Energy and Resources News
November 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:41am EST

More Energy and Resources News
November 27, 2015

Next-Generation Fuel Cells Are Ready for Low-Emission Electricity Production

Nov. 25, 2015 — A new-generation, long-life fuel cell system is under development, offering efficiency higher than that of competing technologies. The project will result in new, energy-efficient and commercially ... read more

Nov. 23, 2015 — Taking inspiration from water beetles and other swimming insects, academics have developed the Row-bot, a robot that thrives in dirty water. The Row-bot mimics the way that the water boatman moves ... read more

Innovative Reports to Help Utility Regulators, Policymakers and Electric Industry

Nov. 23, 2015 — The electric industry in the U.S. is undergoing significant changes for a number of reasons, including new and improved technologies, changing customer desires, low load growth in many regions, and ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — Researchers have demonstrated an electrically-controllable valley current device that may pave the way to ultra-low-power 'valleytronics' ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — A shortage of a rare mineral could spur global market instabilities, according to a new analysis of international commodity trade ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — High-performance lithium ion batteries face a major problem: Lithium will eventually start to run out as batteries are deployed in electric cars and stationary storage units. Researchers have now ... read more

Daring Move for First US-China Fusion Team

Nov. 11, 2015 — Increasing the power and efficiency of magnetic fusion energy may require the risk of running the hot plasma closer than ever to the ... read more

Nov. 11, 2015 — In the quest for renewable fuels, scientists are taking lessons from a humble bacterium that fills our oceans and covers moist surfaces the world over. Cyanothece 51142, a type of bacteria also ... read more

Accidental Discovery Bubbles With Promise for Safer Hydrogen Storage

Nov. 10, 2015 — A surprise discovery may speed the transformation to hydrogen as a major fuel source in the future. Scientists discovered a biopolymer that was capturing and storing hydrogen. They have applied for a ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — A new, onion-like nanoparticle could open new frontiers in biomaging, solar energy harvesting and light-based security ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — Scientists develop lithium-ion batteries with clay-based electrolytes for high-temperature ... read more

Conducting Gels, from Waste to Wealth

Nov. 9, 2015 — Scientists have demonstrated an innovative way of using a gel to extract precious metals such as silver and gold from waste and convert them into conducting nanoparticles to form a hybrid ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — Scientists have developed a new way of making fuel cell membranes using nanoscale fasteners, paving the way for lower-cost, higher-efficiency and more easily manufactured fuel ... read more

Low-Cost Offshore Wind Turbine Created

Nov. 6, 2015 — Researchers have designed and patented a floating platform for offshore wind turbines that can reduce energy costs to 12 euro cents per kilowatt hour (kWh) through a more efficient design and cheaper ... read more

Using Hydrogen to Enhance Lithium Ion Batteries

Nov. 5, 2015 — Scientists have found that lithium ion batteries operate longer and faster when their electrodes are treated with ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Owners of home photovoltaic systems will soon be able to make their households even more sustainable, because PV power is also suitable for charging personal electronic vehicles. A home energy ... read more

New Low-Cost Battery Could Help Store Renewable Energy

Nov. 4, 2015 — Wind and solar energy projects are growing at a respectable clip. But storing electric power for days when the air is still or when the sun goes down remains a challenge, largely due to cost. Now ... read more

Nov. 3, 2015 — Engineers have identified a new approach for the storage of concentrated solar thermal energy, to reduce its cost and make it more practical for wider ... read more

Energy-Efficient Reaction Drives Biofuel Conversion Technology

Nov. 3, 2015 — A new study explains the mechanism behind a technology that converts bio-based ethanol into hydrocarbon blend-stocks for use as fossil fuel ... read more

Nov. 3, 2015 — Biogas potentially available from human waste worldwide would have a value of up to US$ 9.5 billion in natural gas equivalent, UN University's Canadian-based water institute estimates. And the ... read more

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Saturday, October 24, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015