Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
September 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:56am EDT

More Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
September 5, 2015

Aug. 27, 2015 — Scientists create a biological circuit by programming bacteria to alter gene expression in an entire population. They have created a biological equivalent to a computer circuit that involves multiple ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Could the sperm harpoon the egg to facilitate fertilization? That’s the intriguing possibility raised by the discovery that a protein within the head of the sperm forms spiky filaments, suggesting ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — If there is a certain pool of choices and we can exclude A and B, we can easily deduce that C must be the appropriate choice. The ability of animals to be able to solve this has been the focus of ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — The humble dust collecting in the average American household harbors a teeming menagerie of bacteria and fungi, and as researchers have discovered, it may be able to predict not only the geographic ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Paleontologists have discovered a new species of lizard, named Gueragama sulamericana, in the municipality of Cruzeiro do Oeste in Southern Brazil in the rock outcrops of a Late Cretaceous desert, ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Among our greatest achievements as humans, some might say, is our cumulative technological culture -- the tool-using acumen that is passed from one generation to the next. As the implements we use on ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — A bacterial infection turns non-farming social amoebae into farmers, evolutionary biologists ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — Researchers have uncovered the mechanisms that allow bone-forming cells to regenerate a correctly shaped new fin ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — We humans have been using self-medication to cure the illnesses since the dawn of our species. There is some evidence that also other animals can exhibit this type of behavior, but the evidence has ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — A groundbreaking Bolivian scientific expedition, Identidad Madidi, has found a bizarre bat along with a new species of big-headed or robber frog (Oreobates sp. nov.) from the Craugastoridae family in ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — Lycaenid butterfly larvae, which are in a symbiotic relationship with ants, can control the effect of dopamine by supplying the ants with nectar, new research shows. The results of this study provide ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — January 2014 saw the launch of one of Europe’s largest species conservation projects. The project’s aim is to reintroduce the northern bald ibis, a species of migratory bird, to Europe by the ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — Birds 'shout' to be heard over the noise produced by human-made activity, new research has shown. Researchers recorded songs produced by 32 male bluebirds, and analysed two from each male ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — By creating a computer game for chameleons, a team of researchers has found that the creatures' eyes are not really independent, as long believed, but rather engage in some sort ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — New research investigates the archerfish and its sharp-shooting ability, showing for the first time that there is little difference in the amount of force of their water jets based on target ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Arachnophobes fearful of spiders jumping, creeping or falling into their beds now have something new to worry about. Some spiders might also glide in through the ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Plants and animals, including humans, are not autonomous individuals but are holobionts: biomolecular networks that consist of visible hosts plus millions of invisible microbes, recent ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Female fish in the Bahamas have developed ways of showing males that 'No means no.' The study shows that females have evolved differently shaped genitalia to deter unwanted advances from ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Biologists have long believed that hummingbirds pick up floral nectar in the same way fluid rises in a capillary tube. However, researchers have now demonstrated that this long-held theory is wrong. ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — New research could one day help build computers from DNA. Scientists have found a way to 'switch' the structure of DNA using copper salts and EDTA (Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid) -- an ... read more

Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Saturday, July 4, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015