Air Quality News
August 31, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:19am EDT

More Air Quality News
August 31, 2015

Aug. 29, 2015 — Pollution and weather influence outcomes after a heart attack, according to new ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — Researchers using a bioinorganic hybrid approach to artificial photosynthesis have combined semiconducting nanowires with select microbes to create a system that produces renewable molecular hydrogen ... read more

Aug. 24, 2015 — In the last few months, it has once more become clear that large earthquakes can solicit catastrophic landsliding. In the wake of the Nepal earthquake, the landslide community has been warning of ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — Sumatra's burning again and the El Nino event that is occurring this year is partially to blame for the proliferation of the ... read more

Scientists Warn of the Risk from Air Pollution Over the Megacities of West Africa

Aug. 21, 2015 — New research warns of the risks posed by the increasing air pollution over the cities of West Africa – amid fears it could have an impact on human health, meteorology and regional ... read more

Aug. 21, 2015 — A recalculation of the dates at which boulders were uncovered by melting glaciers at the end of the last Ice Age has conclusively shown that the glacial retreat was due to rising levels of carbon ... read more

Melting Snow and Groundwater Levels in Sierra Nevadas

Aug. 20, 2015 — Changing climate conditions have caused dramatic changes in groundwater levels. A new study aimed at understanding the changes in soil wetting and drying that occur as snow melts in mountainous, ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Scientists are cleaning soil contaminated by oil spills in a way that saves energy and reclaims the soil's fertility, using a process known as pyrolysis, which involves heating contaminated ... read more

Boreal Forests Challenged by Global Change

Aug. 20, 2015 — Forest management must adapt in order to ensure that forests stay healthy in a time of unprecedented environmental change, say experts. Boreal forests are one of the ecosystems most affected by ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — A new study says that global warming has measurably worsened the ongoing California drought. While scientists largely agree that natural weather variations have caused a lack of rain, an emerging ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — In the Arctic, enhanced vegetation growth amplifies global warming. On the Tibetan Plateau, however, the situation is the reverse. "The trend in Tibet is the opposite of what we are seeing in ... read more

China's Carbon Emissions Were Less Than Previously Thought, New Estimates Show

Aug. 19, 2015 — China's carbon emissions have been substantially over estimated by international agencies for more than 10 years, according to research. A research team re-evaluated emissions from the burning ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — Finding a technology to shift carbon dioxide, the most abundant anthropogenic greenhouse gas, from a climate change problem to a valuable commodity has long been a dream. Now, a team of chemists says ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — By combining information about power plant operation with real-time air quality predictions, researchers have created a new capability to minimize the human health effects of air pollution resulting ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — An oxidation process has been developed that uses ozone to degrade contaminants in water that alter the synthesis, transport, action or elimination of natural hormones, responsible for maintain ... read more

Up to 30 Percent Less Precipitation in the Central Andes in Future

Aug. 17, 2015 — Seasonal water shortages already occur in the Central Andes of Peru and Bolivia. By the end of the century, precipitation could fall by up to 30% according to an international team of researchers. In ... read more

On Warmer Earth, Most of Arctic May Remove, Not Add, Methane

Aug. 17, 2015 — The majority of Arctic soil, thanks to methane-hungry bacteria, may actually be able to absorb methane from the atmosphere as temperatures rise, new research ... read more

Nitrogen Dioxide Air Pollution Increases Allergenicity in Ragweed Pollen

Aug. 17, 2015 — Pollen of the common ragweed (Ambrosia artemisiifolia) has higher concentrations of allergen when the plant is exposed to NO2 exhaust gases, according to new ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers have determined that natural sunlight triggers the release of smog-forming nitrogen oxide compounds from the grime that typically coats buildings, statues ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — In Rhode Island heat-related emergency department visits and deaths increase notably among people of all ages as temperatures rise above 75 degrees. The study projects that if the population were ... read more

Saturday, August 29, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015