Biotechnology and Bioengineering News
July 31, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:15pm EDT

More Biotechnology and Bioengineering News
July 31, 2015

Apr. 24, 2015 — Stem cells naturally cling to feeder cells as they grow in petri dishes. Scientists have thought for years that this attachment occurs because feeder cells serve as a support system, providing stems ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that the signalling route - a cascade activation of several molecules - triggered by the ATM protein regulates DNA repair during the production of spermatocytes by ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new method to activate genes by synthetically creating a key component of the epigenome that controls how our genes are expressed. The new technology allows researchers ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — Researchers use metabolic engineering and directed evolution to develop a new, mutant yeast strain that could lead to a more efficient biofuel production ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — Consumers were willing to spend more for biotech potato products with reduced levels of a chemical compound linked to cancer, a study has found. The findings underscore the importance of efforts to ... read more

Jailbreaking Yeast Could Amp Up Wine's Health Benefits, Reduce Morning-After Headaches

Mar. 16, 2015 — A 'jailbreaking' yeast has been developed that could greatly increase the health benefits of wine while reducing the toxic byproducts that cause your morning-after ... read more

Enhancing High-Temperature Tolerance in Plants: Effective on Rice and Tomatoes

Mar. 2, 2015 — Agricultural researchers have identified for the first time that theE-2-hexenal, a plant-derived chemical substance, can induce a plant's stress response to high ... read more

Feb. 25, 2015 — A survey of rice, wheat, barley, fruit, and vegetable crops found that most mutants created by advanced genetic engineering techniques may be out of the scope of current genetically modified organism ... read more

Feb. 24, 2015 — Scientists have generated mature, functional skeletal muscles in mice using a new approach for tissue engineering. The scientists grew a leg muscle starting from engineered cells cultured in a dish ... read more

Gene May Help Reduce GM Contamination

Feb. 19, 2015 — Genetically modified crops have long drawn fire from opponents worried about potential contamination of conventional crops and other plants. Now a plant gene might help farmers reduce the risk of GM ... read more

Feb. 9, 2015 — Researchers have demonstrated a new way to activate genes with light, allowing precisely controlled and targeted genetic studies and applications. The method might be used to activate genes in a ... read more

Improving Genome Editing With Drugs

Feb. 5, 2015 — Scientists have discovered a way to enhance the efficiency of CRISPR genome editing with the introduction of a few key chemical compounds. This has important potential implications for correcting ... read more

Feb. 4, 2015 — Plant biologists report that drought tolerance in plants can be improved by engineering them to activate water-conserving processes in response to an agrochemical already in use -- an approach that ... read more

Engineers Devise Genetic 'On' Switch Made Exclusively of RNA

Feb. 2, 2015 — Scientists have created a new 'on' switch to control gene expression -- a breakthrough that could revolutionize genetic engineering. The new genetic control mechanism is made exclusively of ... read more

Feb. 2, 2015 — Scientists have developed a molecular sensor to measure 'crowding' in cells, which reflects the concentration of macromolecules present. The sensor provides quantitative information on the ... read more

Jan. 28, 2015 — A genetic blueprint for organelles that give simple cells new functions has been developed by scientists. A research team has refuted a long-held assumption in biology: The scientists have shown that ... read more

Jan. 21, 2015 — Scientists have genetically recoded a strain of E. coli to depend on a synthetic amino acid so the bacteria can't survive outside the lab. The E. coli were also made resistant to two ... read more

Jan. 21, 2015 — Scientists have devised a way to ensure genetically modified organisms can be safely confined in the environment, overcoming a major obstacle to widespread use of GMOs in agriculture, energy ... read more

New Device Allows for Manipulation of Differentiating Stem Cells

Jan. 13, 2015 — A new device creates nanopores in adherent cell membranes, allowing researchers to deliver molecules directly into the cells during differentiation. "The ability to deliver molecules into ... read more

GMOs With Health Benefits Have a Large Market Potential

Jan. 13, 2015 — Genetically modified crops with an increased vitamin and/or mineral content have large potential to improve public health, but their availability for consumers is still hampered, as a result of the ... read more

Friday, April 24, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Monday, June 2, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Monday, May 26, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014
Sunday, May 4, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Friday, April 4, 2014
Thursday, April 3, 2014
Thursday, March 27, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Thursday, March 20, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Monday, March 17, 2014
Sunday, March 16, 2014
Thursday, March 13, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Sunday, March 9, 2014
Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Thursday, February 27, 2014
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Thursday, February 6, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Monday, January 27, 2014
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Thursday, January 16, 2014