Nanotechnology News
September 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:42pm EDT

More Nanotechnology News
September 1, 2015

Aug. 25, 2015 — Scientists have caught a glimpse of the elusive toxic form of the Alzheimer's molecule, during its attempt to bore into the outer covering of a cell decoy, using a new method involving laser ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — An international team of scientists has created the highest static pressure ever achieved in a lab: Using a special high pressure device, the researchers investigated the behavior of the metal osmium ... read more

Synthesis of a New Nanomaterial: Self-Assembly May Work Within the Body

Aug. 24, 2015 — Scientists have discovered, for the first time, a new nanocomposite formed by the self-assembly of copper and a biological component that occurs under physiological conditions, which are similar ... read more

Intractable Pain May Find Relief in Tiny Gold Rods

Aug. 21, 2015 — Scientists have developed a technique that could lead to therapies for pain relief in people with intractable pain, potentially including cancer-related pain. The team coated gold nanorods with a ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Chemists embed metallic nanoparticles into laser-induced graphene, turning it into a useful catalyst for fuel cell and other ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — By dispersing nanoparticles with an electrospray, scientists have found a more efficient and safer way to use water-soluble solvents to create monolayer nanoparticle ... read more

Lighting Up Cancer Cells to Identify Low Concentrations of Diseased Cells

Aug. 20, 2015 — Researchers have developed tiny nanocrystals that could be used in the next generation of medical imaging technologies to light up cancer ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Advances in manufacturing technology for 'quantum dots' may soon lead to a new generation of LED lighting that produces a more user-friendly white light, while using less toxic materials ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Finding a technology to shift carbon dioxide, the most abundant anthropogenic greenhouse gas, from a climate change problem to a valuable commodity has long been a dream. Now, a team of chemists says ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — New research could one day help build computers from DNA. Scientists have found a way to 'switch' the structure of DNA using copper salts and EDTA (Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid) -- an ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — In two new studies, researchers from across the United States have begun to design the framework on which to build the emerging field of nanoinformatics -- the combination of nanoscale research and ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — Imagine staying dry underwater for months. Engineers have examined a variety of surfaces that can do just that -- and they know why. They have identified the ideal 'roughness' needed in a ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — For the first time ever, researchers have succeeded in creating arrangements of colloids – tiny particles suspended in a solution – and, importantly, they have managed to control their motion ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — Researchers have observed droplets spontaneously fling themselves from thin fibers. The phenomenon occurs so long as the fibers are small enough relative to the coalescing droplets and moderately ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — A surprising discovery has been made about hybrid organic/inorganic solar cells. Contrary to expectations, a diode composed of the conductive organic PEDOT:PSS and an n-type silicon absorber material ... read more

Eliminating Water-Borne Bacteria With Pages from The Drinkable Book Could Save Lives

Aug. 16, 2015 — Human consumption of bacterially contaminated water causes millions of deaths each year throughout the world -- primarily among children. An inexpensive, simple and easily transportable ... read more

Aug. 14, 2015 — Researchers used their “Campanile” nano-optical probe to make some surprising discoveries about molybdenum disulfide, a member of the “transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDCs) semiconductor ... read more

Aug. 14, 2015 — Using a method they invented for joining disparate elemental layers into a stable material with uniform, predictable properties, researchers are testing an array of new combinations that may vastly ... read more

Aug. 14, 2015 — Researchers have developed a model system for so-called soft colloids. The model gives us a better understanding of correlations between the atomic structure of colloids and their perceptible ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — An unusual magnetic effect has been discovered in nanolayers of an oxide of lanthanum and manganese (LaMnO3). The research revealed an abrupt magnetic transition brought about by the slightest change ... read more

Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Sunday, August 16, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Saturday, July 11, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015