Nature of Water News
May 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:40pm EDT

More Nature of Water News
May 29, 2015

May 15, 2015 — Only recently has nanotechnology made it possible to reach the scale required to test the theoretical model known as the Tomonaga-Luttinger theory. Now, a team of researchers has succeeded in ... read more

Expression for Droplet Deformation Promises to Simplify Calculations

May 14, 2015 — A simple formula that describes the initial deformation of a droplet as it hits a solid surface is likely to help to model droplet behavior in a variety of different ... read more

May 15, 2015 — Scientists have now uncovered new velocity and temperature-dependent properties of rubber friction on asphalt -- bolstering the idea that an important component of friction originates when chains of ... read more

May 13, 2015 — A new material stays liquid more than 200 degrees F below its expected freezing point, but a light touch can cause it to form yellow crystals that glow under ultraviolet ... read more

Space Lab to Elucidate How Liquid Cocktails Mix

May 11, 2015 — Zero-gravity experiments can tell us a great deal about the effects of temperature change on the concentrations of three different liquids that are mixed together. What does space experimentation ... read more

Faster, More Durable Water Filters: Plugging Up Leaky Graphene

May 7, 2015 — For faster, longer-lasting water filters, some scientists are looking to graphene --thin, strong sheets of carbon -- to serve as ultrathin membranes, filtering out contaminants to quickly purify high ... read more

'Super-Cool' Way to Deliver Drugs

May 6, 2015 — Some substances, when they undergo a process called 'rapid-freezing' or 'supercooling,' remain in liquid form -- even at below-freezing temperatures. A new study is the first to ... read more

May 5, 2015 — Scientists have developed a novel chest strap device for the long-term monitoring of patients with heart and circulatory problems. What is special about the new system is that it records an ... read more

May 1, 2015 — Synthetic microscopic beads sense changes in their environment and self-propel to migrate upstream, a step toward the realization of biomimetic microsystems with the ability to sense and respond to ... read more

Apr. 30, 2015 — Introducing flaws into liquid crystals by inserting microspheres and then controlling them with electrical fields: that, in a nutshell, is the rationale behind a method that could be exploited for a ... read more

Waking Proteins Up from Deep Sleep to Study Their Motions

Apr. 30, 2015 — In order to carry out their functions, proteins need to move. Scientists have developed a new technique to study motions in proteins with unprecedented accuracy. The method, which is based on NMR, ... read more

Apr. 29, 2015 — It is estimated that one in nine people globally lack access to safe water. Researchers are looking to fill that critical need and provide safe drinking water to the most remote locations in the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — Researchers have used mathematical equations to shed new light on how flowing fluid hinders the movement of bacteria in their search for ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — To directly observe chemical processes in unusual, new materials is a scientific dream, made possible by modern microscopy methods: researchers have, for the first time, captured video images of the ... read more

Artificial Spin Ice: A New Playground to Better Understand Magnetism

Apr. 27, 2015 — For the first time, nanomagnet islands or arrays were arranged into an exotic structure (called “shakti”) that does not directly relate to any known natural material. The “shakti” artificial ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Drizzling honey on toast can produce mesmerizing, meandering patterns, as the syrupy fluid ripples and coils in a sticky, golden thread. Dribbling paint on canvas can produce similarly serpentine ... read more

Scientists Develop First Liquid Nanolaser

Apr. 24, 2015 — Scientists have developed the first liquid nanoscale laser. And it's tunable in real time, meaning you can quickly and simply produce different colors, a unique and useful feature. The laser ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — The fourth dimension is time, shape shifting in fact, and scientists are already working on the next revolution in additive ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — A seismology team finds that high volumes of wastewater injection combined with saltwater (brine) extraction from natural gas wells is the most likely cause of earthquakes near Azle, Texas, from late ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Proteins and lipids have been assumed to move through cell membranes as 'nano rafts'. This 'raft hypothesis' has now been disproved by scientists. "We should not think of the ... read more

Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015