Origin of Life News
September 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:22pm EDT

More Origin of Life News
September 4, 2015

Aug. 10, 2015 — A lizard lineage which has evolved over the last 19 million years has helped scientists to re-think one of the most important concepts of modern biology: adaptive ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — The common baker's yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae) was the first non-bacterial living thing to have its genome sequenced, back in 1996. However, when the sequence of that genome emerged it ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — By looking closely at DNA variation across a vast number of populations, researchers now have a better idea of how selection affects the human genome around the ... read more

Expanding the Theory of Evolution

Aug. 4, 2015 — An international team of biologists is working to expand Darwin's theory of evolution to encompass factors that influence a species' growth and development beyond genetics -- as well as to ... read more

Effect of Environmental Epigenetics on Disease, Evolution

Aug. 3, 2015 — Environmental factors are having an underappreciated effect on the course of disease and evolution by prompting genetic mutations through epigenetics, a process by which genes are turned on and off ... read more

July 28, 2015 — One question of the origin of life in particular remains problematic: what enabled the leap from a primordial soup of individual monomers to self-replicating polymer chains? A new model proposes a ... read more

July 28, 2015 — The light-sensing molecules that tell plants whether to germinate, when to flower and which direction to grow to seek more sunlight were inherited millions of years ago from ancient algae, finds a ... read more

July 23, 2015 — New research has revealed abrupt warming, that closely resembles the rapid man-made warming occurring today, has repeatedly played a key role in mass extinction events of large animals, the ... read more

July 23, 2015 — Measurements of iron speciation in ancient rocks were used to construct the chemistry of ancient oceans. Analysis suggests that it took less oxygen than previously thought to trigger the appearance ... read more

July 22, 2015 — Animal populations on islands tend to develop weird traits over time, becoming big or small or losing the ability to fly. One less-studied pattern of evolution on islands is the tendency for animal ... read more

July 21, 2015 — An international team of researchers compared the genomes of 31 living Native Americans, Siberians and people from Oceania with 23 ancient Native American genomes to establish a timeline for the ... read more

July 21, 2015 — Native Americans living in the Amazon bear an unexpected genetic connection to indigenous people in Australasia, suggesting a previously unknown wave of migration to the Americas thousands of years ... read more

July 20, 2015 — Anyone who's ever noticed a water puddle drying in the sun has seen an environment that may have driven the type of chemical reactions that scientists believe were critical to the formation of ... read more

July 13, 2015 — If not for a single genetic mutation, each kernel on a juicy corn cob would be trapped inside a inedible casing as tough as a walnut shell. The mutation switches one amino acid for another at a ... read more

July 2, 2015 — The first comprehensive analysis of the woolly mammoth genome reveals extensive genetic changes that allowed mammoths to adapt Arctic life, including skin and hair development, insulin signaling, fat ... read more

How Our Sense of Smell Evolved, Including in Early Humans

July 2, 2015 — A group of scientists has studied how our sense of smell has evolved, and has even reconstructed how a long-extinct human relative would have been able to ... read more

June 30, 2015 — While studying Yersinia pestis, the bacteria responsible for epidemics of plague such as the Black Death, scientists found a single small genetic change that fundamentally influenced the evolution of ... read more

June 26, 2015 — Think of an object made of iron: An I-beam, a car frame, a nail. Now imagine that half of the iron in that object owes its existence to bacteria living two and a half billion years ago. That's ... read more

June 24, 2015 — A new analysis of one of the most bizarre-looking fossils ever discovered has definitively sorted its head from its tail, and turned up a previously unknown ring of teeth, which could help answer ... read more

June 24, 2015 — A tiny tooth plate of the 410 million year old fossil fish Romundina stellina indicates that teeth evolved earlier in the tree of life than recently thought. Jaws and teeth have been important ... read more

Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015