STEM Education News
May 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:22pm EDT

More STEM Education News
May 28, 2015

Time to Move Beyond 'Medieval' Cyber Security Approach, Expert Says

May 21, 2015 — The nation's approach to cyber security has much in common with medieval defense tactics, and that needs to change, says a cyber security ... read more

May 22, 2015 — School disciplinary actions handed down to students at Utah public schools disproportionately impact American Indian children over all other ethnicities enrolled in the state's public education ... read more

Gender-Science Stereotypes Persist Across the World

May 18, 2015 — The Netherlands had the strongest stereotypes associating science with men more than women, according to a new study that included data from nearly 350,000 people in 66 nations. These stereotypes are ... read more

Teacherbot: Can Robots Do It Better?

May 15, 2015 — Opinion is often divided over whether digital innovations within education are a value or a threat to ... read more

Gap Year Does Not Weaken Study Success, Study Suggests

May 12, 2015 — A gap year between high school and the start of university studies does not weaken young people’s enthusiasm to study or their overall performance once the studies have commenced. On the other ... read more

Measures of Students' 'Non-Cognitive' Skills for Teacher Evaluation, School Accountability, or Student Diagnosis

May 13, 2015 — Policymakers and practitioners have grown increasingly interested in measures of personal qualities other than cognitive ability--including self-control, grit, growth mindset, gratitude, purpose, ... read more

College Readiness Declines When School's Focus Is Improving Test Scores, Study Finds

May 12, 2015 — Standardized testing, school accountability measures negatively affect college readiness and learning at a Texas high school when teachers focus on improving mandated test ... read more

Answers to Educational Attainment Questions Depend on How Data Is Measured, Study Shows

May 4, 2015 — Postsecondary education creates opportunities for individuals and prepares them to join the workforce. For this reason, it is important that we understand how educational attainment is measured. A ... read more

May 5, 2015 — America's best teachers rap their algebra lessons, use music to teach Kafka and find other ways to use their own creative interests to teach their students, finds a new study. Examining the ... read more

School Reform in Post-Katrina New Orleans Harmful to Black Community, Scholars Say

May 1, 2015 — By most media accounts, education reform in post-Katrina New Orleans is a success. Test scores and graduation rates are up, and students once trapped in failing schools have their choice of charter ... read more

Comprehensive New Study Provides Foundation for Future of Digital Higher Education

May 1, 2015 — The role that technology plays in higher education has been examined by investigators whose report offers steps that universities of tomorrow can take to support student learning. The study supports ... read more

Ethics Training for Future Doctors Needs Updating, Say Medical Educators

Apr. 24, 2015 — To accommodate 21st century ethical concerns and begin resolving discordant approaches to medical ethics training, scholars from leading medical schools across the United States have issued updated ... read more

Medical Education Risks Becoming Two-Tiered Unless Strong Research Focus Is Preserved, Argue Medical Leaders

Apr. 29, 2015 — For more than 100 years, exposing students to basic and clinical research has been an essential component of a medical school education in the United States. However, today, new models of medical ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — To increase diversity in US STEM workforce, policymakers and educators need to address factors in college programs that discourage minority students, contribute to their noncompletion of ... read more

What Is the Value of Inequality Within Singapore's Education System?

Apr. 28, 2015 — 50 years after Singapore gained independence, official statistics reveal that Malays have sustained low academic achievement. Therefore, the possibility of a politically induced systemic inequality ... read more

Small High School Reform Boosts Districtwide Outcomes

Apr. 28, 2015 — Creating small high schools improves outcomes for students in the overall school district – both in new small schools and existing larger schools – according to a study of New York City ... read more

For Many US Teachers, the Classroom Is a Lonely Place

Apr. 19, 2015 — Compared to their peers around the globe, US teachers continue to work largely in isolation, engaging less often in collaborative teaching and feedback that can transform teaching and learning, ... read more

Schools Must Track Academic Progress of Homeless Students, Researchers Argue

Apr. 19, 2015 — Schools must track the academic progress of homeless students with as much care as they track special education, Title I and English language learner students, according to researchers. And funds ... read more

Literacy App Improves School Readiness in at-Risk Preschoolers

Apr. 19, 2015 — Using mobile apps in preschool classrooms may help improve early literacy skills and boost school readiness for low-income children, according to research. "Guided use of an educational app may ... read more

College Rankings Go Under the Microscope

Apr. 18, 2015 — While parents, students and admissions officials annually comb through college and university rankings, education researchers have largely ignored the controversial yet influential listings. ... read more

Thursday, May 21, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Saturday, April 18, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Sunday, January 11, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Friday, December 19, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014