Wild Animals News
April 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:28pm EDT

More Wild Animals News
April 26, 2015

Apr. 23, 2015 — An extraordinarily rare ocean discovery of an inches-long 'pocket shark' has been made. Sharks come in all shapes and sizes and are best known as a dominant predator in the marine food web. ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — For the first time, a research project has investigated how a neonicotinoid pesticide, clothianidin, affects both honeybees and wild bees in an agricultural landscape. The study shows that honeybees ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Disease shapes plant communities and determines the outcomes of environmental change, weed invasions and agriculture and forestry management strategies. Whether or not a disease devastates a plant ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Fishing is having a significant impact on the make-up of fish populations of the Great Barrier Reef, new research shows. Removing predatory fish such as coral trout and snapper, through fishing, ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Sweet potatoes from all over the world naturally contain genes from the bacterium Agrobacterium, researchers report. Sweet potato is one of the most important food crops for human consumption in the ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — A map shows how California's state highway system is strewn with roadkill "hot spots," which are identified in a newly released report. The data could help state highway planners take ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Among soft-bodied cephalopods, vampire squid live life at a slower pace. At ocean depths from 500 to 3,000 meters, they don't swim so much as float, and they get by with little oxygen while ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — While the female baboon's big red bottom may be an eyesore to some, it has an aphrodisiac effect on her mates. Biologists have long thought that baboon males prefer females with bigger backsides ... read more

Apr. 17, 2015 — An invasive parasitic fly that harms Darwin's finches and other land birds on the Galapagos Islands, has been found for the the first time in mainland Ecuador, supporting the hypothesis that it ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Demand for natural rubber fueled by the tire industry is threatening protected parts of Southeast Asia, according to new research. Researchers say that the extent of the problem is comparable to oil ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Scientists synthesized decades of scientific discoveries to illuminate the common and unique patterns driving the extraordinary transitions that whales, dolphins, seals and other species underwent as ... read more

Fish Type, Body Size Can Help Predict Nutrient Recycling Rates

Apr. 16, 2015 — The nutrients excreted by fish in their 'pee' may be critical to the health of coastal ecosystems. But knowing whether generalizations can be made about how to predict these nutrient levels ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Two primatologists working in the forests of the Republic of Congo have returned from the field with a noteworthy prize: the first-ever photograph of the Bouvier's red colobus monkey, a rare ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — Bisphenol A (BPA) is a chemical used in food storage products and resins that line plastic beverage containers. Often, aquatic environments become reservoirs for BPA, and turtle habitats are ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — This is the time of year when birds come out and really spread their wings, but since a disastrous day just before spring's arrival four years ago, Japan's Fukushima province has not been ... read more

Frog Uses Different Strategies to Escape Ground, Air Predators

Apr. 15, 2015 — Frogs may flee from a ground predator and move towards an aerial predator, undercutting the flight ... read more

Researchers Can Trace Dust Samples Using Fungal DNA

Apr. 15, 2015 — Researchers have developed a statistical model that allows them to tell where a dust sample came from within the continental United States based on the DNA of fungi found in the sample. The work ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — Scientists have demonstrated in field experiments that it is sufficient to alter the expression of certain defense genes in individual plants to protect the whole population and to alter the ... read more

Apr. 15, 2015 — New research is providing the most comprehensive picture of the evolutionary history of baleen whales, which are not only the largest animals ever to live on earth, but also among the most ... read more

Use of Insects in Animal Feed Seen as Favorable by Farmers, Sector and Consumers

Apr. 15, 2015 — The attitudes towards the use of insects in animal feed and resulting livestock products are generally favorable, so has recent scientific research shown. The use of insects in animal feed is one ... read more

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015