Becoming Overweight and Obese at Younger Ages

May 19, 2015 — Children born since the 1980s are two to three times more likely than older generations to be overweight or obese by the age of 10, according to new research. The study characterized population ... read more

Skipping Meals Linked to Abdominal Weight Gain

May 19, 2015 — Skipping meals sets off a series of metabolic miscues that can result in abdominal weight gain, a new study in animals suggests. In the study, mice that ate all of their food as a single meal and ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Run far or run fast? That is one of the questions NASA is trying to answer with one of its latest studies -- and the answers may help keep us in shape on Earth, as well as in space. Even with regular ... read more

New Risk Factor for Pregnancies: Higher Risk of Preterm Delivery for Women Born Preterm

May 19, 2015 — Women who were born preterm have a higher risk of giving birth to preterm children, according to a study. Until now, it was known that low birth weight increased the risk of preterm delivery. But ... read more

May 18, 2015 — Modern lifestyles have famously made humans heavier, but, in one particular way, noticeably lighter weight than our hunter-gatherer ancestors: in the bones. Now a new study of the bones of hundreds ... read more

Obesity Research Finds Leptin Hormone Isn't the Overeating Culprit

May 18, 2015 — For years, scientists have pointed to leptin resistance as a possible cause of obesity. Research, however, has found that leptin action isn't the culprit. Leptin is a hormone that plays a role ... read more

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015