Origin of Life News
April 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:00pm EDT

More Origin of Life News
April 26, 2015

Apr. 23, 2015 — An international team of researchers has sequenced the nearly complete genome of two Siberian woolly mammoths -- revealing the most complete picture to date -- including new information about the ... read more

Actual Dating Requires Calibration Down to the Last Ion

Apr. 15, 2015 — A new solution accurately counting the exact amounts of ions from laboratory radiation exposure helps to simulate the natural radiation of quartz samples used for thermoluminescence dating. ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Bodies found in a 200 year-old Hungarian crypt have revealed the secrets of how tuberculosis (TB) took hold in 18th century Europe, according to a research team. "Microbiological analyses of ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — The self-organization properties of DNA-like molecular fragments four billion years ago may have guided their own growth into repeating chemical chains long enough to act as a basis for primitive ... read more

Mar. 31, 2015 — Geoscientists have revealed information about how continents were generated on Earth more than 2.5 billion years ago -- and how those processes have continued within the last 70 million years to ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Researchers have made strides in the understanding of the mechanisms governing the persistence of dissolved organic carbon for hundreds or thousands of years in the deep ocean. Most of this material ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — A 400-kilometer-wide impact zone from a huge meteorite that broke in two moments before it slammed into the Earth has been found in Central Australia. The crater from the impact millions of years ago ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — A newly discovered crocodilian ancestor may have filled one of North America's top predator roles before dinosaurs arrived on the continent. Carnufex carolinensis, or the 'Carolina ... read more

Mar. 18, 2015 — Scientists have resolved pieces of a nearly 200-year-old evolutionary puzzle surrounding the group of mammals that Charles Darwin called the "strangest animals ever discovered." New ... read more

Evolution of the Back-to-Belly Axis

Mar. 18, 2015 — Early in our embryogenesis, the two main body axes are established to provide positional cues through a coordinate system for the differentiating cells. A research team has now found evidence for an ... read more

Mar. 17, 2015 — The language used in the switches that turn genes on and off has remained the same across millions of years of evolution, according to a new study. The findings indicate that the differences between ... read more

Mar. 17, 2015 — A genetic study of papaya sex chromosomes reveals that the hermaphrodite version of the plant, which is of most use to growers, arose as a result of human selection, most likely by the ancient Maya ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — Researchers have discovered a dramatic decline in genetic diversity in male lineages four to eight thousand years ago -- likely the result of the accumulation of material wealth, while in contrast, ... read more

Mar. 11, 2015 — Biomolecules, if large enough (several nanometers) and with an electrical charge, will seek their own type with which to form large assemblies. This is essentially 'self-recognition' of ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — Natural forces have always caused the climate on Earth to fluctuate. Now researchers have found geological evidence that some of the same forces as today were at play 1.4 billion years ... read more

Mar. 10, 2015 — A new article describes a 150-million-year-old crab larva fossil specimen from southern Germany. The fossil provides critical evidence for understanding the early rise of ... read more

Mar. 9, 2015 — Researchers have extracted and sequenced tiny bits of DNA remaining in the teeth of 300-year-old skeletons in the Caribbean. From this data, they were able to determine where in Africa the ... read more

Mar. 9, 2015 — A discovery of mammal fossils uncovered in the Zallah Oasis in the Sirt Basin of central Libya date back to the early Oligocene, between about 30 and 31 million years ago. Working in the Zallah Oasis ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — For decades, scientists have been searching for African fossils documenting the earliest phases of the Homo lineage, but specimens recovered from the critical time interval between 3 and 2.5 million ... read more

First-Ever Human Population Adaptation to Toxic Chemical, Arsenic

Mar. 4, 2015 — High up in the high Andes mountains of Argentina, researchers have identified the first-ever evidence of a population uniquely adapted to tolerate the toxic chemical ... read more

Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Saturday, November 1, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014