Seeds News
May 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:29pm EDT

More Seeds News
May 6, 2015

Apr. 20, 2015 — The discovery of a gene involved in determining the melting point of cocoa butter -- a critical attribute of the substance widely used in foods and pharmaceuticals -- will likely lead to new and ... read more

Efficient Fungus Paralyzes, Kills Pathogens That Cause Losses in Cotton Crops

Apr. 15, 2015 — Researchers have identified beneficial fungi that were already tested as disease control agents in cotton crops. Among them is Trichoderma koningiopsis, which kills the parasite or pathogens that ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Farmers count on South Dakota State University plant breeders to develop new varieties that give crops greater yield potential and make them more resistant to diseases. The university fulfills its ... read more

UN Urged to Ensure Open Access to Plant Genomes

Mar. 20, 2015 — A plant scientist has called for the United Nations to guarantee free and open access to plant DNA sequences to enable scientists to continue work to sustainably intensify world food ... read more

Mar. 17, 2015 — Whirling seeds are produced by many plants today, such as maples, but the first to try them were the conifers 270 million years ago. Fossils reveal that those early conifers had winged seeds of ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — The warm soft folds of the intestines are teeming with thousands of species of bacteria that help break down food, synthesize vitamins, regulate weight and resist infection. If they're so key to ... read more

Nine Superfruits and Super Seeds to Add to Your Diet

Mar. 12, 2015 — Although there is no universal standard definition of a super seed or superfruit, they are often described as providing a number of nutrients and health benefits all in one package. A new article ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — New industrial processing techniques are enabling us to obtain valuable proteins, antioxidants and oils from salmon and rapeseed waste. These extracts can be used in health foods, nutritional ... read more

Seeding Mixtures Recommended for Midwest Lawns

Mar. 9, 2015 — A study evaluated the establishment rate and species composition over 3 years of a turf stand seeded with different ratios of kentucky bluegrass and perennial ryegrass maintained as a lawn. The ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — A new method for the conservation of the genetic diversity of forest trees will see its launch on 26 February 2015, as forest tree seeds are for the first time stored in the Svalbard Global Seed ... read more

Feb. 24, 2015 — Previous studies have shown that the extracts from seeds of the Moringa oleifera tree can be used for water purification. In a new study, researchers show that the Moringa seeds can also be used for ... read more

Feb. 13, 2015 — As much as 75 percent of global seed diversity in staple food crops is held and actively used by a wide range of small farmholders -- workers of less than three to seven acres -- with the rest in ... read more

First-of-Its-Kind Discovery of 1,500 Year-Old Grape Seeds May Answer the Question: Why Was the Wine of the Negev So Renowned in the Byzantine Empire

Feb. 12, 2015 — For the first time, grape seeds from the Byzantine era have been found. These grapes were used to produce "the Wine of the Negev" -- one of the finest and most renowned wines in the whole ... read more

Friendly Fungi: How They Could Help Barley Growers Feed the World Without Chemicals

Feb. 9, 2015 — Botanists have found two fungal species that prevent the spread of common seed infections that can decimate crops. Around six times as many barley plants inoculated with these natural fungal ... read more

Ebola Leads to Hunger in Africa's Rice Belt

Jan. 29, 2015 — It was Christmas Eve, but the streets of Freetown – the capital of Sierra Leone – were eerily silent. Families and friends did not meet for the traditional dinner to feast on Jollof Rice, a ... read more

Jan. 27, 2015 — Data is being collected to support the production of a crop that is new to the state of Mississippi -- sesame. Existing grower information is limited, but interest in the crop appears to be ... read more

Jan. 13, 2015 — Weeds would have a tough time competing against crops such as corn, grains and beans if farmers were to alter their sowing patterns, experts say. "Our results demonstrate that weed control in ... read more

Jan. 6, 2015 — Scientists have looked into the diminutive world of seed beetles in Xinjiang, China, to reveal a diversity of 19 species for the region, four of which are new records for the ... read more

Jan. 5, 2015 — Past research has examined how environmental and genetic factors affect plant life stages individually, but a new study models how the three stages (seed, vegetative, and reproductive) interact with ... read more

Dec. 24, 2014 — An invasive ant species that has become increasingly abundant in eastern North America not only takes over yards and delivers a nasty sting, it's helping the spread of an invasive plant species. ... read more

Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Saturday, September 6, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Friday, August 22, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Thursday, July 24, 2014
Monday, July 21, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Friday, May 23, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Monday, May 5, 2014
Friday, April 18, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Thursday, April 3, 2014
Thursday, March 27, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Wednesday, March 19, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Saturday, March 8, 2014
Friday, March 7, 2014
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Friday, February 28, 2014
Thursday, February 27, 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014