Black Holes News
July 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:05pm EDT

More Black Holes News
July 30, 2015

June 18, 2015 — A new image shows a gathering of four cosmic companions. This quartet forms part of a group of galaxies known as the Hickson Compact Group 16, or HCG 16 -- a galaxy group bursting with dramatic star ... read more

June 18, 2015 — Astronomers have measured the mass of the supermassive black hole at the center of NGC 1097 -- a barred spiral galaxy located approximately 45 million light-years away in the direction of the ... read more

June 17, 2015 — Radio observations give new evidence for long-sought supermassive black hole in small satellite galaxy orbiting the Andromeda ... read more

June 16, 2015 — New research in theoretical physics shows that black holes aren't the ruthless killers we've made them out to be, but instead benign--if imperfect--hologram generators. The world could have ... read more

May 28, 2015 — In the most extensive survey of its kind ever conducted, a team of scientists have found an unambiguous link between the presence of supermassive black holes that power high-speed, ... read more

May 27, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered for the first time a rear-end collision between two high-speed knots of ejected matter from a supermassive black hole. This discovery was made while piecing together a ... read more

May 27, 2015 — Physicists and mathematicians have made a significant step toward unifying general relativity and quantum mechanics by explaining how spacetime emerges from quantum entanglement in a more fundamental ... read more

May 26, 2015 — Astronomers have found that the black holes located at the cores of galaxies launch fountains of charged particles, which can stir up gas throughout the galaxy and temporarily interrupt star ... read more

May 25, 2015 — NGC 6240 lies 400 million light-years away in the constellation of Ophiuchus (The Serpent Holder). This galaxy has an elongated shape with branching wisps, loops and tails. This mess of gas, dust and ... read more

May 21, 2015 — A remote galaxy shining brightly with infrared light equal to more than 300 trillion suns has been discovered using data from NASA's Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer, or WISE. The galaxy, ... read more

May 7, 2015 — New observations of a recently exploded star are confirming supercomputer model predictions made at Caltech that the deaths of stellar giants are lopsided affairs in which debris and the stars' ... read more

May 3, 2015 — A group of unusual giant black holes may be consuming excessive amounts of matter, according to a new study. This finding may help astronomers understand how the largest black holes were able to grow ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Astronomers find that 'central engines' in supernova explosions can come in different strengths, and include those that produce powerful blasts of gamma rays, and weaker versions that ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Astrophysicists have not only proven that a supermassive black hole exists in a place where it isn't supposed to be, but in doing so have opened a new door to what things were like in the early ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — As two galaxies enter the final stages of merging, scientists have theorized that the galaxies' supermassive black holes will form a 'binary,' or two black holes in such close orbit ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Astronomers have revealed an extremely powerful magnetic field, beyond anything previously detected in the core of a galaxy, very close to the event horizon of a supermassive black ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — Researchers simulated the merger of binary black holes and noticed that one black hole completely changes the orientation of its spin. Their findings have could affect how we understand galactic ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — The Holometer experiment is sensitive to gravitational waves at frequencies in the range of a million cycles per second. Thus it addresses a spectrum not covered by experiments such as the Laser ... read more

Apr. 2, 2015 — Shred a document, and you can piece it back together. But send information into a black hole, and it's lost forever. A new study finds that -- contrary to what some physicists have argued for ... read more

Apr. 2, 2015 — NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has photographed a set of wispy, goblin-green objects that are the ephemeral ghosts of quasars that flickered to life and then faded. The eight unusual looped ... read more

Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Sunday, May 3, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Sunday, August 17, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Wednesday, May 7, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Monday, April 14, 2014
Friday, April 4, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Monday, March 24, 2014
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Friday, February 28, 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Tuesday, January 28, 2014
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Monday, January 13, 2014
Thursday, January 9, 2014
Monday, January 6, 2014
Friday, December 20, 2013
Tuesday, December 17, 2013
Monday, December 16, 2013
Thursday, December 12, 2013
Tuesday, December 10, 2013