Diabetes News
May 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:55pm EDT

More Diabetes News
May 27, 2015

Cultural Health Beliefs and Social Networks Crucial in South Asian People's Management of Diabetes

May 27, 2015 — New findings shed light on the poor outcomes of South Asian people with diabetes in the UK. Analysis of interviews with South Asian people shows that especially among first generation immigrants, ... read more

Best and Safest Blood Pressure Treatments in Kidney, Diabetes Patients Compiled

May 22, 2015 — The first definitive summary of the best and safest blood pressure lowering treatments for kidney disease and diabetes patients has been compiled by clinicians. Diabetes and high blood pressure are ... read more

Personalized Care During Eye Visits Didn't Lower HbA1c Levels for Diabetics

May 21, 2015 — Providing personalized education and risk assessment for patients with diabetes when they visit the ophthalmologist did not improve glycemic control as measured by hemoglobin A1c levels compared with ... read more

Continuous Glucose Monitoring With Real-Time Measurement Devices Has Added Benefit

May 21, 2015 — Real-time continuous glucose monitoring has advantages for HbA1c control, reviewers have concluded in a new ... read more

Obesity, Weight Loss Change Splicing Pattern of Obesity, Type 2 Diabetes Genes

May 21, 2015 — Alternative splicing of obesity and type 2 diabetes related genes may contribute to the pathophysiology of obesity, according to research. Obesity leads to changes in the splicing pattern of ... read more

Caffeine Intake Associated With Reduced Levels of Erectile Dysfunction

May 20, 2015 — Men who drink the equivalent caffeine level of two to three cups of coffee a day are less likely to have erectile dysfunction (ED), according to researchers. Men who consumed between 85 and 170 ... read more

Widespread Diabetes Screening in India Is Predicted to Be Ineffective

May 19, 2015 — Large-scale screening for diabetes in India using currently available survey- and glucometer-based screening tools is unlikely to meet effectiveness criteria, according to a modeling study. The ... read more

Skipping Meals Linked to Abdominal Weight Gain

May 19, 2015 — Skipping meals sets off a series of metabolic miscues that can result in abdominal weight gain, a new study in animals suggests. In the study, mice that ate all of their food as a single meal and ... read more

The Life and Death of Beta Cells

May 19, 2015 — Researchers studying microRNA -- tiny strands of ribonucleic acid -- in beta cells have found a type that plays a key role in cell death under stress. MicroRNAs have been regulating cell processes ... read more

Research Boosts Evidence for a New Class of Treatments to Help Preserve Vision

May 19, 2015 — A substantial percentage of patients with diabetic macular edema do not have high levels of the VEGF protein in the fluid inside their eyes but do have high levels of a protein called PKal (plasma ... read more

Early Detection, Treatment of Type 2 Diabetes May Reduce Heart Disease, Mortality

May 18, 2015 — Screening to identify Type 2 diabetes followed by early treatment could result in substantial health benefits, according to new research that combined large scale clinical observations and innovative ... read more

May 18, 2015 — Biomedical devices that can be implanted in the body for drug delivery, tissue engineering, or sensing can help improve treatment for many diseases. However, such devices are often susceptible to ... read more

Human Stem Cells May Improve Bone Healing in Diabetics

May 18, 2015 — Adding stem cells from human bone marrow to a broken diabetic bone enhances the repair process, increasing the strength of the newly formed bone, according to a laboratory-based study. The work could ... read more

Shiftwork Can Affect Your Health

May 18, 2015 — Workers with nontraditional schedules are burdened by sleep-related health problems and poor metabolic health, according to a new report. Shiftworkers in the study were significantly more likely than ... read more

Tackling Obesity Needs a Number of Magic Bullets

May 15, 2015 — No one health issue has the most impact on human health, or engenders more debate about how to tackle it, than obesity. It has become the scourge of the health agenda, especially in the west, and it ... read more

Antipsychotic Drug Use in Pregnant Women Appears to Pose Minimal Risk, New Study Suggests

May 13, 2015 — Antipsychotic medication use during pregnancy does not put women at additional risk of developing gestational diabetes, hypertensive disorders or major blood clots that obstruct circulation, ... read more

Diabetes Drug May Reduce Heart Attack Risk in HIV Patients

May 15, 2015 — A diabetes drug may have benefits beyond lower blood sugar in patients with HIV. New research suggests the drug may prevent cardiovascular problems because it works to reduce inflammation that is ... read more

Study Characterizes Effects of Severe Kidney Injury During Pregnancy

May 15, 2015 — The incidence of acute kidney injury that requires dialysis is 1 in 10,000 pregnancies, a new Canadian study reports; otherwise healthy women who acquire a major pregnancy-related complication are at ... read more

Anemia Distorts Regular Method of Diabetes Diagnosis and Questions Its Reliability

May 13, 2015 — New research highlights how anemia -- a common condition in the general population, especially in women -- can lead to a false diagnosis of diabetes based on HbA1c, when a person's blood sugar ... read more

Cardiovascular Risk Factors Extremely High in People With Psychosis

May 11, 2015 — Extremely high levels of cardiovascular risk factors have been found in people with established psychosis, with central obesity evident in over 80 percent of participants in a recent ... read more

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015