Air Quality News
October 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:19am EDT

More Air Quality News
October 7, 2015

Oct. 2, 2015 — Novel and scalable technology and production process has been developed combining algal biomass cultivation, harvesting and concentration as well as extraction and fractionation of fatty acids from ... read more

New Prototype Cleans Air and Removes Pollution

Sep. 29, 2015 — A prototype of a new device could eliminate pesticide residues, grease, detergents, deodorants and general pollution from the atmosphere, reducing health ... read more

Sep. 28, 2015 — A crucial process has been identified to explain the reason why dissolved organic carbon (DOC) levels in the deep oceans are constant despite a continuous supply from the surface ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — Some of the 300 million tires discarded each year in the United States alone could be used in supercapacitors for vehicles and the electric grid using a ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — Biomass burning has positive environmental and public-health effects, A new study documents. Co-firing oat hulls with coal reduced emissions of carbon dioxide, particulate matter, and heavy metals, ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — An "all-in-one" shelter system has been developed for mountaineers. Inside the shelter conditions remain comfortable whatever the weather outdoors, thanks to a sophisticated dehumidifying ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — As carbon emissions continue to rise, scientists project forests will grow faster and larger, due to an increase in atmospheric carbon dioxide, which fuels photosynthesis. But a new study finds that ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — A team of researchers has demonstrated new techniques that bring lasers as lighting rods closer to reality. When a powerful laser beam shoots through the air, it ionizes the molecules, leaving a thin ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — A huge volcanic eruption in Iceland emitted on average three times as much of a toxic gas as all European industry combined, a study has revealed. Discharge of lava from the eruption at Bárðarbunga ... read more

Curbing Short-Lived Pollutants: A Win-Win for Climate and Air Quality

Sep. 24, 2015 — Ozone, methane and aerosols (tiny pollutant particles) remain in the atmosphere for a shorter time than CO2, but can affect both the climate and air quality. Yet environmental policies tend to ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — While island societies can do little to control carbon emissions from developed nations, they can manage their local resources to enhance the ecosystem services that coastal habitats, including ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — A low-cost method of removing phosphates from tile drainage water has been developed, and may help protect lakes and streams. Using steel byproducts to trap phosphates in simulated tile drainage ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — Scientists may have cracked a part of the chemical code for one of the most basic, yet mysterious, processes in the natural world -- nature's ability to transform nitrogen from the air into ... read more

Method Could Make Hydrogen Fuel Cells More Efficient

Sep. 23, 2015 — With the growth of wind and solar energy and the increasing popularity of electric vehicles, many people in the US may have forgotten about the promised 'hydrogen economy.' But in research ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — Machines that are much smaller than the width of a human hair could one day help clean up carbon dioxide pollution in the oceans. Nanoengineers have designed enzyme-functionalized micromotors that ... read more

Sep. 22, 2015 — A new research study examines the market potential and environmental trade-offs of using natural gas in marine fuels. Natural gas is considered by many to be a 21st century energy resource that will ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Smokey Bear has spent decades reminding picnickers "only you can prevent forest fires" and has even been known to cry over the devastation they leave in their wake. Now researchers say the ... read more

Emissions from Melting Permafrost Could Cost $43 Trillion

Sep. 21, 2015 — New analysis of the effects of melting permafrost in the Arctic points to $43 trillion in extra economic damage by the end of the next century, on top of the more than the $300 trillion economic ... read more

Greening the Electric Grid With Gas Turbines

Sep. 21, 2015 — Much of the nation's energy policy is premised on the assumption that clean renewable sources like wind and solar will require huge quantities of storage before they can make a significant dent ... read more

Sep. 18, 2015 — A new study using a new method for calculating urban heat island intensities clarifies the conflict on whether urban density or sprawl amplify these effects more. It also provides a ranking of the ... read more

Friday, October 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Sunday, August 30, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015