Robotics News
July 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:47am EDT

More Robotics News
July 24, 2016

Can Robots Recognize Faces Even Under Backlighting?

July 19, 2016 — Researchers have developed a novel technique to address the problem of vision-based face detection and recognition under normal and severe illumination conditions. This technique contributes to help ... read more

Study Uses Text-Mining to Improve Market Intelligence on Startups

July 13, 2016 — A researcher has created a new method that uses big data analytics and text-mining techniques to improve market intelligence and explain potential mergers and acquisitions of startup companies in the ... read more

Study Exposes Major Flaw in Classic Artificial Intelligence Test

July 5, 2016 — A serious problem in the Turing test for computer intelligence is exposed in a new ... read more

Grade-School Students Teach a Robot to Help Themselves Learn Geometry

June 30, 2016 — Researchers create rTAG, a tangible learning environment that utilizes teachable agent framing, together with a physical robotic agent to get students away from the traditional computer monitor, ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Sometimes all it takes to get help from someone is to wave at them, or point. Now the same is true for robots. Researchers have completed work on a project aimed at enabling robots to cooperate with ... read more

Visual Cloud Computing Methods Could Help First Responders in Disaster Scenarios

June 23, 2016 — Visual data created by numerous security cameras, personal mobile devices and aerial video provide useful data for first responders and law enforcement. That data can be critical in terms of knowing ... read more

June 22, 2016 — What must an intelligent apartment provide in order to make everyday life safe, healthy, and comfortable? Robotics experts have developed the service robot Floka. Floka is fitted with a new ... read more

Self-Learning Arm Controlled by Thought

June 22, 2016 — Scientists are developing a robotic arm prototype and its control algorithm using myoelectric signals. The mechanical limb will independently recognize the motions of its owner and be able to ... read more

June 21, 2016 — Using the power of analogy, a new structure-mapping engine gives computers the ability to reason like humans and even solve moral ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Robots with multi-jointed arms must plan their motion, a difficult problem that requires time-consuming computation. Simply picking an object up in an environment that has not been pre-engineered for ... read more

Artificial Synapse Rivals Biological Ones in Energy Consumption

June 20, 2016 — Researchers have succeeded in fabricating an organic nanofiber electronic device that emulates not only the important working principles and energy consumption of biological synapses but also the ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Achieves Near-Human Performance in Diagnosing Breast Cancer

June 20, 2016 — Pathologists have been largely diagnosing disease the same way for the past 100 years, by manually reviewing images under a microscope. But new work suggests that computers can help doctors improve ... read more

June 16, 2016 — For the past 40 years, eye-tracking technology -- which can determine where in a visual scene people are directing their gaze -- has been widely used in psychological experiments and marketing ... read more

June 17, 2016 — Smart threads can be woven into pressure-sensitive electronic skin for robots or medical ... read more

How Insights Into Human Learning Can Foster Smarter Artificial Intelligence

June 14, 2016 — Recent breakthroughs in creating artificial systems that outplay humans in a diverse array of challenging games have their roots in neural networks inspired by information processing in the brain. ... read more

Indoor Location Technology Has Become Simpler

June 13, 2016 — Accurate indoor localization has the potential to transform the way people navigate indoors in a similar way that GPS transformed the way people navigate outdoors. Over the last 15 years, several ... read more

June 10, 2016 — Researchers have developed a novel robot microscope system that automatically tracks a freely moving small animal and manipulates its brain activity with 'projection ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Many new robots look less like the metal humanoids of pop culture and more like high-tech extensions of ourselves and our ... read more

June 6, 2016 — The way we work is fundamentally changing, with a rise in mobile working -- people who travel away from home for long or short periods of time. Some people, such as truck drivers, may be away from ... read more

June 6, 2016 — Automated robot that scans library shelves using laser mapping and radio tags can ensure no book is misplaced ... read more

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Saturday, February 13, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016