Fitness News
October 13, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:28am EDT

More Fitness News
October 13, 2015

Exercise and Stop Smoking to Improve Depression After Heart Attack

Oct. 10, 2015 — Exercise and stop smoking to improve depression after a heart attack, experts ... read more

Study Questions Benefit of Exercise Program Following Immobilization of Ankle Fracture

Oct. 6, 2015 — A supervised exercise program and self-management advice, like those commonly given with physical therapy, did not improve activity limitation or quality of life compared with advice alone after ... read more

Exercise Is Good for Everyone, but Some Struggle More Than Others

Oct. 2, 2015 — People with increased risk of type 2 diabetes need to exercise more than others to achieve the same results, according to new ... read more

People With Genetic Variant Increasing Vitamin D Metabolism Improve Blood Sugar Control With High Protein Weight Loss Diet

Sep. 29, 2015 — People carrying a certain genetic variant relating to vitamin D metabolism are more likely to benefit from a high-protein weight loss diet than those without it, research ... read more

Weight Loss, Exercise Improve Fertility in Women With Polycystic Ovary Syndrome

Sep. 24, 2015 — Weight loss and exercise improve ovulation in women who have polycystic ovary syndrome, a common hormone disorder that often causes infertility, according to a new ... read more

From Brain, to Fat, to Weight Loss

Sep. 24, 2015 — A breakthrough study shows that fat tissue is innervated and that direct stimulation of neurons in fat is sufficient to induce fat breakdown. These results set up the stage for developing novel ... read more

Focus on Well-Being Improves Worker Health While Lowering Costs

Sep. 23, 2015 — One company's program to improve employee well-being led to improvements in worker health and productivity while decreasing health care costs, reports a case study on the ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — Games used for exercising can improve physical and mental fitness in children with autism spectrum disorders, a new study concludes. As a way to combat a lack of physical activity, researchers ... read more

Overweight Firefighters More Likely to Attempt Weight Loss If Advised by Doctor

Sep. 22, 2015 — Overweight firefighters are twice as likely to attempt to lose weight if their health care provider gives them weight loss advice, according to new research. More than 75 percent of firefighters are ... read more

Mice Exposed to Environmental Chemicals May Show Decreased Physical Activity in Offspring

Sep. 21, 2015 — Endocrine disruptors interfere with endocrine or hormone systems and can cause tumors, birth defects and developmental disorders in mammals. Now, a study suggests that female mice exposed to ... read more

Exercise Reduces Suicide Attempts by 23 Percent Among Bullied Teens

Sep. 21, 2015 — As high schools across the country continue to reduce physical education, recess, and athletic programs, a new study shows that regular exercise significantly reduces both suicidal thoughts and ... read more

Types of Athletic Training Affect How Brain Communicates With Muscles

Sep. 18, 2015 — The brains of endurance trainers communicate with muscles differently than those of strength trainers or sedentary individuals, new research shows. While it is not immediately clear why the ... read more

Tai Chi Linked to Improved Physical Capacity in Certain Common Long Term Conditions

Sep. 18, 2015 — The ancient Chinese exercise Tai Chi is linked to improved physical capacity among older adults with certain common long term conditions, indicates a pooled analysis of the available ... read more

Parkinson's Disease: Everyday Activity More Beneficial Than Occasional Strenuous Exercise

Sep. 17, 2015 — Parkinson’s patients often become sedentary because of motor symptoms such as gait, balance problems or falls. However, new research finds that non-exercise physical activity, more than occasional ... read more

Physical Activity, Sadness, and Suicidality in Bullied U.S. Adolescents

Sep. 17, 2015 — Across the U.S., nearly 20% of students report being bullied on school property. Bullying is associated with academic struggle, low self-esteem, anxiety, depression, substance abuse, and self-harm. ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — Scientists have evidence that Popeye was right: spinach makes you stronger. But it's the high nitrate content in the leafy greens -- not the iron -- that creates the effect. Building on a ... read more

Diet, Exercise, Smoking Habits and Genes Interact to Affect AMD Risk

Sep. 15, 2015 — People with a genetic predisposition for age-related macular degeneration significantly increased their odds of developing the blinding eye disorder if they had a history of heavy smoking and ... read more

Immune Cells May Help Fight Against Obesity

Sep. 15, 2015 — While a healthy lifestyle and 'good genes' are known to help prevent obesity, new research indicates that certain aspects of the immune system may also play an important role. In the new ... read more

Molecule Made by Muscle Shown for First Time to Build Bone

Sep. 14, 2015 — A recently identified molecule produced by skeletal muscle in response to exercise, has been shown to increase bone mass, according to a study. Although exercise is a well known stimulus for new bone ... read more

New Guideline Aims to Reduce Fractures in Seniors in Long-Term Care Facilities

Sep. 14, 2015 — A new guideline that aims to prevent fractures in residents of long-term care facilities is targeted at frail seniors and their families as well as health care workers. The guideline was developed ... read more

Saturday, October 10, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015