Odd Creatures: Earth & Climate
May 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:31am EDT

More Odd Creatures: Earth & Climate
May 28, 2015

May 6, 2015 — The Trace app turns a digital sketch that you draw on your smartphone screen -- heart, maple leaf, raindrop -- into a walking route that you can send to a friend. The recipient of the ... read more

May 6, 2015 — Geologists have tapped water in surface rocks to show how magma forms deep underground and produces explosive volcanoes in the Cascade ... read more

May 5, 2015 — For the first time, scientists have imaged thunder, visually capturing the sound waves created by artificially triggered lightning. By studying the acoustic power radiated from different portions of ... read more

May 4, 2015 — Bioluminescence at least in one millipede may have evolved as a way to survive in a hot, dry environment, not as a means to ward off predators, according to ... read more

May 5, 2015 — Scientists have built a low-cost centimeter-accurate GPS system that reduces location errors from the size of a large car to the size of a nickel -- a more than 100 times increase in accuracy. The ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers have discovered new insights into the appearance of humans' common ancestor. It will help to construct a natural system of the animal kingdom, through which the classification of ... read more

May 1, 2015 — Synthetic microscopic beads sense changes in their environment and self-propel to migrate upstream, a step toward the realization of biomimetic microsystems with the ability to sense and respond to ... read more

Apr. 30, 2015 — The theory that an asteroid impact killed off the dinosaurs 66 million years ago is well accepted, but one puzzle is why another global catastrophe -- the huge, million-year eruption of the Deccan ... read more

Apr. 30, 2015 — Bombardier beetles, which exist on every continent except Antarctica, have a pretty easy life. Virtually no other animals prey on them, because of one particularly effective defense mechanism: When ... read more

Apr. 30, 2015 — Scientists braved Arctic weather to successfully observe the total solar eclipse of March 20 from Longyearbyen on the island of Spitsbergen in the Svalbard archipelago east of northern ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — Many view Antarctica as a frozen wasteland. Turns out there are hidden interconnected lakes underneath its dry valleys that could sustain life and shed light on ancient climate change. ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — The demise of Neanderthals may have nothing to do with innovative hunting weapons carried by humans from west Asia, according to a new study. The researchers say their findings mean that we may need ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Although closely related to the notorious carnivore Tyrannosaurus rex, a new lineage of dinosaur discovered in Chile is proving to be an evolutionary jigsaw puzzle, as it preferred to graze upon ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Hot vents on the seabed could have spontaneously produced the organic molecules necessary for life, according to new research. The study shows how the surfaces of mineral particles inside ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Researchers have captured the first 3-D video of a living algal embryo turning itself inside out, from a sphere to a mushroom shape and back again. The results could help unravel the mechanical ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Could smell hold the key to ending pesticide use? Sscientists may have uncovered a natural way of avoiding the use of pesticides and help save plants from attack by recreating a natural insect ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — A medication commonly taken for Type II diabetes, which is being found in freshwater systems worldwide, has been shown to cause intersex in fish – male fish that produce eggs. The medication is ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — A team of philosophers and plant biotechnologists have turned to cognitive science to explain why opposition to genetically modified organisms (GMOs) has become so widespread, despite positive ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — A new study shows birds use two highly stereotyped postures to avoid obstacles in flight. The study could open the door to new ways to program drones and other unmanned aerial vehicles to avoid ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Seismologists have discovered and made images of a reservoir of hot, partly molten rock 12 to 28 miles beneath the Yellowstone supervolcano, and it is 4.4 times larger than the shallower, long-known ... read more

Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Saturday, April 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015