Technology News
August 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:09pm EDT

More Technology News
August 3, 2015

Aug. 3, 2015 — Engineers have found a new way to switch the polarization of nanomagnets without the need for an external magnetic field. The advance brings the semiconductor industry a major step closer to moving ... read more

July 29, 2015 — Printed Electronics is key in enabling smart packaging innovations, a fast growing market for industry, researchers say. The smart packaging market is expected to grow to more than US$ 1.45 billion ... read more

Flexible Future of Point-of-Care Disease Diagnostic

July 28, 2015 — The world-wide deployment of biomedical devices for health monitoring, point-of-care diagnostics and environmental sensing is hampered by their high cost that is not readily affordable for developing ... read more

July 23, 2015 — You don't need a magnetic material to create spin current from insulators, researchers say. This work has important implications for the field of spintronics and the development of high-speed, ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Scientists describe in a new study how they constructed elastic conducting fibers by wrapping lighter-than-air, electrically conductive sheets of tiny carbon nanotubes to form a jelly-roll-like ... read more

July 22, 2015 — For the first time, researchers have combined a novel synthesis process with commercial electron-beam lithography techniques to produce arrays of semiconductor junctions in arbitrary patterns within ... read more

July 21, 2015 — In the last decade, graphene has been intensively studied for its unique optical, mechanical, electrical and structural properties. The one-atom-thick carbon sheets could revolutionize the way ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Organic molecules allow producing printable electronics and solar cells with extraordinary properties. In spintronics, too, molecules open up the unexpected possibility of controlling the magnetism ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Scientists studying thin layers of phosphorus have found surprising properties that could open the door to ultrathin and ultralight solar cells and LEDs. The team used sticky tape to create ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Engineers are expanding the portfolio of 3-D printing technology to include microelectronics and integrated wireless sensors. To show that their system worked, they created a 'smart cap' to ... read more

Unique Material Created for the Next Generation Solar Cells

July 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed material which offers much cheaper alternative to the one which is currently being used in hybrid solar cells. The efficiency of the semi-conductors created by the team of ... read more

July 16, 2015 — A team of scientists discovered that electrical conduction in graphene on the picosecond timescale -- a picosecond being one thousandth of one billionth of a second -- is governed by the same basic ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Three-dimensional structures of boron nitride sheets and nanotubes may offer a way to keep small electronic devices cool, according to ... read more

July 14, 2015 — When a sound wave hits an obstacle and is scattered, the signal may be lost or degraded. But what if you could guide the signal around that obstacle, as if the interfering barrier didn't even ... read more

Chicago's Metra Rail Commuters Are Glued to Tech, but Wi-Fi and Outlets Are Scarce

July 14, 2015 — A new study finds Chicago's train stations lags in amenities that commuters demand, including a place to plug in your phone. Despite this, Metra rail ridership is up, and commuters' ... read more

3D Printers Poised to Have Major Implications for Food Manufacturing

July 13, 2015 — The use of 3D printers has the potential to revolutionize the way food is manufactured within the next 10 to 20 years, impacting everything from how military personnel get food on the battlefield to ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Engineers have demonstrated the first system that allows wireless data transmissions over UHF channels during active TV ... read more

July 13, 2015 — In a breakthrough for nanoscience, polymer engineers have made such a mold for nanostructures that can shape liquid silicon out of an organic polymer material. This paves the way for perfect, 3-D, ... read more

July 13, 2015 — Researchers have found that nanoscale wires (nanowires) made of common semiconductor materials have a pronounced anelasticity -- meaning that the wires, when bent, return slowly to their original ... read more

Spotting the Elephant Not in the Room

July 10, 2015 — An automated thermal detection system that can discern wild elephants from background and other animals in infrared images could save lives in parts of the world where the animals roam free and often ... read more

Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Sunday, June 14, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015