Robotics News
May 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:19pm EDT

More Robotics News
May 29, 2016

Time to Up the Game: Video Game Designers Need to Do More for Young Disabled Players

May 7, 2016 — Computer games controlled through wheelchair movements have the potential to improve quality of life for young people with severe mobility impairments but more needs to be done to consider the needs ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Scientists at the University of Sheffield have created a computer model of how bees avoid hitting walls -- which could be a breakthrough in the development of autonomous ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Surgeons and scientists have demonstrated that supervised, autonomous robotic soft tissue surgery on a live subject (in vivo) in an open surgical setting is feasible and outperforms standard clinical ... read more

What Readers Think About Computer-Generated Texts

May 3, 2016 — An experimental study has found that readers rate texts generated by algorithms more credible than texts written by real ... read more

'Machine Learning' May Contribute to New Advances in Plastic Surgery

Apr. 29, 2016 — With an ever-increasing volume of electronic data being collected by the healthcare system, researchers are exploring the use of machine learning -- a subfield of artificial intelligence -- to ... read more

Emotion Detector: Facial Expression Recognition to Improve Learning, Gaming

Apr. 27, 2016 — A computer algorithm that can tell whether you are happy or sad, angry or expressing almost any other emotion would be a boon to the games industry. New research describes such a system that is ... read more

Robots May Be Able to Lift, Drive, and Chat, but Are They Safe and Trustworthy?

Apr. 26, 2016 — Automation experts conclude that the time is ripe for human factors researchers to contribute scientific insights that can tackle the many challenges of human-robot ... read more

Machine Learning as Good as Humans' in Cancer Surveillance, Study Shows

Apr. 21, 2016 — Machine learning has come of age in public health reporting. Researchers have found that existing algorithms and open source machine learning tools were as good as, or better than, human reviewers in ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Researchers will present a new, decentralized planning algorithm for teams of robots that factors in not only stationary obstacles, but also moving obstacles. The algorithm also requires ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Physicists have developed new software for the life sciences. The software supports the evaluation of microscope-based observations of cell behaviour on micropatterned ... read more

Apr. 15, 2016 — Combining the best features of a lobster and an African fish, engineers have created an artificial eye that can see in the dark. And their fishy false eyes could help search-and-rescue robots or ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Smart synthetic skins have the potential to allow robots to touch and sense what's around them, but keeping them powered up and highly sensitive at low cost has been a challenge. Now scientists ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A "Robird" will make its first flights at an airport location in February. The Robird is designed to scare away birds at airports and waste processing ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — A collaborative research team has found humanoid robotics and computer avatars could help rehabilitate people suffering from social disorders such as schizophrenia or social phobia. It is thanks to ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — After studying how insects navigate through dense vegetation, researchers have come up with a system that can be applied to flying robots. By adapting the system to drones, they can be made to adjust ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — Researchers have devised and configured a new 5G radio access system for intervehicular communication. The system is intended to improve road safety in a future scenario where 5G technologies are ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — Touching a robot's intimate areas elicited physiological arousal in humans, a new study has found. The findings showed that when participants were instructed to touch the robot in areas that ... read more

Apr. 4, 2016 — In the world of robot communication, it seems actions speak louder than words. Scientists have discovered that by getting robot avatars to 'talk with their hands,' we understand them as ... read more

Apr. 4, 2016 — In computer aided vehicle engineering, you need accurate data on various environmental influences. This is the only way developers can conduct tests that simulate the experience of a real car. A ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — An optimized approach for determining prescribed medication associations within a high-volume pharmacy environment has been developed, which experts say could save money and ... read more

Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Saturday, February 13, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Sunday, November 22, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015