Robotics News
April 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 9:36pm EDT

More Robotics News
April 28, 2017

How State-of-the-Art Camera That Behaves Like the Human Eye Could Benefit Robots and Smart Devices

Apr. 27, 2017 — Experts will explore how an artificial vision system inspired by the human eye could be used by robots of the future -- opening up new possibilities for securing footage from deep forests, war zones ... read more

Space Technologies Improve Surgeries Back on Earth

Apr. 22, 2017 — A novel surgical robotic system has been developed that provides tactile feedback and is capable of single-incision and natural orifice (incision-free) robotic surgery. The system minimizes surgical ... read more

Helping Students Learn by Sketching

Apr. 17, 2017 — New software Sketch Worksheets analyzes and provides feedback on student sketches, helping them learn multiple ... read more

In the Future, We Will Control Our Mobiles Using Gestures

Apr. 4, 2017 — Being able to interact with mobile phones and other smart devices using gestures with our hands and fingers in three dimensions would make the digital world more like the real one. A new project will ... read more

Robot Epigenetics: Adding Complexity to Embodied Robot Evolution

Apr. 3, 2017 — For the first time, researchers in the field of evolutionary robotics have used physically embodied robots to study epigenetic effects on robot evolution. The study confirms the great importance of ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — Engineering researchers have made a fundamental advance in controlling so-called soft robots, using magnetic fields to remotely manipulate microparticle chains embedded in soft robotic devices. The ... read more

Machines and the Modern Day Labor Market

Mar. 28, 2017 — Technological advances, particularly in machines that can perform complex tasks, have begun to dramatically change jobs and labor ... read more

Mar. 28, 2017 — A prototype gadget that sends secret keys to encrypt information passed from a mobile device to a payment terminal, could help to answer public concerns around the security of contactless and ... read more

Can Artificial Intelligence Detect Fake News?

Mar. 27, 2017 — An artificial intelligence course has been launched that includes two projects focused on using AI to detect and combat fake news ... read more

Can Robots Write Meaningful News?

Mar. 27, 2017 — Robots and computers are replacing people everywhere; doctors, pilots, even journalists. Is this leading to a dystopian society, or could it be something ... read more

Connected Dolls and Tell-Tale Teddy Bears: Why We Need to Manage the Internet of Toys

Mar. 23, 2017 — Action is needed to monitor and control the emerging Internet of Toys, concludes a new report. Privacy and security are highlighted as main areas of ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — In this age of smartphones and tablet computers, touch-sensitive surfaces are everywhere. They're also brittle, as people with cracked phone screens everywhere can attest. Covering a robot -- or ... read more

Use of Mobile App Reduces Number of in-Person Follow-Up Visits After Surgery

Mar. 22, 2017 — Patients who underwent ambulatory breast reconstruction and used a mobile app for follow-up care had fewer in-person visits during the first 30 days after the operation without affecting complication ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — A research group has demonstrated that by changing only its parameter related to speed, a quadruped robot can spontaneously change its ... read more

Self-Healing Graphene Holds Promise for Artificial Skin in Future Robots

Mar. 21, 2017 — A new study offers a novel solution where a sub-nano sensor uses graphene to sense a crack as soon as it starts nucleation, or after the crack has spread a certain distance. This technology could ... read more

People Afraid of Robots Are Much More Likely to Fear Losing Their Jobs and Suffer Anxiety-Related Mental Health Issues, Study Finds

Mar. 21, 2017 — “Technophobes” — people who fear robots, artificial intelligence and new technology that they don’t understand — are much more likely to be afraid of losing their jobs due to technology and ... read more

Study Underscores Benefit of Smartphone Use to Track Children's Health

Mar. 20, 2017 — A new, wide-ranging review of available research shows parents and caregivers can improve health outcomes for kids by using mobile-phone apps and text messaging. Previous to this investigation, the ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Improving traffic safety, better health services and environmental benefits: Big Data experts see a wide range of possibilities for advanced image analysis and recognition ... read more

Mar. 15, 2017 — Picture a tablet that you can fold into the size of a phone and put away in your pocket, or an artificial skin that can sense your body's movements and vital signs. A new, inexpensive sensor ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — Music, more than any art, is a beautiful mix of science and emotion. It follows a set of patterns almost mathematically to extract feelings from its audience. Machines that make music focus on these ... read more

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Saturday, April 22, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Sunday, December 25, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016