Allergy News
August 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:52am EDT

More Allergy News
August 28, 2015

If the 'Pollen Tsunami' Has Swept Through, Why Are You Still Miserable?

Aug. 5, 2015 — Although spring, summer and fall have different sets of allergens to trip up allergy and asthma sufferers, they can cause the same symptoms. Those who have multiple triggers, may not be able to ... read more

For Children With Allergies, Reading Food Labels Crucial

July 9, 2015 — It is estimated that one in every 13 children in the U.S. has a food allergy. Food allergy reactions can range from a rash to respiratory distress and even death. The uncertainty of how a child will ... read more

Emergency Visits for Childhood Food Allergy on Rise in Illinois

June 26, 2015 — Emergency room visits and hospitalizations of children with severe, potentially life-threatening food allergy reactions increased nearly 30 percent in Illinois over five years, reports a new study. ... read more

June 25, 2015 — A study supports a surprising alternative approach to controlling asthma: targeting certain sensory nerve endings in the lungs. The researchers show that specialized sensory neurons called ... read more

How to Predict Biphasic Allergic Reactions in Children

June 22, 2015 — Children are more likely to have a repeat, delayed anaphylactic reaction from the same allergic cause, depending on the severity of the initial reaction, reports the first pediatric study to look at ... read more

Adenosine in Ambrosia Pollen Increases Allergic Response

June 17, 2015 — Ragweed (Ambrosia artemisiifolia) -- an otherwise unremarkable plant -- produces pollen that can trigger strong allergic reactions such as asthma even in very small quantities. Scientists have now ... read more

June 9, 2015 — The use of a mini filter prevents pollen inhalation and results in significantly fewer symptoms such as sneezing, watery eyes and drowsiness, clinical trials now show. In addition, nasal filters ... read more

Parent-Reported Symptoms Gauge Features of the Food Allergic Disease Eosinophilic Esophagitis

June 4, 2015 — Researchers have identified that parent-reported responses to a questionnaire called the Pediatric Eosinophilic Esophagitis Symptom Score correspond to clinical and biologic features of eosinophilic ... read more

Allergies: Europe's Ragweed Pollen Counts to Quadruple by 2050?

May 28, 2015 — Airborne concentrations of common ragweed pollen, a potent allergen, could increase fourfold in Europe by 2050. Researchers believe climate change will be responsible for two thirds of this increase, ... read more

'Hidden' Fragrance Compound Can Cause Contact Allergy

May 27, 2015 — Linalyl acetate, a fragrance chemical that is one of the main constituents of the essential oil of lavender, is not on the list of allergenic compounds pursuant to the EU Cosmetics Directive. Thus, ... read more

Many Children With Asthma Have Reaction to Peanuts, but Do Not Know It

May 17, 2015 — In recent years and months, peanut allergies in children have been in the news frequently, as scientists reveal new insights into why more and more children are developing them and what can be done ... read more

Women Hospitalized 60 Percent More Than Men After Emergency Asthma Treatment

May 5, 2015 — Women with acute asthma who are treated in the emergency department are 60 percent more likely than men to need hospitalization, a study shows. The authors speculate that there are a number of ... read more

May 4, 2015 — Allergen-specific T cells are resident in the mucosa outside the pollen season and react strongly to pollen extract, suggesting that these T cells are long-lived resident memory cells, researchers ... read more

Exposure to Air Pollution in the First Year of Life Increases Risk for Allergies

May 4, 2015 — Exposure to outdoor air pollution during the first year of life increases the risk of developing allergies to food, mould, pets and pests, new research concludes. The study showed that the ... read more

May 4, 2015 — A new variety of low-allergenic soybean has been created by researchers. The new crop could have a major impact on the production of baby formula, processed foods and livestock feed, they ... read more

Peanut-Allergic Children More at Risk of Exposure at Home Than at School

Apr. 28, 2015 — Children who are allergic to peanuts are far more likely to be exposed to them in their own homes that at school, says a new research study, adding that adolescents were found to be at a high-risk, ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — Scientists are a step closer to developing new therapies for controlling the body's response to allergies and parasitic worm ... read more

Rise in Spring Allergens Linked to Increased Dry Eye Cases

Apr. 23, 2015 — New ophthalmology research shows that dry eye – the little understood culprit behind red, watery, gritty feeling eyes – strikes most often in spring, just as airborne allergens are surging. The ... read more

Shetland Pony Midge Study Offers Clues to Curbing Allergies

Apr. 23, 2015 — Shetland ponies' immune response to insect bites is helping scientists understand how people could be prevented from developing allergies. The horse immune system can respond to midge bites in a ... read more

Enzyme in Cosmetic Products Can Act as Allergen Via the Skin

Apr. 10, 2015 — Papain is an important industrial protein-degrading enzyme that is used, for example, in the food and cosmetic industries. When humans or animals come in contact with papain, strong allergic ... read more

Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Sunday, January 11, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Friday, August 22, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014