Fitness News
November 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:28pm EST

More Fitness News
November 29, 2015

Children Born to Women After Bariatric Surgery at Higher Risk of Obesity, Diabetes

Nov. 19, 2015 — Weight-loss surgery can boost fertility in women and reduce the risk of pregnancy complications that commonly occur in obese women. However, a new study in rats suggests that weight-loss surgery ... read more

Erectile Dysfunction Drug May Benefit Patients at Risk for Diabetes

Nov. 18, 2015 — The drug sildenafil, sold as Viagra and other brand names, improves insulin sensitivity in people at risk for diabetes, researchers ... read more

Research Shows Benefits, Danger of Ultraman Competition

Nov. 18, 2015 — The endurance competition called the Ultraman can lead to large reductions in body fat, but also causes temporary muscle damage and potentially insulin resistance, new research ... read more

Going Barefoot: Strong 'Foot Core' Could Prevent Plantar Fasciitis, Shin Splints, and Other Common Injuries

Nov. 17, 2015 — Barefoot activities can greatly improve balance and posture and prevent common injuries like shin splints, plantar fasciitis, stress fractures, bursitis, and tendonitis in the Achilles tendon, ... read more

Social and Practical Barriers Keep Heart-Failure Patients from Benefits of Exercise Therapy

Nov. 17, 2015 — Lack of social support and barriers to exercise (such as lack of transportation) reduce the amount of time heart-failure patients exercise. Assessing and eliminating barriers to exercise may reduce ... read more

Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes Harm Bone Health

Nov. 17, 2015 — In a new animal study, researchers examined how the development of obesity and insulin resistance contribute to bone-fracture risk and whether exercise prevents weight gain and diabetes and protects ... read more

Endurance Athletes Who 'Go Against the Grain' Become Incredible Fat-Burners

Nov. 17, 2015 — Elite endurance athletes who eat very few carbohydrates burned more than twice as much fat as high-carb athletes during maximum exertion and prolonged exercise in a new study -- the highest ... read more

Yoga May Lessen Side Effects in Men Undergoing Prostate Cancer Treatment

Nov. 16, 2015 — Men with prostate cancer who are undergoing radiation therapy can benefit from yoga, researchers ... read more

How Depleting the Gut Microbiota Protects from Obesity

Nov. 16, 2015 — By studying mice without microbiota, scientists were able to demonstrate how the absence of microbiota has a remarkable effect against obesity. Indeed, it triggers a surprising metabolic mechanism: ... read more

Fit Older Adults Are More Active

Nov. 16, 2015 — Fitness level has the strongest association with physical activity, followed by gender and season. The authors of a new study wanted to identify how demographics and physical activity history, ... read more

Low Energy Sweeteners Help Reduce Energy Intake and Body Weight, Evidence Shows

Nov. 10, 2015 — Use of low energy sweeteners (LES) in place of sugar, in children and adults, leads to reduced calorie intake and body weight - and possibly also when comparing LES beverages to water -- according to ... read more

Short Bursts of High-Intensity Exercise Does More for Type 2 Diabetes

Nov. 10, 2015 — Short bursts of high-intensity exercise improved cholesterol, blood sugar and weight among type 2 diabetes patients more than 30 minutes of sustained, lower-intensity exercise. Burst exercise ... read more

Midlife Fitness Helps Reduce Health Costs After Age 65

Nov. 9, 2015 — People with high fitness levels in midlife have significantly lower annual health care costs after age 65 than people with low fitness in midlife, after adjusting for cardiovascular risk factors, ... read more

Revascularization Before Exercise Program Improves Walking for Patients With PAD

Nov. 8, 2015 — Among patients with peripheral artery disease and intermittent claudication (cramping pain in the legs due to poor circulation in the arteries, aggravated by walking), a combination therapy of ... read more

Effectiveness and Cost-Effectivness of Physical Therapy for Knee Osteoarthritis

Nov. 8, 2015 — Spacing exercise-based physical therapy sessions over a 12-month period while using three additional “booster” sessions periodically has been shown to be more cost effective than alternative ... read more

Exercise Program in Senior Centers Helps Decrease Participants' Pain and Improve Mobility

Nov. 7, 2015 — A study finds that a low-impact exercise program is improving quality of life for many older adults with arthritis and other musculoskeletal conditions. The program, offered by Hospital for Special ... read more

Gastric Balloon in a Pill Helps Patients Lose Weight Without Surgery or Endoscopy

Nov. 5, 2015 — A new gastric balloon that can be swallowed like a pill and then filled while in the stomach, helped patients lose more than 37 percent of their excess weight over four months, according to new ... read more

Strength of Brain Connectivity Varies With Fitness Level in Older Adults

Nov. 5, 2015 — A new study shows that age-related differences in brain health -- specifically the strength of connections between different regions of the brain -- vary with fitness level in older ... read more

Playing Soccer or Handball During Puberty May Prevent Osteoporosis

Nov. 4, 2015 — Osteoporosis is a serious health issue that mainly affects postmenopausal women. Now, a Spanish study has confirmed that doing exercise during puberty can improve bone health in adulthood. In this ... read more

Resistance Exercise During Pregnancy Has Perceived Positive Effects

Nov. 4, 2015 — Resistance exercise during pregnancy has perceived positive effects. Swimming, walking and other mild physical activities, along with avoidance of resistance exercise, are often recommended for ... read more

Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Sunday, October 25, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Saturday, October 10, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015