Mathematics News
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:44pm EDT

More Mathematics News
September 3, 2015

Aug. 19, 2015 — Steel is one of the main building blocks of modern society. This is because of all the metallic materials, steel - which is mainly iron – is the most advantageous to produce from both an economic ... read more

Mathematical Model Gives Fashion Advice

July 14, 2015 — Researchers have developed a mathematical model that is able to assess whether a person is fashionably dressed and to give advice on how to make the outfit more ... read more

Reversing the Deadly Side Effects of Tylenol Overdose

June 22, 2015 — New research could help reverse deadly side effects caused by excessive doses of the drug acetaminophen, the major ingredient in Tylenol and many other medicines. Researchers have developed a ... read more

Math Students a Hit With Minor League Baseball Schedulers

June 18, 2015 — With the help of some Johns Hopkins University math students, Minor League Baseball is catching up with the majors in using computers to produce season ... read more

Ebola News Coverage Linked to Public Panic

June 15, 2015 — A team of researchers fit a mathematical contagion model for the spread of disease to Twitter and Google search trend data in the wake of the US Ebola outbreak of October 2014 and discovered that ... read more

June 15, 2015 — Researchers have shown it is possible to create artificial skin that can be transformed at the flick of a switch to mimic one of nature's masters of camouflage, the ... read more

Mathematical Models With Complicated Dynamics for Disease Study

June 11, 2015 — A new article presents a mathematical model to study the effects of individual movement on infectious disease ... read more

June 1, 2015 — A team of biologists and a mathematician has identified and characterized a network composed of 94 proteins that work together to regulate fat storage in yeast. The findings suggest that yeast could ... read more

May 28, 2015 — Quantum teleportation has been achieved by a number of research teams around the globe since it was first theorized in 1993, but current experimental methods require extensive resources and/or only ... read more

Conservation Theory Gets Mathematical Treatment

May 27, 2015 — Theories used for the last four decades as a tool to guide the conservation of flora and fauna may have misinterpreted the biological reality, according to new research by ... read more

Challenging Students Benefit from Limit Setting

May 27, 2015 — The teacher’s interaction style can either foster or slow down the development of math skills among children with challenging temperaments, Finnish researchers have ... read more

May 21, 2015 — The sight of skilful aerial maneuvering by flocks of Greylag geese to avoid collisions with York's Millennium Bridge intrigued a mathematical biologist. It raised the question of how birds ... read more

Differences in Tumor Cell Metabolism Affect Growth, Invasion and Response, Say Researchers

May 19, 2015 — Cells within a tumor are not the same; they may have different genetic mutations and different characteristics during growth and throughout treatment. These differences make treating tumors extremely ... read more

May 15, 2015 — In future, the service life of bridges may be estimated more accurate than ever before. Engineers have refined mathematical models for calculating them. Unlike previous models, they take local ... read more

May 14, 2015 — New theories on game intelligence could change the world of team sports forever. Game intelligence is not necessarily something you are born with but something you can learn, according to new ... read more

May 12, 2015 — Deaf education lecturers are using the Swivl robot in school classrooms in a UK first for teacher training. Swivl is a robotic turntable onto which is placed an iPad or other tablet. It is positioned ... read more

May 12, 2015 — When ants go exploring in search of food they end up choosing collective routes that fit statistical distributions of probability. This has been demonstrated by a team of mathematicians after ... read more

May 12, 2015 — Topological insulators are "strange" materials, insulators on the inside and conductors on the surface. They also have properties that make them excellent candidates for the development of ... read more

May 12, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a Lévy walk pattern of movement when living cells eat. When the food is transported within the cell by so-called endosomal active transport, it is the same mathematical ... read more

Researchers Reverse Bacterial Resistance to Antibiotics in Lab

May 6, 2015 — The rise of antibiotic-resistant bacteria is a growing problem in the United States and the world. New findings by researchers in evolutionary biology and mathematics could help doctors better ... read more

Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Sunday, November 16, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014