Odd Creatures: Earth & Climate
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:41pm EDT

More Odd Creatures: Earth & Climate
September 3, 2015

Turning Sewage Sludge Into Concrete

Aug. 28, 2015 — Dried sewage sludge could be an alternative cement material for concrete, researchers have ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Scientists have shed new light on how humans process color -- revealing that we see things differently in winter compared with summer. The researchers examined how our color perception changes ... read more

July 28, 2015 — Wild chimpanzees in the forests of Uganda are increasingly eating clay to supplement the minerals in their diet, according to a long-term international study . The article describes how the ... read more

Identifying Ever-Growing Disturbances Leading to Freak Waves

July 28, 2015 — Physicists now better understand wave systems exhibiting unusual disturbances by identifying growing localized patterns as early indicators of such ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Both prescription and illegal drugs such as morphine, cocaine and oxycodone have been found in surface waters in Canadian rivers. New research shows that wastewater discharged from wastewater ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Far from being selfish organisms whose sole purpose is to maximize their own reproduction, bacteria in large communities work for the greater good by resolving a social conflict among individuals to ... read more

July 21, 2015 — A scientific research team spent seven years tracking the movements of skyscraper-high waves in the South China Sea. Scientists are trying to understand how these waves, which rarely break the ocean ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Anyone who's ever noticed a water puddle drying in the sun has seen an environment that may have driven the type of chemical reactions that scientists believe were critical to the formation of ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A new generation of green skyscrapers could help alleviate worldwide climate change, writes an urban ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Head-butting and canine display during male-male combat first appeared some 270 million years ago. This is what researchers found when they conducted an updated in-depth study of the herbivorous ... read more

July 14, 2015 — In the 1960s, NASA launched six satellites to study Earth's atmosphere, magnetosphere and the space between Earth and the moon. Using observations from those satellites, researchers have ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Researchers are creating a buzz in bee research, gluing tiny transmitters to the backs of the insects for the first time. Biologists glued RFID chips to the backs of 960 bees, providing new insights ... read more

July 12, 2015 — Slugs and other invertebrates provide essential public transport for small worms in the search for food, according to new ... read more

July 7, 2015 — On Saint Patrick’s Day (17 March) the northern lights danced a lively green jig across the skies of Ireland and Britain. The source of these magnetic storms was not just one but two huge eruptions ... read more

July 6, 2015 — Imagine a fleet of driverless taxis roaming your city, ready to pick you up and take you to your destination at a moment's notice. While this may seem fantastical, it may be only a matter of ... read more

July 4, 2015 — A climate-induced change of male dragon lizards into females occurring in the wild has been confirmed for the first time, according to recent ... read more

July 3, 2015 — Spiders travel across water like ships, using their legs as sails and their silk as an anchor, according to new research. The study helps explain how spiders are able to migrate across vast distances ... read more

July 2, 2015 — The first comprehensive analysis of the woolly mammoth genome reveals extensive genetic changes that allowed mammoths to adapt Arctic life, including skin and hair development, insulin signaling, fat ... read more

July 2, 2015 — The surprising culinary preferences of an abyssal sea anemone have been unveiled by a team of ... read more

July 1, 2015 — A newly discovered, 48-million-year-old fossil, known as a 'Jesus lizard' for its ability to walk on water, may provide insight into how climate change may affect tropical ... read more

Friday, August 28, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015