Business & Industry News
April 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:40am EDT

More Business & Industry News
April 28, 2015

Better Social Media Techniques Increase Fan Interest, Engagement

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers found that the more MLB teams released original content from their Twitter accounts, such as score updates or player profiles, the more followers they gained and engagement they ... read more

Emotional Intelligence Critical for Leaders

Apr. 22, 2015 — A newly minted Ph.D. surveyed county Extension directors, their subordinates and peers. The student connected diet and exercise to emotional leadership, a key component for leaders ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — A student was listening to a lecture on a commonly held trope about negotiation -- that women are bad at it -- but the conventional wisdom didn’t fit with her experience at all. She did some new ... read more

Expecting Higher Prices Can Spur Spending

Apr. 16, 2015 — When consumers expect higher inflation ahead, they become more willing to spend on the spot, according to new research. In other words, consumers will buy more because money saved would be less ... read more

Blending Realities to Create a Truly Global Workforce

Apr. 16, 2015 — The globalization of business already means many companies have their workforce scattered across the world. But what if engineers in different countries want to work together to solve a problem on ... read more

How Limiting CEO Pay Can Be More Effective, Less Costly

Apr. 15, 2015 — A new article offers insights into the political economy of executive-compensation reform. The analysis also offers insights into the political economy of executive-compensation ... read more

Major Occupational Health Groups Publish Guidance for Employers on the Impact of Marijuana in the Workplace

Apr. 13, 2015 — Experts have published guidance for employers aimed at helping them better understand the implications of marijuana use on the workforce as attitudes toward marijuana and laws restricting it continue ... read more

Improving Work Conditions Increases Parents' Time With Their Children

Apr. 13, 2015 — A workplace intervention designed to reduce work-family conflict gave employed parents more time with their children without reducing their work time. "The results show that we can change the ... read more

New Recommendations for Designing, Measuring and Recognizing Comprehensive Workplace Wellness Programs

Apr. 13, 2015 — New recommendations have been released by experts to address gaps in common standards around comprehensive workplace wellness programs. The recommendations improve the design, measurement and ... read more

Link Between Arrival of Grandchildren, Early Retirement of Women

Apr. 13, 2015 — A new study reveals retirement-age women who have new grandchildren are 9 percent more likely to retire early than other women. Investigators say that this research provides an important angle for ... read more

Platform Adoption in Network Markets

Apr. 10, 2015 — Strategic partnering has become commonplace when introducing innovations to systems markets. In standards battles, network affiliation has been used as a market signal to create confidence in a ... read more

Execs Sitting on Each's Other's Boards: How Unethical Behavior Can Inflate Executives' Pay

Apr. 9, 2015 — If you have a strong network of business colleagues who sit on each other's board, your pay can be a lot heftier -- but often at the expense of your ... read more

Online Creep: Targeted Ads May Have Opposite Effect of Marketers' Intent

Apr. 8, 2015 — Online advertisements that target users based on their web browsing habits and other personal information have a negative impact on the person’s intent to purchase the product, a new study ... read more

Hidden Quota for Women in Top Management, Report Suggests

Apr. 8, 2015 — Companies work fairly hard to place one woman -- but only one -- in a top management position, according to research. A new article found evidence of a 'quota' effect: Once a company had ... read more

When Health Risks Go Down, Worker Productivity Goes Up

Apr. 8, 2015 — Changes in employee health risk factors have a significant impact on work productivity, reports a new study. The productivity benefits of improved health are "cumulative over time," ... read more

Overconfidence in New Technologies Can Influence Decision-Making

Apr. 8, 2015 — Technological advances in recent decades have transformed most aspects of daily life, and technology now plays a major role in business and society. However, little is known about how perceptions of ... read more

Gay, Lesbian Job Seekers Face Discrimination

Apr. 8, 2015 — Discrimination of gay and lesbian job seekers is commonplace within both private firms and the public sector in the UK, new research ... read more

Why Daring to Compare Online Prices Pays Off Offline

Apr. 7, 2015 — The sudden closures of big-box stores like Future Shop and Target may make it seem like online shopping is killing real-world stores. But shoppers are actually engaging in 'web-to-store' ... read more

For Marketers, Failing to Align Emotions of Your Ads With TV Programs May Turn Off Consumers

Apr. 6, 2015 — New research shows why marketers and ad buyers might want to opt for ads that are only moderately energetic as opposed to ads with boundless energy and pep. "When you feel low or sad, ads that ... read more

Managers: Motivating the Employee Willing to Go the Extra Mile

Apr. 6, 2015 — Managers can improve their work teams' performance by focusing their motivation efforts on that "extra miler" instead of trying to motivate everyone equally. A new study finds that ... read more

Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015