Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
November 25, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:11am EST

More Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
November 25, 2015

Nov. 10, 2015 — Researchers have developed techniques that can be used to create ideal geometric phase holograms for any kind of optical pattern -- a significant advance over the limitations of previous techniques. ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — Can you imagine burning your fingertips or feel that ice freezes your hand as you interact with a program of virtual reality? Researchers have now created a pair of gloves with an interface that ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Building on wireless technology that has the potential to interfere with pain, scientists have developed flexible, implantable devices that can activate -- and, in theory, block -- pain signals in ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Researchers have devised a technology that can bring true color to infrared imaging systems, like the one the Predator used to track Arnold Schwarzenegger through the jungle. Rather than creating ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Engineers have developed a method to make synthetic, sticky hydrogel that is more than 90 percent water. The hydrogel, which is a transparent, rubber-like material, can adhere to surfaces such as ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Buried in the shallow soft mud of a dry California lake bed, a seismometer was able to detect the tiny tilts of the ground as it was pulled up by passing dust devils. The experiment is one of the ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — Researchers have reported the most extreme 'entanglement' between pairs of photons ever seen in the ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — An interactive swarm of flying 3D pixels (voxels) is set to revolutionize the way people interact with virtual reality. The system, called BitDrones, allows users to explore virtual 3D information by ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — Physicists have made their 'quantum crystal' of ultracold molecules more valuable than ever by packing about five times more molecules into it. The denser crystal will help scientists ... read more

Why’s There Chatter in My Himalayan Singing Bowl?

Nov. 5, 2015 — A Himalayan singing bowl operates like a wine glass -- slide your fingertip, or a wooden stick called a puja, around its rim to hear its soothing tones. The bowls have been used for meditation and ... read more

Smart Fabric Provides 'Air Conditioning' for the Wearer, Adjustable With a Mobile App

Nov. 5, 2015 — Scientists have developed a new high-volume production method for hot embossing microscopic channel structures onto large areas of plastic film at a low cost for use, for example, in wearable ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Physicists are literally applying rocket science to the field of medical diagnostics. With a few key changes, the researchers used a noninvasive ultrasonic technique originally developed to detect ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Researchers share the first measurements of the attractive force between antiprotons. The discovery gives physicists new ways to look at the forces that bind matter and ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Materials that actively repel water and ice very strongly are sought after by the aviation industry and for many other technical applications. Researchers have now found out how to specifically ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Movies such as 1987's 'Predator,' in which an alien who sees in the infrared hunts down Arnold Schwarzenegger and his team, introduced a generation of sci-fi fans to thermal imaging. ... read more

3-D Printed 'Building Blocks' of Life

Nov. 3, 2015 — Scientists have developed a 3-D printing method capable of producing highly uniform 'blocks' of embryonic stem cells. These cells -- capable of generating all cell types in the body -- ... read more

Nov. 3, 2015 — Biogas potentially available from human waste worldwide would have a value of up to US$ 9.5 billion in natural gas equivalent, UN University's Canadian-based water institute estimates. And the ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — A moderately inflated rubber balloon pricked with a needle bursts into two large fragments. However, if you inflate it until it bursts spontaneously, you get dozens of shreds, new research ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — Methane hydrates can be seen as a potential energy source or as a dangerous source of methane - a greenhouse gas that is 20 times more potent than carbon dioxide. With the help of a supercomputer and ... read more

Oct. 30, 2015 — Researchers have designed a full-scale architecture for a quantum computer in silicon. The new concept provides a pathway for building an operational quantum computer with error ... read more

Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015