Sea Life News
October 10, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:16am EDT

More Sea Life News
October 10, 2015

Oct. 8, 2015 — When it comes to catching elusive prey, many fishes rely on a special trick: protruding jaws that quickly extend their reach to snap up that next meal. Now, researchers have found a clever way to ... read more

Known Fish Species Living in the Salish Sea Increases in New Report

Sep. 30, 2015 — A new report documents all of the fishes that live in the Salish Sea. In total, 253 fish species have been recorded, and that’s about 14 percent more than in the last ... read more

Sep. 30, 2015 — Mussels, oysters, scallops and clams might be ingredients for fine cuisine, but they can also be a recipe for diarrhetic shellfish poisoning (DSP). That's a gastrointestinal illness people can ... read more

Rare Early Jurassic Corals of North America

Sep. 29, 2015 — Mass extinction events punctuate the evolution of marine environments, and recovery biotas paved the way for major biotic changes. Understanding the responses of marine organisms in the ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — King crabs may soon become high-level predators in Antarctic marine ecosystems where they haven't played a role in tens of millions of years, according to a new ... read more

Novel Tag Developed for Squid, Jellyfish

Sep. 28, 2015 — Invertebrates, such as squid and jellyfish, play a crucial role in the marine food web and are also vital commercial fisheries. Despite their importance, little is known about their natural behaviors ... read more

Gone Fishing: Loss of Ocean Predators Has Impact on Climate Change Strategies

Sep. 28, 2015 — As Australia engages in debate over shark culling, new research says unsustainable harvesting of larger fish will affect how we tackle climate change. A group of scientists warns the loss of top ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — Instead of freezing unwanted crested floatinghearts and bringing them to a local landfill, many homeowners toss them into canals, say researchers who have compiled data to quantify the seriousness ... read more

Offshore Wind Farms Could Be More Risky for Gannets Than Previously Thought, Study Shows

Sep. 28, 2015 — Offshore wind farms, which are to be built in waters around the UK, could pose a greater threat to protected populations of gannets than previously thought, according to a new ... read more

Sep. 26, 2015 — Scientists devised a new methodology for measuring how and when ocean predators consume prey, and identified the Pacific bluefin's favorite hot spots, information that can inform conservation ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — The ultra-stable properties of the proteins that allow deep-diving whales to remain active while holding their breath for up to two hours could help biochemists and other researchers finish a 20-year ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — When it comes to helping each other out, it turns out that some fish are better at it than one might imagine. New research has found that pairs of rabbitfishes will cooperate and support each other ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Researchers have used radiocarbon measured in deep-sea fossil corals to shed light on carbon dioxide levels during Earth's last deglaciation. Fossil corals have the unique advantage that they ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — You might expect that little happens in the Arctic Ocean during the cold and dark winter. But that just isn't so, according to researchers who have sampled the activities of many different ... read more

Tiny Plankton Can Play a Major Role in Carbon Dioxide Storage in the Oceans

Sep. 24, 2015 — Tiny zooplankton animals, each no bigger than a grain of rice, may be playing a huge part in regulating climate change, research has ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — Scientists have found that the gut microbiome of right whales and other baleen species shares characteristics with both cows and meat-eating predators. The dual microbial communities allow whales to ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — While island societies can do little to control carbon emissions from developed nations, they can manage their local resources to enhance the ecosystem services that coastal habitats, including ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — As much as 47 percent of the edible US seafood supply is lost each year, mainly from consumer waste, new research suggests. The findings come as food waste in general has been in the spotlight and ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — Most recreational anglers who target deep-water reef fish in Florida recognize barotrauma symptoms, and researchers think they can teach the other 30 percent to help save the fish. By doing so, ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — The world's oceans have seen significant declines in certain types of microscopic plant-life at the base of the marine food chain, according to a new NASA study. The research is the first to ... read more

Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015