Energy and Resources News
July 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:08pm EDT

More Energy and Resources News
July 29, 2015

Economic Slump, Not Natural Gas Boom, Responsible for Drop in CO2 Emissions

July 21, 2015 — The 11 percent decrease in climate change-causing carbon dioxide emissions in the US between 2007 and 2013 was caused by the global financial recession -- not the reduced use of coal, research ... read more

Perovskite Solar Technology Shows Quick Energy Returns

July 20, 2015 — In the solar power research community, a new class of materials called perovskites is causing quite a buzz, as scientists search for technology that has a better 'energy payback time' than ... read more

Unique Material Created for the Next Generation Solar Cells

July 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed material which offers much cheaper alternative to the one which is currently being used in hybrid solar cells. The efficiency of the semi-conductors created by the team of ... read more

July 15, 2015 — In the quest for better, less expensive ways to store and use energy, platinum and other precious metals play an important role. They serve as catalysts to propel the most efficient fuel cells, but ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Imagine if, in an effort to clean the air more efficiently, you were involuntarily introducing chemicals more dangerous than the ones you were trying to scrub. Researchers have found that this exact ... read more

July 15, 2015 — The Sun can be a better chemist, thanks to zinc oxide nanorod arrays grown on a graphene substrate and 'decorated' with dots of cadmium sulphide. In the presence of solar radiation, this ... read more

Are Fuel Cells Environmentally Friendly? Not Always

July 15, 2015 — Fuel cells are regarded as the technology of the future for both cars and household heating systems. As a result, they have a key role to play in the switch to renewable energies. But are fuel cells ... read more

July 15, 2015 — When a rhythm stalls, the effect can be fatal -- in a power grid it can mean a blackout, and in the human heart even death. An international team of scientists has now developed a new approach for ... read more

New Fuel-Cell Materials Pave the Way for Practical Hydrogen-Powered Cars

July 15, 2015 — Hydrogen fuel cells promise clean cars that emit only water. Several major car manufacturers have recently announced their investment to increase the availability of fueling stations, while others ... read more

Is the Energy System Really Ready for Sustainable Energy?

July 14, 2015 — New research into sustainable energy systems focuses on integrating renewable and nuclear power plants into the electrical grid – a topic high on the agenda for scholars, industry and policy ... read more

Nanoscale Light-Emitting Device Has Big Profile

July 13, 2015 — Engineers have created a nanoscale device that can emit light as powerfully as an object 10,000 times its size. It's an advance that could have huge implications for everything from photography ... read more

July 13, 2015 — A researcher employs a clay typically used for gardening to develop a proton-conducting, bulk nanostructured ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a new type of material which stores heat energy for a prolonged period, which they have termed a "heat storage ceramic." This new material can be used as heat ... read more

July 12, 2015 — A new material design could make low-cost solar panels far more efficient by greatly enhancing their ability to collect the sun’s energy and release it as ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new technique that enables sensitive and specific detection of molecules at the electrode/electrolyte interface. This new method uses diffraction from graphene gratings ... read more

July 8, 2015 — Hybrid rocket fuel research by mechanical engineers could hasten the day when a simpler, safer hybrid engine propels space ... read more

July 7, 2015 — Researchers are working to lower the cost of solar energy systems and improve efficiencies in a big way, thanks to a system of small particles. Falling particle receiver technology is expected to ... read more

Barnett Shale Research Raises New Concerns About Methane Emissions

July 7, 2015 — Some natural gas wells, compressor stations and processing plants in the Barnett Shale leak far more methane than previously estimated, potentially offsetting the climate benefits of natural gas, a ... read more

Switzerland's Transition Away from Nuclear Power

July 7, 2015 — Switzerland has a long history of trying to be as self-sufficient and energy independent as possible. Although its energy supply system has served it well in the past, the country is now looking to ... read more

July 6, 2015 — Imagine a fleet of driverless taxis roaming your city, ready to pick you up and take you to your destination at a moment's notice. While this may seem fantastical, it may be only a matter of ... read more

Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015