Vegetarian News
May 24, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:27am EDT

More Vegetarian News
May 24, 2015

Physicians Want to Learn More About Diet, Cardiovascular Disease Prevention

Mar. 16, 2015 — Most physicians are aware of the importance of lifestyle factors in preventing cardiovascular disease (CVD) -- and believe diet is as important as statin therapy and exercise, according to a new ... read more

Nine Superfruits and Super Seeds to Add to Your Diet

Mar. 12, 2015 — Although there is no universal standard definition of a super seed or superfruit, they are often described as providing a number of nutrients and health benefits all in one package. A new article ... read more

People With Multiple Sclerosis May Have Lower Levels of Key Nutrients

Feb. 19, 2015 — Women with multiple sclerosis (MS) may have lower levels of important antioxidant and anti-inflammatory nutrients, such as folate from food and vitamin E, than healthy people, according to a new ... read more

White Potatoes Should Be Allowed Under WIC, Says Report

Feb. 3, 2015 — The US Department of Agriculture should allow white potatoes as a vegetable eligible for purchase with vouchers issued by the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Woman, Infants, and Children ... read more

Jan. 13, 2015 — Many schools have reported that fruits and vegetables are feeding trash cans rather than students. A new study shows that one simple no-cost change, holding recess before lunchtime, can increase ... read more

Men's Diets Are Related to Local Offerings, Unlike Women's

Jan. 6, 2015 — Canadian men's eating habits are associated with the availability of healthy food sources in their residential neighborhood but women's are not, according to researchers. Why men and not ... read more

Low-Glycemic Index Carbohydrate Diet Does Not Improve Cv Risk Factors, Insulin Resistance

Dec. 16, 2014 — In a study that included overweight and obese participants, those with diets with low glycemic index of dietary carbohydrate did not have improvements in insulin sensitivity, lipid levels, or ... read more

Low Income Kids Eat More Fruits, Vegetables When They Are in School

Dec. 11, 2014 — The fruits and vegetables provided at school deliver an important dietary boost to low income adolescents, according to a study. "Innovation in school food offerings for kids has emphasized ... read more

New School Meal Requirements: More Harm Than Good?

Nov. 18, 2014 — New federal regulations requiring school meals to contain more whole grains, less saturated fat and more fruits and vegetables, while perhaps improving some aspects of the food being served at ... read more

Diets High in Fruit, Vegetables, Whole Grains and Nuts Among Factors to Lower First-Time Stroke Risk

Oct. 29, 2014 — Eating Mediterranean or DASH-style diets, regularly engaging in physical activity and keeping your blood pressure under control can lower your risk of a first-time stroke, experts say. Additionally, ... read more

Replacing Saturated Fat With Polyunsaturated Fat Linked With Lower Risk of Heart Disease

Oct. 28, 2014 — People who swap 5 percent of the calories they consume from saturated fat sources such as red meat and butter with foods containing linoleic acid -- the main polyunsaturated fat found in vegetable ... read more

Many in U.S. Have Poor Nutrition, With the Disabled Doing Worst

Oct. 23, 2014 — Most US adults fail to meet recommended daily levels of 10 key nutrients, and those with disabilities have even worse nutrition than average, researchers report. An estimated 10 to 25 percent of U.S. ... read more

Weight Gain Study Suggests Polyunsaturated Oil Healthier Option

Oct. 15, 2014 — Rapid weight gain from eating foods rich in saturated fats quickly increased bad cholesterol levels, even in otherwise healthy and normal-weight adults in their mid-20s. The opposite was true in ... read more

Dietary Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids Linked to Reduced Risk of Coronary Heart Disease

Sep. 30, 2014 — Dietary polyunsaturated fatty acids may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease, a recent study has found. The sources of polyunsaturated fatty acids include fish, vegetable oils, and nuts. The ... read more

Federal Food Program Puts Food on the Table, but Dietary Quality Could Be Improved

Sep. 23, 2014 — Participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, previously known as the food stamp program, had lower dietary quality scores compared with income eligible non-participants, a new study ... read more

Sep. 5, 2014 — If Americans altered their menus to conform to federal dietary recommendations, emissions of heat-trapping greenhouse gases tied to agricultural production could increase significantly, according to ... read more

Sep. 4, 2014 — Older women who eat foods with higher amounts of potassium may be at lower risk of stroke and death than women who consume less potassium-rich foods. The health benefits from potassium-rich foods are ... read more

Children: Fruit, Vegetable Intake Still Too Low; Human Nutritionist Says to Focus on Lunch

Aug. 19, 2014 — Children between the ages of 2 and 18 are eating more whole fruits and drinking less fruit juice, a new report finds after the implementation of a new program. However, vegetable intake remains the ... read more

Aug. 5, 2014 — Among people with type 2 diabetes, eating pistachios may reduce the body's response to the stresses of everyday life, according researchers. "In adults with diabetes, two servings of ... read more

Crowdsourcing May Help Dieters Lose Weight

Aug. 4, 2014 — Crowdsourcing may help dieters stick to healthy foods and lose weight, as participants are as good as trained experts at correctly rating the healthiness of foods and giving feedback on them, ... read more

Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Friday, September 5, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Saturday, June 14, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Friday, May 16, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Monday, April 7, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014
Friday, March 28, 2014
Friday, March 21, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Monday, February 24, 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Thursday, February 20, 2014
Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Thursday, February 6, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Wednesday, January 8, 2014
Monday, January 6, 2014
Friday, January 3, 2014
Friday, December 20, 2013
Wednesday, December 18, 2013
Tuesday, December 17, 2013
Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Tuesday, November 26, 2013
Wednesday, November 20, 2013
Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Monday, November 11, 2013
Thursday, November 7, 2013
Wednesday, October 30, 2013
Thursday, October 17, 2013
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Sunday, October 13, 2013
Friday, October 11, 2013
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Monday, September 16, 2013
Tuesday, September 3, 2013
Friday, August 23, 2013
Monday, August 12, 2013
Tuesday, July 23, 2013
Monday, July 15, 2013
Wednesday, July 17, 2013
Monday, July 15, 2013
Tuesday, July 9, 2013
Monday, June 10, 2013
Friday, June 7, 2013
Monday, June 3, 2013
Wednesday, May 29, 2013
Monday, May 20, 2013
Wednesday, May 1, 2013
Monday, April 22, 2013
Thursday, April 18, 2013
Monday, April 15, 2013
Thursday, March 28, 2013
Friday, March 22, 2013
Monday, March 18, 2013
Tuesday, March 12, 2013
Monday, February 25, 2013
Friday, February 22, 2013
Wednesday, February 20, 2013
Monday, February 11, 2013
Thursday, February 7, 2013
Wednesday, January 30, 2013
Thursday, January 24, 2013