New Species News
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:45am EDT

More New Species News
September 3, 2015

Study in Bats and Rodents Offers Insights on How Viruses Spread Across Species

Aug. 25, 2015 — Bats are natural reservoirs of several important emerging viruses, and because cross-species transmission appears to be quite common among bats, it's important to study bats in a community ... read more

Aug. 25, 2015 — It might have been an unknown ornamental fish collector and dealer that captured the motley crayfish species C. snowden for the first time by the coasts of the island of New Guinea, but it was a ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — A groundbreaking Bolivian scientific expedition, Identidad Madidi, has found a bizarre bat along with a new species of big-headed or robber frog (Oreobates sp. nov.) from the Craugastoridae family in ... read more

Research on Meat Species Shows Mislabeling in Commercial Products

Aug. 21, 2015 — Two separate studies have been released on meat mislabeling in consumer commercial products. One study focused on identification of species found in ground meat products, and the other focused on ... read more

Bats Wake Up and Smell the Coffee

Aug. 19, 2015 — Intensive agriculture is taking a toll on bats in the Western Ghats of India, one of the world's most biodiverse regions, but shade-grown coffee, remnant rainforest patches and riverine ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — A team of international researchers has discovered a fossil monkey specimen representing the earliest baboon ever found. Dating back more than two million years ago, the partial skull was found in ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — New species evolve whenever a lineage splits off into several. Because of this, the kinship between species is often described in terms of a 'tree of life,' where every branch constitutes a ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — Researchers and engineers have developed and tested an innovative new system for sampling small planktonic larvae in coastal ocean waters and understanding their distribution. Traditionally, pumps ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Scientists have identified a new species of pre-mammal in what is now Zambia. Thanks to a unique groove on the animal's upper jaw, it was dubbed Ichibengops, which combines the local Bemba word ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Why some species of plants and animals vary more in number than others is a central issue in ecology. Now researchers have found an important finding to answer this question: Individual differences ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Humans and animals are never alone. Everyone is host to over two thousand different species of microbes, of which most colonize our bodies only after we are born. One would assume that the ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — In support of previous research, the Cape Parrot should be elevated to the species level, scientists report. The Cape Parrot is currently considered a Poicephalus robustus sub-species, along with P. ... read more

Evolution Peaks on Tropical Mountain

Aug. 12, 2015 — Tropical mountains have an exceptionally high biodiversity. This is also the case for Mount Kinabalu in Sabah, Malaysian Borneo. During an expedition, experts investigated the local fauna, flora, and ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Marine organisms living in acidified waters exhibit a tendency to nurture their offspring to a greater extent than those in more regular conditions. Scientists have found that polychaete worms ... read more

Aug. 12, 2015 — Competition played a more important role in the evolution of the dog family (wolves, foxes, and their relatives) than climate change, shows a new international study. Researchers analyzed over 2000 ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Birds of a feather may flock together, but that doesn't mean they share a genetic background. Though birds were first classified into groups primarily based on appearance, research demonstrates ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — The time since the introduction of a non-native marine species best explains its global range, according to new research by an international team of scientists. The study also contains a warning: The ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A team of researchers recently published the first rigorous assessment of extinction of invertebrates in Hawai`i. In a companion study the team addressed invertebrate extinction globally. Based on ... read more

Newly Identified Tadpole Disease Found Across the Globe

Aug. 10, 2015 — Scientists have found that a newly identified and highly infectious tadpole disease is found in a diverse range of frog populations across the world. The discovery sheds new light on some of the ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A newly released study offers hope of conservation to the world’s low-profile and more unloved members of the animal kingdom. The study demonstrates that a “Wisdom of Crowds” method can ... read more

Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015