Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
August 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:25pm EDT

More Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
August 3, 2015

July 17, 2015 — The structural properties of brittle materials like rock or ceramic, such as cracking under stress, have long been studied in detail, providing insight into avalanches, earthquakes and landslides. ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A new generation of green skyscrapers could help alleviate worldwide climate change, writes an urban ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Scientists have discovered Weyl fermions, elusive massless particles theorized 85 years ago that could give rise to faster and more efficient electronics because of their unusual ability to behave as ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A study showed that scientists can wirelessly determine the path a mouse walks with a press of a button. Researchers created a remote controlled, next-generation tissue implant that allows ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A scientist used a mathematical model to demonstrate that bacteria can control the behavior of an inanimate device like a ... read more

July 14, 2015 — How can two metals that are not magnetic combine to make a magnet? Scientists have found one answer in their creation of the first known itinerant antiferromagnet from nonmagnetic ... read more

July 14, 2015 — When a sound wave hits an obstacle and is scattered, the signal may be lost or degraded. But what if you could guide the signal around that obstacle, as if the interfering barrier didn't even ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Researchers are creating a buzz in bee research, gluing tiny transmitters to the backs of the insects for the first time. Biologists glued RFID chips to the backs of 960 bees, providing new insights ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Twenty years in, the law is finally starting to get used to the Internet. Now it is imperative that the law figure out how to deal effectively with the rise of robotics and artificial intelligence, ... read more

3D Printers Poised to Have Major Implications for Food Manufacturing

July 13, 2015 — The use of 3D printers has the potential to revolutionize the way food is manufactured within the next 10 to 20 years, impacting everything from how military personnel get food on the battlefield to ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Physicists have used a scanning tunneling microscope to create a minute transistor consisting of a single molecule and a small number of atoms. The observed transistor action is markedly different ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Engineers have created the first robot with a 3-D-printed body that transitions from a rigid core to a soft exterior. The idea of blending soft and hard materials into the robot's body came from ... read more

July 8, 2015 — When you spill a bit of water onto a tabletop, the puddle spreads -- and then stops, leaving a well-defined area of water with a sharp boundary. There's just one problem: The formulas scientists ... read more

Omnidirectional Free Space Wireless Charging of Multiple Wireless Devices

July 7, 2015 — Scientists have made great strides in wireless-power transfer development. A new WPT system is capable of charging multiple mobile devices concurrently and with unprecedented freedom in any ... read more

July 7, 2015 — Researchers have designed a new cloaking device that overcomes some of the limitations of existing 'invisibility cloaks.' In a new study, electrical engineers have designed a cloaking ... read more

July 6, 2015 — For the first time, Harvard researchers have created wakes of light-like waves moving on a metallic surface, called surface plasmons, and demonstrated that they can be controlled and steered. The ... read more

July 6, 2015 — Imagine a fleet of driverless taxis roaming your city, ready to pick you up and take you to your destination at a moment's notice. While this may seem fantastical, it may be only a matter of ... read more

July 3, 2015 — Can you imagine how subnano-scale molecules make an ultrafast rotation at a hundred billion per second? Do the ultrafast rotating subnano-scale molecules show a wave-like nature rather than ... read more

July 3, 2015 — Exciting new technologies, which allow users to change the shape of displays with their hands, promise to revolutionize the way we interact with smartphones, laptops and computers. Imagine pulling ... read more

July 3, 2015 — Scientists have developed a new technique allowing the bioprinting at ambient temperatures of a strong paste similar to 'play dough' capable of incorporating protein-releasing microspheres. ... read more

Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015