Weather News
May 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:47pm EDT

More Weather News
May 29, 2015

Destructive Factors Causing Deterioration of Paints on Buildings Walls

May 27, 2015 — Scientists have investigated how various destructive factors affect painted building walls. According to their report, the external surface of building walls is continuously affected by the natural ... read more

How Meteorological Partnership Between US, Cuba Was Created Over 20 Years

May 22, 2015 — The two-decade-long process to form an active meteorological partnership between the United States and Cuba has been described in a new article. While the U.S. and Cuba have shared meteorological ... read more

Colorado's Biggest Storms Can Happen Any Time, Study Shows

May 20, 2015 — In a state known for its dramatic weather and climate, Colorado's history of extreme precipitation varies considerably by season and location, according to a new study. Decision makers -- often ... read more

May 20, 2015 — From June 1 through July 15, researchers from across North America will fan out each evening across the Great Plains to study the mysterious phenomenon of nighttime ... read more

Arizona: 'One of Nature's Best Natural Laboratories for Weather'

May 11, 2015 — The state of Arizona, long known for its desert climate and hot summers, hosts an array of surprising weather contrasts. Many identify the state as warm and dry; however, violent flash floods and ... read more

May 12, 2015 — Chinook winds can precede large shifts in wind power output from wind farms -- a challenge for companies seeking to provide a constant stream of green energy to consumers. By establishing a ... read more

New Study Assesses Risks of Extreme Weather to North Texas Roads, Runways

May 12, 2015 — A new study explains how climate change and extreme weather will significantly disrupt infrastructure across the Dallas-Fort Worth region by the end of the 21st century. The assessment found the ... read more

May 4, 2015 — Ocean hotspots that caused the record heat during the Dust Bowl years may help long range forecasters predict the likelihood of extremely hot summers in Central US months ahead, scientists ... read more

May 3, 2015 — The resilience of U.S. coastal communities to storms, flooding, erosion and other threats can be strengthened when they are protected by natural infrastructure such as marshes, reefs, and beaches, or ... read more

Apr. 29, 2015 — Climate change may be responsible for the abrupt collapse of civilization on the fringes of the Tibetan Plateau around 2000 B.C. according to archaeologists who found that cooling global temperatures ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — Scientists have captured the first high-resolution images of the flaring magnetic structures known as solar flux ropes at their point of origin in the sun's ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — High elevation environments around the world may be warming much faster than previously thought, according to members of an international research team. They call for more aggressive monitoring of ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers need to find ways to measure how the changes in climate are affecting biodiversity. One of the best places to look may be down at our feet, at beetles. That`s because, as a research team ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Tropical Pacific climate variations and their global weather impacts may be predicted much further in advance than previously thought, according to research by an international team of climate ... read more

Wind Bursts Strongly Affect El Nino Severity

Apr. 15, 2015 — A new study finds that prolonged wind bursts originating in the western Pacific can have a strong effect on whether an El Nino event will occur and how severe it is likely to be. The paper also ... read more

Heat's Role in the Madden-Julian Oscillation

Apr. 10, 2015 — Tropical monsoons in Indonesia and floods in the United States are both provoked by the Madden-Julian Oscillation (MJO), yet, despite its importance, global models often struggle to simulate it ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — An unusually warm patch of surface water, nicknamed 'the blob' when it emerged in early 2014, is part of a Pacific Ocean pattern that may be affecting everything from West Coast fisheries ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — There is substantial genetic variation in nature for both long-term seasonal acclimation and short-term acclimation associated with rapid extreme weather events, a new study shows. While much of the ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — The sun undergoes a type of seasonal variability with its activity waxing and waning over the course of nearly two years, new research concludes. This behavior affects the peaks and valleys in the ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — Even during a good year, soybean farmers nationwide are, in essence, taking a loss. That's because changes in weather patterns have been eating into their profits and taking quite a bite: $11 ... read more

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Sunday, May 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Saturday, January 31, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Saturday, January 17, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014