Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
July 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:11pm EDT

More Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
July 6, 2015

June 30, 2015 — Scientists have developed an 'olfactory fingerprint' test that may do more than just identify ... read more

Physicists Shatter Stubborn Mystery of How Glass Forms

June 29, 2015 — Scientists have described how glasses form at the molecular level and provided a possible solution to a problem that has stumped scientists for ... read more

June 29, 2015 — Engineers have developed a nanogenerator that harvests energy from a car's rolling tire ... read more

June 29, 2015 — With the advent of video games, a frequently asked question has been whether we get as engrossed in them emotionally as we do when we see a scary movie. The answer is yes and in new ways, according ... read more

Running With Prosthetic Lower-Limbs: Advantage or Disadvantage?

June 29, 2015 — Researchers have been looking at the impact of lower-limb prosthetics on competitive running, specifically looking at whether athletes with prosthesis are at an unfair advantage when running against ... read more

June 26, 2015 — Scientists are developing a technology to make full-scale 3D prints of cellulose based material. It is not a matter of small prints – the objective is to make ... read more

The Quantum Spin Hall Effect Is a Fundamental Property of Light

June 25, 2015 — Scientists have demonstrated that the quantum spin Hall effect -- an effect known to take place in solid state physics -- is also an intrinsic property of ... read more

June 25, 2015 — A pioneering new technique to produce high-quality, low cost graphene could pave the way for the development of the first truly flexible 'electronic skin,' that could be used in ... read more

June 25, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new ink that can be printed on textiles in a single step to form highly conductive and stretchable connections. This new functional ink will enable electronic apparel ... read more

What Your Clothes May Literally Say About You

June 24, 2015 — Researchers have designed a responsive hybrid material that is fueled by an oscillatory chemical reaction and can perform computations based on changes in the environment or movement, and potentially ... read more

June 24, 2015 — Inspired by octopuses and chameleons, researchers have developed technique for using a metallic nanostructure to create the first full-color, flexible display so thin it could be used to create ... read more

Artifical Neuron Mimicks Function of Human Cells

June 24, 2015 — Scientists have managed to build a fully functional neuron by using organic bioelectronics. This artificial neuron contain no ‘living’ parts, but is capable of mimicking the function of a human ... read more

June 23, 2015 — Engineers have demonstrated a bacterial method for the low-cost, environmentally friendly synthesis of aqueous soluble quantum dot nanocrystals at room ... read more

June 23, 2015 — A growing interest in thermoelectric materials -- which convert waste heat to electricity -- and pressure to improve heat transfer from increasingly powerful microelectronic devices have led to ... read more

The Physics of Swimming Fish

June 23, 2015 — Fish may seem to glide effortlessly through the water, but the tiny ripples they leave behind are evidence of a constant give-and-take of energy between the swimmer and its aqueous environment -- a ... read more

June 23, 2015 — Scientists considered that it’s high time to finally scientifically characterize sahti beer. The sweet and strong sahti with its exceptionally rich combination of fruity flavors has been brewed in ... read more

June 22, 2015 — Chemists and biologists have succeeded in designing and synthesizing an artificial cell membrane capable of sustaining continual growth, just like a living ... read more

Destructive Power of Bubbles Could Lead to New Industrial Applications

June 22, 2015 — Cavitation bubbles can kill fish and damage boat propellers. Researcher say learning more about them could harness that power for industrial uses, like safer cleaning ... read more

June 22, 2015 — Robotics experts have developed microrobotic tentacles that can be the hands and fingers of small robots designed to safely handle delicate ... read more

June 19, 2015 — Lightning path remains unpredictable, but at a smaller scale, discharges between two electrodes can be guided by laser beams. Scientists have discovered a way to guide electric discharges -- and even ... read more

Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015