Food and Agriculture News
May 24, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:44pm EDT

More Food and Agriculture News
May 24, 2015

Plant Biosecurity Course Combats Wheat Blast

May 22, 2015 — Wheat blast, an emerging disease that threatens worldwide food security, is the focus of a plant biosecurity course at an American university. The course is designed to help participants learn how to ... read more

May 20, 2015 — The same spring rains that lessen producers' concerns about drought can also lead to soil erosion and nutrient runoff. Keeping soil and fertilizers where they belong--in the field--benefits ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Naturally occurring, plant-associated bacteria as a crop protection agent are now available for use in crop protection to alleviate the contamination of soil with pesticides -- arguably the most ... read more

May 18, 2015 — Bread from certain spelt wheat varieties have differentiated sensory properties that could be considered for future breeding works, a new study ... read more

Fresh Milk, Off the Grid

May 19, 2015 — Milk preservation depends upon refrigeration and boiling, but in developing countries these methods are costly and often impractical due to the sporadic availability of continuous electricity. New ... read more

Populated Puget Sound Sees Stark Shifts in Marine Fish Species

May 8, 2015 — The most populated areas of Puget Sound have experienced striking shifts in marine species, with declines in herring and smelt that have long provided food for other marine life and big increases in ... read more

Property Inhibiting Growth of Bird Flu Virus Discovered in Eggs

May 8, 2015 — An egg is many things. It is a versatile food but also an efficient source of bioactive compounds. A researcher has discovered that fractions isolated from the ovomucin protein in egg white can ... read more

May 4, 2015 — A new variety of low-allergenic soybean has been created by researchers. The new crop could have a major impact on the production of baby formula, processed foods and livestock feed, they ... read more

May 6, 2015 — Researchers have obtained biochar using manure waste, a new material that can improve soil properties and increase crop yields. The results suggest an optimal solution to manage the manure from ... read more

Forests Could Be the Trump Card in Efforts to End Global Hunger

May 6, 2015 — About one in nine people globally still suffer from hunger with the majority of the hungry living in Africa and Asia. The world's forests have great potential to improve their nutrition and ... read more

'Silver Bullet' Kills Phytophthora, a Fungus That Affects More Than 400 Plants and Trees

May 5, 2015 — Silver nanoparticles produced with an extract of wormwood can stop several strains of the fungus phytophthora dead in its ... read more

Silicon: An Important Element in Rice Production

Apr. 28, 2015 — Recent research showed that, although long neglected by ecologists, silicon is in fact beneficial for the growth of many plants, including major crops such as rice, wheat and barley. Researchers have ... read more

Apr. 30, 2015 — A new study shows poor nutrition for honey bee larvae leads to compromised pollination capabilities as adult bees. This is a possible link to Colony Collapse Disorder ... read more

Genetically Modified Crops to Fight Spina Bifida

Apr. 28, 2015 — Genetically modified crops are usually designed to have herbicide tolerance and insect resistance, but there are other applications of such engineered plants, such as the incorporation of genes for ... read more

Soy: It's Good for Eating, Baking -- And Cleaning Up Crude Oil Spills

Apr. 22, 2015 — If you've studied ingredient labels on food packaging, you've probably noticed that soy lecithin is in a lot of products, ranging from buttery spreads to chocolate cake. Scientists have now ... read more

Poor Diet May Contribute to the Decline in British Bees

Apr. 22, 2015 — The changing British landscape could be contributing to the decline in its bee populations, according research. Analysis of 35 hives in 20 sites in North West England found that honeybees living near ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — The discovery of a gene involved in determining the melting point of cocoa butter -- a critical attribute of the substance widely used in foods and pharmaceuticals -- will likely lead to new and ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Farmers count on South Dakota State University plant breeders to develop new varieties that give crops greater yield potential and make them more resistant to diseases. The university fulfills its ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Selective breeding of maize over the last century to create hybrids with desirable shoot characteristics and increased yield may have contributed indirectly to the evolution of root systems that are ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Assigning a dollar value to the benefits nature provides agriculture improves the bottom line for farmers while protecting the environment, a team of international scientists has shown. The study ... read more

Friday, May 22, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015