Galaxies News
August 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:36am EDT

More Galaxies News
August 28, 2015

July 29, 2015 — Physicists have revealed a new understanding of nucleosynthesis in stars, providing insight into the role massive stars play in the evolution of the Milky Way and the origins of the Solar ... read more

July 29, 2015 — The chemical element lithium has been found for the first time in material ejected by a nova. Observations of Nova Centauri 2013 made using telescopes at ESO's La Silla Observatory, and near ... read more

July 27, 2015 — Astronomers have long known that powerful cosmic winds can sometimes blow through galaxies, sweeping out interstellar material and stopping future star formation. Now they have a clearer snapshot of ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Using archival data from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey, and the XMM-Newton and Chandra X-ray telescopes, astronomers have discovered a gigantic black hole, which is probably destroying and devouring a ... read more

July 22, 2015 — The Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) has been used to detect the most distant clouds of star-forming gas yet found in normal galaxies in the early universe. The new observations ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Galaxies in a cluster roughly 300 million light years from Earth could contain as much as 100 times more dark matter than visible matter, according to an Australian ... read more

July 12, 2015 — According to a new study of more than 20,000 merging galaxies, when two different sized galaxies smash together, the larger galaxy stops the smaller one making new ... read more

July 10, 2015 — Five billion years ago, a great disturbance rocked a region near the monster black hole at the center of galaxy 3C 279. On June 14, the pulse of high-energy light produced by this event finally ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Astronomers have spotted a super-sized black hole in the early universe that grew much faster than its host galaxy. The discovery runs counter to most observations about black holes, which are ... read more

July 9, 2015 — The first results have been released from a major new dark matter survey of the southern skies using ESO's VLT Survey Telescope (VST) at the Paranal Observatory in Chile. The VST KiDS survey ... read more

July 9, 2015 — The ghostly shells of galaxy ESO 381-12 are captured in a new image, set against a backdrop of distant galaxies. The strikingly uneven structure and the clusters of stars that orbit around the galaxy ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Radio astronomers are watching a previously dormant black hole wake up in a dramatic display as material falls on to it for the first time for perhaps millions of ... read more

July 8, 2015 — Turbulent processes take place close to supermassive black holes, which lurk in the centers of nearly all galaxies. They swallow up matter flowing in from the outside while at the same time producing ... read more

July 6, 2015 — A ring of dust 200 light years across and a loop covering a third of the sky: two of the results in a new map from the Planck ... read more

July 5, 2015 — A wisp of cosmic radio waves, emitted before our solar system was born, shows that a new radio telescope will be able to detect galaxies other telescopes ... read more

July 1, 2015 — This rich view of an array of colorful stars and gas was captured by the Wide Field Imager camera, on the MPG/ESO 2.2-meter telescope at ESO's La Silla Observatory in Chile. It shows a young ... read more

June 26, 2015 — Researchers have found evidence that enigmatic objects in nearby galaxies -- called ultra-luminous X-ray sources (ULXs) -- exhibit strong outflows that are created as matter falls onto their black ... read more

June 25, 2015 — The giant elliptical galaxy Messier 87 has swallowed an entire medium-sized galaxy over the last billion years. For the first time a team of astronomers has been able to track the motions of 300 ... read more

June 24, 2015 — Astronomers have analyzed the clouds of gas and dust from some of the earliest galaxies ever observed -- one billion years after the Big ... read more

June 24, 2015 — Active galactic nuclei are the brightest objects in the universe. They are not lit up permanently, but rather 'flicker' extremely slowly. This insight helps researchers better understand ... read more

Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Sunday, February 1, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015