Child Development News
February 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:07am EST

More Child Development News
February 6, 2016

Addressing Trauma in Juvenile Offenders Should Be Larger Focus of Rehabilitation, Study Finds

Feb. 3, 2016 — Treating trauma in juvenile offenders can aid social relationships that help them stay out of trouble, according to a new study. Between 65 and 75 percent of juveniles in the criminal justice system ... read more

Helicopter Parents Take Extreme Approach to Homework

Feb. 2, 2016 — A new study has revealed helicopter parents who take over responsibility for their child's homework can be doing more harm than good, especially as children get older. They often put more ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — A study has found there is no difference in the time it takes people from different countries to read and process different ... read more

Study Strengthens Evidence Linking Autism to Maternal Obesity-Diabetes

Feb. 1, 2016 — Scientists show they can use electronic medical records and birth information to verify and strengthen an already suspected link between autistic children and pregnant mothers with obesity and ... read more

Future Help for Stroke Patients With Language Problems

Feb. 1, 2016 — A new method of analysis to distinguish between stroke patients with language problem has been developed by a brain researcher. The result may be individualized treatment for each ... read more

Teen Suicide: ADHD Medication as Prevention

Feb. 1, 2016 — Black-box warnings about the dangers of attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) medications are confusing and could have serious consequences for the risk of youth suicide, according to ... read more

Teachers Reported Moderate to Major Concerns Prior to 2015 State Testing

Feb. 1, 2016 — Prior to the first round of K-12 standardized testing under Common Core education standards last year, most teachers had moderate to major concerns about test difficulty and low student performance, ... read more

Proton Beam Therapy Offers Potential to Treat Childhood Brain Cancer With Fewer Severe Side Effects Than Conventional Radiotherapy

Jan. 30, 2016 — Proton beam therapy -- a more precise form of radiotherapy -- to treat the childhood brain cancer medulloblastoma appears to be as safe as conventional radiotherapy with similar survival rates, ... read more

Obesity, Diabetes in Mom Increases Risk of Autism in Child

Jan. 29, 2016 — Children born to obese women with diabetes are more than four times as likely to be diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder than children of healthy weight mothers without diabetes, new research ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Research has revealed subtle brain differences in adult males with autism spectrum disorder, which may go some way towards explaining why symptoms persist into adulthood in some people with the ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Hearing loss, if left untreated, can lead to serious emotional and social consequences, reduced job performance and diminished quality of life. Untreated hearing loss also can interfere with ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Exposure to secondhand smoke is associated with a larger waist and poorer cognition in children, researchers say. Researchers looked at passive smoke exposure in 220 overweight or obese 7-11-year-old ... read more

Brain's 'Amplifier' Compensates for Lost Inner Ear Function

Jan. 28, 2016 — Researchers have described, for the first time, the adult brain's ability to compensate for a near-complete loss of auditory nerve fibers that link the ear to the brain. The findings suggest ... read more

Research Hints at a Nutritional Strategy for Reducing Autism Risk

Jan. 28, 2016 — Folic acid has long been touted as an important supplement for women of childbearing age for its ability to prevent defects in the baby's developing brain and spinal cord. In fact, folic acid is ... read more

New Programs Help Prepare Low-Income Children for School Success

Jan. 28, 2016 — New pediatric programs report an increase school readiness in children of low-income ... read more

Four Factors Predict Neurodevelopmental Outcomes for Children With Low Birth Weight

Jan. 27, 2016 — Four factors -- medical complications at birth, maternal education, early motor assessments, and early cognitive assessments -- help predict later cognitive function and motor performance for ... read more

More Than One in 20 US Children Have Dizziness, Balance Problems

Jan. 27, 2016 — More than 1 in 20 (nearly 3.3 million) children between the ages of 3 and 17 have a dizziness or balance problem, according to an analysis of the first large-scale, nationally representative survey ... read more

How Can Peers, Parents, Schools and New Media Stop Bullying?

Jan. 27, 2016 — A new review of research outlines roles and recommendations for peers, parents, schools and new media platforms to stop ... read more

Twenty-Five-Point Drop in IQ Caused by Lack of Gene Copy

Jan. 27, 2016 — Even in study participants whose IQ was considered to be normal, the researchers found a substantial 25 points IQ drop induced by 16p11.2 gene ... read more

Jan. 26, 2016 — A study of 35 families by a psychiatric researcher showed for the first time that the structure of the brain circuitry known as the corticolimbic system is more likely to be passed down from mothers ... read more

Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015