Technology News
September 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:09pm EDT

More Technology News
September 5, 2015

Wrist Device Translates Sign Language

Sep. 1, 2015 — A smart device that translates sign language while being worn on the wrist could bridge the communications gap between the deaf and those who don’t know sign language, says a biomedical engineering ... read more

Forget Cash: Plastic Is the New Sign of Criminal Activity

Aug. 31, 2015 — The ERAD Prepaid Card Reader is a small, handheld device that uses wireless connectivity to allow law enforcement officers in the field to check the balance of ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — With a new design that sandwiches a polar metallic oxide between insulating materials at the nanoscale, the resulting multiferroic superlattice could open the door for improved ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — A professor has made the 'magic' sphere for information transfer. In several years our computers, nanoantennas and other kinds of equipment will operate on the base of photons, rather than ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — Researchers have demonstrated for the first time a new laser cooling method, based upon the interference of matter waves, that could be used to cool ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — Scientists have devised a unique technology for creating microdroplets suitable for portable automatic analytical devices in various fields from internal security to environmental monitoring and ... read more

Breakthrough Optics Pave Way for New Class of Intriguing Technologies

Aug. 18, 2015 — A new class of fascinating technologies -- including optics in computing, telecommunications links and switches, and virtually any other optical component -- could be created simply by configuring a ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — When researchers dream about electronics of the future, they more or less dream of pouring liquids into a beaker, stirring them together and decanting a computer out onto the table. This field of ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — A new world of flexible, bendable, even stretchable electronics is emerging from research labs to address a wide range of potentially game-changing uses. Over the last few years, one team of chemists ... read more

Aug. 14, 2015 — Using a method they invented for joining disparate elemental layers into a stable material with uniform, predictable properties, researchers are testing an array of new combinations that may vastly ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — An unusual magnetic effect has been discovered in nanolayers of an oxide of lanthanum and manganese (LaMnO3). The research revealed an abrupt magnetic transition brought about by the slightest change ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Scientists reported a tunable band gap in BP, effectively modifying the semiconducting material into a unique state of matter with anisotropic dispersion. This research outcome potentially allows for ... read more

Quantum Computing Advance Locates Neutral Atoms

Aug. 12, 2015 — For any computer, being able to manipulate information is essential, but for quantum computing, singling out one data location without influencing any of the surrounding locations is difficult. Now ... read more

Flexible, Biodegradable Device Can Generate Power from Touch

Aug. 12, 2015 — Long-standing concerns about portable electronics include the devices' short battery life and their contribution to e-waste. One group of scientists is now working on a way to address both of ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — A research team has developed fiber-like light emitting diodes, applicable to wearable ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Used in everything from cell phones to supercomputers, tiny electronic circuits contain transistors that generate performance-compromising heat. Circuit designers can “see” how temperatures ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Graphene, an atom-thick material with extraordinary properties, is a promising candidate for the next generation of dramatically faster, more energy-efficient electronics. However, scientists have ... read more

Aug. 11, 2015 — Colossal magnetoresistance is a property with practical applications in a wide array of electronic tools including magnetic sensors and magnetic RAM. New research successfully used high-pressure ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — Scientists have created a solid-state memory technology that allows for high-density storage with a minimum of ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A methodology for brain penetration using diameter flexible needles has been developed by scientists. This should further reduce invasiveness and provide tissue penetrations hardly broken than ... read more

Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015