Tuberculosis News
July 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:22pm EDT

More Tuberculosis News
July 7, 2015

Multidrug-Resistant TB Appears Less Transmissible in Households Than Drug-Susceptible TB

June 23, 2015 — Some strains of multidrug-resistant tuberculosis (MDRTB) may have a lower fitness (be less capable of spreading) than drug-susceptible tuberculosis bacteria, according to a new study. The study ... read more

June 4, 2015 — Scientists have discovered a new target for the fight against multi-resistant mycobacteria, from a rejuvenated antibiotic series. Mycobacterium tuberculosis is the main cause of tuberculosis. The ... read more

Testing for Tuberculosis Reliably and Quickly

May 28, 2015 — Researchers have developed a simple diagnostic test to quickly and reliably detect tuberculosis in ... read more

Locally Sourced Drugs Can Be Effective for Treating Multidrug-Resistant TB

Apr. 29, 2015 — Locally sourced antibiotics can be as effective as 'internationally quality-assured' antibiotics for treating multidrug-resistant tuberculosis in Pakistan, and may help avoid delays in ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — Researchers have identified blood-based biomarkers in patients with active tuberculosis that could lead to new blood-based diagnostics and tools for monitoring treatment response and cure. ... read more

How the Human Immune System Keeps TB at Bay

Mar. 26, 2015 — A new tissue culture model using human white blood cells shows how people with a latent -- or symptom-free -- tuberculosis infection are protected from active disease by a critical early step in ... read more

Xpert MTB/RIF Assay for Diagnosis of Pulmonary Tuberculosis in Children: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

Mar. 24, 2015 — Microbiological confirmation of childhood tuberculosis is rare because of the difficulty of collection of specimens, low sensitivity of smear microscopy, and poor access to culture. A new study aimed ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Scientists have for the first time used DNA sequencing to trace the fatal spread of multidrug-resistant tuberculosis between patients in the UK. TB is spread by inhaling tiny airborne droplets from ... read more

Phase 2b Trial Results of Novel TB Regimen Show Potential to Shorten Treatment

Mar. 18, 2015 — A new tuberculosis (TB) drug regimen designed to improve options for TB therapy eliminated more bacteria from sputum than standard therapy and did so at a faster rate, according to data from a phase ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — The largest genetic study of tuberculosis susceptibility to date has led to a potentially important new insight into how the pathogen manages to evade the immune system. The study advances ... read more

Key to Tuberculosis Resistance Found

Mar. 2, 2015 — The cascade of events leading to bacterial infection and the immune response is mostly understood. However, the molecular mechanisms underlying the immune response to the bacteria that causes ... read more

Feb. 24, 2015 — A new small molecule drug has been discovered that may serve as a treatment against multi-drug resistant tuberculosis, a form of the disease that cannot be cured with conventional therapies. While ... read more

Elucidating the Origin of MDR Tuberculosis Strains

Jan. 28, 2015 — A study has focused on the evolutionary history of the mycobacterium that causes tuberculosis, and more specifically on the Beijing lineage associated with the spread of multidrug resistant forms of ... read more

Shorter Combination Treatment as Effective as Monotherapy for TB Prevention in Kids

Jan. 12, 2015 — To prevent tuberculosis in children with latent tuberculosis infection (which is not active but can become active), combination treatment with the medications rifapentine and isoniazid was as ... read more

Jan. 8, 2015 — A study of the effects of worming medications on infectious disease in wildlife herds showed an unexpected and alarming result -- it helped reduce individual deaths from a bovine tuberculosis ... read more

New Whole Blood Assay May Help Overcome Roadblocks to TB Eradication

Jan. 6, 2015 — One of the roadblocks to the eradication of tuberculosis (TB) is the difficulty in identifying patients with latent TB infections (LTBI). Neither the tuberculin skin test (TST) nor interferon-gamma ... read more

New Treatment Strategy Allows Lower Doses of Toxic Tuberculosis Drug Without Compromising Potency

Dec. 30, 2014 — While an effective treatment is available for combating multidrug-resistant tuberculosis, it carries serious side effects for patients. New research shows that lower doses of the toxic drug ... read more

Anti-Diabetic Drug Springs New Hope for Tuberculosis Patients

Dec. 17, 2014 — A more effective treatment for tuberculosis (TB) could soon be available as scientists have discovered that metformin, a drug for treating diabetes, can also be used to boost the efficacy of TB ... read more

Scientists' Unique System of Oral Vaccine Delivery to Address Global Health Threats

Dec. 15, 2014 — Scientists have succeeded in describing and validating a unique system of oral vaccine delivery using a common bacteria found in the mouth. According to the World Health Organization, nine million ... read more

Dec. 10, 2014 — Efflux pumps are proteins that prevent antimicrobial drugs from getting a foothold in a bacterial cell by identifying and pumping them out of the cell. New research suggests that small pieces of ... read more

Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Sunday, September 7, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Monday, September 1, 2014
Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Monday, July 21, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Monday, March 24, 2014
Monday, March 17, 2014
Friday, March 7, 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Monday, February 17, 2014
Thursday, February 13, 2014
Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Monday, January 27, 2014
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Friday, January 3, 2014
Thursday, December 19, 2013
Sunday, December 15, 2013
Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Wednesday, December 4, 2013
Tuesday, December 3, 2013
Monday, November 18, 2013
Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Wednesday, October 30, 2013
Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Tuesday, October 22, 2013
Thursday, October 3, 2013
Tuesday, October 1, 2013
Wednesday, September 18, 2013
Sunday, September 8, 2013
Wednesday, September 4, 2013
Sunday, September 1, 2013
Thursday, August 29, 2013
Wednesday, August 21, 2013
Friday, August 9, 2013
Sunday, July 28, 2013
Friday, July 19, 2013
Wednesday, July 3, 2013
Tuesday, July 2, 2013
Tuesday, June 18, 2013
Monday, June 17, 2013