Child Development News
November 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:07am EST

More Child Development News
November 28, 2015

Willingness to Adopt Children With Special Needs the Focus of Recent Study

Nov. 25, 2015 — A new study has focused on the attitudes and preferences of prospective adoptive parents in Canada. The study examined the preferences and attitudes of 5,830 AdoptOntario online registrants between ... read more

Show Me How You Write on Social Media and I'll Tell You Your Age and Sex

Nov. 23, 2015 — A new tool can detect the sex and age range of the authors behind posts and other comments on social networks. Potential applications include its use in delinquent profiling and detection of ... read more

Impact of Social-Emotional Learning on Academic Achievement

Nov. 23, 2015 — Teaching social and emotional skills to inner-city students can contribute to their academic achievement, new evidence shows. The project involved all students enrolled in regular or bilingual ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — The simple act of running may be sufficient to prevent long-term cognitive impairments caused by prenatal exposure to antiepileptic drugs, according to a study. The findings revealed that prenatal ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — For parents of young children, there are few milestones more memorable than that first word. But people communicate an awful lot to each other without ever saying anything at all. So, how do infants ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — A simple test using a raisin can predict how well a toddler will perform academically at age eight, according to new ... read more

More Than Half of 'Children' Misperceive or Reject Parents' Political Party Affiliations

Nov. 19, 2015 — More than half of all 'children' in the US either misperceive or reject their parents' political party affiliations, suggests a new study that relies on data from two family-based ... read more

Detailing Global Brain Disorders Research Agenda

Nov. 18, 2015 — The breadth and complexity of brain and nervous system disorders make them some of the most difficult conditions to diagnose and treat, especially in the developing world, where there are few ... read more

Parents' Top Fears About Teen Cellphone Use

Nov. 18, 2015 — Parents' fears about their teenagers' heavy use of cell phones and social media may be exaggerated, according to a new American report. However, there are important exceptions in the areas ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — In one of the first studies of its kind, a team of researchers conducted a global experiment to understand how fairness develops in different societies. Culture, as much as the need to maintain ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — Watching 3-D images of tongue movements can help individuals learn speech sounds, a new study has demonstrated. Researchers say the findings could be especially helpful for stroke patients seeking to ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — Within the first year of life, children can make transitive inferences about a social hierarchy of ... read more

Intervention Improves Teacher Practices, Student Engagement in Early Elementary Classrooms

Nov. 18, 2015 — A classroom program that helps teachers adapt their interactions with students based on individuals' temperaments may lead to more student engagement in kindergarten, more teacher emotional ... read more

Mother's Age at Birth May Influence Symptoms of Depression in Daughters

Nov. 17, 2015 — The daughters, but not the sons, of women who give birth at age 30 or older are more likely to experience symptoms of depression as young adults, according to new ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — When parents have high hopes for their children's academic achievement, the children tend to do better in school, unless those hopes are unrealistic, in which case the children may not perform ... read more

First Insights Into Changes to Developing Brain Caused by Gene Associated With Autism

Nov. 17, 2015 — New insights show how even very small changes to synapses can alter brain function and could lead to intellectual disabilities. Researchers note that new research will help in the development of ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — Scientists have shed light on the evolutionary roots of language in the ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — Being bullied in childhood has been associated with increased risk for anxiety, depression and even eating disorders. But according to new research, it's not only the victims who could be at ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — Researchers conducted experiments on the hippocampus of neonatal rats and mice, quite similar to the one of a human fetus at the second half of pregnancy period. Hence it will be possible make ... read more

Meeting Transportation Needs Will Improve Lives of Those With ASD, Their Families

Nov. 13, 2015 — An integrated approach to providing access to reliable and safe transportation is needed for adults on the autism spectrum and their families, according to a new study that offers recommendations for ... read more

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015