NASA News
April 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:12pm EDT

More NASA News
April 28, 2016

Rare Transit of Mercury to Take Place on 9 May

Apr. 27, 2016 — On 9 May there will be a rare transit of Mercury, when the smallest planet in our Solar System will pass directly between the Earth and the Sun. The last time this happened was in 2006, and the next ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Astrophysicists have modeled the evolution of the putative planet in the outer solar system. They estimate that the object has a present-day radius equal to 3.7 Earth radii and a temperature of minus ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — One of the largest supermassive black holes on record has been discovered in an unexpected place: a relatively sparse region of the local universe where massive galaxies -- the typical home of these ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — A team of astronomers has discovered one of the youngest and brightest free-floating, planet-like objects within relatively close proximity to the ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — Astrophysicists have revealed details of how supermassive black holes formed 13 billion years ago, and it's not from normal (stellar size) black holes growing to supermassive ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — In addition to its history-making encounter with Pluto last July, the New Horizons spacecraft also recorded significant changes in how the solar wind behaves far from the ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — The bombardment of Mars some 4 billion years ago by comets and asteroids as large as West Virginia likely enhanced climate conditions enough to make the planet more conducive to life, at least for a ... read more

Shifting Sands on Mars

Apr. 4, 2016 — Researchers are traveling to Iceland to better understand sand dunes found all over the planet Mars. They hope the Iceland site will show how Martian sands have changed, which could yield more clues ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — For the first time, scientists have three-dimensional snapshots of raindrops and snowflakes around the world from ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — New research has found that wind carved massive mounds of more than a mile high on Mars over billions of years. Their location helps pin down when water on the Red Planet dried up during a global ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — Peering deep into the heart of our Milky Way galaxy, this Hubble Space Telescope image reveals a rich tapestry of more than half a million stars. Except for a few blue, foreground stars, the stars ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Mule deer mothers are in sync with their environment, with reproduction patterns that closely match the cycles of plant growth in their habitat. And new research using NASA satellite data shows that ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Scientists have determined the likely trigger for the most recent supernova in the Milky Way. They applied a new technique that could have implications for understanding other Type Ia supernovas, a ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — In a nod to extraterrestrial mountaineers of the future, scientists have identified the highest point on Saturn's largest moon, ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — The most detailed map of a small, rocky 'super Earth' to date reveals a planet almost completely covered by lava, with a molten 'hot' side and solid 'cool' ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Physicists have developed optical technology for the 'correction' of light coming from distant stars, which will significantly improve the 'seeing' of telescopes and therefore ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — Simulations have revealed for the first time exactly how these black holes formed 700 million years after the Big ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — Combining an orbiting radio telescope with telescopes on Earth made a system capable of the highest resolution of any observation ever made in astronomy. The super sharp radio 'vision' ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Calculations by scientists have found highly magnetized, rapidly spinning neutron stars called magnetars could explain the energy source behind two extremely unusual stellar ... read more

Mar. 23, 2016 — A new study reports Earth's moon wandered off its original axis roughly 3 billion years ago. Ancient lunar ice indicates the moon's axis slowly shifted by 125 miles, or 6 degrees, over 1 ... read more

Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015