New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Extrasolar Planets News

March 4, 2024

Top Headlines
 

Up to a certain point, very luminous stars can have a positive effect on the formation of planets, but from that point on the radiation they emit can cause the material in protoplanetary discs to ...
Researchers have found water vapor in the disc around a young star exactly where planets may be forming. Water is a key ingredient for life on Earth, and is also thought to play a significant role in planet formation. Yet, until now, we had never ...
Luke Skywalker's childhood might have been slightly less harsh if he'd grown up on a more temperate Tatooine -- like the ones identified in a new study. According to the study's authors, there are more climate-friendly planets in binary star systems ...
A carbon monoxide (CO)-runaway gap identified in the atmospheres of Earth-like planets can help expand the search for habitable planets. This gap, identified through atmospheric modeling, is an ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:46pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Brown dwarfs are objects that straddle the dividing line between stars and planets. They form like stars, growing dense enough to collapse under their own gravity, but they never become dense and hot ...

A new study expands the search for life beyond our solar system by indicating that 17 exoplanets (worlds outside our solar system) could have oceans of liquid water, an essential ingredient for life, ...

The extrasolar planets Kepler-1625b and Kepler-1708b are supposedly the home worlds of the first known exomoons. A new study now comes to a different ...

The discovery of a planet that is far too massive for its sun is calling into question what was previously understood about the formation of planets and their solar ...

Astronomers have provided the first observation of water and other molecules in the highly irradiated inner, rocky-planet-forming regions of a disk in one of the most extreme environments in our ...

Astronomers have found a key new system of six transiting planets orbiting a bright star in a harmonic rhythm. This rare property enabled the team to determine the planetary orbits which initially ...

While life on Earth is relatively new, geologically speaking, the ingredients that combined to form it might be much older than once thought. The simplest amino acid, carbamic acid, could have formed ...

In a remarkable discovery, astronomers have found a disc around a young star in the Large Magellanic Cloud, a galaxy neighboring ours. It's the first time such a disc, identical to those forming ...

Scientists have simulated conditions that allow hazy skies to form in water-rich exoplanets, a crucial step in determining how haziness muddles important telescope observations for the search of ...

Astronomers have used recent observations made with the James Webb Space Telescope to study the atmosphere of the nearby exoplanet WASP-107b. Peering deep into the fluffy atmosphere of WASP-107b they ...

How did the molecular building blocks for life end up on Earth? One long-standing theory is that they could have been delivered by comets. Now, researchers have shown how comets could deposit similar ...

New research promises to redefine our comprehension of habitable exoplanets. A recent study introduces the concept of subglacial liquid water as a pivotal element in broadening the boundaries of the ...

Giant gas planets can be agents of chaos, ensuring nothing lives on their Earth-like neighbors around other stars. New studies show, in some planetary systems, the giants tend to kick smaller planets ...

Astronomers confirm the existence of an infrared (IR) aurora on Uranus. This could help astronomers identify exoplanets that might support life, a large number of which are icy ...

Venus, may have once had tectonic plate movements similar to those believed to have occurred on early Earth, a new study found. The finding sets up tantalizing scenarios regarding the possibility of ...

A chance social media post by an eagle-eyed amateur astronomer sparked the discovery of an explosive collision between two giant planets, which crashed into each other in a distant space system 1,800 ...

Astronomers have gotten very good at spotting the signs of planet formation around stars. But for a complete understanding of planet formation, we also need to study examples where planet formation ...

In a new study, scientists have shown that sweeping molten oceans have a large influence on the observed properties of hot rocky Super-Earths, such as their size and evolutionary ...

A new study of the intriguing TRAPPIST-1 exoplanetary system has demonstrated the complex interaction between the activity of the system's star and its planetary ...

A new investigation with NASA's James Webb Space Telescope into K2-18 b, an exoplanet 8.6 times as massive as Earth, has revealed the presence of carbon-bearing molecules including methane and ...

Wednesday, December 13, 2023
Thursday, December 7, 2023
Thursday, November 30, 2023
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Monday, November 27, 2023
Wednesday, November 15, 2023
Tuesday, November 14, 2023
Thursday, November 9, 2023
Tuesday, October 31, 2023
Thursday, October 26, 2023
Wednesday, October 11, 2023
Friday, October 6, 2023
Wednesday, September 27, 2023
Monday, September 25, 2023
Monday, September 11, 2023
Friday, September 1, 2023
Thursday, August 31, 2023
Friday, August 11, 2023
Thursday, August 3, 2023
Thursday, July 27, 2023
Wednesday, July 26, 2023
Tuesday, July 25, 2023
Monday, July 24, 2023
Wednesday, July 19, 2023
Thursday, July 13, 2023
Wednesday, June 28, 2023
Tuesday, June 27, 2023
Wednesday, June 21, 2023
Wednesday, June 14, 2023
Monday, June 12, 2023
Thursday, June 8, 2023
Wednesday, May 31, 2023
Tuesday, May 30, 2023
Monday, May 29, 2023
Thursday, May 25, 2023
Wednesday, May 17, 2023
Monday, May 15, 2023
Wednesday, May 10, 2023
Thursday, May 4, 2023
Wednesday, May 3, 2023
Monday, May 1, 2023
Monday, April 24, 2023
Tuesday, April 18, 2023
Friday, April 14, 2023
Thursday, April 13, 2023
Wednesday, April 12, 2023
Tuesday, April 4, 2023
Monday, April 3, 2023
Monday, March 27, 2023
Wednesday, March 22, 2023
Thursday, March 16, 2023
Tuesday, March 7, 2023
Wednesday, February 22, 2023
Tuesday, February 14, 2023
Thursday, February 9, 2023
Tuesday, February 7, 2023
Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Friday, January 13, 2023
Thursday, January 12, 2023
Wednesday, January 11, 2023
Tuesday, January 10, 2023
Monday, December 19, 2022
Thursday, December 15, 2022
Tuesday, November 22, 2022
Monday, November 14, 2022
Monday, November 7, 2022
Sunday, November 6, 2022
Friday, October 21, 2022
Thursday, October 20, 2022
Thursday, October 13, 2022
Wednesday, September 14, 2022
Friday, September 9, 2022
Thursday, September 8, 2022
Wednesday, September 7, 2022
Tuesday, September 6, 2022
Thursday, September 1, 2022
Thursday, August 25, 2022
Wednesday, August 24, 2022
Tuesday, August 9, 2022
Monday, August 1, 2022
Thursday, July 21, 2022