Diabetes News
July 31, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:26pm EDT

More Diabetes News
July 31, 2015

Drinking at Conception Boosts Diabetes Risk for Baby, Study Shows

July 31, 2015 — Babies conceived by women who drink alcohol around the time of conception face dramatically increased risks of type 2 diabetes and obesity in early middle age, a study has ... read more

July 29, 2015 — While impaired activation of mitochondrial energy metabolism in the presence of glucose has been demonstrated in pancreatic beta-cells from patients with type 2 diabetes, the cause of this ... read more

'Dialing for Diabetes Control' Helps Urban Adults Lower Blood Sugar

July 29, 2015 — Periodic telephone counseling can be a highly effective, low-cost tool for lowering blood-sugar levels in minority, urban adults with uncontrolled diabetes. According to the Centers for Disease ... read more

Two New Tests May Make Diagnosing and Monitoring Diabetes Easier and More Affordable

July 28, 2015 — Researchers have successfully tested two new potential methods for diagnosing and monitoring diabetes in its standard and gestational forms. These findings may lead to easier, timelier, and more ... read more

Preventing Knee Pain in at-Risk Adults With Diabetes

July 23, 2015 — An intensive program of diet and exercise had a small but statistically significant protective effect against the development of knee pain in the short term among overweight adults with diabetes, a ... read more

Research With Dolphins Provides Hope for Prevention of Diabetes in Humans

July 22, 2015 — Can butter help prevent diabetes? By comparing 55 fatty acids in blood levels of dolphins and their diets, scientists have discovered a specific dietary saturated fat, called heptadecanoic acid, that ... read more

Low Birth Weight Combined With Unhealthy Adult Lifestyle May Increase Type 2 Diabetes Risk

July 21, 2015 — People who are a low weight at birth and have unhealthy habits as adults, such as eating nutritionally poor diets or smoking, may have a greater risk of developing type 2 diabetes than people born at ... read more

Regular Consumption of Sugary Drinks Associated With Type 2 Diabetes

July 21, 2015 — Regular consumption of sugar sweetened drinks is positively associated with type 2 diabetes independent of obesity status, finds a new study. Artificially sweetened drinks and fruit juice also showed ... read more

Cellphones Seen as Change Agents for Health Among Young, Poor, Urban Women in Need of Care

July 21, 2015 — In a survey of a diverse group of almost 250 young, low-income, inner-city pregnant and postpartum women, researchers have learned that more than 90 percent use smartphones or regular cellphones to ... read more

Diabetes Drug May Protect Against Parkinson's Disease

July 21, 2015 — Diabetes patients taking glitazone antidiabetes drugs had a 28 percent lower incidence of Parkinson's disease than people taking other antidiabetic treatments, according to new research led by ... read more

Poor Diabetes Control Found in Older Americans

July 21, 2015 — Only one in three older Americans has their diabetes under control as measured by guidelines set by the American Diabetes Association, new research suggests. Some argue that ADA guidelines may be too ... read more

Examination of Use of Diabetes Drug Pioglitazone and Risk of Bladder Cancer

July 21, 2015 — Although some previous studies have suggested an increased risk of bladder cancer with use of the diabetes drug pioglitazone, analyses that included nearly 200,000 patients found no statistically ... read more

Alefacept Preserves Beta Cell Function in Some New-Onset Type 1 Diabetes Patients out to Two Years

July 20, 2015 — Individuals with new-onset type 1 diabetes who took two courses of alefacept (Amevive®, Astellas Pharma Inc.) soon after diagnosis show preserved beta cell function after two years compared to those ... read more

Inhaled Cannabis Shown Effective for Diabetic Neuropathy Pain

July 20, 2015 — Inhaled cannabis reduces diabetic neuropathy and the analgesic effect is dose-dependent, new research suggests. Researchers conducted a randomized, double-blind study evaluating 16 subjects to assess ... read more

Researchers Identify Genetic Markers Linking Risk for Both Type 2 Diabetes, Alzheimer’s Disease

July 16, 2015 — A study sheds light on the influences of genetics on why some type 2 diabetics are at high risk for developing Alzheimer’s disease. While previous studies strongly suggested a causative role of ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Reducing high concentrations of a fatty molecule that is commonly found in people with diabetes and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease rapidly improves insulin sensitivity, research ... read more

Common Diabetes Drug Can Also Treat Liver Cirrhosis, Study Suggests

July 15, 2015 — Diabetes drug metformin can treat portal hypertension--high blood pressure in the liver resulting from cirrhosis, new research shows. This study adds to the growing body of evidence showing that use ... read more

July 14, 2015 — A new laser sensor that monitors blood glucose levels without penetrating the skin could transform the lives of millions of people living with ... read more

Diversifying Your Diet May Make Your Gut Healthier

July 14, 2015 — A loss of dietary diversity during the past 50 years could be a contributing factor to the rise in obesity, Type 2 diabetes, gastrointestinal problems and other diseases, according to an ... read more

Impact of Type 2 Diabetes on Lymphatic Vessels Identified

July 14, 2015 — Approximately 28 million Americans live with Type 2 diabetes, a condition characterized by high blood sugar levels. Until now, the disease's effect on the body's lymphatic vessels has been ... read more

Friday, July 31, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Sunday, June 7, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015