Bioethics News
July 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:53pm EDT

More Bioethics News
July 1, 2015

June 30, 2015 — 10 years after graduating, many have found financially solid and meaningful employment in the private sector, according to a new ... read more

New Way of Understanding Police Authority, Power

June 25, 2015 — The police aim at maintaining law and order and social peace, and to achieve it they can make use of authority and power in a coercive way, through repression, prohibition or control, but they can ... read more

Law Enforcement Officers Should Be Authorized to Administer Naloxone

June 15, 2015 — One way to reduce the nation's number of opioid-related deaths, states an American drug policy expert, is through the timely administration of naloxone, the life-saving overdose antidote. New ... read more

June 9, 2015 — Engineers seeking to improve helmet design for the nation's troops test how concussive explosions affect the brain's blood vessels. They discover that the interface between blood vessels ... read more

Online Gambling Would Benefit from Better Regulation

June 1, 2015 — The US government's attempt to crack down on Internet gambling is widely seen as a convoluted mess. Yet, more controlled and defined regulation would likely benefit the $41 billion industry and ... read more

Political Science Study Debunks Idea of Public Opinion Backlash

June 1, 2015 — Does putting same-sex marriage in the public spotlight impede future policy gains for gay and lesbian couples? A new study says no, contrary to previous research on the ... read more

Congressional Action Needed to Optimize Regulation of Genomic Tests

May 27, 2015 — Latest generation genomic testing offers a chance for improvements in patient care, disease prevention and healthcare cost-effectiveness. A new report recommends that Congress incentivize development ... read more

May 27, 2015 — More than 5 million children in Europe have been born as a result of assisted reproductive technologies, yet many European countries have regulations that restrict different aspects of these ... read more

The Fear of Dying in Misery in a Hospital Is Driving the Assisted Dying Debate, Says Medical Ethics Expert

May 20, 2015 — The fear of a miserable death in a hospital bed rather than at home is driving public support for mercy-killing law in the UK, an academic has ... read more

Using Decisional Bias as an Implicit Measure of Moral Judgment

May 12, 2015 — The act of identifying a perpetrator does not just involve memory and thinking, but also constitutes a moral decision. This is because, by the act of identifying or not identifying someone, the ... read more

Bathroom Graffiti: From Phallic Doodles and Insults to Humor, Satire and Supportive Messages

May 12, 2015 — A new article examines how men and women express masculinity and femininity in the seemingly private and anonymous spaces of public ... read more

Ethicists Propose Solution for US Organ Shortage Crisis

May 11, 2015 — A fairly simple and ethical change in policy would greatly expand the nation's organ pool while respecting autonomy, choice, and vulnerability of a deceased's family or authorized ... read more

How to Build a New Global Health Framework

May 7, 2015 — Can a true, robust global health framework be created to help prevent tragedies like Ebola while at the same time allow countries to meet everyday health needs? Global health and law experts say it ... read more

Film Music Captivates Us

May 7, 2015 — Sound and music in films do more than merely enhance our experience of a film's narrative. They can also affect the ways in which we perceive ourselves and how we ... read more

US Clinics Avoiding Government Oversight of 'Stem Cell' Treatments

May 1, 2015 — Clinics across the United States are advertising stem cell treatments that attempt to take advantage of what they perceive as exceptions in FDA regulations, according to ... read more

Should Voting Be Compulsory or Should We Have a Right Not to Vote?

Apr. 28, 2015 — Each year, millions of people fail to vote without reproach. Does abstention constitute a citizen's right not to vote? A new article explores whether we have a legal right to a 'no ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — To increase diversity in US STEM workforce, policymakers and educators need to address factors in college programs that discourage minority students, contribute to their noncompletion of ... read more

Ethics Training for Future Doctors Needs Updating, Say Medical Educators

Apr. 24, 2015 — To accommodate 21st century ethical concerns and begin resolving discordant approaches to medical ethics training, scholars from leading medical schools across the United States have issued updated ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Since its first use in the 1980s -- a breakthrough dramatized in recent crime-solving dramas -- DNA profiling has been a vital tool for forensic investigators.  Now researchers have solved one of ... read more

High-Level Commission Focuses on Law's Power to Significantly Improve World's Health

Apr. 21, 2015 — Law should be viewed as a major determinant of health and safety and can be utilized as a powerful and innovative tool to address pressing global health concerns, says a newly formed, high-level ... read more

Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Saturday, October 25, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014