Patient Education and Counseling News
May 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:26pm EDT

More Patient Education and Counseling News
May 28, 2015

Internet Acne Education With Automated Counseling Tested in Clinical Trial

May 27, 2015 — An Internet-based acne education program that included automated counseling was not better than a standard educational website in improving acne severity and quality of life in adolescents, according ... read more

Large Urban Hospitals Disadvantaged by Medicare/Medicaid Patient Satisfaction Rating System

May 19, 2015 — The largest urban health systems, which serve as safety nets for large patient populations with lower socioeconomic status and greater likelihood to speak English as a second language, do worse on ... read more

Significant Cost Savings Found in Pediatric Telemedicine Consults

May 21, 2015 — A comprehensive study has been completed to determine whether pediatric telemedicine consultations with rural emergency departments save money compared to telephone ... read more

Medicaid Patients Need Support to Use Primary Care Rather Than Emergency Rooms

May 14, 2015 — More than half of all Medicaid enrollees prefer the 'one-stop shop' of a hospital emergency department to receive care for conditions that could be treated effectively at a primary care ... read more

Enhancing Emergency Medical Care for Seniors Could Reduce Hospital Admissions

May 4, 2015 — Applying palliative care principles to emergency departments may reduce the number of geriatric patients admitted to intensive care units, a study has ... read more

Patient Portals Could Widen Health Disparities

Apr. 28, 2015 — Online patient portals are increasingly important for doctor-patient communication and access to health care information. But patient portals could widen the gap in health disparities. Patients with ... read more

Home Skills Program for Surgical Patients Who Require Complex Wound Management

Apr. 14, 2015 — A new initiative has been launched to improve outcomes for patients requiring complex wound management. Experts note that the health care system has focused significant resources on reducing surgical ... read more

Patient Satisfaction With Pain Management Relies Most on Coordination of Care

Mar. 24, 2015 — The main driver of patient experience depends less on the individual provider than on the overall coordination among the clinic, the primary care physician and all others who participate in delivery ... read more

Implementing Decision Aids Affects Care Decisions in Urology

Mar. 23, 2015 — After clinicians implemented video-based decision aids for men with two common prostate conditions, rates of elective surgery for benign prostatic hyperplasia and rates of active treatment for ... read more

Mar. 20, 2015 — The greater a director of nursing's knowledge of palliative care the lower the likelihood that nursing home patients will experience futile, aggressive end-of-life care, according to a new large ... read more

Feb. 25, 2015 — Contrary to previous reports, a new study found that patients' satisfaction scores only modestly improved based on the newly remodeled design of a ... read more

Certain Factors Influence Whether Cancer Patients Involve Family Members in Treatment Decisions

Feb. 23, 2015 — Family members often play an important role in providing care for patients with cancer, but which patients are more or less likely to involve family members in decisions regarding their care is not ... read more

Barriers to End-of-Life Care Discussions Identified

Feb. 2, 2015 — Two issues emerged among experts in a discussion around barriers to end of life care: Conversations about death and dying need to be normalized so that people can be more comfortable having advance ... read more

New Technology Could Help Patients Make Better Decisions on Care

Feb. 11, 2015 — Traditional decision aids to help patient-doctor discussions have drawbacks, but a new electronic model holds promise of revolutionizing shared decision-making in the doctor's office with the ... read more

Eight Signs Associated With Impending Death in Cancer Patients Identified

Feb. 9, 2015 — Eight highly specific physical and cognitive signs associated with imminent death in cancer patients have been identified by researchers. The findings could offer clinicians the ability to better ... read more

Physician-Controlled Decisions in Cancer Care Linked to Lower Quality Rating by Patients, Study Finds

Feb. 12, 2015 — Patients who described physician-controlled decisions about their cancer care versus shared decision-making were less likely to report receiving excellent quality of care, according to a new ... read more

Universal Access to Physical Activity Could Save Billions in Health Costs

Feb. 12, 2015 — A little more than half of family health teams in Ontario offer physical activity services such as classes or counselling to encourage exercise among patients, and new research finds that ... read more

Do Clothes Make the Doctor? Patient Perceptions of Physicians Based on Attire

Feb. 9, 2015 — What should doctors wear? And how does something as simple as their choice of a suit, scrubs or slacks influence how patients view them? A new analysis takes a comprehensive look – and finds that ... read more

Many Women With Breast Cancer Have Poor Knowledge About Their Condition

Jan. 26, 2015 — A new analysis has found that many women with breast cancer lack knowledge about their illness, with minority patients less likely than white patients to know and report accurate information about ... read more

Acute Heart Failure Patients Bounce Back to ERs for Complex Reasons

Jan. 23, 2015 — A tool designed to assess what interferes with acute heart failure patients' ability to care for themselves after hospital discharge holds promise for improving patient outcomes and reducing ... read more

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Friday, December 12, 2014
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Sunday, September 7, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Friday, August 15, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Monday, July 21, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Friday, June 20, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Thursday, June 5, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Friday, May 30, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Monday, May 19, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Monday, April 14, 2014
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Monday, April 7, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014
Friday, April 4, 2014
Thursday, March 27, 2014
Friday, March 28, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Monday, March 17, 2014
Friday, March 14, 2014