Animals News
July 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:43pm EDT

More Animals News
July 30, 2015

July 28, 2015 — A model to help land managers protect the threatened piping plover, a tiny shorebird, against habitat damage and predation has been created by a scientist. The bird's neighborhood preference has ... read more

July 27, 2015 — A logging company has agreed to begin dismantling abandoned logging roads currently being used by poachers to access prime Amur (Siberian) tiger habitat in the Russian Far ... read more

July 27, 2015 — A previously unknown species of insect living has been discovered living within reach of Australian suburbia. A researcher investigated the insect responsible for bush coconuts in South East ... read more

July 23, 2015 — White-tailed eagles represent no competition for fishermen. This has been shown by researchers based on the first field study about the foraging behavior of the white-tailed eagle ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Reintroducing a species into an area where it has vanished can be a great tool for conservation, but for reintroduction to be successful it's crucial to understand how the habitat has changed in ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Its unusual biological characteristics make the flightless kiwi a unique kind of bird. Researchers have now sequenced the genetic code of this endangered species and have identified several sequence ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Animal populations on islands tend to develop weird traits over time, becoming big or small or losing the ability to fly. One less-studied pattern of evolution on islands is the tendency for animal ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A study of the West Nile virus risk associated with 'dry' water-detention basins in Central Illinois took an unexpected turn when land managers started mowing the basins. The mowing of ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A rare finding of two new physiologically unique parasitoid wasp species was made at the heart of Europe, the Swiss Alps and Swiss Central Plateau. While hardly ever does a new species from the Old, ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Having been long-mistaken for one of its relatives, a new bat species, L. inexpectata, has been now discovered. With their unusually pale fur, peculiar skull shape and tooth morphology, the specimens ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Newly discovered tool-length 'subcultures' in our closest living relatives provide striking parallel with cultural differences observed between adjacent groups in human ... read more

Stress 'Sweet Spot' Differs for Mellow Vs. Hyper Dogs

July 21, 2015 — People aren't the only ones who perform better on tests or athletic events when they are just a little bit nervous -- dogs do too. But in dogs as in people, the right amount of stress depends on ... read more

Producing a Vaccine to Save the Tasmanian Devil

July 21, 2015 — Biologists are aiming to develop an effective vaccine against an infectious cancer that is eradicating the Tasmanian devil, the world’s largest remaining marsupial ... read more

Lack of Knowledge on Animal Disease Leaves Humans at Risk

July 20, 2015 — Researchers have painted the most detailed picture to date of major infectious diseases shared between wildlife and livestock, and found a huge gap in knowledge about diseases which could spread to ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Gut worms can protect babies' brains from inflammation and long-term learning and memory problems caused by newborn infections, a new study on rats has shown. Expectant mother rats with ... read more

July 20, 2015 — The first worldwide study of animals and the seeds they eat has overturned a long-held assumption -- that large animals mainly eat large seeds. The finding shows that a wider variety of plants than ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Marine species that already roam far and wide throughout our oceans are extending their territories further and faster in response to climate change, according to new research an international team ... read more

July 17, 2015 — Diarrhea in cats can have several causes, with infections from single-cell intestinal parasites being a common explanation. Researchers studied nearly 300 cats in order to assess the presence and ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Some earlier research suggested that polar bears could, at least partially, compensate for longer summer food deprivation by entering a state of lowered activity and reduced metabolic rate similar to ... read more

July 16, 2015 — In the remote, poorly explored and unprotected forests of Sorata, northern Madagascar, there are some bizarre and unknown animals lurking around. A new species of diamond frog has just joined their ... read more

Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015