Astronomy News
July 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:05pm EDT

More Astronomy News
July 30, 2015

July 30, 2015 — Some of the most breathtaking views in the Universe are created by nebulae -- hot, glowing clouds of gas. This new NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope image shows the center of the Lagoon Nebula, an ... read more

July 22, 2015 — A new theory says dark matter acts remarkably similar to subatomic particles known to science since the ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Scientists have developed a 3-D model of a giant star's last moments, work that could shed light on how these stars ... read more

Technique May Reveal the Age of Moon Rocks During Spaceflight

July 20, 2015 — Researchers are developing instruments and methods for measuring the ages of rocks encountered during space missions to the Moon or other planets. Many of the techniques used to date rocks on Earth ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Planet Earth is situated in what astronomers call the Goldilocks Zone -- a sweet spot in a solar system where a planet's surface temperature is neither too hot nor too cold. An ideal distance ... read more

July 20, 2015 — A new investigation has found radiation from solar events is too weak to cause worry at ground ... read more

July 20, 2015 — The National Science Foundation's Green Bank Telescope will join in the most powerful, comprehensive, and intensive scientific search ever for signs of intelligent life in the ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Galaxies in a cluster roughly 300 million light years from Earth could contain as much as 100 times more dark matter than visible matter, according to an Australian ... read more

July 16, 2015 — The Gaia satellite has discovered a unique binary system where one star is 'eating' the other, but neither star has any hydrogen, the most common element in the Universe. The system could ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Space may not be the final frontier for researchers who want to grow plants there. Because, who knows, we may one day try to live on Mars, and to survive, we’ll have to grow our own food. Thus far, ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Sibling suns -- made famous in the "Star Wars" scene where Luke Skywalker gazes toward a double sunset -- and the planets around them may be more common than we've thought, and ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Icy mountains on Pluto and a new, crisp view of its largest moon, Charon, are among the several discoveries announced Wednesday by the NASA's New Horizons team, just one day after the ... read more

July 15, 2015 — So far, exoplanet surveys have been most sensitive to planetary systems that are populated in their inner regions by massive planets, down to a few times the mass of the Earth. This contrasts with ... read more

Out of This World: Research Into the Health Impacts of Human Spaceflight

July 15, 2015 — Pioneering research into the health impacts of spaceflight has been identified as a possible experiment to be conducted by a British astronaut on his maiden voyage to the International Space ... read more

July 15, 2015 — NASA's New Horizons spacecraft phoned home just before 9 p.m. EDT Tuesday to tell the mission team and the world it had accomplished the historic first-ever flyby of Pluto. The preprogrammed ... read more

July 14, 2015 — The ChemCam laser instrument on NASA's Curiosity rover has turned its beam onto some unusually light-colored rocks on Mars, and the results are surprisingly similar to Earth's granitic ... read more

July 14, 2015 — In the 1960s, NASA launched six satellites to study Earth's atmosphere, magnetosphere and the space between Earth and the moon. Using observations from those satellites, researchers have ... read more

July 14, 2015 — NASA's New Horizons spacecraft is at Pluto. After a decade-long journey through our solar system, New Horizons made its closest approach to Pluto Tuesday, about 7,750 miles above the surface -- ... read more

July 14, 2015 — A team of scientists participating in a radio astronomy summer school had the unexpected opportunity to observe a recently discovered near-Earth asteroid as it zipped past our planet on July ... read more

July 12, 2015 — According to a new study of more than 20,000 merging galaxies, when two different sized galaxies smash together, the larger galaxy stops the smaller one making new ... read more

Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Saturday, June 20, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015