Origin of Life News
May 26, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:20am EDT

More Origin of Life News
May 26, 2015

Apr. 27, 2015 — Although closely related to the notorious carnivore Tyrannosaurus rex, a new lineage of dinosaur discovered in Chile is proving to be an evolutionary jigsaw puzzle, as it preferred to graze upon ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Hot vents on the seabed could have spontaneously produced the organic molecules necessary for life, according to new research. The study shows how the surfaces of mineral particles inside ... read more

Apr. 24, 2015 — This map provides a picture of the nation's geologic basement. More than 80 pieces of crust have been added to the nation's basement since the Earth began preserving crust about 3.6 billion ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — An international team of researchers has sequenced the nearly complete genome of two Siberian woolly mammoths -- revealing the most complete picture to date -- including new information about the ... read more

Uranium Isotopes Carry the Fingerprint of Ancient Bacterial Activity

Apr. 20, 2015 — The oceans contain billions of tons of dissolved uranium. Over the planet's history, some of this uranium was transformed into an insoluble form, causing it to precipitate and accumulate in ... read more

Apr. 21, 2015 — Researchers have discovered that a protein which controls anxiety in humans has the same molecular ancestor as one which causes insects to molt when they outgrow their skins. Studies on sea urchins ... read more

Actual Dating Requires Calibration Down to the Last Ion

Apr. 15, 2015 — A new solution accurately counting the exact amounts of ions from laboratory radiation exposure helps to simulate the natural radiation of quartz samples used for thermoluminescence dating. ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Thousands of times a second the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider at Brookhaven National Laboratory re-creates the hot quark soup that existed at the dawn of the universe. Particles composed of heavy ... read more

Meteorites Key to the Story of Earth's Layers

Apr. 13, 2015 — A new analysis of the chemical make-up of meteorites has helped scientists work out when the Earth formed its layers.The research by an international team of scientists confirmed the Earth's ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — The onset of northern hemispheric glaciation cycles three million years ago has dramatically changed Arctic climate. Scientists have now for the first time reconstructed the history of Arctic climate ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — Bodies found in a 200 year-old Hungarian crypt have revealed the secrets of how tuberculosis (TB) took hold in 18th century Europe, according to a research team. "Microbiological analyses of ... read more

Apr. 7, 2015 — The self-organization properties of DNA-like molecular fragments four billion years ago may have guided their own growth into repeating chemical chains long enough to act as a basis for primitive ... read more

Mar. 31, 2015 — Certain specimens of the fossil Dickinsonia are incomplete because ancient currents lifted them from the sea floor, a team of paleontologists has found. Sand then got deposited beneath the lifted ... read more

Mar. 31, 2015 — Geoscientists have revealed information about how continents were generated on Earth more than 2.5 billion years ago -- and how those processes have continued within the last 70 million years to ... read more

Mar. 31, 2015 — Scientists have uncovered the earliest fossilized evidence of an insect caring for its young. The findings push back the earliest direct evidence of insect brood care by more than 50 million years, ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — Researchers have made strides in the understanding of the mechanisms governing the persistence of dissolved organic carbon for hundreds or thousands of years in the deep ocean. Most of this material ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — A 400-kilometer-wide impact zone from a huge meteorite that broke in two moments before it slammed into the Earth has been found in Central Australia. The crater from the impact millions of years ago ... read more

Mar. 19, 2015 — A newly discovered crocodilian ancestor may have filled one of North America's top predator roles before dinosaurs arrived on the continent. Carnufex carolinensis, or the 'Carolina ... read more

Mar. 18, 2015 — Scientists have resolved pieces of a nearly 200-year-old evolutionary puzzle surrounding the group of mammals that Charles Darwin called the "strangest animals ever discovered." New ... read more

Evolution of the Back-to-Belly Axis

Mar. 18, 2015 — Early in our embryogenesis, the two main body axes are established to provide positional cues through a coordinate system for the differentiating cells. A research team has now found evidence for an ... read more

Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Saturday, November 1, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014