Solar Energy News
September 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:09pm EDT

More Solar Energy News
September 2, 2015

Cost-Effective Catalyst Converts CO2 Into Natural Gas

Sep. 1, 2015 — A new discovery helps not only to make natural gas from CO2 but also to store renewable energy. Chemists show how this process can be implemented in a cost-effective and controllable ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — A group of scientists has replaced diesel with kinetic energy, saving up to 20 thousand liters of fuel annually, they say, adding that this includes a series of energetically self-sustained boxes for ... read more

Butterflies Heat Up the Field of Solar Research

July 31, 2015 — The humble butterfly could hold the key to unlocking new techniques to make solar energy cheaper and more efficient, pioneering new research has shown. By mimicking the v-shaped posture adopted by ... read more

Lobster-Eye Imager Detects Soft X-Ray Emissions

July 28, 2015 — A group of scientists have described developing and launching their imager, which centers on "Lobster-Eye optics," as well as its capabilities and future applications in space ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Solar energy could be made cheaper if solar cells could be coaxed to generate more power. A huge gain in this direction has been made by a team of chemists that has found an ingenious way to make ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Researchers have developed a method that could improve medical imaging and cancer treatments and increase the efficiency of commercial solar cells by 25 to 30 ... read more

New Finding Could Lead to Cheap, Efficient Metal-Based Solar Cells

July 23, 2015 — Although the domestic solar-energy industry grew by 34 percent in 2014, fundamental technical breakthroughs are needed if the U.S. is to meet its national goal of reducing the cost of solar ... read more

Smart Building Monitoring to Respond to All Climate Conditions

July 22, 2015 — A grid of sensors embedded into an innovative building insulation activates specific façade components to optimise energy savings while improving ... read more

Perovskite Solar Technology Shows Quick Energy Returns

July 20, 2015 — In the solar power research community, a new class of materials called perovskites is causing quite a buzz, as scientists search for technology that has a better 'energy payback time' than ... read more

July 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed a very promising prototype of a new solar celll. The material gallium phosphide enables their solar cell to produce the clean fuel hydrogen gas from liquid water. ... read more

Unique Material Created for the Next Generation Solar Cells

July 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed material which offers much cheaper alternative to the one which is currently being used in hybrid solar cells. The efficiency of the semi-conductors created by the team of ... read more

July 15, 2015 — The Sun can be a better chemist, thanks to zinc oxide nanorod arrays grown on a graphene substrate and 'decorated' with dots of cadmium sulphide. In the presence of solar radiation, this ... read more

Are Fuel Cells Environmentally Friendly? Not Always

July 15, 2015 — Fuel cells are regarded as the technology of the future for both cars and household heating systems. As a result, they have a key role to play in the switch to renewable energies. But are fuel cells ... read more

Is the Energy System Really Ready for Sustainable Energy?

July 14, 2015 — New research into sustainable energy systems focuses on integrating renewable and nuclear power plants into the electrical grid – a topic high on the agenda for scholars, industry and policy ... read more

Nanoscale Light-Emitting Device Has Big Profile

July 13, 2015 — Engineers have created a nanoscale device that can emit light as powerfully as an object 10,000 times its size. It's an advance that could have huge implications for everything from photography ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Plants and bacteria make use of sunlight with remarkably high efficiency: nine out of ten absorbed light particles are being put to use in an ordinary bacterium. For years, it has been a pressing ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a new type of material which stores heat energy for a prolonged period, which they have termed a "heat storage ceramic." This new material can be used as heat ... read more

July 12, 2015 — A new material design could make low-cost solar panels far more efficient by greatly enhancing their ability to collect the sun’s energy and release it as ... read more

July 9, 2015 — X-ray spectroscopy at BESSY II reveals inhomogenous distribution of chlorine in a special class of perovskite materials. The discovery could help to enhance efficiencies of perovskite thin film solar ... read more

Future Deployment of Distributed Solar Hinges on Electricity Rate Design

July 9, 2015 — Future distributed solar photovoltaic (PV) deployment levels are highly sensitive to retail electricity rate design, according to a newly released report. The study also explores the feedback effects ... read more

Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015