Fitness News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:59am EST

More Fitness News
February 7, 2016

Reduced Anxiety, Depression for Women Participating in Women-Only Cardiac Rehab Programs

Feb. 3, 2016 — Cardiovascular disease is the leading cause of death for women globally. Women who have an acute coronary heart event may be more likely to die or to suffer complications during the initial recovery ... read more

Adolescent Weight Gain on Popular Injectable Contraceptive May Depend on Micronutrient Intake

Feb. 2, 2016 — Since its introduction nearly 23 years ago, the popular injectable contraceptive depot medroxyprogesterone acetate (DMPA) has been associated with causing substantial weight gain in some adolescent ... read more

Higher Fitness Linked to Reduced Risk of Death After First Heart Attack

Feb. 1, 2016 — Higher levels of physical fitness may not only reduce risk of heart attacks and death from all causes, but also possibly improve the chances of survival after a first attack, new evidence ... read more

Community Lifestyle Intervention Reduces Cardiovascular Disease Risk in Diabetes Patients

Feb. 1, 2016 — It took just 16 two-hour classes on the basics of a healthy lifestyle to substantially reduce cardiovascular risks associated with type 2 diabetes and elevated fasting blood glucose levels for 110 ... read more

Why You Won't Lose Weight With Exercise Alone

Jan. 28, 2016 — Exercise by itself isn't always enough to take off the weight. Now, evidence helps to explain why that is: our bodies adapt to higher activity levels, so that people don't necessarily burn ... read more

Jan. 27, 2016 — Removal of a gene protected mice against arterial disease, and they stayed lean even when they ate more. The phenomenon underlying this beneficial phenotype is more active brown adipose tissue, a new ... read more

Losing Fat While Gaining Muscle: Scientists Close in on 'Holy Grail' of Diet and Exercise

Jan. 27, 2016 — Researchers have uncovered significant new evidence in the quest for the elusive goal of gaining muscle and losing fat, an oft-debated problem for those trying to manage their weight, control their ... read more

Many Latino Kids Struggle to Reach a Healthy Weight by Kindergarten

Jan. 26, 2016 — More Latino kids are obese by ages 2-5 than white kids, due to maternal obesity, less exclusive breastfeeding, and workplace and childcare issues that affect nutrition and physical activity levels, ... read more

Study Links Fatty Liver, Heart Failure in Obese People

Jan. 26, 2016 — Fatty liver is independently associated with subclinical heart failure in obese people, according to a new study. The findings add more support to the importance of dietary interventions in such ... read more

Brain Function Differs in Obese Children, Study Shows

Jan. 25, 2016 — The brains of children who are obese function differently from those of children of healthy weight, and exhibit an "imbalance" between food-seeking and food-avoiding behaviors, researchers ... read more

Are Football Players Too Obese?

Jan. 22, 2016 — In the world of American football, there is a stigma that players need to increase their overall body size to make an impact on the field. But, new research from a movement science professor suggests ... read more

Brain Study Reveals Mindfulness Could Help Prevent Obesity in Children

Jan. 21, 2016 — Mindfulness, described as paying attention on purpose and being in the present moment with acceptance, could be an effective way to help children avoid obesity. New research suggests that the balance ... read more

Breasts Putting Girls Off Sport?

Jan. 19, 2016 — About half of all girls at UK secondary schools might be avoiding sport because of embarrassment or pain caused by their breasts, according to new research. This study is the first in the UK to ... read more

Aerobic Exercise Benefits Patients With Parkinson's Disease

Jan. 19, 2016 — You've likely heard this before: Exercise is good for you. It helps your heart, bones, back and more. But here's one thing you might not have heard: Ongoing aerobic exercise may slow the ... read more

Water Dispensers in NYC Public Schools Associated With Student Weight Loss

Jan. 19, 2016 — Making water more available in NYC public schools through self-serve water dispensers in cafeterias resulted in small -- but statistically significant -- declines in students' weight, according ... read more

Physical Therapy Not Associated With Improvements in Patients With Early Stages of Parkinson's Disease

Jan. 19, 2016 — For patients with mild to moderate Parkinson's disease, there were no clinically meaningful benefits to activities of daily living or quality of life associated with physiotherapy and ... read more

High BMI, Low Aerobic Capacity in Late Teens Linked With Hypertension in Adults

Jan. 19, 2016 — Body-mass index (BMI) and aerobic capacity in late adolescence were important factors associated with the long-term of risk of hypertension in adulthood for military conscripts in Sweden, according ... read more

Intensive Exercise With Intervals 'More Effective'

Jan. 19, 2016 — Short bursts of intensive exercise provide a more “time-efficient” and realistic way of preventing, delaying and managing Type 2 diabetes and also losing weight, a study has found. Obesity and ... read more

Regular Exercise Critical for Heart Health, Longevity

Jan. 18, 2016 — The majority of citizens in developed countries should not be concerned by potential harm from exercise but rather by the lack of exercise in their lives, according to a clinical ... read more

An Image Is Worth a Thousand Kilos?

Jan. 18, 2016 — Okay, so maybe not a thousand kilos, exactly, but a new study shows how a photo diary can keep dieters motivated, making them more likely to achieve their target ... read more

Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Saturday, November 21, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015