Biotechnology and Bioengineering News
February 10, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:52am EST

More Biotechnology and Bioengineering News
February 10, 2016

Virologists Investigating Novel Applications for Viruses

Jan. 26, 2016 — Viruses can be classified in a completely new way based on viral structures, new research suggests. A better understanding of how viruses work can help open up new applications for viruses in the ... read more

Exact Pol(e) Position -- Precisely Where the Polymerase Is Changed

Jan. 21, 2016 — A method for the thorough analysis of protein modifications has been developed by researchers who have mapped the phosphorylation sites of the RNA polymerase II enzyme, which is responsible for ... read more

Traveling Salesman Uncorks Synthetic Biology Bottleneck

Jan. 5, 2016 — A computer program has been created that will open a challenging field in synthetic biology to the entire world -- repetitive polypeptides. The freely available computer program based on the ... read more

Jan. 5, 2016 — A new study demonstrates the role of nanostructured biphasic morphology of segmental polyurethanes as a matrix signal for organization of endothelial cells into network ... read more

DNA Sequences in GMOs: Largest Database Now Publicly Available

Nov. 26, 2015 — The JRC has published a new database, JRC GMO-Amplicons, which contains more than 240 000 DNA sequences appearing in genetically modified organisms (GMOs). It will help to verify the presence of ... read more

Gene Drive Reversibility Introduces New Layer of Biosafety

Nov. 16, 2015 — A research team demonstrates effective safeguarding mechanisms for working with gene drives and unveils a first-of-its-kind method for reversing the changes they ... read more

Engineers Design Magnetic Cell Sensors

Nov. 2, 2015 — Engineers have designed magnetic protein nanoparticles that can be used to track cells or to monitor interactions within cells. The new "hypermagnetic" protein nanoparticles can be produced ... read more

Oct. 21, 2015 — Biology professors and students use tomatoes from campus garden to teach high schools students about genetic diversity. Students learn about dominant and recessive genes and the genetic influence on ... read more

Establishment of Systems Metabolic Engineering Strategies to Develop Microbial Strains

Oct. 12, 2015 — Ten general strategies of systems metabolic engineering have been proposed by experts to successfully develop industrial microbial ... read more

Oct. 9, 2015 — Plant scientists engineered the cassava plant to produce higher levels of vitamin B6 in its storage roots and leaves. This could help to protect millions of people in Africa from serious ... read more

Oct. 8, 2015 — Striga, also known as witchweed, is a parasitic plant that affects 100 million people in sub-Saharan Africa. Researchers have made a discovery that could lead to more effective ways to protect ... read more

Protein Conjugation Method Offers New Possibilities for Biomaterials

Sep. 24, 2015 — A novel method in which protein-polymer conjugates can display new and unique types of functionalities has been demonstrated by a team of ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Biological engineers have developed a modular system of proteins that can detect a particular DNA sequence in a cell and then trigger a specific response, such as cell ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Scientists have deciphered the genetic code that instructs proteins to either self-assemble or disassemble in response to environmental stimuli, such as changes in temperature, salinity or acidity. ... read more

Synthetic Biology Needs Robust Safety Mechanisms Before Real World Application

Sep. 16, 2015 — Targeted cancer treatments, toxicity sensors and living factories: synthetic biology has the potential to revolutionize science and medicine. But before the technology is ready for real-world ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — The process of endocytosis -- how cells 'eat' by absorbing molecules -- drives rapid embryonic healing, scientists have discovered. They suggest the results should be used to design better ... read more

Aug. 28, 2015 — Researchers have for the first time created and used a nanoscale vehicle made of DNA to deliver a CRISPR-Cas9 gene-editing tool into cells in both cell culture and an animal ... read more

Aug. 28, 2015 — Scientists have predicted how biological circuits generate rhythms and control their robustness, utilizing mathematical modeling based on differential equations and stochastic parameter ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — Scientists create a biological circuit by programming bacteria to alter gene expression in an entire population. They have created a biological equivalent to a computer circuit that involves multiple ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — Researchers have for the first time developed a method to precisely control embryonic stem cell differentiation with beams of light, enabling them to be transformed into neurons in response to a ... read more

Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014