Diabetes News
May 24, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:26am EDT

More Diabetes News
May 24, 2015

Best and Safest Blood Pressure Treatments in Kidney, Diabetes Patients Compiled

May 22, 2015 — The first definitive summary of the best and safest blood pressure lowering treatments for kidney disease and diabetes patients has been compiled by clinicians. Diabetes and high blood pressure are ... read more

Personalized Care During Eye Visits Didn't Lower HbA1c Levels for Diabetics

May 21, 2015 — Providing personalized education and risk assessment for patients with diabetes when they visit the ophthalmologist did not improve glycemic control as measured by hemoglobin A1c levels compared with ... read more

Continuous Glucose Monitoring With Real-Time Measurement Devices Has Added Benefit

May 21, 2015 — Real-time continuous glucose monitoring has advantages for HbA1c control, reviewers have concluded in a new ... read more

Obesity, Weight Loss Change Splicing Pattern of Obesity, Type 2 Diabetes Genes

May 21, 2015 — Alternative splicing of obesity and type 2 diabetes related genes may contribute to the pathophysiology of obesity, according to research. Obesity leads to changes in the splicing pattern of ... read more

Widespread Diabetes Screening in India Is Predicted to Be Ineffective

May 19, 2015 — Large-scale screening for diabetes in India using currently available survey- and glucometer-based screening tools is unlikely to meet effectiveness criteria, according to a modeling study. The ... read more

The Life and Death of Beta Cells

May 19, 2015 — Researchers studying microRNA -- tiny strands of ribonucleic acid -- in beta cells have found a type that plays a key role in cell death under stress. MicroRNAs have been regulating cell processes ... read more

Early Detection, Treatment of Type 2 Diabetes May Reduce Heart Disease, Mortality

May 18, 2015 — Screening to identify Type 2 diabetes followed by early treatment could result in substantial health benefits, according to new research that combined large scale clinical observations and innovative ... read more

Human Stem Cells May Improve Bone Healing in Diabetics

May 18, 2015 — Adding stem cells from human bone marrow to a broken diabetic bone enhances the repair process, increasing the strength of the newly formed bone, according to a laboratory-based study. The work could ... read more

Shiftwork Can Affect Your Health

May 18, 2015 — Workers with nontraditional schedules are burdened by sleep-related health problems and poor metabolic health, according to a new report. Shiftworkers in the study were significantly more likely than ... read more

Tackling Obesity Needs a Number of Magic Bullets

May 15, 2015 — No one health issue has the most impact on human health, or engenders more debate about how to tackle it, than obesity. It has become the scourge of the health agenda, especially in the west, and it ... read more

Antipsychotic Drug Use in Pregnant Women Appears to Pose Minimal Risk, New Study Suggests

May 13, 2015 — Antipsychotic medication use during pregnancy does not put women at additional risk of developing gestational diabetes, hypertensive disorders or major blood clots that obstruct circulation, ... read more

Diabetes Drug May Reduce Heart Attack Risk in HIV Patients

May 15, 2015 — A diabetes drug may have benefits beyond lower blood sugar in patients with HIV. New research suggests the drug may prevent cardiovascular problems because it works to reduce inflammation that is ... read more

Study Characterizes Effects of Severe Kidney Injury During Pregnancy

May 15, 2015 — The incidence of acute kidney injury that requires dialysis is 1 in 10,000 pregnancies, a new Canadian study reports; otherwise healthy women who acquire a major pregnancy-related complication are at ... read more

Anemia Distorts Regular Method of Diabetes Diagnosis and Questions Its Reliability

May 13, 2015 — New research highlights how anemia -- a common condition in the general population, especially in women -- can lead to a false diagnosis of diabetes based on HbA1c, when a person's blood sugar ... read more

Cardiovascular Risk Factors Extremely High in People With Psychosis

May 11, 2015 — Extremely high levels of cardiovascular risk factors have been found in people with established psychosis, with central obesity evident in over 80 percent of participants in a recent ... read more

Discovery Provides Insight Into Development of Autoimmunity

May 12, 2015 — The action of a gene that regulates the education of T cells has been uncovered by researchers, providing insight into how and why the immune system begins mistaking the body's own tissues for ... read more

May 12, 2015 — An important discovery has been made about an immune cell that is already being used in immunotherapy to treat diseases such as type I diabetes. The work details how regulatory T cells can cure ... read more

Obesity Increases Risk of Developing Cancer

May 12, 2015 — Cancer is more likely to develop in people who are very overweight (obese), because surplus body fat interferes with various hormone cycles and with glucose and fat metabolism. A metabolic expert ... read more

Fish Oil May Help With Diabetic Neuropathy

May 6, 2015 — Approximately 50 percent of patients with diabetes suffer from nerve damage, or neuropathy. No cure exists, and the most effective treatment, keeping blood sugar in control, only slows neuropathy. A ... read more

Dulaglutide in Type 2 Diabetes: Hint of Added Benefit With Short-Acting Insulin

May 4, 2015 — In combination with metformin, advantages and disadvantages of Dulaglutide in type 2 diabetes are balanced, reviewers have ... read more

Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015