Child Development News
December 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:07pm EST

More Child Development News
December 1, 2015

Willingness to Adopt Children With Special Needs the Focus of Recent Study

Nov. 25, 2015 — A new study has focused on the attitudes and preferences of prospective adoptive parents in Canada. The study examined the preferences and attitudes of 5,830 AdoptOntario online registrants between ... read more

Nov. 24, 2015 — Schizophrenia is notoriously difficult to diagnose and treat, in large part because it manifests differently in different people. A new study helps explain why. Researchers have created a map that ... read more

Mental Health Risk for New Dads

Nov. 24, 2015 — Anxiety around the arrival of a new baby is just as common as postnatal depression, and the risks for men are nearly as high as for women, researchers have found. A mental health researcher reviewed ... read more

Show Me How You Write on Social Media and I'll Tell You Your Age and Sex

Nov. 23, 2015 — A new tool can detect the sex and age range of the authors behind posts and other comments on social networks. Potential applications include its use in delinquent profiling and detection of ... read more

Impact of Social-Emotional Learning on Academic Achievement

Nov. 23, 2015 — Teaching social and emotional skills to inner-city students can contribute to their academic achievement, new evidence shows. The project involved all students enrolled in regular or bilingual ... read more

Nov. 20, 2015 — Kids and teens who take medications like Ritalin to treat attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder are twice as likely to be physically or emotionally bullied by peers than those who don't have ... read more

Moderate Amounts of Caffeine During Pregnancy Do Not Harm Baby's IQ, Study Suggests

Nov. 19, 2015 — Women drinking and eating moderate amounts of caffeine during pregnancy should be reassured that they are not harming their child's intelligence, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — Bilingual patients were twice as likely as those who spoke one language to have normal cognitive function after a stroke. Bilingual patients performed better than single language patients on ... read more

Vision Test Gives Insight Into the Effect of Prenatal Exposure to Recreational Drugs

Nov. 19, 2015 — Children exposed to marijuana in the womb show a significant improvement in their ability to track moving objects at age four, according to new vision research. But researchers are warning that the ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — The simple act of running may be sufficient to prevent long-term cognitive impairments caused by prenatal exposure to antiepileptic drugs, according to a study. The findings revealed that prenatal ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — For parents of young children, there are few milestones more memorable than that first word. But people communicate an awful lot to each other without ever saying anything at all. So, how do infants ... read more

Children from Chaotic Homes Benefit from Time in Child Care, Study Finds

Nov. 19, 2015 — Full-time child care was associated with cognitive, behavioral and social benefits for children in poverty who live in chaotic homes. Children from highly disorganized homes showed better executive ... read more

Nov. 19, 2015 — A simple test using a raisin can predict how well a toddler will perform academically at age eight, according to new ... read more

More Than Half of 'Children' Misperceive or Reject Parents' Political Party Affiliations

Nov. 19, 2015 — More than half of all 'children' in the US either misperceive or reject their parents' political party affiliations, suggests a new study that relies on data from two family-based ... read more

Two Synthetic Phonics Programs Equally Effective at Teaching Young Children to Read

Nov. 19, 2015 — Two of the synthetic phonics programs, Letters and Sounds (L&S) and Early Reading Research (ERR), used by English primary schools to teach young children to read are equally effective overall. ... read more

Detailing Global Brain Disorders Research Agenda

Nov. 18, 2015 — The breadth and complexity of brain and nervous system disorders make them some of the most difficult conditions to diagnose and treat, especially in the developing world, where there are few ... read more

Interpersonal Communication Key to Daughters' Well-Being

Nov. 18, 2015 — Women express their emotions through 'narrative sense-making' and relate to and support each other by telling stories in everyday contexts, scholars have found. This is especially true when ... read more

Parents' Top Fears About Teen Cellphone Use

Nov. 18, 2015 — Parents' fears about their teenagers' heavy use of cell phones and social media may be exaggerated, according to a new American report. However, there are important exceptions in the areas ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — In one of the first studies of its kind, a team of researchers conducted a global experiment to understand how fairness develops in different societies. Culture, as much as the need to maintain ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — Watching 3-D images of tongue movements can help individuals learn speech sounds, a new study has demonstrated. Researchers say the findings could be especially helpful for stroke patients seeking to ... read more

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015