Inorganic Chemistry News
July 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:41pm EDT

More Inorganic Chemistry News
July 7, 2015

July 7, 2015 — In an effort to further the commercial viability of cellulosic ethanol, a team of scientists used the Titan supercomputer to model the interaction of lignin and hemicellulose in the plant cell wall ... read more

'Invisible' Protein Structure Explains the Power of Enzymes

July 3, 2015 — A research group has managed to capture and describe a protein structure that, until now, has been impossible to study. The discovery lays the base for developing designed enzymes as catalysts to new ... read more

Clues to Inner Atomic Life from Subtle Light-Emission Shifts

July 1, 2015 — Hyperfine structure of light absorption by short-lived cadmium atom isotopes reveals characteristics of the nucleus that matter for high precision detection methods. Atoms absorb and emit light of ... read more

Chemists Characterize 3-D Macroporous Hydrogels

June 30, 2015 — Chemists have developed two novel methods to characterize 3-D macroporous hydrogels -- materials that hold great promise for developing 'smart' responsive materials that can be used for ... read more

June 30, 2015 — Flexing graphene may be the most basic way to control its electrical properties, according to calculations by theoretical ... read more

Physicists Shatter Stubborn Mystery of How Glass Forms

June 29, 2015 — Scientists have described how glasses form at the molecular level and provided a possible solution to a problem that has stumped scientists for ... read more

June 29, 2015 — Engineers have developed a nanogenerator that harvests energy from a car's rolling tire ... read more

June 29, 2015 — Making carbon-carbon bonds continues to be an important strategy to synthesize useful pharmaceuticals, agrochemicals and organic materials. Chemists have now expanded the scope of a Nobel ... read more

June 27, 2015 — An eco-friendly biodegradable green 'herding' agent that can be used to clean up light crude oil spills on water has been developed by researchers. Derived from the plant-based small ... read more

Graphene: Magnetic Sensor 100 Times More Sensitive Than Silicon Equivalent

June 26, 2015 — Scientists have created a graphene-based magnetic sensor 100 times more sensitive than an equivalent device based on ... read more

The Quantum Spin Hall Effect Is a Fundamental Property of Light

June 25, 2015 — Scientists have demonstrated that the quantum spin Hall effect -- an effect known to take place in solid state physics -- is also an intrinsic property of ... read more

June 25, 2015 — On average, the mother liquor or solvent and its constituents occupy about 50 percent of a macromolecular crystal. Ordered as well as disordered solvent components need to be accurately accounted for ... read more

June 25, 2015 — An interdisciplinary team has made a semiconductor crystal with a variable band gap. Among other potential uses, this variable semiconductor could lead to solar cells that absorb more energy from the ... read more

June 24, 2015 — It took marine sponges millions of years to perfect their spike-like structures, but research mimicking these formations may soon alter how industrial coatings and 3-D printed objects are ... read more

What Your Clothes May Literally Say About You

June 24, 2015 — Researchers have designed a responsive hybrid material that is fueled by an oscillatory chemical reaction and can perform computations based on changes in the environment or movement, and potentially ... read more

June 24, 2015 — Building self-assembled 'molecular straws' from bis-urea macrocycles, a research team has developed a new nanotube system that can be used to directly compare single-file diffusion dynamics ... read more

New Technique to Accurately Detect 'Handedness' of Molecules in a Mixture

June 24, 2015 — Scientists have demonstrated for the first time the ability to rapidly, reliably and simultaneously identify the 'handedness' of different molecules in a ... read more

June 23, 2015 — The development of new methods for the chemical synthesis of proteins is highly significant to access a range of proteins inaccessible by conventional approaches. Chemists have succeeded in the first ... read more

June 23, 2015 — Engineers have demonstrated a bacterial method for the low-cost, environmentally friendly synthesis of aqueous soluble quantum dot nanocrystals at room ... read more

June 23, 2015 — Physicists have found a way to control the length and strength of waves of atomic motion called polaritons that have promising potential uses such as fine-scale imaging and the transmission of ... read more

Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Sunday, June 14, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015