Inorganic Chemistry News
July 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:08pm EDT

More Inorganic Chemistry News
July 30, 2015

July 27, 2015 — Coating the inside of glass microtubes with a polymer hydrogel material dramatically alters the way capillary forces draw water into the tiny structures, researchers have found. The discovery could ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Scientists describe in a new study how they constructed elastic conducting fibers by wrapping lighter-than-air, electrically conductive sheets of tiny carbon nanotubes to form a jelly-roll-like ... read more

Cages Offer New Direction in Sustainable Catalyst Design

July 23, 2015 — Engineers have developed a new approach to structuring the catalysts used in essential reactions in the chemical and energy fields. The advance offers a pathway for industries to wean themselves off ... read more

July 23, 2015 — By encoding information in photons via their spin, 'photonic' computers could be orders of magnitude faster and efficient than their current-day counterparts. Likewise, encoding information ... read more

July 23, 2015 — A new fabrication technique that produces platinum hollow nanocages with ultra-thin walls could dramatically reduce the amount of the costly metal needed to provide catalytic activity in such ... read more

Synthetic Coral Could Remove Toxic Heavy Metals from the Ocean

July 23, 2015 — A new material that mimics coral could help remove toxic heavy metals like mercury from the ocean, according to a new study. The researchers say their new material could provide inspiration for other ... read more

New Finding Could Lead to Cheap, Efficient Metal-Based Solar Cells

July 23, 2015 — Although the domestic solar-energy industry grew by 34 percent in 2014, fundamental technical breakthroughs are needed if the U.S. is to meet its national goal of reducing the cost of solar ... read more

Breakthrough in Knowledge of How Nanoparticles Grow

July 23, 2015 — Researchers have for the first time observed the growth of free nanoparticles in helium gas in a process similar to the decaffeination of coffee, providing new insights into the structure of ... read more

New Molecular Butterflies Help Advance Energy Research

July 22, 2015 — A new family of molecules that physically resemble butterflies is pushing the boundary of new materials research, scientists report. With these precisely designed molecules, the team also plans to ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Scientists have exploited the light of fireflies in a new method that detects biological molecules without the need for complex devices and high costs. The researchers were able to add a small ... read more

July 21, 2015 — BPA's popularity soared after the 1950s, but evidence suggests that even low doses might be harmful to human and environmental health. Many manufacturers are now phasing out BPA, but it ... read more

July 21, 2015 — In the last decade, graphene has been intensively studied for its unique optical, mechanical, electrical and structural properties. The one-atom-thick carbon sheets could revolutionize the way ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Organic molecules allow producing printable electronics and solar cells with extraordinary properties. In spintronics, too, molecules open up the unexpected possibility of controlling the magnetism ... read more

July 20, 2015 — In a tremendous boost for spintronic technologies, scientists have shown that electrons can jump through spins much faster than previously ... read more

Drug-Encapsulating Nanoparticle With Bright Bio-Labels Measures How Anticancer Chemotherapy Formulations Enter Cells

July 16, 2015 — Polymer nanoparticles that release medicine at controlled rates inside cells have the potential to enhance the efficacy of many clinical drugs. Researchers have now developed an eye-catching way to ... read more

July 16, 2015 — 'SINGLE' is a new imaging technique that provides the first atomic-scale 3-D structures of individual nanoparticles in solution. This is an important step for improving the design of ... read more

July 15, 2015 — In the quest for better, less expensive ways to store and use energy, platinum and other precious metals play an important role. They serve as catalysts to propel the most efficient fuel cells, but ... read more

July 15, 2015 — A newly discovered family of chemical structures could increase the value of biogas and natural gas that contains carbon ... read more

July 15, 2015 — The Sun can be a better chemist, thanks to zinc oxide nanorod arrays grown on a graphene substrate and 'decorated' with dots of cadmium sulphide. In the presence of solar radiation, this ... read more

For Faster, Larger Graphene Add a Liquid Layer

July 15, 2015 — Millimetre-sized crystals of high-quality graphene can be made in minutes instead of hours using a new scalable technique, researchers have ... read more

Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015