Air Quality News
July 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:17pm EDT

More Air Quality News
July 4, 2015

June 30, 2015 — 20,000 Sounds under the Sea is a project that aims to study ocean sounds. The Swiss ship Fleur de Passion will go around the world in four years with the aim of measuring human impact on oceans and ... read more

June 29, 2015 — Particulate matter from gasoline engines is harmful to our airways, regardless of whether the engines are a bit older or comply with environmental standards. Fine dust particles allow pathogens to ... read more

Natural Wilderness Areas Need Buffer Zones to Protect from Human Development

June 27, 2015 — Despite heavy development, the United States still has millions of acres of pristine wild lands. Coveted for their beauty, these wilderness areas draw innumerable outdoor enthusiasts eager for a ... read more

Optimizing Shale Gas Production from Well to Wire

June 25, 2015 — A researcher has analyzed the life-cycle of the shale gas supply chain and operations and found that the process systems can be made more environmentally and economically ... read more

June 25, 2015 — Collecting rainwater for vegetable irrigation could reduce water bills, increase caloric intake and even provide a second source of income for people in India, a new study ... read more

Learning Early About Late Flights, Weather Complications

June 25, 2015 — A new study improves how air traffic managers cope with unexpected delays and provides them with more predictable ways to manage arrival traffic at airports with adverse ... read more

Soils Are Living, Experts Explain

June 25, 2015 — Soils home to more creatures than there are humans on the earth, scientists report. This includes animals, insect, bacteria and ... read more

Costs of Residential Energy Efficiency Investments Are Double the Benefits

June 23, 2015 — Through a randomized controlled trial of more than 30,000 households in Michigan -- where one-quarter of the households were encouraged to make residential energy efficiency investments and received ... read more

June 23, 2015 — Scientists have discovered how to prise volcanic secrets from magma crystals. These secrets include details of volcanic history, which explain global geography. Their discovery will help to better ... read more

Below-Average 'Dead Zone' Predicted for Chesapeake Bay in 2015

June 23, 2015 — Researchers are forecasting a slightly below-average but still significant "dead zone" this summer in the Chesapeake Bay, America's largest ... read more

June 23, 2015 — A global taskforce of 174 scientists from leading research centers across 28 countries studied the link between mixtures of commonly encountered chemicals and the development of cancer. The study ... read more

June 23, 2015 — The threat to human health from climate change is so great that it could undermine the last fifty years of gains in development and global health, according to a major new ... read more

June 19, 2015 — Lightning path remains unpredictable, but at a smaller scale, discharges between two electrodes can be guided by laser beams. Scientists have discovered a way to guide electric discharges -- and even ... read more

June 19, 2015 — The Lake Fire located in San Bernardino National Forest was reported just before 4:00 p.m. on June 17. The cause of the fire is still under ... read more

June 19, 2015 — Over billions of years, the total carbon content of the outer part of the Earth -- in its mantle lithosphere, crust, oceans, and atmospheres -- has gradually increased, scientists say. The new ... read more

Straw-Insulated Houses Beat Petroleum-Based Alternatives

June 19, 2015 — Scientists are planting the seeds of bio-insulated buildings by developing innovative insulation using sustainable ... read more

Climate Change Won’t Reduce Winter Deaths

June 19, 2015 — In a study that contradicts the received wisdom on health impacts of climate change, scientists say that we shouldn’t expect substantial reduction in winter deaths as a result of global ... read more

June 18, 2015 — High in the sky where the cirrus ice crystal clouds form, jet contrails draw their crisscross patterns. Now researchers have found that these elevated ice cloud trails can influence temperatures on ... read more

June 17, 2015 — Scientists are expecting that this year's Gulf of Mexico hypoxic zone, also called the 'dead zone,' will be approximately 5,483 square miles or about the size of Connecticut -- the ... read more

Climate Change May Impact Future Tourism at Some US National Parks

June 17, 2015 — Visitation at US national parks may potentially increase with increasing temperature in temperate areas, but may decrease with temperatures rising over 80 degrees ... read more

Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015