Cats News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:50am EST

More Cats News
February 7, 2016

Fish-Flavored Cat Food Could Contribute to Feline Hyperthyroidism, Study Suggests

Jan. 6, 2016 — Over the past three decades, the number of cats diagnosed with hyperthyroidism has increased. According to research reports, many factors such as exposure to flame retardants could be responsible, ... read more

Can Your Pet Boost Your Sex Appeal?

Dec. 15, 2015 — Dogs and cats are increasingly seen as being a crucial member of a traditional family, but aside from the companionship and love you receive from your pet... can they also make you appear ... read more

Early Childhood Exposure to Farm Animals, Pets Modifies Immunological Responses

Dec. 14, 2015 — Exposure to farm animals in early childhood modifies the key allergy-related immunological mechanisms, shows a recent study, which provides new insight into the role of dendritic cells and cytokine ... read more

Where Did Australian Cats Come From?

Dec. 4, 2015 — Cats in Australia are most likely descended from those brought by European settlers, researchers conclude. Feral cats found on the islands surrounding Australia may represent founding populations ... read more

Dec. 2, 2015 — Vincent, a 3-year-old domestic short-haired cat that recently received prosthetic legs, is making a strong recovery. In fact, his doctor thinks he might start jumping ... read more

Use of Antivirals in Retrovirus-Infected Cats

Nov. 24, 2015 — A number of antiviral drugs are licensed and widely used for the treatment of specific viral infections in humans. Potential new agents are also being investigated that it is hoped will overcome ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — The relatively rare, forest-dwelling fisher is increasingly becoming the innocent victim of illegal marijuana farms in forested lands in California. According to a recently published study, ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Some forms of the single celled parasites, Trypanosoma brucei and Toxoplasma gondii behave like cancer cells, a new study suggests, potentially leading researchers toward new approaches to treat ... read more

Reptile Pets: Food Insects Shuttle Allergens Into Homes

Oct. 30, 2015 — Reptiles are becoming increasingly popular as pets. The number of reptile pets, such as lizards, turtles and snakes, has doubled in the past ten years. Researchers recently showed that grasshoppers ... read more

Oct. 30, 2015 — Across Africa, lion populations are threatened by continued reductions in their range and associated genetic isolation. A new study published this month in Landscape Ecology shows that strategic ... read more

Oct. 28, 2015 — The remains of an Iberian lynx specimen which lived 1.6 million years ago -- the oldest ever discovered -- were found resting in a cave in Barcelona. This discovery not only allows us to shed light ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Paleontologists have looked at the environmental changes that occurred in North and South America after large megafauna went extinct over the past 15,000 years, and found long-lasting impacts. ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Intense, violent attacks by large packs of some of the world's biggest carnivores -- including extinct lions much larger than those of today, and sabertooth cats -- limited the population sizes ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Cats have at least seven functional bitter taste receptors, according to a new study. Further, a comparison of cat to related species reveals little relationship between the number of bitter ... read more

Would You Eat Your Pet Cat?

Oct. 19, 2015 — In most Western cultures cats are simply feline pet companions eager to greet us at the end of the day.  In continents such as Asia and Africa, the social norms surrounding cats are very different; ... read more

Nanoparticles Could Boost Effectiveness and Reduce Side Effects of Allergy Shots

Sep. 23, 2015 — Whether triggered by cats, bees, pollen or mites, allergies are on the rise. And the bad news doesn't stop there. The only current therapy that treats their causes is allergen-specific ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — A deadly parasite that causes Chagas disease is widespread in a common Texas insect, according to a new study. The finding suggests that the risk of Texans contracting the disease may be higher than ... read more

Sep. 3, 2015 — Domestic cats do not generally see their owners as a focus of safety and security in the same way that dogs do, according to new ... read more

Sep. 1, 2015 — For over 30 years, a researcher has been studying exercise physiology in animals: African lions and wild dogs, dolphins and whales, coyotes and mountain lions, as well as a few human athletes. She ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Researchers are a step closer to developing drug targets for Toxoplasmosis, after gaining insight into its unique feeding behavior. Toxoplasma gondii is estimated to chronically infect nearly ... read more

Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014