Allergy News
May 25, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:52pm EDT

More Allergy News
May 25, 2015

Worms, Germs Lead to Better Immune Function

Apr. 8, 2015 — Researches hypothesize that enhancing biodiversity in laboratory rats, including treating the rats with worms, would suppress their immune systems. Because worms have been shown to subdue ... read more

Food Allergies Can Be Transmitted from Blood Products to Children in Rare Cases

Apr. 7, 2015 — In rare cases, children can develop anaphylactic allergies to previously tolerated foods after receiving blood products via transfusion, report the authors of a case study. Blood donors who have food ... read more

Witnessing Drug Problems or Domestic Violence Causes Greater Asthma Incidence

Apr. 2, 2015 — Children exposed to greater number of adverse childhood experiences had increased risk of asthma incidence, research shows. The survey drew from interviews with parents of more than 92,000 children ... read more

Adult Sinusitis: Updated Clinical Practice Guideline

Apr. 1, 2015 — Sinusitis affects about one in eight adults in the United States, resulting in over 30 million annual diagnoses. The direct cost of managing acute and chronic sinusitis exceeds $11 billion per year. ... read more

Blood Test Predicts Severity of Peanut and Seafood Allergies, Experts Say

Apr. 1, 2015 — A new blood test promises to predict which people will have severe allergic reactions to foods according to a new study. To detect food allergies, physicians typically use skin prick tests or blood ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — An imbalance in our metabolism can trigger inflammatory processes in the body and activate the immune system. In a recent study, researchers have been able to show that this applies even to newborns ... read more

Air Pollutants Could Boost Potency of Common Airborne Allergens

Mar. 22, 2015 — A pair of air pollutants linked to climate change could also be major contributors to the unparalleled rise in the number of people sneezing, sniffling and wheezing during allergy season. The gases, ... read more

Uncovering the Effects of Cooking, Digestion on Gluten and Wheat Allergens in Pasta

Mar. 11, 2015 — Researchers trying to understand wheat-related health problems have found new clues to how the grain's proteins, including gluten, change when cooked and digested. They report that boiling pasta ... read more

Infant Gut Bacteria and Food Sensitization: Associations in the First Year of Life

Mar. 4, 2015 — New light has been shed on changes in intestinal bacteria of infants that can predict future development of food allergies or asthma. The research reveals that infants with a fewer number of ... read more

Marijuana: The Allergen You Never Knew Existed

Mar. 3, 2015 — As marijuana’s legal status throughout the country continues to change, people should know it can cause allergic ... read more

Pregnant Women With Asthma Need to Curb Urge to Ask for Antibiotics

Mar. 3, 2015 — Twice as many children born to mothers who took antibiotics during pregnancy were diagnosed with asthma by age 3 than children born to mothers who didn’t take prenatal antibiotics, a new study has ... read more

Advisory About Not Feeding Peanuts to Infants and Young Children at Risk for Peanut Allergy

Mar. 3, 2015 — Pediatric otolaryngologists and surgeons are concerned with parents getting the wrong message regarding the safety/desirability of letting babies and young children eat peanuts to prevent them from ... read more

Reducing Animal Testing for Skin Allergies

Mar. 2, 2015 — The JRC has validated and recommended a new method which is not based on animal testing, to identify chemicals that can trigger skin allergies, estimated to affect already 20% of the population in ... read more

Feb. 27, 2015 — Chemists have developed a new test for peanut allergies that can not only tell whether someone is allergic, it can also determine how intense their allergic reaction will ... read more

Do Genes Play a Role in Peanut Allergies? New Study Suggests Yes

Feb. 24, 2015 — Researchers have pinpointed a region in the human genome associated with peanut allergy in U.S. children, offering strong evidence that genes can play a role in the development of food ... read more

Breastfeeding, Other Factors Help Shape Immune System Early in Life

Feb. 21, 2015 — Researchers say that breastfeeding and other factors influence a baby's immune system development and susceptibility to allergies and asthma by what's in their ... read more

Experts Study, Treat Mysterious and Growing Allergic Reaction

Feb. 9, 2015 — It’s the hottest topic among allergy experts. It’s showing up more and doctors don’t yet know why. Allergy specialists are seeing more people with eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE), an ... read more

Disposable Devices to Identify Allergies Developed

Feb. 6, 2015 — The design of a small medical device capable of detecting allergies or diseases quickly and at a low cost is currently under development by Mexican ... read more

Researchers Discover Promising Targets for Treating Allergies, Asthma

Feb. 18, 2015 — More than 30 genes that have strong effects on Immunoglobulin E, allergies and asthma have been discovered, reports an international team of scientists. The researchers also found that the genes are ... read more

Epigenetic Study Highlights Drug Targets for Allergies and Asthma

Feb. 18, 2015 — Scientists have discovered over 30 new genes that predispose people to allergies and asthma, some of which could be targets for new drugs. Asthma affects one child in 10 in the UK, and allergies may ... read more

Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Sunday, January 11, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Friday, November 21, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Friday, August 22, 2014
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Friday, August 1, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Sunday, July 13, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Monday, June 2, 2014
Tuesday, May 27, 2014