Inorganic Chemistry News
October 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:09am EDT

More Inorganic Chemistry News
October 4, 2015

Organics Energize Solar Cell Research

Oct. 1, 2015 — Scientists are using a new supercomputer to advance next-generation solar energy technologies by probing the functional interfaces found in organic and hybrid solar ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Toyohashi Tech researchers in cooperation with researchers at the National Institute of Technology, Kurume College have demonstrated the formation of composite nanoparticles of luminescent ZnO ... read more

Sep. 30, 2015 — Success of the energy turnaround will depend decisively on the extended use of renewable energy sources. However, their efficiency partly is much smaller than that of conventional energy sources. The ... read more

Sep. 30, 2015 — The oceans seem to produce significantly more isoprene, and consequently affect stronger the climate than previously thought. This emerges from a new study of samples of the surface film in the ... read more

Nanomachines: Pirouetting in the Spotlight

Sep. 29, 2015 — Scientists have developed a new class of molecular motors that rotate unidirectionally at speeds of up to 1 kHz when exposed to sunlight at room temperature. This unique combination of features opens ... read more

Breakthrough for Photography: Light Sensing Technology

Sep. 29, 2015 — A revolutionary breakthrough is underway, an innovation that may usher in the next generation of light sensing technology with potential applications in scientific research and cellphone ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Scientists have mapped the strain in graphene, a 2-D sheet of carbon that is strong, flexible and can expand without breaking. Though the material has found its way into several applications, ranging ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Variance spectroscopy lets researchers learn more about mixed batches of fluorescent nanotubes by focusing on small areas of samples and comparing their ... read more

Controlling Evaporative Patterning Transitions

Sep. 29, 2015 — The primary mechanism behind evaporative patterning has long been known: water evaporates faster at the edges of drops, which gives rise to a fluid flow carrying dissolved substances all the way to ... read more

Researchers Create First Entropy-Stabilized Complex Oxide Alloys

Sep. 29, 2015 — Materials researchers have created the first entropy-stabilized alloy that incorporates oxides -- and demonstrated conclusively that the crystalline structure of the material can be determined by ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — The first atomically thin 2D sheets of organic-inorganic hybrid perovskites have been developed by researchers. These ionic materials exhibit optical properties not found in 2D covalent ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — A new study puts us closer to do-it-yourself spray-on solar cell technology—promising third-generation solar cells utilizing a nanocrystal ink deposition that could make traditional expensive ... read more

Simulation of Chiral Edge States in a Quantum System

Sep. 25, 2015 — Researchers have simulated a physical phenomenon in an atomic quantum gas that can also be observed at the edge of some condensed matter systems: chiral currents. The scientists have published the ... read more

Designed Defects in Liquid Crystals Can Guide Construction of Nanomaterials

Sep. 24, 2015 — Imperfections running through liquid crystals can be used as miniscule tubing, channeling molecules into specific positions to form new materials and nanoscale structures, according to engineers. The ... read more

Protein Conjugation Method Offers New Possibilities for Biomaterials

Sep. 24, 2015 — A novel method in which protein-polymer conjugates can display new and unique types of functionalities has been demonstrated by a team of ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — With fossil-fuel sources dwindling, better biofuel cell design is a strong candidate in the energy field. In a new study, researchers and external collaborators synthesized and characterized a new ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Researchers are studying additive manufacturing and its potential for high-consequence applications. Two aspects of that effort are to understand both the properties of newly formed materials and how ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — The findings of a new study may provide a new way of treating kidney cancer, opening the potential for more potent and less toxic therapies that would give cancer patients a better quality of ... read more

Water Pathways Make Fuel Cells More Efficient

Sep. 23, 2015 — Researchers have developed a coating technique in the laboratory that could raise the efficiency of fuel cells. The scientists have already applied to patent the technique, which is suitable for mass ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — A gold catalyst whose behavior can be controlled by the addition of acid or metal ion cofactors has been designed by chemists. They have developed a catalyst with significantly enhanced properties ... read more

Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Sunday, September 20, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015