Inorganic Chemistry News
July 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:38am EDT

More Inorganic Chemistry News
July 28, 2015

July 27, 2015 — Coating the inside of glass microtubes with a polymer hydrogel material dramatically alters the way capillary forces draw water into the tiny structures, researchers have found. The discovery could ... read more

Breakthrough in Knowledge of How Nanoparticles Grow

July 23, 2015 — Researchers have for the first time observed the growth of free nanoparticles in helium gas in a process similar to the decaffeination of coffee, providing new insights into the structure of ... read more

New Molecular Butterflies Help Advance Energy Research

July 22, 2015 — A new family of molecules that physically resemble butterflies is pushing the boundary of new materials research, scientists report. With these precisely designed molecules, the team also plans to ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Scientists have exploited the light of fireflies in a new method that detects biological molecules without the need for complex devices and high costs. The researchers were able to add a small ... read more

July 21, 2015 — BPA's popularity soared after the 1950s, but evidence suggests that even low doses might be harmful to human and environmental health. Many manufacturers are now phasing out BPA, but it ... read more

July 21, 2015 — In the last decade, graphene has been intensively studied for its unique optical, mechanical, electrical and structural properties. The one-atom-thick carbon sheets could revolutionize the way ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Organic molecules allow producing printable electronics and solar cells with extraordinary properties. In spintronics, too, molecules open up the unexpected possibility of controlling the magnetism ... read more

July 20, 2015 — In a tremendous boost for spintronic technologies, scientists have shown that electrons can jump through spins much faster than previously ... read more

Drug-Encapsulating Nanoparticle With Bright Bio-Labels Measures How Anticancer Chemotherapy Formulations Enter Cells

July 16, 2015 — Polymer nanoparticles that release medicine at controlled rates inside cells have the potential to enhance the efficacy of many clinical drugs. Researchers have now developed an eye-catching way to ... read more

July 16, 2015 — 'SINGLE' is a new imaging technique that provides the first atomic-scale 3-D structures of individual nanoparticles in solution. This is an important step for improving the design of ... read more

July 15, 2015 — In the quest for better, less expensive ways to store and use energy, platinum and other precious metals play an important role. They serve as catalysts to propel the most efficient fuel cells, but ... read more

July 15, 2015 — A newly discovered family of chemical structures could increase the value of biogas and natural gas that contains carbon ... read more

July 15, 2015 — The Sun can be a better chemist, thanks to zinc oxide nanorod arrays grown on a graphene substrate and 'decorated' with dots of cadmium sulphide. In the presence of solar radiation, this ... read more

For Faster, Larger Graphene Add a Liquid Layer

July 15, 2015 — Millimetre-sized crystals of high-quality graphene can be made in minutes instead of hours using a new scalable technique, researchers have ... read more

New Fuel-Cell Materials Pave the Way for Practical Hydrogen-Powered Cars

July 15, 2015 — Hydrogen fuel cells promise clean cars that emit only water. Several major car manufacturers have recently announced their investment to increase the availability of fueling stations, while others ... read more

July 14, 2015 — How can two metals that are not magnetic combine to make a magnet? Scientists have found one answer in their creation of the first known itinerant antiferromagnet from nonmagnetic ... read more

Potential of Blue LEDs as Novel Chemical-Free Food Preservation Technology

July 14, 2015 — A team of scientists has found that blue light emitting diodes (LEDs) have strong antibacterial effect on major foodborne pathogens, and are most effective when in cold temperatures (between 4°C and ... read more

July 13, 2015 — A long-standing chemistry puzzle has been solved, with potential implications ranging from industrial processes to atmospheric ... read more

July 13, 2015 — In a breakthrough for nanoscience, polymer engineers have made such a mold for nanostructures that can shape liquid silicon out of an organic polymer material. This paves the way for perfect, 3-D, ... read more

July 13, 2015 — A researcher employs a clay typically used for gardening to develop a proton-conducting, bulk nanostructured ... read more

Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015