Child Development News
August 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:34am EDT

More Child Development News
August 5, 2015

Progress Has Been Made in Reducing Rates of Violence in US; Overall Numbers Remain High

Aug. 4, 2015 — Even though homicide and assault rates have decreased in the US in recent years, the number of these and other types of violent acts remains high, according to a new report. The authors write that ... read more

Computer Games Can Pick Up Dyslexia in Minority Pupils

Aug. 3, 2015 — While pupils from minority groups are over-represented in Norwegian special needs education, practically no children from these groups are diagnosed with dyslexia. As a consequence many miss out on ... read more

New Survey Enhances Precision of Distinguishing Between Expectable Vs. Worrisome Early Childhood Misbehavior

Aug. 3, 2015 — Researchers are using a novel dimensional method for distinguishing misbehavior that is expectable in early childhood versus that which is cause for clinical concern. Using a survey developed by the ... read more

July 31, 2015 — A social skills program for high-functioning young adults with autism spectrum disorder significantly improved the participants' ability to engage with their peers, a new study has ... read more

Selective Imitation Shows Children Are Flexible Social Learners, Study Finds

July 27, 2015 — Children flexibly choose when to imitate and when to innovate the behavior of others, psychologists have found, demonstrating that children are precocious social ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Babies learn language best by interacting with people rather than passively through a video or audio recording. But it's been unclear what aspects of social interactions make them so important ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Psychologists have revealed new evidence showing how specific language used by parents to talk to their babies can help their child to understand the thoughts of others when they get ... read more

Predicting Whether Children With DiGeorge Syndrome Will Develop Autism or Psychosis

July 27, 2015 — New findings are the first to suggest a potential way to predict whether children with DiGeorge syndrome will develop one of two mental impairments. The researchers report having isolated specific ... read more

Premature Birth Linked to Withdrawn Personality

July 24, 2015 — Adults born very premature are more likely to be socially withdrawn and display signs of autism, research shows. The results showed that the adults born very preterm scored highly for displaying a ... read more

Scientists Identify Schizophrenia's 'Rosetta Stone' Gene

July 23, 2015 — A breakthrough reveals gene's influence in a vulnerable period of the brain's development. Researchers hope it could offer a therapeutic target for reversing the disease. There is ... read more

Expert Panel Sets Nutrition Guidelines to Manage GI Symptoms in Autism

July 23, 2015 — A new guideline for the nutrition of management gastrointestinal symptoms in children with autism spectrum disorders provides a framework for clinicians to navigate frequently seen issues such as ... read more

Continued Domestic Abuse Facilitated by Post-Separation Contact, Study Shows

July 23, 2015 — Contact between children and fathers following parental separation facilitates the continued abuse of women and children, according to new research focusing on the experiences of families with a ... read more

First Assessment for Grieving Youth Developed

July 22, 2015 — The first test ever constructed to assess Persistent Complex Bereavement Disorder—a problematic syndrome of grief—has been released by researchers. Persistent Complex Bereavement Disorder (PCBD) ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A brain-chemistry deficit in children with autism may help to explain their social difficulties, according to new findings. The research team found a correlation between low levels of vasopressin, a ... read more

Teeth Reveal Lifetime Exposures to Metals, Toxins

July 22, 2015 — Is it possible that too much iron in infant formula may potentially increase risk for neurodegenerative diseases like Parkinson's in adulthood -- and are teeth the window into the past that can ... read more

Job Services Lacking for Young People With Autism

July 22, 2015 — As autism becomes more prevalent, the need grows for services that help young people with the disorder to find and keep jobs, indicates new research. Some 50,000 people with autism spectrum disorder ... read more

Words Jump-Start Vision, Psychologist's Study Shows

July 21, 2015 — A new study shows that words have a profound effect even on the first electrical twitches of ... read more

Medical Odyssey of an Undiagnosed Child

July 21, 2015 — For parents of children with ADNP-related autism syndrome, the mystery surrounding their infants' suffering can be even more agonizing than the syndrome itself, which has no known cure. Recent ... read more

Child Development: First and Last Syllables Encoded Better from Birth on

July 21, 2015 — The cognitive system encodes the first and last syllables of words better than middle syllables. Researchers have demonstrated for the first time that this cognitive mechanism is present from ... read more

Juvenile Inmates Have More Mental Health Hospitalizations, Study Finds

July 21, 2015 — Juvenile inmates are much more likely to be hospitalized for mental health problems than children and teenagers who are not incarcerated, according to a new ... read more

Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Sunday, June 14, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015