Patient Education and Counseling News
February 8, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:27am EST

More Patient Education and Counseling News
February 8, 2016

Extending Length of Surgical Trainees' Shifts Does Not Affect Surgical Patients' Safety

Feb. 2, 2016 — Allowing surgeons in training, otherwise known as residents, the flexibility to work longer shifts than currently allowed in the US and/or take less time off between shifts to provide continuity of ... read more

Palliative Care Offers Greater Cost Savings for Cancer Patients With Multiple Chronic Conditions

Jan. 5, 2016 — Patients with incurable cancer and numerous other serious health conditions who consulted with a palliative care team within two days of hospitalization had significant savings in hospital costs, ... read more

Study Examines Intent of Glaucoma Patients to Use Marijuana for Treatment in City Where Legal

Dec. 23, 2015 — A survey of patients with glaucoma in Washington, DC, showed that the perception of the legality and acceptability of marijuana use was significantly associated with intentions to use marijuana for ... read more

By Asking, ;what's the Worst Part of This?' Physicians Can Ease Suffering

Dec. 22, 2015 — When patients suffer, doctors tend to want to fix things and if they cannot many doctors then withdraw emotionally. But by turning toward the suffering, physicians can better help their patients and ... read more

Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) Orders Impact Hospital Rankings

Dec. 15, 2015 — Healthcare consumers, policy and insurance organizations rely heavily on hospital ranking reports, but how accurate are they? Do differences in patient preferences for life-sustaining treatments that ... read more

Frugal Antibiotic Prescribing Associated With Lower GP Satisfaction Scores

Dec. 6, 2015 — Reduced antibiotic prescribing is associated with lower patient satisfaction. The study found a 25 per cent lower rate of antibiotic prescribing by a GP practice corresponded to a 5-6 point reduction ... read more

Why Online Doctor Ratings Are Good Medicine

Dec. 1, 2015 — A new study bolsters research linking good patient satisfaction scores with good patient outcomes. And it sheds light on another, unspoken benefit by showing how openly sharing patient satisfaction ... read more

Ethnicity Does Not Predict Type of End-of-Life Care Patients Want, Study Shows

Nov. 18, 2015 — Ethnicity does not predict the type of end-of-life care people want, according to a ... read more

Small Steps May Help When Dealing With a Growing Diabetes Problem, Expert Says

Nov. 12, 2015 — Small steps can equal big changes when it comes to diabetes. A doctor explains how to lower your risk for diabetes and ... read more

Focus on Treatment Decisions: Doctor, Patient Should Decide Together

Oct. 23, 2015 — Two new articles investigate the following questions: Do patients benefit from shared decision making? Is treatment more effective as a result? How do physicians gain from training in shared decision ... read more

Retail Clinics Best Used as Backup to a Patient's Primary Care Physician

Oct. 13, 2015 — Retail health clinics -- now commonly present in drugstores and/or big box retailers -- are best used as a backup alternative to a patient's primary care physician for the diagnosis and ... read more

Video Conferencing Could Increase Shared Decision-Making in Hospice Care

Oct. 13, 2015 — Shared decision-making, although beneficial, could be enhanced in hospice care, say authors of a new report. The researchers recommend that health care workers employ measures such as video ... read more

Magnet Hospitals Better Patient Experiences May Positively Enhance Reimbursement

Oct. 9, 2015 — A new study shows that Magnet hospitals nationally accredited for nursing excellence have higher patient ratings of care than other hospitals. The study suggests that hospitals seeking to improve ... read more

Presenting Options to Patients: Menu Approach Good for Patients, Physicians

Oct. 8, 2015 — Presenting and discussing a menu of treatment options is good for both the patient and the physician according to a new ... read more

New Evidence for a Strategy to Identify Patients Nearing the End of Life

Oct. 6, 2015 — A new study provides compelling evidence that a simple tool can help predict which patients with cancer may be in their final year of life. The tool, known as the Surprise Question, was found to ... read more

Study Finds Gaps in Clinical Genetic Counseling Services for Women Undergoing BRCA Testing

Oct. 1, 2015 — Medical researchers have published results from a national study identifying factors and outcomes associated with the use of genetic counseling and testing services for hereditary breast and ovarian ... read more

Primary Care Doctors Are Ill-Prepared to Deal With Growing Demand for Cancer Care

Sep. 29, 2015 — Leading primary care professionals and cancer experts warn that primary care doctors will not be able to cope with the rising demand for cancer care in high-income countries -- predicted to double ... read more

Decision Aids Help Patients With Depression Feel Better About Medication Choices

Sep. 28, 2015 — Choosing the right antidepressant can be a daunting task. With so many choices and such unpredictability in their individual effects, patients with depression often spend months or years casting ... read more

Physician-Patient Decision Making May Differ in Care of Racial/ethnic Minorities

Sep. 9, 2015 — Racial and ethnic inequalities in medical care are widely documented in literature. However, variations in Americans' experiences with healthcare, specifically regarding physician-patient ... read more

Incorporating Genomic Sequencing, Counseling Into Pediatric Cancer Treatment Shows Benefit

Sep. 1, 2015 — In a study that included children and young adults with relapsed or refractory cancer, incorporation of integrative clinical genomic sequencing data into clinical management was feasible, revealed ... read more

Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Sunday, September 7, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014