Patient Education and Counseling News
August 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:56am EDT

More Patient Education and Counseling News
August 29, 2015

Patient Satisfaction a Poor Surrogate for Quality of Care in Brain Surgery

Aug. 18, 2015 — Patient satisfaction is a very poor proxy for quality of care comparisons in elective cranial neurosurgery. Because deaths are rare events in elective cranial neurosurgery, reporting of surgeon or ... read more

Researchers Examine Impact of OpenNotes on Patient Safety

Aug. 12, 2015 — Researchers are homing in on the potential benefits of allowing patients access to the notes their clinicians write after a visit. A new article suggests that this kind of patient engagement has the ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — A novel web-based, patient-centered toolkit used by patients and/or their healthcare proxys in the hospital setting helped them to engage in understanding and developing their plan of care, and has ... read more

Researcher Calls for Improved Firearm Safety Counseling by Physicians

Aug. 4, 2015 — Physicians should improve the way they discuss firearm safety with patients by showing more respect for the viewpoints of gun owners, according to a new ... read more

Teaching Med Students About Health Disparities Builds Their Confidence

July 29, 2015 — An innovative three-month elective course has helped make some first-year medical students more confident about dealing with health disparities they'll likely encounter as physicians, according ... read more

New Strategies for Combatting Chronic Kidney Disease, Other Long-Term Conditions

June 25, 2015 — New strategies for using electronic health records (EHRs) to treat patients with chronic kidney disease have been outlined by investigators. Their recommendations may help clinicians and hospitals ... read more

No 'Heckler's Veto' in Online Ratings of Doctors, Study Shows

June 22, 2015 — Doctors have many concerns about online crowdsourced ratings, which are intended to make patients better-informed consumers of health care, but this is a big one: They worry that complainers will be ... read more

Cancer: Economic Benefits of Early Palliative Care Intervention

June 8, 2015 — New research has been published that, for the first time, provides strong evidence on the economic benefits of early palliative care intervention for people with an advanced cancer ... read more

Doctors' Checklist Could Help Decrease Length of COPD Patients' Hospital Stay

May 29, 2015 — Patients with worsening chronic obstructive pulmonary disease spend less time in hospital when their doctors manage their care by using a checklist of steps called order ... read more

Internet Acne Education With Automated Counseling Tested in Clinical Trial

May 27, 2015 — An Internet-based acne education program that included automated counseling was not better than a standard educational website in improving acne severity and quality of life in adolescents, according ... read more

Significant Cost Savings Found in Pediatric Telemedicine Consults

May 21, 2015 — A comprehensive study has been completed to determine whether pediatric telemedicine consultations with rural emergency departments save money compared to telephone ... read more

Large Urban Hospitals Disadvantaged by Medicare/Medicaid Patient Satisfaction Rating System

May 19, 2015 — The largest urban health systems, which serve as safety nets for large patient populations with lower socioeconomic status and greater likelihood to speak English as a second language, do worse on ... read more

Medicaid Patients Need Support to Use Primary Care Rather Than Emergency Rooms

May 14, 2015 — More than half of all Medicaid enrollees prefer the 'one-stop shop' of a hospital emergency department to receive care for conditions that could be treated effectively at a primary care ... read more

Enhancing Emergency Medical Care for Seniors Could Reduce Hospital Admissions

May 4, 2015 — Applying palliative care principles to emergency departments may reduce the number of geriatric patients admitted to intensive care units, a study has ... read more

Patient Portals Could Widen Health Disparities

Apr. 28, 2015 — Online patient portals are increasingly important for doctor-patient communication and access to health care information. But patient portals could widen the gap in health disparities. Patients with ... read more

Importance of Counselling in Those Affected by Infertility

Apr. 16, 2015 — The psychological impact and private agony of infertility must be carefully considered by healthcare professionals, suggests a new review. At present, the counseling role occupies a unique and ... read more

Early Use of Palliative Care in Cancer Improves Patients' Lives, Outcomes for Caregivers

Apr. 15, 2015 — Significant improvement has been noted in several measures among those who began palliative care early, a new study reports. "Early interventions for caregivers lowered their depression and ... read more

Home Skills Program for Surgical Patients Who Require Complex Wound Management

Apr. 14, 2015 — A new initiative has been launched to improve outcomes for patients requiring complex wound management. Experts note that the health care system has focused significant resources on reducing surgical ... read more

Dying Patients' Choices Not Always Aligned to Caregivers'

Apr. 2, 2015 — An illuminating study compares the willingness of stage IV cancer patients, and their caregivers; to pay to extend their lives by one year against that of other end-of-life ... read more

Adult Sinusitis: Updated Clinical Practice Guideline

Apr. 1, 2015 — Sinusitis affects about one in eight adults in the United States, resulting in over 30 million annual diagnoses. The direct cost of managing acute and chronic sinusitis exceeds $11 billion per year. ... read more

Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Sunday, September 7, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Monday, July 21, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Friday, June 20, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Friday, May 30, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Monday, May 19, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014