Medical Technology News
May 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:17pm EDT

More Medical Technology News
May 28, 2016

May 19, 2016 — A group of scientists has succeeded in synthesizing nanoparticles of ultrapure silicon, which exhibited the property of efficient photoluminescence, (secondary light emission after photoexcitation), ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Researchers have improved upon previous instruments, developing a new IVPA catheter design with collinear overlap between optical and acoustic waves with a tiny probe. The design can greatly improve ... read more

New Investigation of Endovenous Laser Ablation of Varicose Veins

May 10, 2016 — Results have been presented from experiments on endovenous laser ablation of varicose veins in vitro using laser radiation of a solid-state laser and identifying the role a carbonized layer of blood ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Ga-68 DOTATATE PET/CT scans are superior to In-111 pentetreotide scans, the current imaging standard in the United States for detecting neuroendocrine tumors (NETS), and could significantly impact ... read more

First Recommendations Published on Imaging Assessment of Prosthetic Heart Valves

May 4, 2016 — The first recommendations on multimodality imaging assessment of prosthetic heart valves have been published. Heart valve replacement is performed using mechanical or biological prostheses. It is ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Using animal tissue samples, researchers have demonstrated the possibility of real-time video-rate data transmission through tissue for in-body ultrasonic communications with implanted medical ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Researchers have demonstrated proof of concept for a novel low-energy nuclear reaction imaging technique designed to detect the presence of 'special nuclear materials' -- weapons-grade ... read more

SPECT-MRI Fusion Minimizes Surgery for Diagnosis of Early-Stage Cervical Cancer Patients

Apr. 14, 2016 — Cervical cancer patients without enlarged lymph nodes could benefit from SPECT-MRI imaging of their sentinel lymph nodes (SLNs) to assess whether metastases are ... read more

'Deep Learning' Used to Assist Overburdened Diagnosticians

Apr. 4, 2016 — A laboratory has developed tools to facilitate computer-assisted diagnosis of X-rays, CTs and MRIs, freeing radiologists to attend to complex ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — Removing a brain tumor is a delicate task, if not done properly it can have catastrophic consequences, such as brain damage, motor impairment or failure in controlling a vital organ function. In ... read more

New Method to Identify Nanoparticles in Tissue May Shed Light on Their Health Impact

Mar. 26, 2016 — A team of researchers has demonstrated a pioneering method for the rapid visualization and identification of engineered nanoparticles in ... read more

Mar. 25, 2016 — Scientists have discovered a new class of molecular tags that enhance MRI signals by 10,000-fold and generate detectable signals that last over an hour. The tags are biocompatible and inexpensive to ... read more

Tissue Imaging Mass Spectrometry Detects Early Lipid Changes in Acute Kidney Injury

Mar. 23, 2016 — Researchers made a microscopic snapshot of the early renal lipid changes in acute kidney injury, using a laser-scanning method called MALDI tissue imaging to localize the ... read more

Mar. 23, 2016 — Scientists have looked into the brains of living mice to see in real time the processing of sensory information and generation of behavioral responses. To do so, researchers developed a line of ... read more

Mar. 23, 2016 — A method using acoustic waves in a microfluidic device to rotate single particles, cells or organisms will allow researchers to take three dimensional images with only a cell phone, a new report ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Human breath contains a number of volatile organic compounds (VOCs). Accurate detection of specific VOCs in exhaled breath can provide essential information for the early diagnosis of diseases. Now ... read more

How 'Salt' MRI Scans Could Give a Clearer Picture of Disease

Mar. 17, 2016 — MRI experts are adapting scanning techniques to pick up sodium in the body. The research could lead to much more detailed MRI scans in the future with significant improvements to the diagnosis and ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Scientists have developed a device that enables NMR (nuclear magnetic resonance) spectroscopy, coupled with a powerful molecular sensor, to analyze molecular interactions in viscous solutions and ... read more

Expansion Mini-Microscopy: High Quality Magnification on the Cheap

Mar. 16, 2016 — Researchers have combined an innovative microscopy technique with a methodology for building inexpensive mini-microscopes, allowing them to capture images at a resolution that, until now, has only ... read more

MRI Helps Predict Preterm Birth

Mar. 15, 2016 — Early dilation of the cervix, a neck of tissue connecting the uterus with the vagina, during pregnancy can lead to premature delivery. Women in their second trimester of pregnancy with a cervix ... read more

Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Saturday, March 26, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015