Robotics News
September 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:18pm EDT

More Robotics News
September 26, 2016

Sep. 22, 2016 — The R2-D2 robot from Star Wars doesn’t communicate in human language but is, nevertheless, capable of showing its intentions. For human-robot interaction, the robot does not have to be a true ... read more

Meet AISOY1 the Robot, Autism Therapy Assistant

Sep. 16, 2016 — Researchers are collaborating to expand the potential of their robot assistant for the treatment of children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Specifically, the goal is to explore ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — By observing how fish swim and use their fins to move seamlessly within the ocean depths, a researcher is mimicking this movement to increase maneuverability and enhance the motion of underwater ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Could Improve Diagnostic Power of Lung Function Tests

Sep. 4, 2016 — Artificial intelligence could improve the interpretation of lung function tests for the diagnosis of long-term lung diseases, according to the findings of a new ... read more

How AI Might Affect Urban Life in 2030

Sep. 1, 2016 — A diverse panel of academic and industrial thinkers has looked ahead to 2030 to forecast how advances in artificial intelligence might affect life in a typical North American city, and to spur ... read more

Virtual Peer Pressure Works Just as Well as the Real Thing

Aug. 25, 2016 — Peer pressure is a proven social motivator. Researchers probed this decidedly human attribute and found that not only is virtual pressure from a computer-simulated peer just as motivating as the real ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — An innovative underground radar technology is helping the City of Slidell in south Louisiana to identify and document underground infrastructure damage that had gone undetected in the months and ... read more

Aug. 19, 2016 — Making an assistive robot partner expressive and communicative is likely to make it more satisfying to work with and lead to users trusting it more, even if it makes mistakes, a new study ... read more

New Way to Compare Mobile Phone Cameras: Benchmarking Takes Into Account Also Camera Speed

Aug. 5, 2016 — Researchers have defined a new benchmarking method for mobile phone cameras. The benchmarking combines different image quality and camera performance metrics to a comparable, single value ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — The first single actuator wave-like robot (SAW) has been developed. The 3D-printed robot can move forward or backward in a wave-like motion, moving much like a worm would in a perpendicular ... read more

Websites With History Can Be Just as Conversational as Chatting With a Person

July 28, 2016 — A website with search and interaction history can be just as engaging as chatting with an online human agent, or robot helper, according to ... read more

July 28, 2016 — Researchers have successfully pulled off a feat that both sci-fi fans and Michael Phelps could appreciate. Using a rotating magnetic field they show how multiple chains of microscopic magnetic ... read more

Violent Groups Revealed on Twitter

July 26, 2016 — New sentiment analysis algorithms are able to monitor the social network Twitter in search of violent groups. The system analyses both the messages these individuals share and how their relationships ... read more

July 25, 2016 — It looks like a bicycle chain, but has just twelve segments about the size of a fist. In each segment there is a motor. This describes pretty much the robot developed by the four bachelor students in ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Scientists have developed a new method for building microrobots that could be used in the body to deliver drugs and perform other medical ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Researchers have used computer simulations and robotics to uncover a surprising insight into the mechanics of locomotion, namely that taming instability -- a factor that might be a disadvantage -- is ... read more

July 21, 2016 — New software is enabling ChemCam, the laser spectrometer on NASA's Curiosity Mars rover, to select rock targets autonomously -- the first time autonomous target selection is available for an ... read more

July 21, 2016 — A dielectric elastomer with a broad range of motion that requires relatively low voltage and no rigid components has now been created by scientists. This type of actuator could be used in everything ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Social robots can be used in the educational or health system, where they would support trainers and therapists in their work. The robots can be programmed to practice vocabulary with children or to ... read more

Can Robots Recognize Faces Even Under Backlighting?

July 19, 2016 — Researchers have developed a novel technique to address the problem of vision-based face detection and recognition under normal and severe illumination conditions. This technique contributes to help ... read more

Thursday, September 22, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Sunday, September 4, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016