Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
July 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:26pm EDT

More Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
July 29, 2015

July 16, 2015 — A newly identified species of feathered dinosaur is the largest ever discovered to have a well-preserved set of bird-like wings, research suggests. Palaeontologists working in China unearthed the ... read more

July 16, 2015 — Space may not be the final frontier for researchers who want to grow plants there. Because, who knows, we may one day try to live on Mars, and to survive, we’ll have to grow our own food. Thus far, ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A scientist used a mathematical model to demonstrate that bacteria can control the behavior of an inanimate device like a ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Aging damselflies never lose their libidos and are just as likely as younger competitors to mate, scientists report. Although the life of the azure damselfly is actually quite short--most insects in ... read more

Better Chocolate With Microbes: Same Yeast Used in Beer, Wine and Bread

July 15, 2015 — For decades, researchers have worked to improve cacao fermentation by controlling the microbes involved. Now, to their surprise, a team of Belgian researchers has discovered that the same species of ... read more

The Secret to the Sea Sapphire's Colors -- And Invisibility

July 15, 2015 — Sapphirina, or sea sapphire, has been called 'the most beautiful animal you've never seen,' and it could be one of the most magical. Some of the tiny, little-known copepods appear to ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Head-butting and canine display during male-male combat first appeared some 270 million years ago. This is what researchers found when they conducted an updated in-depth study of the herbivorous ... read more

You Need This Hole in the Head -- To Be Smart

July 15, 2015 — Researchers have shown that intelligence in animal species can be estimated by the size of the holes in the skull through which the arteries ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Human hands may be more primitive than chimp's. Human hand proportions have changed little from those of the last common ancestor (LCA) of chimpanzees and humans. These findings indicate that ... read more

July 14, 2015 — Researchers are creating a buzz in bee research, gluing tiny transmitters to the backs of the insects for the first time. Biologists glued RFID chips to the backs of 960 bees, providing new insights ... read more

July 13, 2015 — One in four dogs competing in the world's largest canine show (Crufts) is overweight, despite the perception that entrants are supposed to represent ideal specimens of their breed, reveals ... read more

Scientist Works on Taste, Texture and Color of Lab-Produced Hamburger

July 13, 2015 — A researcher is confident his recipe for his $300,000 cultured hamburger will not only come down in price but someday make it to ... read more

3D Printers Poised to Have Major Implications for Food Manufacturing

July 13, 2015 — The use of 3D printers has the potential to revolutionize the way food is manufactured within the next 10 to 20 years, impacting everything from how military personnel get food on the battlefield to ... read more

July 13, 2015 — It's no coincidence that the earthworm's slender shape makes it perfect for weaving through narrow tunnels. Evolution molds the shapes of living creatures according to the benefits they ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Male black widow spiders destroy large sections of the female's web during courtship and wrap it up in their own silk. New research shows that this home-wrecking behavior deters rival males, by ... read more

July 12, 2015 — Slugs and other invertebrates provide essential public transport for small worms in the search for food, according to new ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Researchers unveil a series of sensors, memory switches, and circuits that can be encoded in the common human gut bacterium. These basic computing elements will allow the bacteria to sense, memorize, ... read more

July 9, 2015 — In Borneo, some insectivorous bats have developed a rather intriguing relationship with carnivorous pitcher plants. The plants offer the bats a relatively cool place to roost, free of parasites and ... read more

July 9, 2015 — When plants advertise for pollinators they frequently also attract herbivores. Scientists have demonstrated in field trials that the flowers of the coyote tobacco Nicotiana attenuata are able to ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Neuroscientists have introduced a new paradigm for brain-machine interfaces that investigates the physiological properties and adaptability of brain circuits, and how the brains of two or more ... read more

Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015