STEM Education News
July 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:22pm EDT

More STEM Education News
July 2, 2015

New Cardiac Arrest Recommendations: Increased CPR/AED Training Will Improve Survival Rates

June 30, 2015 — In response to a new Institute of Medicine report on improving cardiac arrest survival rates, the Red Cross is taking a key first step in convening those who can make a significant difference in ... read more

Up, Up and Away, in the Name of Science Education

June 29, 2015 — The virtues of high-altitude balloons for science education in a new research paper have been outlined in a new research paper. High altitude balloons are ripe for exploitation in science education ... read more

Is Facebook the Next Frontier for Online Learning?

June 29, 2015 — Social-networking sites such as Facebook can help students learn scientific literacy and other complex subjects that often receive short shrift in today's time-strapped ... read more

Challenging Negative Stereotypes to Narrow the Achievement Gap

June 24, 2015 — A writing intervention linked to improved academic performance among girls and minorities may work by triggering a sense of belonging, helping to ease the students' anxiety, say researchers. ... read more

Minority Students Are Underrepresented in Special Education

June 24, 2015 — A new federally funded study finds that racial, ethnic, and language minority elementary- and middle-school students are less likely than otherwise similar white, English-speaking children to be ... read more

Legacy of Slavery Still Impacts Education in the South

June 22, 2015 — Slavery was abolished more than 150 years ago, but its effects are still felt today in K-12 education in the south, according to a new study. Using regression analysis to explain differences in the ... read more

Federal Agencies Lose Track of Endangered Species Protection Measures, Research Finds

June 18, 2015 — A researcher has found significant gaps in how public agencies keep track of endangered species agreements. These findings demonstrate key concerns with monitoring and enforcement of endangered ... read more

Students' Unions Attempts to Oppose Consumerism Are Rarely Successful, New Research Finds

June 15, 2015 — While students' unions often try to oppose the rise of consumerism at their universities, they are rarely successful, a new study ... read more

Little Evidence to Support Skills Gap Claims

June 10, 2015 — A shortage of skilled workers is often why many employers say they struggle to find qualified employees to fill vacancies. However, a new economic analysis finds that some of the evidence used to ... read more

Misperception Discourages Girls from Studying Some STEM Fields

June 9, 2015 — The belief that the ability to do difficult mathematics is something that you either have or you don't prevents many American girls from pursuing a college degree in the physical sciences, ... read more

New Study Calls for Radical Shake-Up of the Early Years Curriculum to Help Boost Achievements of Summer Born Children

June 4, 2015 — A new study has suggested that summer born children struggle at school entry because of unrealistic education targets and a curriculum that is out of step with their developmental ... read more

June 2, 2015 — School districts are failing to address the discipline gap between students of color and white students -- in some cases even blocking researchers from gathering data on the troubling trend, a ... read more

Study Shows How Students Understand Mathematics

May 27, 2015 — A new paper examines if the labels educators use to identify patterns affects preschoolers' understanding of patterns. Understanding that problem and developing strategies to overcome it is the ... read more

May 22, 2015 — School disciplinary actions handed down to students at Utah public schools disproportionately impact American Indian children over all other ethnicities enrolled in the state's public education ... read more

Time to Move Beyond 'Medieval' Cyber Security Approach, Expert Says

May 21, 2015 — The nation's approach to cyber security has much in common with medieval defense tactics, and that needs to change, says a cyber security ... read more

Gender-Science Stereotypes Persist Across the World

May 18, 2015 — The Netherlands had the strongest stereotypes associating science with men more than women, according to a new study that included data from nearly 350,000 people in 66 nations. These stereotypes are ... read more

Teacherbot: Can Robots Do It Better?

May 15, 2015 — Opinion is often divided over whether digital innovations within education are a value or a threat to ... read more

Measures of Students' 'Non-Cognitive' Skills for Teacher Evaluation, School Accountability, or Student Diagnosis

May 13, 2015 — Policymakers and practitioners have grown increasingly interested in measures of personal qualities other than cognitive ability--including self-control, grit, growth mindset, gratitude, purpose, ... read more

College Readiness Declines When School's Focus Is Improving Test Scores, Study Finds

May 12, 2015 — Standardized testing, school accountability measures negatively affect college readiness and learning at a Texas high school when teachers focus on improving mandated test ... read more

Gap Year Does Not Weaken Study Success, Study Suggests

May 12, 2015 — A gap year between high school and the start of university studies does not weaken young people’s enthusiasm to study or their overall performance once the studies have commenced. On the other ... read more

Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Saturday, April 18, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Sunday, January 11, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Friday, December 19, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014