Solar Energy News
August 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:39am EDT

More Solar Energy News
August 5, 2015

Smart Building Monitoring to Respond to All Climate Conditions

July 22, 2015 — A grid of sensors embedded into an innovative building insulation activates specific façade components to optimise energy savings while improving ... read more

Are Fuel Cells Environmentally Friendly? Not Always

July 15, 2015 — Fuel cells are regarded as the technology of the future for both cars and household heating systems. As a result, they have a key role to play in the switch to renewable energies. But are fuel cells ... read more

Is the Energy System Really Ready for Sustainable Energy?

July 14, 2015 — New research into sustainable energy systems focuses on integrating renewable and nuclear power plants into the electrical grid – a topic high on the agenda for scholars, industry and policy ... read more

Nanoscale Light-Emitting Device Has Big Profile

July 13, 2015 — Engineers have created a nanoscale device that can emit light as powerfully as an object 10,000 times its size. It's an advance that could have huge implications for everything from photography ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Plants and bacteria make use of sunlight with remarkably high efficiency: nine out of ten absorbed light particles are being put to use in an ordinary bacterium. For years, it has been a pressing ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a new type of material which stores heat energy for a prolonged period, which they have termed a "heat storage ceramic." This new material can be used as heat ... read more

July 12, 2015 — A new material design could make low-cost solar panels far more efficient by greatly enhancing their ability to collect the sun’s energy and release it as ... read more

July 9, 2015 — X-ray spectroscopy at BESSY II reveals inhomogenous distribution of chlorine in a special class of perovskite materials. The discovery could help to enhance efficiencies of perovskite thin film solar ... read more

Future Deployment of Distributed Solar Hinges on Electricity Rate Design

July 9, 2015 — Future distributed solar photovoltaic (PV) deployment levels are highly sensitive to retail electricity rate design, according to a newly released report. The study also explores the feedback effects ... read more

July 7, 2015 — Researchers are working to lower the cost of solar energy systems and improve efficiencies in a big way, thanks to a system of small particles. Falling particle receiver technology is expected to ... read more

Switzerland's Transition Away from Nuclear Power

July 7, 2015 — Switzerland has a long history of trying to be as self-sufficient and energy independent as possible. Although its energy supply system has served it well in the past, the country is now looking to ... read more

July 2, 2015 — Wind turbines could be installed under some of the biggest bridges on the road network to produce electricity. So it is confirmed by calculations carried out by a European researchers team, that have ... read more

July 1, 2015 — A materials science and engineering team has developed a new energy cell that can store large-scale solar energy even when it's ... read more

July 1, 2015 — Building on a unique idea, scientists have developed a cost-effective new method for converting and storing solar energy into ... read more

June 27, 2015 — A photoprotective mechanism in cyanobacteria is triggered by an unprecedented, large-scale movement from one location to another of the carotenoid pigment within the Orange Carotenoid Protein, ... read more

June 26, 2015 — Researchers are making better heat exchangers for industrial use using the same plastic as in garbage ... read more

June 25, 2015 — Researchers achieved 15% energy conversion efficiency in perovskite solar cells for the first time certified at an international public test ... read more

Distributed Technique for Power 'Scheduling' Advances Smart Grid Concept

June 24, 2015 — A new technique for 'scheduling' energy in electric grids has been developed. It moves away from centralized management by tapping into the distributed computing power of energy devices. ... read more

June 23, 2015 — Scientists have developed a new power converter chip that can harvest more than 80 percent of the energy trickling into it, even at the extremely low power levels characteristic of tiny solar cells. ... read more

Russia's Renewable Energy Policy: Profitable for Investors

June 23, 2015 — In 2013, Russia implemented an incentive system for renewable energy sources that is based on the wholesale electricity capacity mechanism. It is intended to increase the share of renewable energy in ... read more

Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015