Technology News
October 13, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:40pm EDT

More Technology News
October 13, 2015

Oct. 12, 2015 — Stratos II+, a rocket built entirely by students of Delft University of Technology, will be launched again on Wednesday October 14. The first attempt in 2014 unfortunately failed due to technical ... read more

Solitons Acquire Chirality

Oct. 8, 2015 — A team of Korean scientists has discovered a new class of solitons, which they named chiral ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — A single-electron transistor is an electrical device that takes advantage of a strange quantum phenomenon called tunneling to transport single electrons across a thin insulator. The device serves as ... read more

Super Yellow Blends for Light Efficiency

Oct. 6, 2015 — A new study details ultrahigh efficiency, low voltage polymer light emitting diodes (PLEDs) to maximize light output from devices. A blend of two polymers can be used to boost the efficiency of LEDs ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — A new physical effect has been discovered: Researchers have found a change of electrical resistance in magnetic whirls. Tiny magnetic whirls – so called skyrmions – are being considered as ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — As the push for thinner and faster electronics continues, a new finding could help inform the design of the next generation of cheaper, more efficient ... read more

Oct. 5, 2015 — A two-dimensional crystal, combined with graphene, has the capability to detect optical pulses with a response faster than 10 picoseconds, while maintaining a high efficiency, a new study ... read more

Oct. 5, 2015 — Scientists have used a transmission electron microscope to record almost 3500 images in 3.5 seconds for the reconstruction of a 3D electron tomogram. Previously, 10 to 60 minutes and a ten-fold ... read more

Oct. 5, 2015 — Using microfluidic passages cut directly into the backsides of production field-programmable gate array devices, researchers are putting liquid cooling right where it's needed the most -- a few ... read more

Organics Energize Solar Cell Research

Oct. 1, 2015 — Scientists are using a new supercomputer to advance next-generation solar energy technologies by probing the functional interfaces found in organic and hybrid solar ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Researchers have developed a near ultra-violet and all-organic light emitting diode (OLED) that can be used as an on-chip ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Over time, the electrodes inside a rechargeable battery cell can grow tiny, branch-like filaments called dendrites, causing short circuits that kill the battery or even ignite it in flames. But ... read more

Oct. 1, 2015 — Researchers have developed a smart walker prototype that supports independent living among the elderly by making the traditional walker smart. They have retrofitted it with sensors and digital ... read more

Sep. 30, 2015 — Micro-supercapacitors are a promising alternative to micro-batteries because of their high power and long lifetime. They have been in development for about a decade but until now they have stored ... read more

Sep. 30, 2015 — A novel way to count white blood cells without a blood test, simply by applying a small device on the fingertip, is being developed by a team of young bioengineers. The technology, that combines an ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Using carbon atoms deposited on graphene, researchers have demonstrated a technique for creating dynamic patterns on graphene surfaces. The patterns could be used to make reconfigurable electronic ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Can portabella mushrooms stop cell phone batteries from degrading over time? Researchers think so. They have created a new type of lithium-ion battery anode using portabella mushrooms, which are ... read more

Breakthrough for Photography: Light Sensing Technology

Sep. 29, 2015 — A revolutionary breakthrough is underway, an innovation that may usher in the next generation of light sensing technology with potential applications in scientific research and cellphone ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — A team of researchers has invented a method for producing inexpensive and high-performing wearable patches that can continuously monitor the body's vital signs for human health and performance ... read more

Sep. 29, 2015 — Artificial microflowers have been developed that self-assemble in water and mimic the natural blooming process, an important step for advances in frontier-edge ... read more

Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Saturday, October 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015