Technology News
July 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:39pm EDT

More Technology News
July 28, 2015

July 21, 2015 — Organic molecules allow producing printable electronics and solar cells with extraordinary properties. In spintronics, too, molecules open up the unexpected possibility of controlling the magnetism ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Engineers are expanding the portfolio of 3-D printing technology to include microelectronics and integrated wireless sensors. To show that their system worked, they created a 'smart cap' to ... read more

Unique Material Created for the Next Generation Solar Cells

July 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed material which offers much cheaper alternative to the one which is currently being used in hybrid solar cells. The efficiency of the semi-conductors created by the team of ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A team of scientists discovered that electrical conduction in graphene on the picosecond timescale -- a picosecond being one thousandth of one billionth of a second -- is governed by the same basic ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Three-dimensional structures of boron nitride sheets and nanotubes may offer a way to keep small electronic devices cool, according to ... read more

Chicago's Metra Rail Commuters Are Glued to Tech, but Wi-Fi and Outlets Are Scarce

July 14, 2015 — A new study finds Chicago's train stations lags in amenities that commuters demand, including a place to plug in your phone. Despite this, Metra rail ridership is up, and commuters' ... read more

3D Printers Poised to Have Major Implications for Food Manufacturing

July 13, 2015 — The use of 3D printers has the potential to revolutionize the way food is manufactured within the next 10 to 20 years, impacting everything from how military personnel get food on the battlefield to ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Engineers have demonstrated the first system that allows wireless data transmissions over UHF channels during active TV ... read more

July 13, 2015 — In a breakthrough for nanoscience, polymer engineers have made such a mold for nanostructures that can shape liquid silicon out of an organic polymer material. This paves the way for perfect, 3-D, ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Researchers have found that nanoscale wires (nanowires) made of common semiconductor materials have a pronounced anelasticity -- meaning that the wires, when bent, return slowly to their original ... read more

Spotting the Elephant Not in the Room

July 10, 2015 — An automated thermal detection system that can discern wild elephants from background and other animals in infrared images could save lives in parts of the world where the animals roam free and often ... read more

Mobile Connectivity Indoors Has Just Got Better

July 10, 2015 — Researchers have invented the simplest solution available today to swiftly build a mobile wireless positioning system in a new indoor environment. Unlike other systems, it requires neither manual and ... read more

July 10, 2015 — Researchers have developed a method for efficiently cooling electronics using graphene-based film. The film has a thermal conductivity capacity that is four times that of copper. Moreover, the ... read more

July 9, 2015 — Graphene, the only one atom thick carbon network, achieved overnight fame with the 2010 Nobel Prize. But now comes competition: such layers can also be formed by black phosphorus. Chemists have now ... read more

July 8, 2015 — Wearable electronic devices for health and fitness monitoring are a rapidly growing area of consumer electronics; one of their biggest limitations is the capacity of their tiny batteries to deliver ... read more

July 8, 2015 — A new approach for better integrating medical devices with biological systems has been developed by scientists with the first skeleton-like silicon spicules ever prepared via chemical ... read more

July 8, 2015 — The development of metal oxide-based molecular wires is important for fundamental research and potential practical applications. However, examples of these materials are rare. Researchers have now ... read more

July 7, 2015 — Bats have been using sonar to navigate and communicate for ages, and now humans can do the same, thanks to lightweight and efficient ultrasound microphones and loudspeakers developed by physicists. ... read more

Omnidirectional Free Space Wireless Charging of Multiple Wireless Devices

July 7, 2015 — Scientists have made great strides in wireless-power transfer development. A new WPT system is capable of charging multiple mobile devices concurrently and with unprecedented freedom in any ... read more

A Cool Way to Form 2-D Conducting Polymers Using Ice

July 7, 2015 — Chemists have discovered an innovative method to form two-dimensional polyaniline (PANI) nanosheets using ice as a hard template. The product, called PANI-ICE, is reported to have distinctly ... read more

Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Sunday, June 14, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015