Solar Energy News
May 23, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:07am EDT

More Solar Energy News
May 23, 2015

California's Solar Incentive Program Has Had Only Modest Impact on Adoption Rates

Apr. 8, 2015 — According to a new analysis, California's aggressive incentive program for installing rooftop solar-electric systems has not been as effective as generally ... read more

Shifts in Electricity Generation Spur Net Job Growth, but Coal Jobs Decline

Apr. 7, 2015 — In four years following the 2008 recession, the US coal industry lost more than 49,000 jobs, while the natural gas, solar, and wind industries together created nearly four times that amount, ... read more

Apr. 2, 2015 — Maintaining food in places where high temperatures prevail, using little energy at a low cost,  it is now possible with new technology, thanks to the creation of a solar cooling ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — Scientists say polymer-wrapped carbon nanotubes hold much promise in biotechnology and energy ... read more

Discovery Could Yield More Efficient Portable Electronics, Solar Cells

Mar. 23, 2015 — A team of chemists has set the stage for more efficient and sturdier portable electronic devices and possibly a new generation of solar cells based on organic ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new kind of solar cell that combines two different layers of sunlight-absorbing material in order to harvest a broader range of the sun's energy. The development ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Researchers have completed a three year investigation into stratospheric passenger airships as part of a multi-national engineering project designed to provide a future sustainable air transport ... read more

Scientists Move Closer to 'Two for One Deal' on Solar Cell Efficiency

Mar. 16, 2015 — The underlying mechanism behind an enigmatic process called 'singlet exciton fission,' which could enable the development of significantly more powerful solar cells, has been identified by ... read more

Mar. 18, 2015 — Flexible optoelectronic devices that can be produced roll-to-roll -- much like newspapers are printed -- are a highly promising path to cheaper devices such as solar cells and LED lighting panels. ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — In the face of global climate change, increasing the use of renewable energy resources is one of the most urgent challenges facing the world. New work finds that the amount of energy that could be ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — Researchers have come up with a new way of making thin perovskite films for solar cells. The method forms perovskite crystals at room temperature, which could be helpful in mass production settings. ... read more

Solar Cells: Increased Pressure Creates a Happy Union

Mar. 12, 2015 — By tailoring the interface between the two sections of a solar cell, researchers have produced a high-performance solar cell from the abundant and cheap materials of copper (II) oxide and ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — In a scant five years of development, hybrid perovskite solar cells have attained power conversion efficiencies that took decades to achieve with the top-performing conventional materials, but ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — A new approach to combine solar energy conversion and biomass conversion has been presented by researchers. These are two important research areas for renewable energy, they ... read more

First in-Depth Look at Solar Project Completion Timelines

Mar. 3, 2015 — The Energy Department's National Renewable Energy Laboratory has gathered and analyzed data for more than 30,000 solar photovoltaic installations across the United States to better understand ... read more

Advancing Solar Power in Hawaii

Mar. 3, 2015 — Inverter load rejection overvoltage tests have proven so successful in Hawaii that a testing partner, Hawaiian Electric Companies, has proposed to double its hosting capacity for solar ... read more

The Global Energy Challenge: One Billion People Have No Access to Electricity

Mar. 6, 2015 — More than one billion people world-wide have no access to electricity to cook food or light their homes, despite the technology being in place. A study on options for getting more electrical access ... read more

Reducing Greenhouse Gas Emissions With a More Effective Carbon Capture Method

Mar. 4, 2015 — Trapping carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions from power plants and various industries could play a significant role in reducing greenhouse gas emissions in the future. But current materials that can ... read more

Mar. 3, 2015 — Researchers have created a new thermoelectric material, intended to generate electric power from waste heat -- from a vehicle tailpipe, for example, or an industrial smokestack -- with greater ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — Researchers have found that growing a type of film used to manufacture solar cells in ambient air gives it a growth boost. The finding could make manufacturing solar cells significantly ... read more

Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Friday, January 2, 2015
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Sunday, December 7, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014