Diabetes News
April 27, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:22am EDT

More Diabetes News
April 27, 2015

Type 2 Diabetes: Understanding Regulation of Sugar Levels for Better Treatment

Apr. 21, 2015 — A new mechanism that controls glucagon secretion in humans has been described by researchers, making it possible to elucidate this phenomenon and suggesting a modification of this new type of ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Patients who are obese, diabetic or both have the highest incidence of brain tumors, and they offer a clue that insulin is a factor for some glioblastoma patients. But a new study suggests drugs ... read more

New Pathway Reveals How Immune System Is Regulated, Gives Hope for Chronic Diseases

Apr. 20, 2015 — An important new way in which our immune systems are regulated has been uncovered by researchers, giving hope that understanding it will help tackle the debilitating effects of type 1 diabetes, ... read more

Diabetes Perceptions Vary According to Risk Factors, Researchers Find

Apr. 17, 2015 — Differing perceptions among adult populations at-risk for diabetes have been uncovered by researchers, which may offer new approaches to diabetes education and prevention. Illness perceptions, the ... read more

Depression, Diabetes Associated With Increased Dementia Risk

Apr. 15, 2015 — Depression and type 2 diabetes mellitus were each associated with an increased risk for dementia and that risk was even greater among individuals diagnosed with both depression and diabetes compared ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — After just five days of eating a high-fat diet, the way in which the body's muscle processes nutrients changes, which could lead to long-term problems such as weight gain, obesity, and other ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Among a group of more than 320,000 children, intrauterine exposure to gestational diabetes mellitus diagnosed by 26 weeks' gestation was associated with risk of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs), ... read more

Children With Type 1 Diabetes at Fivefold Risk of Hospitalization

Apr. 13, 2015 — Children living with type 1 diabetes are nearly five times more likely to be admitted to hospital than non-diabetic children, a new study has found. The number of children being diagnosed with type 1 ... read more

Weighing Evidence on Diabetes Screening

Apr. 13, 2015 — Researchers have completed a systematic evidence review to inform an upcoming update of Task Force recommendations on screening asymptomatic, nonpregnant adults for type 2 ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — In response to nutrient excess, the MCRS1 protein acts as a 'switch' for mTOR, a protein that is altered in cancer, diabetes and disorders associated with aging. These results correlate ... read more

Appropriate Clinical Frame Is Required to Enhance the Value of Pre-Clinical Work

Apr. 13, 2015 — Once more, the multifactorial and heterogeneous nature of breast cancer fascinates researchers and is newly confirmed and re-interpreted in light of the results of a new study. "Metformin has ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — While the phrase “an apple a day” is a popular saying, a new study suggests that pears as part of a healthy diet could play a role in helping to manage type 2 diabetes and diabetes-induced ... read more

Serious Life Events in Childhood Can Triple Risk of Developing Type 1 Diabetes

Apr. 9, 2015 — Serious life events in childhood, such as death or illness in the family, divorce/separation, a new child or adult in the family, and conflicts in the family, can triple the risk of subsequently ... read more

Male Offspring Get Most Benefit from Pregnant Mother's Exercise

Apr. 8, 2015 — Male offspring appear to benefit more than females from the positive effects of exercise during pregnancy, an animal study has found. "Maternal exercise significantly improved male ... read more

Obesity-Related Receptors Have a Unique Structure

Apr. 8, 2015 — Researchers have used the SPring-8 synchrotron facility in Harima, Japan to elucidate the structure of two receptors of adiponectin, a protein that is associated with obesity and diabetes. The ... read more

Increase in Inflammation Linked to High Traffic Pollution for People on Insulin

Apr. 8, 2015 — People on insulin living next to roads with heavy traffic had markedly increased concentration of C-reactive protein, a marker of inflammation, compared to those living in lower traffic areas, a ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — A cellular defect that can impair the body’s ability to handle high glucose levels has been discovered, pointing the way to new treatments for diabetes. The research team found that ryanodine ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — A commonly-used drug to treat inflammatory bowel disease, such as Crohn's disease, has been shown to lower blood sugar levels in obese mice, potentially identifying the gut immune system as a ... read more

New Study Reveals Mixed Picture on the Effectiveness of Viagra and Related Drugs

Apr. 7, 2015 — Viagra and other related drugs are not a universal ‘cure-all’ for impotence, according to a new study. Drugs, clinically known as oral phosphodiesterase type 5 inhibitors (PDE5i), have become the ... read more

Two Compounds Target the Gut to Lower Blood Sugar in Obese or Diabetic Rats

Apr. 6, 2015 — Metformin (the most widely prescribed type 2 diabetic medication) and resveratrol, a compound found in red wine, trigger novel signaling pathways in the small intestine to lower blood sugar, research ... read more

Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015