Food and Agriculture News
December 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:22pm EST

More Food and Agriculture News
December 1, 2015

DNA Sequences in GMOs: Largest Database Now Publicly Available

Nov. 26, 2015 — The JRC has published a new database, JRC GMO-Amplicons, which contains more than 240 000 DNA sequences appearing in genetically modified organisms (GMOs). It will help to verify the presence of ... read more

Growing Sweet on Tomatoes

Nov. 27, 2015 — Scientists have developed a method to produce sweeter, better-growing ... read more

New Project Aims to Develop Advanced Tools and Research Strategies for Parasite Control in European Farmed Fish

Nov. 18, 2015 — A new research project aims to improve our understanding of fish-parasite interactions and develop innovative solutions and tools to prevent, control and mitigate harmful parasites which affect the ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — Farmers can maintain high yields and boost nature by signing up to a wildlife-friendly scheme, new research suggests. The research suggests that some government schemes designed to encourage farmers ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — When corn prices increase farmers reap higher yields by making changes. According to a recent study, about one-third of the yield increase derives from more intensive management practices and ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Researchers have succeeded in inducing the genes involved in oil synthesis in seeds to work for longer periods of time, thereby allowing them to accumulate more seed ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Botanists have discovered a gene region in a wild tomato species that protects against an increasingly problematic type of tomato disease called bacterial speck. He will test out this gene region in ... read more

Cholesterol-Lowering 'Portfolio Diet' Also Reduces Blood Pressure

Nov. 7, 2015 — A diet developed for reducing cholesterol also lowers blood pressure, a new study has found. The portfolio diet lowered blood pressure by an average two per cent, when compared with another diet ... read more

Food Policy: Cutting Waste, Broadening Systems

Nov. 6, 2015 — In two separate articles, researchers detail strategies aimed at cutting food waste and broadening approaches to food policy, moves that the researchers say would ultimately improve public health and ... read more

Obesity: Is Junk Food Really to Blame?

Nov. 5, 2015 — Soda, candy, and fast food are often painted as the prime culprits in the national discussion of obesity in the United States. While a diet of chocolate bars and cheese burgers washed down with a ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Manure management is serious business for a meat-hungry world. A single cow, depending on its size, can generate between 43 and 120 pounds of manure a day. Cow manure can be a low-cost fertilizer for ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — A new study seeks to establish the quantity of water used in rice crops according to their seeding system. The aim of the study was to quantify the water used in two different systems of rice crop, ... read more

In 2030, We Will Have Local Protein on Our Plate

Nov. 2, 2015 — In 2030, new sources that will not accelerate climate change and that are located near the consumer will make available both food and fodder. New foodstuffs are being developed by breeding insects, ... read more

What We Know About How Neonicotinoids Affect Bees

Oct. 30, 2015 — A second summary in as many years on the scientific evidence about the effects of neonicotinoid pesticides on bees has been published by scientists. The research team was asked to update its findings ... read more

Field to Fork, Potato Harvest Reduced by Half

Oct. 23, 2015 — On the way from field to fork, more than half of the potato harvest is lost, according to new research. Waste is greater for organically farmed table potatoes because these fail to satisfy the high ... read more

Oct. 22, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that a social, stingless bee from Brazil feeds its larvae on a special type of fungus grown in the nest. Without it, very few young ... read more

Fish Farming Gobbles Up Phosphorus

Oct. 22, 2015 — Fish farming is the largest source of phosphorus emissions in Norway, generating about 9,000 tonnes a year. Finding ways to reuse the waste from the fish farming industry could cut consumption of ... read more

Aquaculture: Gear, Not Geoducks, Impacts Ecosystem If Farming Increases

Oct. 22, 2015 — The equipment used to farm geoducks (clams), including PVC pipes and nets, might have a greater impact on the Puget Sound food web than the addition of the clams themselves. That's one of the ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Biology professors and students use tomatoes from campus garden to teach high schools students about genetic diversity. Students learn about dominant and recessive genes and the genetic influence on ... read more

Wildflowers on Farms -- Not Just Crops -- Can Expose Bees to Neonicotinoids

Oct. 21, 2015 — Since bee colonies started declining at alarming rates over the past few decades, some scientists have identified a group of pesticides called neonicotinoids that are commonly used on crops as a ... read more

Thursday, November 26, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Sunday, August 23, 2015
Saturday, August 22, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015