Energy and Resources News
February 11, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:12pm EST

More Energy and Resources News
February 11, 2016

New Material Substantially Reduces Nitrogen from Diesel

Feb. 2, 2016 — The Mexican Oil Institute (IMP) developed a catalyst adsorbent material that removes 80 percent of organic compounds from hydrocarbon charges before starting the process of hydrodesulfurization ... read more

Better Catalysts for Heavy Oil Extraction

Feb. 1, 2016 — Newly catalysts speed up heavy oil extraction under the conditions of in-situ ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Scientists have a new recipe for batteries: Bake a leaf, and add sodium. They used a carbonized oak leaf, pumped full of sodium, as a demonstration battery’s negative terminal, or anode, according ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Getting the interfaces between the two liquids into different shapes unlocks new kinds of behaviors and applications. And thanks to new research, one special kind of emulsion is becoming easier to ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Scientists have been trying for years to make a practical lithium-ion battery anode out of silicon, which could store 10 times more energy per charge than today's commercial anodes and make ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Anew financially viable and environmentally friendly way to recover and recycle gold from electronic waste has been outlined by scientists. With lower toxicity, cheaper cost and quicker extraction, ... read more

Harnessing the Oxidizing Power of Air

Jan. 28, 2016 — Researchers report the catalysis of a highly specific chemical reaction where oxygen from the air is one ingredient and the other, an organic molecule, is selectively 'oxidized'. A simple ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — A cost-effective catalyst material has been produced for fuel cells using a new preparation process which researchers analyzed in detail. It consists of iron-nitrogen complexes embedded in tiny ... read more

Energy Harvesting Via Smart Materials

Jan. 26, 2016 — A group of smart materials known as "electrostrictive polymers" have been explored for their potential mechanical energy harvesting ... read more

Jan. 26, 2016 — With microbial technology, the a research team aims to increase hydrocarbon recovery factor in extraction wells. The Technology of Hydrocarbons Recovery using Microbes uses microorganisms found in ... read more

Increasing Oil's Performance With Crumpled Graphene Balls

Jan. 25, 2016 — Crumpled graphene balls self-disperse in oil to reduce friction and protect engines better than commercial ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — A group of nuclear detectives has taken on tough challenges, from detecting illicit uranium using isotopic “fingerprints” to investigating Presidential assassination ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — A comprehensive analysis of oil in the Gulf of Mexico has been developed by researchers who have determined how much of it occurs naturally and how much came from the 2010 Deepwater Horizon spill. ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — Collapsed cave systems are a new type of reservoir in the Barents Sea that can accommodate significant petroleum resources. Characterizing the reservoir properties of such systems is quite a ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Scientists have created the first computational model that simulates the light-harvesting activity of thousands of antenna proteins that would interact in the chloroplast of an actual leaf. The ... read more

Assessment Aims to Maximize Greenhouse Gas Reductions from Bioenergy

Jan. 21, 2016 — A study used a new method, never before applied to the energy sector, to assess the 'sustainability index' of various sources of energy, both conventional and ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Lithium-air batteries hold the promise of storing electricity at up to five times the energy density of today's familiar lithium-ion batteries, but they have inherent shortcomings. Researchers ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Small voltage can flip thin film between two crystal states -- one metallic, one semiconducting -- new research indicates. The research involves a thin-film material called a strontium cobaltite, or ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Researchers are utilizing metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) to develop a new type of storage system that would adsorb natural gas like a sponge and allow for more energy-efficient storage and ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — Lithium ions are depleted as a battery charges and are also lost to the formation of a thin coating on a battery’s anode. Researchers used powerful neutron science facilities to try to understand ... read more

Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015