Animals News
October 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:14am EDT

More Animals News
October 7, 2015

Oct. 7, 2015 — Researchers have discovered stages of cervical elongation in the giraffe family, revealing details about the evolutionary transformation of the neck within extinct species of the ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — Scientists investigating human and chimpanzee locomotion have uncovered unexpected similarities in the way the two species use their upper body during two-legged ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — Researchers have found that activating the pleasure and reward receptors in the brain could provide the 'reward' of dangerous drugs without having to consume those ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — Biologists have identified the driving force behind the evolution of a leg novelty first found in spiders: ... read more

Oct. 2, 2015 — Research into a vast bone bed in western Montana has yielded the most complete life history of any dinosaur ... read more

Oct. 2, 2015 — Scientists have compared the diets of two caterpillar species, expecting the one that exclusively consumed plants containing toxic chemicals would more easily incorporate toxins into its body than ... read more

Oct. 2, 2015 — As the largest animals to have ever lived on Earth, blue whales maintain their enormous body size through efficient foraging strategies that optimize the energy they gain from the krill they eat, ... read more

Oct. 2, 2015 — Imitation behaviors play a key role in many collective phenomena seen in animals. An analysis of the collective movements of grazing sheep has revealed that sheep alternate slow dispersion phases ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — This just in from the pandas nestled in a remote corner of China: Their influence spans the globe. Researchers apply a new integrated framework to the decades of work they've done to understand ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — The shared patterns of gene expression in the limbs and phallus are generated in part by a common set of noncoding DNA, also called 'elements' or 'enhancers,' which act to control ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Scientists have shown, for the first time, what happens when a frog's tongue makes contact with a surface. They discovered similarities to conventional adhesive tape. Like sticky tape, the ... read more

Sep. 30, 2015 — A sensitive new toxicity test detected impaired reproduction in mice caused by genetic mutations that had seemed harmless when studied by developmental ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Can owls and loggers get along? A recent study conducted in Primorye in the southern Russian Far East suggests it's not only possible, but essential for endangered Blakiston's fish owls to ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — Scientists have revealed how pigment can be detected in mammal fossils, a discovery that may end the guesswork in determining the colors of long extinct ... read more

Novel Tag Developed for Squid, Jellyfish

Sep. 28, 2015 — Invertebrates, such as squid and jellyfish, play a crucial role in the marine food web and are also vital commercial fisheries. Despite their importance, little is known about their natural behaviors ... read more

Gone Fishing: Loss of Ocean Predators Has Impact on Climate Change Strategies

Sep. 28, 2015 — As Australia engages in debate over shark culling, new research says unsustainable harvesting of larger fish will affect how we tackle climate change. A group of scientists warns the loss of top ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — The ultra-stable properties of the proteins that allow deep-diving whales to remain active while holding their breath for up to two hours could help biochemists and other researchers finish a 20-year ... read more

Tick Spit Protein May Trigger Allergic Reactions

Sep. 25, 2015 — Ticks have had millions of years to figure out how to bite without triggering their victims' immune response. Proteins in the arachnids' spit evolved to manipulate immune cells so that the ... read more

Humans, Monkeys Affected by the Same Malaria Parasite in the Amazon Region

Sep. 25, 2015 — Two types of parasites are actually one with several host species, researchers have discovered. This finding has consequences for the global battle against the disease, the scientists ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Climate-related changes in flower diversity have resulted in a decrease in the length of alpine bumble bees' tongues, a new study reports, leaving these insects poorly suited to feed from and ... read more

Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015