Inorganic Chemistry News
February 12, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:13pm EST

More Inorganic Chemistry News
February 12, 2016

Feb. 12, 2016 — A new strain of yeast that could improve the efficiency of making fuel from cellulosic biomass such as switchgrass has been discovered by researchers. Both the yeast strain and the method of its ... read more

Chemical Cages: New Technique Advances Synthetic Biology

Feb. 10, 2016 — A clever means of localizing and confining enzymes and the substrate molecules they bind with has been presented by researchers, speeding up reactions essential for life ... read more

Quantum Potential: Where Light and Matter Co-Exist

Feb. 9, 2016 — Plasmons, quasiparticles arising from the collective motion of electrons on the surface of a metal, can strongly modify the behavior of nearby light, and could be instrumental in building some of the ... read more

Feb. 8, 2016 — How information is transferred from biological molecules to crystalline surfaces could pave the way for the development of new drugs and other synthetic ... read more

Feb. 8, 2016 — The interaction of thermal energy from the environment with motional degrees of freedom is well known and often referred to as Brownian motion (also thermal motion). But in the case of polar ... read more

Feb. 8, 2016 — A new study sheds light on unique property of 2-D materials -- ability to shield chemical interactions at the molecular level. Discovery of shielding effect allows scientists to control reactivity of ... read more

Clean Energy from Water

Feb. 8, 2016 — Fuel cells generate electrical energy through a chemical reaction of hydrogen and oxygen. To obtain clean energy, the splitting of water into its components of hydrogen and oxygen is critical. ... read more

Feb. 8, 2016 — In the one-dimensional (1-D), various exotic phenomena are predicted that are totally different from those in the 3-D world in which we live. One of the reasons of this is that particles cannot pass ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Scientists have developed the first known statistical theory for the toughness of polycrystalline graphene, which is made with chemical vapor deposition, and found that it is indeed strong, but more ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Scientists have for the first time reengineered a building block of a geometric nanocompartment that occurs naturally in bacteria to give it a new ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — Scientists have discovered a new option to control properties of the interface between the two layers, for instance the amount of charge transferred from one layer to the other or the emergence of ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — It is possible to design and construct interfaces between materials with different structures by making a bridge between them, scientists have ... read more

Feb. 4, 2016 — A new model helps understand for example defects formed in metal ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — Scientists have grown organic crystals that allow creating flexible electronic ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — At the atomic level, bismuth displays a number of quirky physical phenomena. A new study reveals a novel mechanism for controlling the energy transfer between electrons and the bismuth crystal ... read more

Feb. 3, 2016 — A materials scientist has discovered a way to grow a crystal ball in a lab. Not the kind that soothsayers use to predict the future, but a microscopic version that could be used to encapsulate ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — Scientists have now presented the smallest human-made lattice structure. Its struts and braces are made of glassy carbon. They are smaller than comparable metamaterials by a factor of five. The small ... read more

Cling-on Warriors: Sandcastle Worms Serve as Inspiration for a New Type of Underwater Adhesive

Feb. 2, 2016 — An interdisciplinary group of researchers has made strides in the development of an underwater adhesive that has the potential for a variety of biomedical and non-biological ... read more

Bio-Inspired Biomimetics Can Outperform Natural Coenzymes

Feb. 1, 2016 — Researchers have developed a range of synthetic biomimetic compounds to replace the relatively expensive natural NADH and NADPH coenzymes in enzymatic conversions of industrial relevance. They show ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — When cold milk is poured into a hot cup of tea, a temperature equilibrium is reached very quickly. The milk droplets and the tea particles interact, and after a few moments they all have the same ... read more

Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016