New Species News
December 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:20pm EST

More New Species News
December 1, 2015

Nov. 30, 2015 — Fruit flies studies on mating compatibility have been examined to assess the usefulness of walk-in field cages in sexual behavior research within fruit fly species complexes and recognition of ... read more

Nov. 23, 2015 — Varying between organisms, the number of chromosomes are normally a constant amount within a species, thus allowing for its successful reproduction. However, it may vary greatly even within a certain ... read more

Beavers Restore Dead Wood in Boreal Forests

Nov. 23, 2015 — Beavers create significant amounts of dead wood into the lowland shore forests of boreal wetlands, research shows. Particularly snags and deciduous dead wood are formed through the beavers' ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — Often avoiding sampling gear due to their capability to detect movements and swim their way out of the nets fast enough, the small squids living in the open-ocean zone have long gone ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — Called after Tolkien's character from the 'Lord of the Rings' series, a new eyeless harvestman species was found to crawl in a humid cave in southeastern Brazil. Never getting out of ... read more

Every Species Counts: Value of Biodiversity Is Particularly High in Poor Environmental Conditions

Nov. 17, 2015 — The relationship between biodiversity and ecosystem functioning greatly depends on the prevalent environmental conditions. An interdisciplinary team consisting of microbiologists and ecological ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — Are we loving wild animals to death? Scientists analyzed 75 studies conducted over the last half-century of 212 animal species -- mostly birds, but also mammals and lizards -- in areas with large ... read more

Flowers That Point to the Sky May Attract More Moth Pollinators

Nov. 16, 2015 — Plants that have flowers that point towards the sky may be better at attracting moth pollinators than plants that have 'shy' flowers that point ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — New research has revised the horned praying mantis group and traced the evolution of its distinctive camouflage features, suggesting that disruptive camouflage evolved twice within the ... read more

Half the World's Natural History Specimens May Have the Wrong Name

Nov. 16, 2015 — As many as 50 percent of all natural history specimens held in the world's museums could be wrongly named, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — Whether you’re territorial, a girlfriend stealer, or a cross dresser, when it comes to finding a partner, scientists have discovered that for some birds it’s all in the ... read more

Bird Decline Shows That Climate Change Is More Than Just Hot Air

Nov. 16, 2015 — Scientists have long known that birds are feeling the heat due to climate change. However, a new study of a dozen affected species in the Western Cape suggests their decline is more complex than ... read more

Parasitic Fungi and the Battle Against Coffee Rust Disease

Nov. 13, 2015 — Coffee rust has ravaged Latin American plantations for several years, leading to reductions in annual coffee production of up to 30 percent in some countries and threatening the livelihoods of ... read more

Invasive Freshwater Species in Europe’s Lakes and Rivers: How Do They Come In?

Nov. 13, 2015 — A new article has identified escape from aquaculture facilities, releases in the wild due to pet/aquarium trade and stocking activities as the main pathways of alien species introduction in European ... read more

Long-Snouted Amazonian Catfishes Including Three New Species to Form a New Genus

Nov. 12, 2015 — Being close relatives within the same genus, eight catfishes showed enough external differences, such as characteristic elongated mouths, hinting to their separate origin. Following a thorough ... read more

Nov. 12, 2015 — The extinction of one carnivore species can trigger the demise of fellow predators, conservation biologists have confirmed. A ground-breaking study has backed up theories and previous laboratory ... read more

Nov. 11, 2015 — The sensitivity of marine communities to ocean warming rather than rising ocean temperatures will have strong short-term impacts on biodiversity changes associated with global warming, according to ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — Cacao trees evolved around 10 million years ago, earlier than previously believed, new research shows. Considerable genetic variation might remain to be discovered among wild cacao populations, which ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — Spreading its wings over the sandhills and scrub of peninsular Florida, a moth species with immaculately white wings has remained unnoticed by science until a scientist set it apart from a very ... read more

Black Mouse-Eared Bat Goes Green: First Case of a Fruit-Eating Bat in the Largest Genus

Nov. 10, 2015 — Out of more than 110 allegedly well-studied mouse-eared bat species, there is one that has been keeping its diet a mystery. Belonging to the largest group of bats, known to be feeding on insects ... read more

Monday, November 30, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015