Black Holes News
May 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:05pm EDT

More Black Holes News
May 27, 2015

Apr. 2, 2015 — NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has photographed a set of wispy, goblin-green objects that are the ephemeral ghosts of quasars that flickered to life and then faded. The eight unusual looped ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — The best observations so far of the dusty gas cloud G2 confirm that it made its closest approach to the supermassive black hole at the centre of the Milky Way in May 2014 and has survived the ... read more

Mar. 25, 2015 — A new study provides the first observational evidence that a supermassive black hole at the center of a large galaxy can power huge, wide-angled outpourings of material from deep inside the ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — Some of the galaxies in our universe are veritable star nurseries. For example, our own Milky Way produces, on average, at least one new star every year. Others went barren years ago, now producing ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — New research by an astrophysicist provides revelations about the most energetic event in the universe -- the merging of two spinning, orbiting black holes into a much larger black ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Researchers have discovered regions where certain organic molecules somehow endure the intense radiation near the supermassive black hole at the center of galaxy NGC 1068, also known to amateur ... read more

Feb. 25, 2015 — The discovery of the brightest quasar in the early universe, powered by the most massive black hole yet known at that time presents a puzzle to researchers: How could something so massive and ... read more

Feb. 19, 2015 — By looking at the speed of ambient gas spewing out from a well-known quasar, astronomers are gaining insight into how black holes and their host galaxies might have evolved at the same ... read more

Feb. 18, 2015 — Every massive galaxy has a black hole at its center, and the heftier the galaxy, the bigger its black hole. But why are the two related? After all, the black hole is millions of times smaller and ... read more

Feb. 13, 2015 — The team responsible for the Oscar-nominated visual effects at the center of Christopher Nolan's epic 'Interstellar' have turned science fiction into science fact by providing new ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — Astronomers found surprisingly energetic activity in what they otherwise considered a "boring" galaxy, and their discovery provides important insight on how supermassive black holes can ... read more

Jan. 28, 2015 — X-ray polarimetry promises to give qualitatively new information about high-energy astrophysical sources, such as black hole systems, the bright and active centers of galaxies, compact neutron stars, ... read more

Jan. 27, 2015 — The astrophysicists who discovered two enormous radiation bubbles in the center of our galaxy discuss what they may tell us about the Milky Way and how they could help in the search for dark ... read more

Yes, Black Holes Exist in Gravitational Theories With Unbounded Speeds of Propagation

Jan. 23, 2015 — Gravitational theories with broken Lorentz invariance have attracted a great deal of interest as they provide a test-bed of LI and offer a mechanism to improve their ultraviolet behavior, so that the ... read more

Jan. 22, 2015 — Astronomers have identified the first 'changing look' quasar, a gleaming object in deep space that appears to have its own dimmer switch. The discovery may offer a glimpse into the life ... read more

Jan. 19, 2015 — A strange phenomenon has been observed by astronomers right as it was happening -- a 'fast radio burst'. The eruption is described as an extremely short, sharp flash of radio waves from an ... read more

Jan. 16, 2015 — Astronomers have been able to peer back to the young Universe to determine how quasars -- powered by supermassive black holes with the mass of a billion suns -- form and shape the evolution of ... read more

Jan. 8, 2015 — Scientists have found what appear to be two supermassive black holes in the final stages of a merger, a rare event never seen before. The discovery could help shed light on a long-standing conundrum ... read more

Jan. 6, 2015 — Astrophysicists combined ground observations with those from NASA's planet-hunting satellite. The study looked at a black hole more than 100 million light years away. They estimate KA 1858 to ... read more

Jan. 5, 2015 — Last September, after years of watching, astronomers observed and recorded the largest-ever flare in X-rays from a supermassive black hole at the center of the Milky ... read more

Thursday, April 2, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Sunday, August 17, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Wednesday, May 7, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Monday, April 14, 2014
Friday, April 4, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Monday, March 24, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Friday, February 28, 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Tuesday, January 28, 2014
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Monday, January 13, 2014
Thursday, January 9, 2014
Monday, January 6, 2014
Friday, December 20, 2013
Tuesday, December 17, 2013
Monday, December 16, 2013
Thursday, December 12, 2013
Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Thursday, December 5, 2013
Wednesday, December 4, 2013
Tuesday, December 3, 2013
Friday, November 29, 2013
Wednesday, November 27, 2013
Thursday, November 21, 2013
Wednesday, November 20, 2013
Thursday, November 14, 2013
Wednesday, November 13, 2013
Friday, November 8, 2013
Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Monday, November 4, 2013
Thursday, October 24, 2013
Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Thursday, October 17, 2013
Wednesday, October 16, 2013
Monday, September 30, 2013