Illegal Drugs News
August 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:03pm EDT

More Illegal Drugs News
August 30, 2015

Cannabis and the Brain

Aug. 26, 2015 — Two new studies examine associations between cannabis use and the ... read more

Stress Hormone Reduces Heroin Cravings

July 28, 2015 — Every addiction is characterized by a strong desire for a certain addictive substance, be it nicotine, alcohol or other drug. Researchers recently conducted a study on heroin addiction and ... read more

Teens With Medical Marijuana Cards Much Likelier to Say They're Addicted, but Few Teens Have Them

July 23, 2015 — Teens using marijuana for medical reasons are 10 times more likely to say they are hooked on marijuana than youth who get marijuana illegally, a new study shows. The study is the first to report on a ... read more

Cannabis Psychosis: Gender Matters

July 23, 2015 — A greater proportion of men than women suffer from cannabis psychoses, a new research study shows. There has been much research exploring the nature of the relationship between cannabis and ... read more

Inhaled Cannabis Shown Effective for Diabetic Neuropathy Pain

July 20, 2015 — Inhaled cannabis reduces diabetic neuropathy and the analgesic effect is dose-dependent, new research suggests. Researchers conducted a randomized, double-blind study evaluating 16 subjects to assess ... read more

Born an Addict: Clues from Umbilical Cords

July 16, 2015 — Every baby born that enters this world, arrives with an umbilical cord in tow. For those babies born addicted to drugs, that umbilical cord is now a key connection -- a hard to hide clue -- for ... read more

Psychoactive 'Bath Salt' Use Among U. S. High School Seniors Alarmingly High

July 15, 2015 — 33% of students who used bath salts reported using only once or twice; however, frequent use was also common among users with an alarming 18% of users reporting using 40 or more times in the last ... read more

Intellectual Pursuits May Buffer Brain Against Addiction

July 14, 2015 — Challenging the idea that addiction is hardwired in the brain, a new study of mice suggests that even a short time spent in a stimulating learning environment can rewire the brain's reward ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Stimulant drug abuse has long-term effects on brain volume in women, according to a new study. Brain structures involved in reward, learning and executive control showed vast changes even after a ... read more

Stopping or Reducing Cocaine Use Associated With Lower Cardiovascular Risk Marker Levels

July 13, 2015 — For people who use cocaine, stopping or reducing cocaine use is associated with decreased levels of endothelin-1 (ET-1) -- a protein that plays a key role in the development of coronary artery ... read more

July 10, 2015 — People who misuse prescription pain relievers all have one thing in common, researchers have discovered: a history of recent illicit drug use. Researchers also determined that adults aged 50 and ... read more

Prenatal Cocaine Exposure Linked to Adolescents Engaging in Sex by Age 15

July 9, 2015 — Since 1994, researchers have studied mothers -- some who used cocaine while pregnant and others who did not -- to understand how the drug affected their children's cognitive and social ... read more

Marijuana Users Substitute Alcohol at 21

July 7, 2015 — A recent study looked at marijuana and alcohol use in people between the ages of 18 and 24. It's probably not surprising that the results show a drastic increase in alcohol consumption in people ... read more

Gym Steroid Use Has Impact on Memory

July 7, 2015 — People using anabolic steroids to improve muscle growth and sporting performance are far more likely to experience issues with their memory, according to new ... read more

Adolescents Who View Medical Marijuana Ads More Likely to Use the Drug, Study Finds

July 6, 2015 — A new study raises questions about whether there is a need to revise prevention programming for youth as the availability, visibility and legal status of marijuana changes. The report found that ... read more

Support for Overdose-Reversing Drug Low, but Can Be Bolstered With Right Messages

July 1, 2015 — While most Americans do not support policies designed to increase distribution of naloxone -- a medication that reverses the effects of a drug overdose -- certain types of educational messages about ... read more

One in Four People Prescribed Opioids Progressed to Longer-Term Prescriptions

July 1, 2015 — Opioid painkiller addiction and accidental overdoses have become far too common across the United States. To try to identify who is most at risk, researchers studied how many patients prescribed an ... read more

What Effect Does Marijuana Really Have on Weight Gain? It's Complicated

June 30, 2015 — While cannabis alters the functions of neurobiological circuits controlling appetite, its effect on weight gain is complex since several factors appear to be involved. The main finding of the study ... read more

Getting High in Senior Year: Researchers Examine Whether Reasons for Smoking Pot Are Associated

June 29, 2015 — A new study examines how reasons for illicit marijuana use relates to the use of other drugs individually, rather than grouping them into a single “illicit drug” ... read more

What's the Impact of Marijuana on Driving?

June 23, 2015 — Drivers who use alcohol and marijuana together weave more on a virtual roadway than drivers who use either substance independently, a new study has found. However, the cocktail of alcohol and ... read more

Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015