New Species News
October 10, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:46am EDT

More New Species News
October 10, 2015

Known Fish Species Living in the Salish Sea Increases in New Report

Sep. 30, 2015 — A new report documents all of the fishes that live in the Salish Sea. In total, 253 fish species have been recorded, and that’s about 14 percent more than in the last ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Researchers studied seedling emergence and growth traits of three rare and threatened tree species in the Mariana Islands to determine the influences of light and storage on seed and seedling ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — Non-native plants reduce the diversity of insect populations in gardens, even where the non-native plants are closely related to the native plants, new research shows. The goal of this research was ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — Land snails vary between 1 mm and 20 cm in terms of the largest diameter of their shells. However, they very rarely reach shell diameters smaller than 1 mm. An international team, led by Dr. Barna ... read more

The Life and Times of Domesticated Cheese-Making Fungi

Sep. 24, 2015 — People sure love their cheeses, but scientists have a lot to learn about the fungi responsible for a blue cheese like Roquefort or a soft Camembert. Now researchers have pieced together the story of ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — A new article offers horse owners advice on how to manage stable flies and house flies, including how to use parasitoid wasps as an alternative to ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — A new lineage of extinct plankton-feeding sharks, Pseudomegachasma, has been discovered by an international team of scientists. The sharks lived in warm oceans during the age of the dinosaurs nearly ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — In the Mexican Caribbean, inhabit several species of snails. Historically the most abundant was Strombus gigas, commonly called pink snail. For years this type has had great fishing demand for its ... read more

Species Extinction Can Doom Parasites Important for Ecosystem Health

Sep. 21, 2015 — The effects of an animal population's extinction may echo beyond the original species, new research finds. Loss of a population could ultimately result in the extinction of parasites -- which ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Various specimens of Africa's earliest coelacanth have been found in a 360-million-year-old fossil estuary near Grahamstown, in South Africa's Eastern Cape. More than 30 complete specimens ... read more

Sep. 18, 2015 — A first draft of the tree of life for all 2.3 million named species of animals, plants, fungi and microbes has been released. Thousands of smaller trees have been published over the years for select ... read more

Sep. 18, 2015 — The chameleon's exceptional tree-climbing ability is dependent on vital ball-and-socket joints in its wrists and ankles, according to new research. The study also finds that chameleons have ... read more

Naturally Occurring 'GM' Butterflies Produced by Gene Transfer of Wasp-Associated Viruses

Sep. 17, 2015 — Research teams have discovered that genes originating from parasitic wasps are present in the genomes of many butterflies. These genes were acquired through a wasp-associated virus that integrates ... read more

Sep. 17, 2015 — After being mostly neglected for more than a hundred years, a group of digger wasps from Australia has been given a major overhaul in terms of species descriptions and identification methods. This ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — Four new native bee species were recognized as part of the largest Australian nature discovery project 'Bush Blitz.' The South Australian bee specialists used molecular and morphological ... read more

Invasive Brood Parasites a Threat to Native Bird Species

Sep. 16, 2015 — North Americans might be seeing new species of birds in certain areas of the continent in the near future. According to research, Eurasian birds are beginning to develop a presence on our continent, ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — As the climate warms, many plants face an uphill struggle for survival. A new study indicates that this is particularly true wherever they face increased competition from plants that have migrated to ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — China has invested substantially in nature reserves to protect giant pandas in the wild. A new study finds that in addition to benefiting the charismatic pandas, the reserves also protect substantial ... read more

Counting Underwater Vital for Marine Conservation

Sep. 16, 2015 — Understanding how genetic diversity occurs within species is paramount for conservation, according to scientists. The new research identified regions of high and low multi-species genetic diversity ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — Female butterflies generally choose among male suitors, but with hundreds of related species living in close proximity, how can they decide which are the right ones? A solution is that males have ... read more

Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015