Diabetes News
November 24, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:57pm EST

More Diabetes News
November 24, 2015

Children Born to Women After Bariatric Surgery at Higher Risk of Obesity, Diabetes

Nov. 19, 2015 — Weight-loss surgery can boost fertility in women and reduce the risk of pregnancy complications that commonly occur in obese women. However, a new study in rats suggests that weight-loss surgery ... read more

Sex Reassignment Surgery May Be Better for Transgender Women’s Health Than Hormones Only

Nov. 18, 2015 — Transgender women may be at a higher risk of developing cardiovascular disease and type 2 diabetes compared with men and women in the general population. New research finds that transgender women who ... read more

Insulin Degludec Plus Liraglutide: Again No Hint of Added Benefit in Type 2 Diabetes

Nov. 18, 2015 — Relevant data are missing both for a direct comparison and for an indirect comparison. Drug manufacturer itself also claimed no added ... read more

Weekday Sleep Changes May Raise Risk of Diabetes, Heart Disease

Nov. 18, 2015 — Monday mornings could be harmful to your health. Even routine sleep changes such as waking up early for work during the week may raise the risk of developing metabolic problems such as diabetes and ... read more

Research Shows Benefits, Danger of Ultraman Competition

Nov. 18, 2015 — The endurance competition called the Ultraman can lead to large reductions in body fat, but also causes temporary muscle damage and potentially insulin resistance, new research ... read more

Researchers Devise New Diabetes Diagnostic Tool

Nov. 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new test to help diagnoses diabetes, which they say will lead to more effective diagnosis and patient care. The research shows how a genetic test can help doctors to ... read more

Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes Harm Bone Health

Nov. 17, 2015 — In a new animal study, researchers examined how the development of obesity and insulin resistance contribute to bone-fracture risk and whether exercise prevents weight gain and diabetes and protects ... read more

Nov. 17, 2015 — Researchers have identified a mechanism that allows cancer cells to respond and grow rapidly when levels of sugar in the blood rise. This may help to explain why people who develop conditions in ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — New insights into what nutrients fat cells metabolize to make fatty acids have been released by scientists. The findings pave the way for understanding potential irregularities in fat cell metabolism ... read more

How Depleting the Gut Microbiota Protects from Obesity

Nov. 16, 2015 — By studying mice without microbiota, scientists were able to demonstrate how the absence of microbiota has a remarkable effect against obesity. Indeed, it triggers a surprising metabolic mechanism: ... read more

Injection Instead of Laser May Be Viable Treatment Option for Diabetic Retinopathy

Nov. 14, 2015 — Among patients with proliferative diabetic retinopathy, treatment with an injection in the eye of the drug ranibizumab resulted in visual acuity that was not worse than panretinal photocoagulation at ... read more

Dietary Potassium May Help Prevent Kidney, Heart Problems in Diabetics

Nov. 13, 2015 — Higher levels of urinary potassium excretion, which closely correlate with intake amounts, were linked with a slower decline of kidney function and a lower incidence of cardiovascular complications ... read more

Small Steps May Help When Dealing With a Growing Diabetes Problem, Expert Says

Nov. 12, 2015 — Small steps can equal big changes when it comes to diabetes. A doctor explains how to lower your risk for diabetes and ... read more

Researchers Identify New Diabetes Risk Mechanism

Nov. 12, 2015 — An unexpected effect from a gene known to increase diabetes risk has been identified by researchers. They assumed that the specific allele in the gene TCF7L2 which increases the risk of type 2 ... read more

New Risk Tools Spot Patients at High Risk of Diabetes Complications

Nov. 12, 2015 — People with diabetes who are at high risk of blindness and amputation because of their condition could get better preventative treatment thanks to two new risk prediction tools recently ... read more

The Gut Microbiota Can Influence the Effectiveness of Dietary Treatments

Nov. 10, 2015 — Why a dietary treatment works for some but not others seems to depend on interactions between the gut microbiota and the diet. A new study shows that people with better control of blood sugar after ... read more

Obese Kids Young as Age Eight Show Signs of Heart Disease

Nov. 10, 2015 — Imaging tests of obese children's hearts showed signs of heart disease, including kids as young as 8 years old. Obese children had 27 percent more muscle mass in the left ventricle of their ... read more

Short Bursts of High-Intensity Exercise Does More for Type 2 Diabetes

Nov. 10, 2015 — Short bursts of high-intensity exercise improved cholesterol, blood sugar and weight among type 2 diabetes patients more than 30 minutes of sustained, lower-intensity exercise. Burst exercise ... read more

Using Human Genetics to Reveal Fundamental Processes Involved in Type 2 Diabetes

Nov. 9, 2015 — Genetic markers that could be used to understand people's risk of developing type 2 diabetes have been identified by researchers. They focused on 39 areas of the genome, identifying specific DNA ... read more

Exploring the Paradox of Metabolically Healthy Obesity

Nov. 9, 2015 — Researchers have defined some key characteristics of the metabolically healthy obese -- those obese individuals who remain free from type 2 diabetes and other disorders, that usually associate with ... read more

Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Saturday, October 31, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Saturday, October 10, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015