Dolphins and Whales News
May 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:14pm EDT

More Dolphins and Whales News
May 27, 2015

Mar. 5, 2015 — Menopause is a downright bizarre trait among animals. It's also rare. Outside of the human species, only the female members of two whale species outlive their reproductive lives in such a major ... read more

Mar. 2, 2015 — Researchers have borrowed from biological structures called tubercles that humpback whales use to maneuver in the ocean to make a piezoelectric energy harvester for use as an airflow or fluid speed ... read more

Feb. 18, 2015 — The bottlenose dolphin colonized the Mediterranean only after the last Ice Age - about 18,000 years ago – according to new ... read more

Feb. 5, 2015 — Fisheries scientists happened onto a killer whale attack too late to tell what species had been the target. So they recovered all that was left -- a whale lung -- and probed its DNA to for clues to ... read more

Jan. 29, 2015 — A study of gene regulation in 20 mammals provides new insights into how species diverged millions of years ago. The findings demonstrate how methods and tools for genetic analysis of humans and mice ... read more

Jan. 29, 2015 — Understanding how baleen whales hear has posed a great mystery to marine mammal researchers. Biologists reveal that the skulls of at least some baleen whales, specifically fin whales in their study, ... read more

Jan. 20, 2015 — Tuna and other fish species may congregate around whale sharks, but new rule reduces the chance that the giant sea creatures could get caught in nets targeting those ... read more

Jan. 16, 2015 — A new study of dolphins and seals shows that despite their remarkable adaptations to aquatic life, exercising while holding their breath remains a physiological challenge for marine mammals. The ... read more

Jan. 13, 2015 — Researchers sifted through multiple datasets and historical records to produce more accurate and comprehensive measurements for 25 species including the Blue Whale, Giant Squid, and Great White ... read more

Baleen Hormones Increase Understanding of Bowhead Whale Reproduction

Jan. 4, 2015 — Wild animals provide a unique challenge for physiologists because they are difficult to capture and monitor in their natural habitats. As a result, scientists are increasingly learning about ... read more

Jan. 5, 2015 — A whale that can live over 200 years with little evidence of age-related disease may provide untapped insights into how to live a long and healthy life. Researchers present in a new report the ... read more

Dec. 18, 2014 — Scientists are examining molecular clues to answer a big question: how many types of blue whales exist in the waters of the southeastern ... read more

Policy Action Urgently Needed to Protect Hawaii's Dolphins

Dec. 17, 2014 — Tourism is increasing pressure on Hawaii's spinner dolphins. A new study shows that long-proposed federal regulations to limit daytime access to bays where the dolphins rest are greatly needed, ... read more

Dec. 16, 2014 — Humpback whales have a trick or two, when it comes to finding a quick snack at the bottom of the ocean. Even in the dark. Biologists have been studying these unique feeding behaviors. Her research ... read more

Dec. 11, 2014 — The rise in tourism, fishing and sea transport between the Iberian Peninsula and the Balearic Islands is compromising the wellbeing of a small population of common bottlenose dolphins living in ... read more

Dec. 3, 2014 — Scientists have made a fascinating discovery in the northern Indian Ocean: humpback whales inhabiting the Arabian Sea are the most genetically distinct humpback whales in the world and may be the ... read more

Therapeutic Bronchoscopy Performed on a Dolphin

Dec. 1, 2014 — In a remarkable collaborative effort between human and veterinary clinicians, a 29-year-old bottlenose dolphin recently underwent therapeutic bronchoscopy to treat airway narrowing, or stenosis, that ... read more

Nov. 26, 2014 — Thanks to the more than 11,200 sightings of cetaceans over the course of ten years, Spanish and Portuguese researchers have been able to identify, in detail, the presence of orcas in the Gulf of ... read more

Nov. 18, 2014 — Palaeontologists are rewriting the history of New Zealand's ancient whales by describing a previously unknown genus of fossil baleen whales and two species within it. The two whales, which lived ... read more

Nov. 14, 2014 — For the first time, scientists working in the waters of Patagonia are using satellite tags to remotely track southern right whales from their breeding/calving grounds in the sheltered bays of ... read more

Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Friday, September 5, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014
Tuesday, May 6, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Friday, April 4, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Monday, February 10, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Monday, January 20, 2014
Thursday, January 9, 2014
Sunday, January 5, 2014
Monday, December 30, 2013
Friday, December 20, 2013
Thursday, December 19, 2013
Wednesday, December 4, 2013
Tuesday, December 3, 2013
Monday, December 2, 2013
Sunday, November 24, 2013
Monday, November 4, 2013
Wednesday, October 30, 2013
Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Monday, October 21, 2013
Thursday, October 3, 2013
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Wednesday, September 25, 2013
Monday, September 23, 2013
Wednesday, September 11, 2013
Monday, September 9, 2013
Friday, August 30, 2013
Tuesday, August 27, 2013
Tuesday, August 6, 2013
Wednesday, July 24, 2013
Thursday, July 11, 2013
Wednesday, July 10, 2013
Wednesday, July 3, 2013
Wednesday, June 19, 2013