Reference Terms
from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Timeline of Hurricane Katrina

This Wikipedia article contains a detailed historical timeline of the events of Hurricane Katrina.

At approximately 8:14 AM CDT (1314 UTC) on Monday August 29, 2005, the New Orleans office of the National Weather Service issues a Flash Flood Warning for Orleans Parish and St Bernard Parish, citing a levee breach at the Industrial Canal.

The National Weather Service predicted three to eight feet of water and advised people in the warning area to "move to higher ground immediately." At 2:00 PM CDT (1900 UTC), New Orleans officials confirmed a breach of the 17th Street Canal levee.

There was also confirmation of breaches at two other canals.

Note:   The above text is excerpted from the Wikipedia article "Timeline of Hurricane Katrina", which has been released under the GNU Free Documentation License.
Related Stories
 

Share This Page:


Earth & Climate News
May 23, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:56 pm ET