Cats News
July 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:13pm EDT

More Cats News
July 6, 2015

Pet Ownership and Its Potential Benefits for Older Adults

June 23, 2015 — New research calls for increased understanding about older adults, the relationship between pet ownership and health, and the current barriers which limit older adults' chances to own a pet. The ... read more

Flame Retardants Could Contribute to Hyperthyroidism in Older Cats

Apr. 22, 2015 — For years, health advocates have been pushing to ban some flame retardants for their potentially harmful effects, especially on young children and infants. Now scientists report these compounds could ... read more

Frog Uses Different Strategies to Escape Ground, Air Predators

Apr. 15, 2015 — Frogs may flee from a ground predator and move towards an aerial predator, undercutting the flight ... read more

The Hoo's Hoo of Gibbon Communication

Apr. 7, 2015 — The secret communication of gibbons has been interpreted for the first time, researchers report. The research reveals the likely meaning of a number of distinct gibbon whispers, or 'hoo' ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — It is widely accepted that, in humans, music confers numerous benefits. An extensive body of research indicates that these benefits extend even to patients under general anesthesia, and include ... read more

Habitat Loss Threatens the World's Felids

Mar. 25, 2015 — Almost half of the 36 species of felids that live in the wild in the world are at threat, according to scientists. Yet the lack of studies regarding their main threat, the loss and fragmentation of ... read more

Mar. 20, 2015 — A 10-year study looked at DNA similarities of tigers -- living and extinct -- in order to better understand these animals as well as provide a new, more powerful tool for wildlife protection and, ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — As more animal shelters, primate centers and zoos start to play music for their charges, it's still not clear whether and how human music affects animals. Now, a study shows that while cats ... read more

Mar. 6, 2015 — Biologists have released a camera trap slideshow of a family of Amur tigers in the wild showing an adult male with family. Shown following the “tiger dad” along the Russian forest is an adult ... read more

Gold Standard Management of the Diabetic Cat

Mar. 3, 2015 — An expert panel of veterinary clinicians and academics has been convened to produce practical guidance to help veterinary teams deliver optimal management for the increasing numbers of diabetic cats ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Tigers, lions and other wild carnivores, already under threat from poaching and habitat loss, are falling victim to Canine distemper, and could soon drive endangered populations to ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Cats may prefer to use their eyes rather than follow their nose when it comes to finding the location of food, according to new research by leading animal ... read more

Feb. 25, 2015 — Cats with Niemann Pick Type C -- which mirrors the human version of the disease -- show vast improvements when treated with a compound called cyclodextrin, researchers have found. While NPC typically ... read more

Feb. 24, 2015 — Dozens of pregnancy myths claim to predict whether a mom-to-be is carrying a boy or a girl. Some say you can tell by the shape of a woman's bump, or whether she craves salty or sweet. Even ... read more

Feb. 18, 2015 — Climate change is likely to leave a lot of lemurs looking for new places to live on their island home of Madagascar. A new study predicts where lemurs are likely to seek refuge as temperatures rise ... read more

Wildlife at Risk Around the Globe: Scientists Say Vaccinating Endangered Carnivores of Increasing Importance

Feb. 12, 2015 — Experts from around the world focused on the threat that canine distemper virus poses to the conservation of increasingly fragmented populations of threatened carnivores. While canine distemper has ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — A new study demonstrates the effects that a new variant of the hemorrhagic disease virus RHDV has on wild rabbits on the Iberian Peninsula. The virus threatens the survival of its predator, the ... read more

Feb. 9, 2015 — Scientists successfully produced embryos from African lions via assisted reproduction. What is genuinely new is the fact that they used immature eggs that were retrieved from African lionesses. After ... read more

Feb. 3, 2015 — The cute cat video seems to be everywhere online, and it's become a handy epithet for everything that journalism should not be. So what should we make of the fact that The New York Times, that ... read more

Addressing Feral Cats' Diet May Help Protect Native Species

Feb. 2, 2015 — Because reducing the impacts of feral cats -- domestic cats that have returned to the wild -- is a priority for conservation efforts across the globe, a research team recently reviewed the ... read more

Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Thursday, August 28, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Friday, June 13, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Monday, April 7, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Monday, March 3, 2014
Thursday, February 27, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Thursday, February 13, 2014
Monday, February 10, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Monday, February 3, 2014
Thursday, January 9, 2014
Tuesday, January 7, 2014