Medical Technology News
July 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:16am EDT

More Medical Technology News
July 30, 2016

Stroke Care: Randomized Penumbra 3-D Trial of Next Generation Stent Retriever Meets Primary Endpoints

July 27, 2016 — The Penumbra 3D Trial successfully met the primary trial endpoints, demonstrating non-inferiority in both safety and efficacy of the company's next-generation stent retriever, Penumbra 3D ... read more

New Superconducting Coil Improves MRI Performance

July 20, 2016 — A multidisciplinary research team has developed a high-temperature superconducting coil that allows magnetic resonance imaging scanners to produce higher resolution images or acquire images in a ... read more

Compound Eye for High-Density 3D Imaging

June 17, 2016 — A system named "Compound eye for high-density 3D imaging" has now been developed by researchers. This innovation was inspired by the physiological structure of flies' compound eyes. ... read more

June 16, 2016 — Adding a new device to an existing breast molecular imaging system allows the system to get six times better contrast of cancer lesions in the breast, providing the same or better image quality while ... read more

June 10, 2016 — Up until now, capturing an image of a prostate cancer has been difficult because prostate tissue and tumor tissue are so similar. Precise, non-invasive surgical treatment has proved difficult as a ... read more

June 9, 2016 — By immersing glass particles in a fluid, researchers are exploring a new mechanism for modifying an optical device's diffusivity, or the extent to which it scatters ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Researchers are involved in a European network to develop an endoscopic scanner for early detection of certain types of cancers that have a high mortality rate ... read more

June 8, 2016 — The unusual electronic properties of some superconducting materials permit lossless and dense electrical currents at very low temperatures, even in high magnetic fields. Conductors made of these ... read more

June 4, 2016 — The Micra® Transcatheter Pacing System (TPS) -- the world's smallest pacemaker -- has now been gained U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) ... read more

May 19, 2016 — A group of scientists has succeeded in synthesizing nanoparticles of ultrapure silicon, which exhibited the property of efficient photoluminescence, (secondary light emission after photoexcitation), ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Researchers have improved upon previous instruments, developing a new IVPA catheter design with collinear overlap between optical and acoustic waves with a tiny probe. The design can greatly improve ... read more

New Investigation of Endovenous Laser Ablation of Varicose Veins

May 10, 2016 — Results have been presented from experiments on endovenous laser ablation of varicose veins in vitro using laser radiation of a solid-state laser and identifying the role a carbonized layer of blood ... read more

May 10, 2016 — A research team has developed a non-invasive 3-D virtual heart to help doctors determine who faces the highest risk of a life-threatening arrhythmia and would benefit from a defibrillator ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Ga-68 DOTATATE PET/CT scans are superior to In-111 pentetreotide scans, the current imaging standard in the United States for detecting neuroendocrine tumors (NETS), and could significantly impact ... read more

Researchers Track Critical Development in the Young Brain

May 5, 2016 — A recent study combined two related but different imaging techniques to non-invasively track the rate at which nerve fibers in children's brains become wrapped in myelin. The work could lead to ... read more

Researchers Prove Utility of Imaging Tool in Surgeon's Hand

May 4, 2016 — Researchers have demonstrated the utility of new brain tumor imaging tool in the surgeon's hand. This research largely focuses on new means to incorporate imaging methods to view cells of brain ... read more

First Recommendations Published on Imaging Assessment of Prosthetic Heart Valves

May 4, 2016 — The first recommendations on multimodality imaging assessment of prosthetic heart valves have been published. Heart valve replacement is performed using mechanical or biological prostheses. It is ... read more

Narrow Band Imaging Can Reduce Recurrence of Bladder Tumors

Apr. 28, 2016 — Research into bladder tumor surgery has found that using narrow band imaging can significantly reduce the risk of disease recurrence. According to the World Cancer Research Fund, bladder cancer is ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Researchers propose a video segmentation model to recognize ROI in ... read more

Research Team Realizes 3-Color Photodetector

Apr. 22, 2016 — There's a new approach to design results in a device that can detect different infrared wavebands, which could lead to applications in imaging and entertainment, report ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Saturday, March 26, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015