Food and Agriculture News
October 10, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:16pm EDT

More Food and Agriculture News
October 10, 2015

Decrease in Antimicrobial Use in Animals in Denmark

Oct. 8, 2015 — Antimicrobial use in animals has decreased in 2014 due mainly to decreased consumption in the pig production. In general very little of the critically important antimicrobials – which are used to ... read more

Oct. 7, 2015 — Wheat is vulnerable. Among the most damaging diseases that affect wheat crops across the world are rusts. These parasites cannot grow without infecting a host plant, and are responsible for some of ... read more

Know Your Chardonnay from Your Chablis? Scientists Reveal New Secrets to Regional Wine Variation

Sep. 24, 2015 — New research has shown for the first time how tiny genetic differences in a single microbe help to produce the distinctive variations in taste and odor between wines from different ... read more

Researchers Propose Ecological Route to Plant Disease Control

Sep. 24, 2015 — New research has revealed a potential natural defence against invasive pathogens which damage food crops across the ... read more

Changes in Dairy Industry Benefit Dairy Cattle Health, Consumers

Sep. 22, 2015 — Profound changes in the dairy industry in recent decades have benefited the health and welfare of dairy cows, as well as consumers. A team of dairy science experts provides valuable insights into ... read more

Researchers Try to Halt March of Destructive Pest Preying on Tomatoes

Sep. 22, 2015 — A tomato pest -- established in Panama and Costa Rica -- is moving northward but has not yet arrived in the United States. Its potential arrival is a big concern among US government agricultural ... read more

Harvesting Clues to GMO Dilemmas from China's Soybean Fields

Sep. 18, 2015 — China's struggle -- mirrored across the globe -- to balance public concern over the safety of genetically modified crops with a swelling demand for affordable food crops has left a disconnect: ... read more

Lack of Attention Has Made Stripe Rust a Threat to the World's Wheat, Report Shows

Sep. 17, 2015 — Inconsistent funding for research into the pests and diseases that threaten key crops leaves global food supplies vulnerable, according to a new ... read more

Sweeping Study of US Farm Data Shows Loss of Crop Diversity the Past 34 Years

Sep. 15, 2015 — Diverse agroecosystems are more resilient to variable weather from climate change, researchers say, upon concluding through study that across the United States, there has been a loss of crop ... read more

Sep. 14, 2015 — Dozens of plastic tubs stacked in a room may look ordinary, but they store what could be the secrets to more rice to feed the world. The containers are the resting place for what’s known by ... read more

Sep. 14, 2015 — Experts predict farmers can sustainably, and affordably, meet humanity's growing demand for food and ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — Ten percent of the world's cotton is produced in the Xinjiang region in northwestern China. Irrigating the cotton fields, however, is causing ecological problems. After many years of research, a ... read more

Paying Farmers to Help the Environment Works, but ‘perverse’ Subsidies Must Be Balanced

Sep. 9, 2015 — New research suggests that offering financial incentives for farming industries to mitigate the impact agriculture has on the environment, by reducing fertiliser use and ‘sparing’ land for ... read more

Economic Development Drives World-Wide Overfishing

Sep. 9, 2015 — Stocks of wild fish cannot be protected from overfishing in the long term by the expansion of aquaculture alone. Economic driving forces such as increasing global demand for fish or improved fishing ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — Wheat farmers in Kazakhstan lose anywhere from from 10 percent to as much as 50 percent of their wheat crop due to tan spot and Septoria leaf blotch. A research scientist will screen new wheat ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — The benefits of virgin olive oil is due to minority compounds that can be increased with sustainable irrigation strategies, a team of researchers has ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — Multi-resistant bacteria represent a major problem not only in hospitals but also in animal husbandry. A study now describes how a farmer successfully eliminated these pathogens entirely from his pig ... read more

Could More Intensive Farming Practices Benefit Tropical Birds?

Sep. 3, 2015 — Does it help when farms share the land with birds and other animals? The short answer is 'no,' based on the diversity of bird species. If the goal is to preserve more bird species, ... read more

Sep. 3, 2015 — In the first study of its kind, new research shows that crop rotations, in isolation from other management factors, can increase the functions performed by soil microbial communities that benefit ... read more

Sep. 2, 2015 — Cornfields with a more diverse insect population have fewer problems with pests, according to a study. The two-year project is the first to use social network analysis to study insect communities in ... read more

Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Sunday, August 23, 2015
Saturday, August 22, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015