Economics News
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:54pm EDT

More Economics News
September 3, 2015

Study Shows How Investments Reflected Shift in Environmental Views

Sep. 3, 2015 — A new study is the first to use financial investors' actions, rather than self-reported opinions, to investigate the trans-Atlantic difference in public opinion on climate change and the ... read more

Risk of Financial Crisis Higher Than Previously Estimated

Sep. 2, 2015 — The risk of a financial crisis is substantially higher than previously estimated, according to new research that accounts for multiple levels of interconnectedness in the financial ... read more

Economic Security Requires New Measures of Well-Being

Sep. 1, 2015 — Economic well-being for low-income families in the US is often determined by federal measures that establish basic requirements for essentials such as food, shelter and clothing, but a new study ... read more

Smaller Cities in Developing World Often Unprepared for Disaster

Sep. 1, 2015 — While many planners focus on the threat of natural disasters to major metropolises around the world, a new study shows smaller cities are often even less equipped to handle such ... read more

Forget Cash: Plastic Is the New Sign of Criminal Activity

Aug. 31, 2015 — The ERAD Prepaid Card Reader is a small, handheld device that uses wireless connectivity to allow law enforcement officers in the field to check the balance of ... read more

Older Adults Possess Important Forms of Expertise

Aug. 28, 2015 — New research on aging and skill development provides the most complete analysis to date of skill development in a traditional society. The results show that most skills essential to Tsimane survival ... read more

Disabilities: Playing Adaptive Sports Linked to Higher Employment, Economic Impact

Aug. 25, 2015 — A new study finds playing an adaptive sport can have dramatic results on the athlete and the ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — Like the Rubik's Cube, a three-dimensional combination puzzle where every twist also scrambles the face opposite of it, economics puzzles are similarly interlinked -- a change in policy may lead ... read more

Enjoyment Motivates People to Participate in the Sharing Economy

Aug. 24, 2015 — Sustainability and enjoyment are at least as important as economic benefits for participating in the sharing ... read more

Blacks Hit Hardest by Public-Sector Job Losses During Recession

Aug. 24, 2015 — A new study found that public-sector job cuts during and after the Great Recession disproportionately impacted African-Americans, especially women, and have increased racial disparity in the public ... read more

Program to Reduce Work-Family Conflict Pays for Itself

Aug. 21, 2015 — An effective program to reduce work-family conflict leads to reduced turnover and other cost savings for employers, reports a new study. At an estimated cost of $690 per employee, the program yielded ... read more

Exploring the Link Between Globalization and Stress

Aug. 21, 2015 — A direct relationship exists between stress and globalization -- for instance, transnational corporations and transnational economics -- according to a recent ... read more

Identifying the Factors That Contribute to Flood Fatalities

Aug. 21, 2015 — Levels of economic development, population, investment, openness and education can all impact the total amount of human misery and economic devastation caused by floods, according to a new ... read more

Common Electricity Market Needs More Transmission Networks

Aug. 20, 2015 — Insufficient transmission network capacity reduces equalization of wholesale prices in the Nordic electricity market. This has financial impacts on, for example, electricity users, one expert ... read more

Study Shows African Americans Discriminated Against in Access to US Local Public Services

Aug. 19, 2015 — Requests for information from local public services, like sheriffs' offices, school districts and libraries, across the United States are less likely to receive a reply if signed by ... read more

Educational Expansion Created More Marriages by Same Educational Level, Race

Aug. 19, 2015 — Compulsory schooling laws instituted in the late 1800s and early 1900s caused more people in Northern states to marry people at their same education level and race, possibly contributing to economic ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — A multifaceted farming intervention can reduce food insecurity while improving HIV outcomes in patients in Kenya, according to a randomized, controlled ... read more

Researchers Sound Off on the Dangers of Hospital Consolidation

Aug. 18, 2015 — Consolidation of hospitals into massive chains threatens healthy competition, reduces patient choice and could drive up medical expenses, experts say in a new ... read more

Seller Beware: International Transactions Require Much More Than a Contract

Aug. 12, 2015 — A contract between countries spelling out in detail the terms of sale and delivery should eliminate the chance that the buyer would violate those terms. A new study, however, suggests that ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A newly released study offers hope of conservation to the world’s low-profile and more unloved members of the animal kingdom. The study demonstrates that a “Wisdom of Crowds” method can ... read more

Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Friday, July 31, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015